DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed on 08/20/2025, wherein claims 17, 22 have been amended, and claims 23, 32 have been cancelled.
Claims 17-22, 24-31 are pending, and examined herein.
Any rejection from the previous office action which is not restated here, is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claims 17-21, 22, 24-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (WO 2019/206871, PTO-892 of record).
Miller et al. teaches the sodium salt of N-((1,2,3,5,6,7-hexahydro-s-indacen-4-yl)carbamoyl)-1-isopropyl-1H-pyrazole-3-sulfonamide (instant compound of formula (I) as in instant claim 17), hydrates, solvates and polymorphic forms thereof. See claims 1-7; page 5. Miller teaches the pharmaceutical compositions comprising this compound and the use of this compound in the treatment of medical disorders and diseases, most especially by NLRP3 inhibition. See abstract; page 1, lines 4-8; claims 1-7. It is taught that the said salt can be used in the treatment of condition responsive to NLRP3 inhibition such as rheumatoid arthritis, gout, pseudo-gout. See page 20, bottom para; page 21, lines 11-12; claims 20, 21. Miller teaches treatment of inflammatory responses occurring in connection with a joint condition such as osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, gout. See page 27, (ii); claim 19.
Miller teaches the salt is a monosodium salt; Miller teaches the salt is a monosodium monohydrate and crystalline i.e meets instant claims 24-28. See claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.
Miller teaches XRPD spectrum in which the 10 most intense peaks include 5 or more peaks which have an approximate 2q value selected from: 4.3 °2q, 6.2 °2q, 6.7 °2q, 7.3 °2q, 8.7 °2q, 9.0 °2q, 12.1 °2q, 15.8 °2q, 16.5 °2q, 18.0 °2q, 18.1 °2q, 20.6 °2q, 21.6 °2q, and 24.5 °2q i.e meets instant claims 29, 30. See claims 5-7.
Miller teaches for oral administration of the salt, hydrate, solvate, polymorphic form or pharmaceutical composition is generally provided in the form of tablets, capsules, hard or soft gelatine capsules, caplets, troches or lozenges, as a powder or granules, or as an aqueous solution, suspension or dispersion i.e meets oral administration as in instant claims 17, 31. See page 38, lines 4-7.
Miller et al. does not explicitly teach treating arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis comprising administering compound of formula (I) or a crystalline monosodium monohydrate salt thereof i.e does not provide an example.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer compound of formula (I) or a crystalline monosodium monohydrate salt thereof to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis because 1) Miller et al. teaches the sodium salt of N-((1,2,3,5,6,7-hexahydro-s-indacen-4-yl)carbamoyl)-1-isopropyl-1H-pyrazole-3-sulfonamide (instant compound of formula (I) as in instant claim 17); Miller teaches the salt is a monosodium monohydrate and crystalline and 2) Miller et al. teaches that said salt can be used in the treatment of condition responsive to NLRP3 inhibition such as rheumatoid arthritis, gout, pseudo-gout, osteoarthritis. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer compound of formula (I) or a crystalline monosodium monohydrate salt thereof to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis with reasonable expectation of success of treating said arthritic conditions.
Regarding claim 22, Miller er al. renders obvious to administer compound of formula (I) or a crystalline monosodium monohydrate salt thereof to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis, and said administration will treat inflammation, since it is result or property of the compound on administration to a patient suffering from arthritis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as discussed above and those found below.
Applicant argues that “W02019/206871 discloses a vast number of diseases (see claims 19- 20, and page 19 line 24 to page 29 line 36). Moreover, oral administration is mentioned amongst many other routes in a list of potential routes of administration (see page 37 line 28 to page 39 line 30).” Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but not found persuasive. It is pointed out that it has been well-established that consideration of a reference is not limited to the preferred embodiments or working examples, but extends to the entire disclosure for what it fairly teaches, when viewed in light of the admitted knowledge in the art, to person of ordinary skill in the art. See M.P.E.P. § 2123. Miller et al. teaches the sodium salt of N-((1,2,3,5,6,7-hexahydro-s-indacen-4-yl)carbamoyl)-1-isopropyl-1H-pyrazole-3-sulfonamide (instant compound of formula (I) as in instant claim 17), hydrates, solvates and polymorphic forms thereof. See claims 1-7; page 5. Miller teaches the pharmaceutical compositions comprising this compound and the use of this compound in the treatment of medical disorders and diseases, most especially by NLRP3 inhibition such as rheumatoid arthritis, gout, pseudo-gout. See page 20, bottom para; page 21, lines 11-12; claims 20, 21. Miller teaches for oral administration of the salt, hydrate, solvate, polymorphic form or pharmaceutical composition is generally provided in the form of tablets, capsules, hard or soft gelatine capsules, caplets, troches or lozenges, as a powder or granules, or as an aqueous solution, suspension or dispersion i.e meets oral administration as in instant claims 17, 31.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer compound of formula (I) or a crystalline monosodium monohydrate salt thereof orally to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis because 1) Miller et al. teaches the sodium salt of N-((1,2,3,5,6,7-hexahydro-s-indacen-4-yl)carbamoyl)-1-isopropyl-1H-pyrazole-3-sulfonamide (instant compound of formula (I) as in instant claim 17); Miller teaches the salt is a monosodium monohydrate and crystalline, 2) Miller et al. teaches that said salt can be used in the treatment of condition responsive to NLRP3 inhibition such as rheumatoid arthritis, gout, pseudo-gout, osteoarthritis, and 3) Miller teaches oral administration of the salt, hydrate, solvate, polymorphic form or pharmaceutical composition comprising the sodium salt of N-((1,2,3,5,6,7-hexahydro-s-indacen-4-yl)carbamoyl)-1-isopropyl-1H-pyrazole-3-sulfonamide (instant compound of formula (I). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer orally compound of formula (I) or a crystalline monosodium monohydrate salt thereof to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis with reasonable expectation of success of treating said arthritic conditions.
Applicant argues that “many drugs are unsuitable for oral administration, for example, because of issues with oral bioavailability, solubility, dissolution and/or stability in the GI tract. However, the present inventors have found and demonstrated with data in the application as filed, that the claimed compound can be used successfully to treat arthritis by oral administration.” Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but not found persuasive as discussed above. Miller teaches oral administration of the compound therein. Miller teaches for oral administration of the salt, hydrate, solvate, polymorphic form or pharmaceutical composition is generally provided in the form of tablets, capsules, hard or soft gelatine capsules, caplets, troches or lozenges, as a powder or granules, or as an aqueous solution, suspension or dispersion i.e meets oral administration as in instant claims 17, 31.
2) Claims 17-21, 22, 24, 25, 27, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Neill et al. (US 2018/0044287, PTO-892).
O’Neill teaches sulfonyl ureas and related compounds which have advantageous properties and show useful activity in the inhibition of activation of the NLRP3 inflammasome. See abstract; claims 39, 40, 52. O’Neill teaches instant compound of formula I and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof such as sodium salt (see para [0310]). See MCC7840, para [1023]; paras [0777]-[0778]; page 20, right hand column; page 168, claim 36. It is taught that the compounds therein show useful activity in the inhibition of activation of the NLRP3 inflammasome and their use for treating a disease, disorder or condition responsive to inhibition of activation of the NLRP3 inflammasome including rheumatoid arthritis, gout, pseudo-gout, osteoarthritis. See abstract; paras [0026], [1021]; and claims 36. 39, 40, and 52. The compound is the only compound specifically tested in vivo ([1021], [1023]-[1025]).
O’NEILL teaches that a salt of the compound includes sodium salt ([0310]); O’NEILL teaches that the compounds may exist in stable and metastable crystalline forms ([0308] and [0777]-[0778]).
O’NEILL teaches that the compound has increased half-life and improved oral bioavailability and the routes of administration include oral administration ([0228], [0326], and [1009]). O’NEILL teaches that a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent and/or excipient ([0022]). O’NEILL teaches that the composition may be in the form of a tablet or capsule ([0321]), which is suitable for oral administration.
O’NEILL does not explicitly teach treating arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis comprising administering compound of formula (I) or monosodium salt thereof i.e does not provide an example.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer compound of formula (I) or a monosodium salt thereof to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis because 1) O’Neill teaches instant compound of formula (I) and pharmaceutically acceptable salts such as sodium salt, and 2) O’Neill teaches that the compounds therein show useful activity in the inhibition of activation of the NLRP3 inflammasome and their use for treating a disease, disorder or condition responsive to inhibition of activation of the NLRP3 inflammasome including rheumatoid arthritis, gout, pseudo-gout, osteoarthritis. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer compound of formula (I) or a monosodium salt thereof to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis with reasonable expectation of success of treating said arthritic conditions.
Regarding claim 22, O’Neill et al. renders obvious to administer compound of formula (I) or a sodium salt thereof to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis, and said administration will treat inflammation, since it is result or property of the compound on administration to a patient suffering from arthritis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as discussed above and those found below.
Applicant argues that “US2018/0044287 discloses a vast number of compounds (see the Markush structure of claim 1, and the example compounds in paragraphs [0646]-[0984]) and a vast number of diseases (see claims 39-52 and paragraphs [0331]-[0358]). Applicant argues that “US2018/0044287 does not disclose the specific compound claimed in the present application in combination with each and everyone of the claimed features, namely the arthritis to be treated and the specific (oral) route of administration, as required by the amended claims.” Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but not found persuasive. It is pointed out that it has been well-established that consideration of a reference is not limited to the preferred embodiments or working examples, but extends to the entire disclosure for what it fairly teaches, when viewed in light of the admitted knowledge in the art, to person of ordinary skill in the art. See M.P.E.P. § 2123. O’Neill teaches instant compound of formula I and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof such as sodium salt (see para [0310]). See MCC7840, para [1023]; paras [0777]-[0778]; page 20, right hand column; page 168, claim 36. It is taught that the compounds therein show useful activity in the inhibition of activation of the NLRP3 inflammasome and their use for treating a disease, disorder or condition responsive to inhibition of activation of the NLRP3 inflammasome including rheumatoid arthritis, gout, pseudo-gout, osteoarthritis. See abstract; paras [0026], [1021]; and claims 36. 39, 40, and 52. The compound is the only compound specifically tested in vivo ([1021], [1023]-[1025]). O’NEILL teaches that the compound has increased half-life and improved oral bioavailability and the routes of administration include oral administration ([0228], [0326], and [1009]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer compound of formula (I) or a monosodium salt thereof orally to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis because 1) O’Neill teaches instant compound of formula (I) and pharmaceutically acceptable salts such as sodium salt, 2) O’Neill teaches that the compounds therein show useful activity in the inhibition of activation of the NLRP3 inflammasome and their use for treating a disease, disorder or condition responsive to inhibition of activation of the NLRP3 inflammasome including rheumatoid arthritis, gout, pseudo-gout, osteoarthritis, and 3) O’NEILL teaches that the compound has increased half-life and improved oral bioavailability and the routes of administration include oral administration ([0228], [0326], and [1009]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer orally compound of formula (I) or a monosodium salt thereof to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis with reasonable expectation of success of treating said arthritic conditions.
Applicant argues that “many drugs are unsuitable for oral administration, for example, because of issues with oral bioavailability, solubility, dissolution and/or stability in the GI tract. However, the present inventors have found and demonstrated with data in the application as filed, that the claimed compound can be used successfully to treat arthritis by oral administration.” Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but not found persuasive as discussed above. O’Neill teaches instant compound of formula I and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof such as sodium salt (see para [0310]). See MCC7840, para [1023]; paras [0777]-[0778]; page 20, right hand column; page 168, claim 36. O’NEILL teaches that the compound therein has increased half-life and improved oral bioavailability and the routes of administration include oral administration ([0228], [0326], and [1009]).
Double Patenting
1)Claims 17-22, 24-25, 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21, 25-34 of U.S. Patent No. 10,538,487. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Instant claims are drawn to a method for the treatment of arthritis in a patient in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; wherein the arthritis is gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis or osteoarthritis; wherein the compound or salt is a sodium salt.
The claims of ‘487 patent are drawn to sulfonylurea compounds including the same compound (N-((1,2,3,5,6,7-hexahydro-s-indacen-4-yl)carbamoyl)-1-isopropyl-1H-pyrazole-3-sulfonamide) as claimed; and a method of treating disease, disorder or condition responsive to inhibition of NLRP3 inflammasome.
It is pointed out that the method of the present invention utilizes the compounds of '487, and specification in ‘487 teaches that the compounds or sodium salts therein are useful in the method as instantly claimed, thus the inventions are considered obvious over one another. Consistent with Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F. 3d 1381, 1387 (CAFC 2010), it is permissible to use a compound claim to reject a method of use claim where that method of use is disclosed in the specification of the application claiming the compound. According to the Sun Pharma. court, “[i]t would shock one's sense of justice if an inventor could receive a patent upon a composition of matter, setting out at length in the specification the useful purposes of such composition, ... and then prevent the public from making any beneficial use of such product by securing patents upon each of the uses to which it may be adapted … .”
See Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363; Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1385. In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as discussed above under 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over US2018/0044287. The same reasons apply for this rejection.
2)Claims 17-22, 24-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 10,973,803. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Instant claims are drawn to a method for the treatment of arthritis in a patient in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; wherein the arthritis is gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis or osteoarthritis; wherein the compound or salt is a sodium salt.
The claims of ‘803 patent are drawn to sulfonylurea compounds including the same compound (N-((1,2,3,5,6,7-hexahydro-s-indacen-4-yl)carbamoyl)-1-isopropyl-1H-pyrazole-3-sulfonamide) as claimed or a crystalline monosodium monohydrate salt has an XRPD spectrum as in instant claims 29, 30; and a method of treating disease, disorder or condition responsive to inhibition of NLRP3 inflammasome.
It is pointed out that the method of the present invention utilizes the compounds of '803, and specification in ‘803 teaches that the compounds therein are useful in the method as instantly claimed, thus the inventions are considered obvious over one another. Consistent with Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F. 3d 1381, 1387 (CAFC 2010), it is permissible to use a compound claim to reject a method of use claim where that method of use is disclosed in the specification of the application claiming the compound. According to the Sun Pharma. court, “[i]t would shock one's sense of justice if an inventor could receive a patent upon a composition of matter, setting out at length in the specification the useful purposes of such composition, ... and then prevent the public from making any beneficial use of such product by securing patents upon each of the uses to which it may be adapted … .”
See Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363; Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1385. In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as discussed above under 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over WO2019/206871. The same reasons apply for this rejection.
3)Claims 17-22, 31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 12, 14, 17-18, 20, 36-40, and 53 of co-pending application 18/540,743 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Instant claims are drawn to a method for the treatment of arthritis in a patient in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; wherein the arthritis is gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis or osteoarthritis; wherein the compound or salt is a sodium salt.
Claims of ‘743 are drawn to sulfonylurea compounds including the same compound (N-((1,2,3,5,6,7-hexahydro-s-indacen-4-yl)carbamoyl)-1-isopropyl-1H-pyrazole-3-sulfonamide) as claimed; and its use for treating disease, disorder or condition responsive to inhibition of NLRP3 inflammasome, which includes arthritis is gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis or osteoarthritis. See claims 36 and 40.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer compound of formula (I) or a salt thereof to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis because ‘743 teaches sulfonylurea compounds including the same compound (N-((1,2,3,5,6,7-hexahydro-s-indacen-4-yl)carbamoyl)-1-isopropyl-1H-pyrazole-3-sulfonamide) as claimed; and its use for treating disease, disorder or condition responsive to inhibition of NLRP3 inflammasome, which includes arthritis is gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis or osteoarthritis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as discussed above under 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over US2018/0044287. The same reasons apply for this rejection.
4)Claims 17-22, 24-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19, 21-23, 28-35 of co-pending application 17/775,230 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Instant claims are drawn to a method for the treatment of arthritis in a patient in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; wherein the arthritis is gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis or osteoarthritis; wherein the compound or salt is a sodium salt.
Claims of ‘230 are drawn a method for the treatment or prevention of an autoinflammatory disorder in a patient in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the patient in need thereof a therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount of a compound of formula (I) which is same as instant compound; autoinflammatory disorder includes treating systemic onset of juvenile idiopathic arthritis.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer compound of formula (I) or a salt thereof to a patient suffering from arthritis such as gout, pseudogout, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis because ‘230 teaches a method for the treatment or prevention of an autoinflammatory disorder in a patient in need thereof, wherein the method comprises administering to the patient in need thereof a therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount of a compound of formula (I) which is same as instant compound; autoinflammatory disorder includes treating systemic onset of juvenile idiopathic arthritis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as discussed above. Note : Applicant defers comment.
Prior Art made of Record:
AR 110623 A1
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHOBHA KANTAMNENI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627