DETAILED ACTION
Reopen After Appeal Brief Filed
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 12/05/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. To set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/DERRICK W FERRIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411 .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on June 2, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Appeal Brief are persuasive. Therefore, previous Final has been withdrawn, and the case is thus re-opened with instant Non-Final Office Action, containing prior art rejections based on newly found and applied prior art teachings to address the issues/features in the Applicant’s arguments.
Regarding claim 35
Applicant’s arguments, in Appeal Brief page 14, with respect to 35 USC § 102 rejections to claim 35 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, after updating the search, a new reference (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220167234, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 201910736192.5, filed on Aug. 9, 2019; hereinafter “Yan”) has been cited.
Yan is directed to a handover method (see the Abstract of Yan). Yan, in analogous art, teaches the “replace (i) all pre-existing configurations … with (ii) all configurations in the conditional configuration set” (para [0101] of Yan: In another example, the second CHO configuration information may be CHO full configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal device (the second CHO configuration information is interpreted as “(ii) all configurations in the conditional configuration set”). In other words, the second CHO configuration information and the first CHO configuration information are independent of and decoupled from each other, and have no association relationship. Correspondingly, the terminal device may completely replace the previously received first CHO configuration information (interpreted as “(i) all pre-existing configurations”) with the received second CHO configuration information, and may perform a conditional handover procedure based on the second CHO configuration information) (para [0123] of Yan: Alternatively, in another manner, after receiving the second CHO configuration information, the terminal device may determine not to continue to be handed over to the first target cell, completely replace the first CHO configuration information with the second CHO configuration information (for example, the terminal device stores the second CHO configuration information, and removes the previously stored first CHO configuration information), and then determine, based on the second CHO configuration information, a cell to which the terminal device is to be handed over.) (para [0080] of Yan: The network device (for example, the source network device or the target network device) may send CHO full configuration information to replace the previously sent CHO configuration information. For example, the network device may reconfigure a candidate cell for the terminal device. Alternatively, the network device performs operations such as addition, modification, or removal on a configured candidate cell based on the previously sent CHO configuration information. For example, the network device may configure a new candidate cell for the terminal device, remove the previously configured candidate cell, or modify CHO configuration information corresponding to the configured candidate cell. In other words, the network device may provide the terminal device with CHO configuration information corresponding to the new candidate cell, may modify the CHO configuration information corresponding to the configured candidate cell, may remove the CHO configuration information corresponding to the configured candidate cell, may send the CHO configuration information corresponding to the reconfigured candidate cell to the terminal device, or the like.)
Regarding claim 1
Applicant argues, in Appeal Brief pages 11-13, that Kim and Rugeland fail to teach or suggest the specific criteria for determining whether received CHO configuration information is redundant information or non-redundant information. However this argument is unpersuasive.
First, Kim teaches the “receiving, from the base station, (i) a configuration associated with a condition to be satisfied …” (para [0068] of Kim; The source cell 1 e-05 may provide CHO configuration information (interpreted as “(i) a configuration…”) to a UE 1 e-10. One or more target cell candidates may be concerned in the CHO configuration information. For example, the source cell 1 e-05 may provide neighboring cell 1 1 e-15 and neighboring cell 2 1 e-20 as candidate target cells, and may also configure handover performance related conditions (interpreted as “a configuration associated with a condition to be satisfied …”). The UE 1 e-10 evaluates whether the candidate target cells meet the configured conditions … In a case where the BS 1 e-05 provides HO configuration information, the UE 1 e-10 may immediately perform a random access on one cell within a cell or frequency indicated by the configuration information (interpreted as “before the user device can communicate with a candidate base station”)). Kim does not explicitly teach the dedicated configuration identifier.
Second, Kim teaches the storing the configuration as a new configuration in the user device, (para [0068] of Kim; The source cell 1 e-05 may provide, to the UE 1 e-10, only some of the CHO configuration information that needs to be … added. The UE 1 e-10 …add non-redundant information (interpreted as “the configuration as a new configuration”) to existing configuration information). Kim does not expressly discloses “when the dedicated configuration identifier differs from any pre-existing configuration stored in the user device”.
Third, Kim teaches the using the configuration to modify a pre-existing configuration already stored in the user device (para [0068] of Kim; (para [0068]; The source cell 1 e-05 may provide, to the UE 1 e-10, only some of the CHO configuration information that needs to be modified … The UE 1 e-10 that receives some of the configuration information may replace redundant information with new information (interpreted as “using the configuration to modify a pre-existing configuration already stored in the user device”)). Kim does not expressly discloses “when the dedicated configuration identifier does not differ from the pre-existing configuration stored in the user device”.
Rugeland, in analogous art, teaches the “a dedicated configuration identifier that is dedicated to identifying the configuration” (para [0076] of Rugeland; The UE 10 may receive and store the one or more handover configurations, such as conditional handover configuration(s), with associated one or more conditions, from the first radio network node 12) (para [0077] of Rugeland; each handover configuration has an identifier, also referred to as an optional conditional configuration identifier. This identifier may be unique among all handover configurations (interpreted as “(ii) a dedicated configuration identifier that is dedicated to identifying the configuration”), ...) (also disclosed in Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, pages 8, line 29-page 9, line 20; “The first radio network node 12 may transmit a message to the UE comprising the one or more handover configurations and the associated identifiers.”).
While Kim does not explicitly discusses the mechanism for identifying redundancy, the act of “replace redundant information with new information and add non-redundant information to existing configuration information” of Kim inherently requires a comparison between the received CHO configurations and the pre-existing CHO configurations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to incorporate the identifier taught by Rugeland into the CHO configuration information of Kim. Using Rugeland’s identifier to distinguish between configurations in wireless communication system for performing handover discussed in Kim would provide a predictable method for the UE to determine whether the received CHO configuration information is “new”(non-redundant) or “pre-existing” (redundant).
Regarding claim 12 and 31
Regarding claims 12 and 31, Applicant argues, in Appeal Brief page 14, that Even if Kim were modified to incorporate the configuration identifier of Rugeland, the resulting combination would not necessarily include that configuration identifier in a "configuration release message".
Applicants’ argument is found not persuasive. Kim teaches the receiving, from the base station or a different base station, a configuration release message (para [0013] of Kim; in a case where a release request for the second conditional handover is received (by UE, see claim 7 of Kim)) including the dedicated configuration identifier and the in response to receiving the configuration release message including the dedicated configuration identifier, releasing the configuration.
While Kim does not explicitly disclose the release message including the dedicated configuration identifier, Rugeland discloses the release message including the dedicated configuration identifier (para [0041] of Rugeland: The method may also comprise, responsive to receiving the indication, transmitting, to each of one or more other candidate target network nodes, a message that includes an identifier of a conditional configuration and indicates the other candidate target network node is to release a user equipment context and/or radio resources for the conditional configuration identified by the identifier.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to incorporate the identifier taught by Rugeland into the release request of Kim in order to release a specific conditional handover (“the second conditional handover” discussed in Kim). In system where multiple CHO configurations exist, providing a specific identifier in release request message is the most predictable and efficient technical solution to ensure the UE releases the correct configuration, thereby prevent signal ambiguity and unintended configuration loss. For example, Rugeland explicitly discloses that, in para [0041], “a message that includes an identifier of a conditional configuration and indicates the other candidate target network node is to release a user equipment context and/or radio resources for the conditional configuration identified by the identifier.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220167234, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 201910736192.5, filed on Aug. 9, 2019; hereinafter “Yan”).
Regarding Claim 35, Yan teaches A method, in a radio access network (RAN) (Fig. 1 and para [0056] of Yan: the network device 110 may be a base station configured to connect the terminal device 120 and a radio access network (RAN)), comprising:
maintaining a conditional configuration set, wherein the set includes all unreleased configurations associated with (i) a user device and (ii) conditions to be satisfied before the user device can communicate with a respective candidate base station, in accordance with a first type of conditional procedure (para [0063] of Yan: In step S210, a source network device sends CHO (The ‘conditional handover (CHO)’ is interpreted as “a first type of conditional procedure”, see para [0321] of the Specification of the instant application) configuration information to a terminal device.) (para [0066] of Yan: in step S210, the CHO configuration information sent by the source network device to the terminal device includes the CHO configuration information corresponding to each of the plurality of candidate cells. The CHO configuration information corresponding to each candidate cell may include a CHO trigger condition (or a CHO execution condition) corresponding to the candidate cell and information about the candidate cell… Each candidate cell may correspond to a same CHO trigger condition or a different CHO trigger condition. (interpreted as “all unreleased configurations associated with (i) a user device and (ii) conditions to be satisfied before the user device can communicate with a respective candidate base station”));
determining to configure a first conditional procedure that enables the user device to conditionally communicate with a first candidate base station of the RAN or via a first candidate cell of the RAN (para [0061] of Yan: The network device may configure one or more candidate cells for the terminal device. When the network device configures one candidate cell for the terminal device, the candidate cell and the source cell may belong to a same base station or different base stations. When the network device configures a plurality of candidate cells for the terminal device, the plurality of candidate cells and the source cell may belong to a same base station or different base stations, and the plurality of candidate cells may also belong to a same base station or different base stations.)(Fig. 2 and para [0075] of Yan: Before step S210, the source network device and the terminal device may perform a measurement procedure, for example, step S201 and step S202 shown in FIG. 2.) (Fig. 2 and para [0077] of Yan: In step S202, after receiving the measurement configuration, the terminal device measures a measurement object, and after assessing that a measurement result meets a reporting trigger condition, the terminal device sends a corresponding measurement report to the source network device. The source network device performs a CHO handover preparation procedure based on the measurement report reported by the terminal device. For example, after the source network device determines the candidate cell based on the measurement report, the source network device and a candidate network device to which the candidate cell belongs perform handover preparation (interpreted as “determining to configure a first conditional procedure that enables the user device to conditionally communicate with a first candidate base station of the RAN or via a first candidate cell of the RAN”).)(para [0079] of Yan: For example, as shown in FIG. 2, candidate cells determined by the source network device include a candidate cell #1 and a candidate cell #2, the candidate cell #1 belongs to the candidate network device #1, and the candidate cell #2 belongs to a candidate network device #2. In step S203 a and step S203 b, the source network device separately sends a request message to the candidate network device #1 and the candidate network device #2, to request the candidate network device #1 and the candidate network device #2 to prepare for the conditional handover. The request message may be a handover request message or another message. This is not limited in this embodiment of this disclosure. In step S204 a and step S204 b, the candidate network device #1 and the candidate network device #2 separately send a request acknowledgment message to the source network device. …) (para [0080] of Yan: As described above, the source network device may perform handover preparation for a conditional handover with one or more candidate cells, and the CHO configuration information sent by the source network device to the terminal device may include CHO configuration information corresponding to the one or more candidate cells. CHO configuration information corresponding to each of the one or more candidate cells may change.) (paragraphs [0068-0069] of Yan: In step S220, after the terminal device receives the CHO configuration information, the terminal device may determine, based on the CHO configuration information, whether the CHO trigger condition (or the CHO execution condition) is met, and determine a target cell. ….); and
causing the user device to replace (i) all pre-existing configurations that are stored in the user device and associated with conditions to be satisfied before the user device can communicate with particular candidate base stations, or via particular candidate cells, in accordance with the first type of conditional procedure with (ii) all configurations in the conditional configuration set (para [0088] of Yan: The first CHO configuration information (interpreted as “(i) all pre-existing configurations”) may include the CHO trigger condition and related information of a candidate cell. The CHO trigger condition may include a CHO trigger event type and a corresponding threshold. The CHO trigger event type may include, for example, an event A3, an event A4, an event A5, an event B1, an event B2, or another trigger event type. ...) (para [0096] of Yan: …the terminal device determines the first target cell based on the first CHO configuration information. In the process in which the terminal device attempts to access the first target cell, if the terminal device receives the second CHO configuration information, the terminal device may determine, based on the second CHO configuration information, whether to continue to access the determined first target cell, (interpreted as “causing the user device to replace …”).) (para [0101] of Yan: In another example, the second CHO configuration information may be CHO full configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal device (the second CHO configuration information is interpreted as “(ii) all configurations in the conditional configuration set”). In other words, the second CHO configuration information and the first CHO configuration information are independent of and decoupled from each other, and have no association relationship. Correspondingly, the terminal device may completely replace the previously received first CHO configuration information (interpreted as “(i) all pre-existing configurations”) with the received second CHO configuration information, and may perform a conditional handover procedure based on the second CHO configuration information) (para [0123] of Yan: Alternatively, in another manner, after receiving the second CHO configuration information, the terminal device may determine not to continue to be handed over to the first target cell, completely replace the first CHO configuration information with the second CHO configuration information (for example, the terminal device stores the second CHO configuration information, and removes the previously stored first CHO configuration information), and then determine, based on the second CHO configuration information, a cell to which the terminal device is to be handed over.) (para [0080] of Yan: The network device (for example, the source network device or the target network device) may send CHO full configuration information to replace the previously sent CHO configuration information. For example, the network device may reconfigure a candidate cell for the terminal device. Alternatively, the network device performs operations such as addition, modification, or removal on a configured candidate cell based on the previously sent CHO configuration information. For example, the network device may configure a new candidate cell for the terminal device, remove the previously configured candidate cell, or modify CHO configuration information corresponding to the configured candidate cell. In other words, the network device may provide the terminal device with CHO configuration information corresponding to the new candidate cell, may modify the CHO configuration information corresponding to the configured candidate cell, may remove the CHO configuration information corresponding to the configured candidate cell, may send the CHO configuration information corresponding to the reconfigured candidate cell to the terminal device, or the like.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11-12, 14-16, 19-20, 22-23, 26, 29, 31, 33-34, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0030485 to Kim (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0377633 to Rugeland et al. (hereinafter “Rugeland”).
With respect to independent claims 1 and 14:
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches A method performed by a user device (Fig. 1E, UE 1e-10) communicating with a base station (Fig. 1E, eNB 1e-05), the method comprising:
receiving, from the base station, (i) a configuration associated with a condition to be satisfied before the user device can communicate with a candidate base station, or via a candidate cell, using the configuration ([para 0068]; The source cell 1 e-05 may provide CHO configuration information (interpreted as “(i) a configuration…”) to a UE 1 e-10. One or more target cell candidates may be concerned in the CHO configuration information. For example, the source cell 1 e-05 may provide neighboring cell 1 1 e-15 and neighboring cell 2 1 e-20 as candidate target cells, and may also configure handover performance related conditions. The UE 1 e-10 evaluates whether the candidate target cells meet the configured conditions) ([para 0070]; The handover configuration information or the additional configuration information necessary for the CHO operation may include an ID of the target cells 1 f-20, frequency information, configuration information necessary for a random access operation to the target cells 1 f-20 (dedicated preamble information, dedicated radio resource information, etc. for each target cell), transmission power information, C-RNTI information used in each of the target cells, conditions that trigger a random access operation to each of the target cells, etc.), and (ii) a dedicated configuration identifier that is dedicated to identifying the configuration;
storing the configuration as a new configuration in the user device, when the dedicated configuration identifier differs from any pre-existing configuration stored in the user device ([para 0068]; The source cell 1 e-05 may provide, to the UE 1 e-10, only some of the CHO configuration information that needs to be modified or added. The UE 1 e-10 that receives some of the configuration information may … add non-redundant information to existing configuration information (interpreted as “storing the configuration as a new configuration in the user device, when the dedicated configuration identifier differs from any pre-existing configuration stored in the user device”))(Examiner’s note: The non-redundant information in para [0068] is interpreted as the limitation “the configuration as a new configuration”.); and
using the configuration to modify a pre-existing configuration already stored in the user device, when the dedicated configuration identifier does not differ from the pre-existing configuration stored in the user device ([para 0068]; The source cell 1 e-05 may provide, to the UE 1 e-10, only some of the CHO configuration information that needs to be modified … The UE 1 e-10 that receives some of the configuration information may replace redundant information with new information (interpreted as “modify a pre-existing configuration already stored in the user device”)).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the “(ii) a dedicated configuration identifier that is dedicated to identifying the configuration”.
However, Rugeland teaches the “a dedicated configuration identifier that is dedicated to identifying the configuration” ([para 0077] of Rugeland; each handover configuration has an identifier, also referred to as an optional conditional configuration identifier (interpreted as “(ii) a dedicated configuration identifier that is dedicated to identifying the configuration”). This identifier may be unique among all handover configurations, unique among all handover configuration(s) toward a specific cell, or unique among all handover configuration(s) toward a specific network node.)(also disclosed in Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, pages 8, line 29-page 9, line 20; “The first radio network node 12 may transmit a message to the UE comprising the one or more handover configurations and the associated identifiers.”).
While Kim does not explicitly discusses the mechanism for identifying redundancy, the act of “replace redundant information with new information and add non-redundant information to existing configuration information” of Kim inherently requires a comparison between the received CHO configurations and the pre-existing CHO configurations.
Kim and Rugeland are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Conditional Configuration in a Wireless Communication Network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the identifier taught by Rugeland into the CHO configuration information of Kim. Using Rugeland’s identifier to distinguish between configurations in wireless communication system for performing handover discussed in Kim would provide a predictable method for the UE to determine whether the received CHO configuration information is “new”(non-redundant) or “pre-existing” (redundant).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim teaches A method performed by a radio access network (RAN) (Fig. 1E, eNB 1e-05), the method comprising:
assigning a dedicated configuration identifier to a configuration associated with (i) the candidate base station of the RAN, or a candidate cell of the RAN, in a conditional procedure that enables a user device to conditionally communicate with the candidate base station or via the candidate cell, and (ii) a condition to be satisfied before the user device can communicate with the candidate base station, or via the candidate cell, using the configuration ([para 0068]; The source cell 1 e-05 may provide CHO configuration information (interpreted as “(i) a configuration…”) to a UE 1 e-10. One or more target cell candidates may be concerned in the CHO configuration information. For example, the source cell 1 e-05 may provide neighboring cell 1 1 e-15 and neighboring cell 2 1 e-20 as candidate target cells, and may also configure handover performance related conditions. The UE 1 e-10 evaluates whether the candidate target cells meet the configured conditions)([para 0064]; The handover configuration information and the additional configuration information necessary for CHO may include … conditions that trigger a random access operation to each target cell 1 d-20, or the like.); and
transmitting the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier to the user device, which instructs the user device to (i) store the configuration as a new configuration, when the dedicated configuration identifier differs from any pre-existing configuration stored in the user device ([para 0068]; The source cell 1 e-05 may provide, to the UE 1 e-10, only some of the CHO configuration information that needs to be … added. The UE 1 e-10 that receives some of the configuration information may … add non-redundant information to existing configuration information (interpreted as “storing the configuration as a new configuration in the user device, when the dedicated configuration identifier differs from any pre-existing configuration stored in the user device”))(Examiner’s note: The non-redundant information in para [0068] is interpreted as the limitation “the configuration as a new configuration”.), and (ii) use the configuration to modify a pre-existing configuration already stored at the user device, when the dedicated configuration identifier does not differ from the pre-existing configuration stored in the user device ([para 0068]; The source cell 1 e-05 may provide, to the UE 1 e-10, only some of the CHO configuration information that needs to be modified … The UE 1 e-10 that receives some of the configuration information may replace redundant information with new information (interpreted as “modify a pre-existing configuration already stored at the user device”)).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the “assigning a dedicated configuration identifier to a configuration”.
However, Rugeland teaches the “assigning a dedicated configuration identifier to a configuration” ([para 0077] of Rugeland; each handover configuration has an identifier, also referred to as an optional conditional configuration identifier (interpreted as “assigning a dedicated configuration identifier to a configuration”). This identifier may be unique among all handover configurations, unique among all handover configuration(s) toward a specific cell, or unique among all handover configuration(s) toward a specific network node.)(also disclosed in Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, pages 8, line 29-page 9, line 20; “The first radio network node 12 may transmit a message to the UE comprising the one or more handover configurations and the associated identifiers.”).
While Kim does not explicitly discusses the mechanism for identifying redundancy, the act of “replace redundant information with new information and add non-redundant information to existing configuration information” of Kim inherently requires a comparison between the received CHO configurations and the pre-existing CHO configurations.
Kim and Rugeland are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Conditional Configuration in a Wireless Communication Network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the identifier taught by Rugeland into the CHO configuration information of Kim. Using Rugeland’s identifier to distinguish between configurations in wireless communication system for performing handover discussed in Kim would provide a predictable method for the UE to determine whether the received CHO configuration information is “new”(non-redundant) or “pre-existing” (redundant).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding Claim 2, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 1, wherein: Kim further teaches
the condition is a condition to be satisfied before the user device can perform a handover to the candidate cell ([para 0070]; The handover configuration information or the additional configuration information necessary for the CHO operation may include …, conditions that trigger a random access operation to each of the target cells,); and
receiving the configuration includes receiving the configuration in a conditional handover command ([para 0070]; The source cell 1 f-10 may store, in an RRC message (interpreted as “a conditional handover command”), handover configuration information and additional configuration information necessary for the CHO operation … and transmit the RRC message to the UE 1 f-05…).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 2, wherein either: Rugeland further teaches
(ii) receiving the dedicated configuration identifier includes receiving the dedicated configuration identifier in a message of a radio resource control (RRC) container that separately includes the conditional handover command ([para 0098] of Rugeland; The UE 10 may receive an RRCReconfiguration message (interpreted as “a message of a radio resource control (RRC) container”) containing a ConditionalRRCReconfiguration.)([para 0100] of Rugeland; Each of these configurations may in turn contain: (i) an identifier to separate which message is which, e.g. conditionalConfigurationId, comprising an integer value; (ii) one or more conditions for when to fulfill each HO configuration (interpreted as “the conditional handover command”, see para [0006] of Rugeland), e.g. triggerCondition comprising a set of measurement conditions; and (iii) a HO configuration, e.g. conditionalConfiguration comprising an RRCReconfiguration message.)(also disclosed in Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 18, lines 3-16); or ...
Regarding Claim 6, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 1, wherein:
Rugeland further teaches the condition is a condition to be satisfied before the user device can add the candidate base station as a secondary node to operate in dual connectivity with the base station and the candidate base station ([para 0095] of Rugeland; The UE 10 according to the method shown may receive and store one or multiple handover configuration(s) with associated trigger conditions, from a source network node (Step 310). Each of these configurations are associated to a given target cell candidate (i.e. target PCell, PSCell, SpCell).) (also disclosed in Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 16, lines 11-14); and
the method comprises receiving at least the configuration in a conditional secondary node configuration message from the base station ([para 0024] of Rugeland; two or more of the multiple conditional configurations are associated with …., different sets of secondary cells, ….) ([para 0168] of Rugeland; receiving multiple conditional configurations (e.g., multiple CHO configurations) associated with respective conditions (Step 710))(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 23, line 34-page 24, line 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 6, wherein either:
Rugeland further teaches (i) receiving the dedicated configuration identifier includes receiving the dedicated configuration identifier in an information element of the conditional secondary node configuration message ([para 0099] of Rugeland; Each of these configurations may contain the cell identity (e.g. the physical cell identity, PhysCellId) of the target candidate cell (i.e. PCell, PSCell, SpCell) and a list of conditional configurations associated to that cell (e.g. conditionalConfigurationPerCellList) ([para 0100] of Rugeland; Each of these configurations may in turn contain: (i) an identifier to separate which message is which, e.g. conditionalConfigurationId, comprising an integer value;)(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 18, lines 3-9);… or…
Regarding Claim 11, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 1, further comprising: Kim further teaches
when the condition is satisfied, performing a random access procedure to communicate with either the candidate base station or a base station associated with the candidate cell ([para 0073]; When a condition associated with a specific target cell is met, the UE 1 f-05 may perform a random access procedure to the target cell).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 1, further comprising:
Kim teaches receiving, from the base station or a different base station, a configuration release message (para [0013]; in a case where a release request for the second conditional handover is received (by UE) including the dedicated configuration identifier ([para 0077] of Rugeland); and
in response to receiving the configuration release message including the dedicated configuration identifier, releasing the configuration (para [0013]; where a release request for the second conditional handover is received … , releasing the second conditional handover).
While Kim does not explicitly disclose the release message including the dedicated configuration identifier, Rugeland discloses the release message including the dedicated configuration identifier (para [0041] of Rugeland: The method may also comprise, responsive to receiving the indication, transmitting, to each of one or more other candidate target network nodes, a message that includes an identifier of a conditional configuration and indicates the other candidate target network node is to release a user equipment context and/or radio resources for the conditional configuration identified by the identifier.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to incorporate the identifier taught by Rugeland into the release request of Kim in order to release a specific conditional handover (“the second conditional handover” discussed in Kim). In system where multiple CHO configurations exist, providing a specific identifier in release request message is the most predictable and efficient technical solution to ensure the UE releases the correct configuration, thereby prevent signal ambiguity and unintended configuration loss. For example, Rugeland explicitly discloses that, in para [0041], “a message that includes an identifier of a conditional configuration and indicates the other candidate target network node is to release a user equipment context and/or radio resources for the conditional configuration identified by the identifier.”
Regarding Claim 15, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 14, wherein Kim teaches the conditional procedure enables the user device to conditionally handover to the candidate cell ([para 0064]; The source cell 1 d-10 may store, in an RRC message, the handover configuration information and the additional configuration information that is necessary for the CHO operation (Conditional Handover operation) and received from the target cells 1 d-20,.).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 15, wherein either: Rugeland teaches
(i) assigning the dedicated configuration identifier to the configuration includes assigning a value of an information element in a conditional handover command ([para 0075] of Rugeland; The identifiers of the handover configurations may be determined implicitly (e.g. first configuration gets identity=1, second one gets identity=2, etc.).) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 31-36);
(ii) assigning the dedicated configuration identifier to the configuration includes assigning a value in a message of a radio resource control (RRC) container that separately includes the conditional handover command ([para 0098] of Rugeland; The UE 10 may receive an RRCReconfiguration message (interpreted as “a message of a radio resource control (RRC) container”) containing a ConditionalRRCReconfiguration.)([para 0100] of Rugeland; Each of these configurations may in turn contain: (i) an identifier to separate which message is which, e.g. conditionalConfigurationId, comprising an integer value; (ii) one or more conditions for when to fulfill each HO configuration (interpreted as “the conditional handover command”, see para [0006] of Rugeland), e.g. triggerCondition comprising a set of measurement conditions; and (iii) a HO configuration, e.g. conditionalConfiguration comprising an RRCReconfiguration message.)(also disclosed in Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 18, lines 3-16); or
(iii) transmitting the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier to the user device is performed by a first base station of the RAN, and the candidate cell is associated with a second base station of the RAN ([para 0075] of Rugeland; the first radio network node 12 (interpreted as “a first base station of the RAN”) may decide unique identities and indicate to the second radio network node 13 the assigned identifier for a corresponding handover configuration.) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 31-36).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 16, wherein: Rugeland teaches:
transmitting the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier to the user device is performed by a first base station of the RAN ([para 0075] of Rugeland; The first radio network node 12 (interpreted as “a first base station of the RAN”) may transmit a message to the UE comprising the one or more handover configurations and the associated identifiers.) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 37-38);
the candidate cell is associated with a second base station of the RAN ([para 0075] of Rugeland; the first radio network node 12 may decide unique identities and indicate to the second radio network node 13 the assigned identifier for a corresponding handover configuration.) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 33-36);
assigning the dedicated configuration identifier to the configuration is performed at the first base station ([para 0075] of Rugeland; the first radio network node 12 may decide unique identities and indicate to the second radio network node 13 the assigned identifier for a corresponding handover configuration.) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 33-36);
the method further comprises transmitting, by the first base station, a handover request including the dedicated configuration identifier to the second base station ([para 0130] of Rugeland; the second radio network node 13 may receive one or more messages from the source radio network node 12 comprising an identifier)([para 0130] of Rugeland; when a candidate target network node receives a conditional handover request from a neighboring network node which is connected to the UE 10,)(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 23, lines 29-35); and
the method further comprises transmitting, by the second base station, a handover request acknowledgment including the configuration to the first base station ([para 0134] of Rugeland; The candidate target network node then responds to the source network node with the conditional handover request acknowledgment comprising the set of CHO configurations.)(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 24, lines 20-22).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 16, wherein: Rugeland teaches
transmitting the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier to the user device is performed by a first base station of the RAN ([para 0075] of Rugeland; The first radio network node 12 may transmit a message to the UE comprising the one or more handover configurations and the associated identifiers.) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 37-38);
the candidate cell is associated with a second base station of the RAN ([para 0075] of Rugeland; the first radio network node 12 may decide unique identities and indicate to the second radio network node 13 the assigned identifier for a corresponding handover configuration.) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 33-36);
the method further comprises transmitting, by the first base station, a handover request to the second base station ([para 0130] of Rugeland; the second radio network node 13 may receive one or more messages from the source radio network node 12 comprising an identifier)([para 0130] of Rugeland; when a candidate target network node receives a conditional handover request from a neighboring network node which is connected to the UE 10,)(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 23, lines 29-35);
assigning the dedicated configuration identifier to the configuration is performed at the second base station ([para 0131] of Rugeland; the candidate target radio network node may create a CHO configuration and may assign the identifier.)(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 24, lines 5-7); and
the method further comprises transmitting, by the second base station, a handover request acknowledgment including the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier to the first base station ([para 0134] of Rugeland; The candidate target network node then responds to the source network node with the conditional handover request acknowledgment comprising the set of CHO configurations.)(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 24, lines 20-22).
Regarding Claim 22, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 14, wherein Rugeland teaches the procedure enables the user device to conditionally add the candidate base station as a secondary node to operate in dual connectivity with a master node and the secondary node ([para 0095] of Rugeland; The UE 10 according to the method shown may receive and store one or multiple handover configuration(s) with associated trigger conditions, from a source network node (Step 310). Each of these configurations are associated to a given target cell candidate (i.e. target PCell, PSCell, SpCell).) (also disclosed in Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 16, lines 11-14).
Regarding Claim 23, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 22, wherein Rugeland teaches assigning the dedicated configuration identifier to the configuration includes either:
assigning a value of an information element of a conditional secondary node configuration message ([para 0075] of Rugeland; The identifiers of the handover configurations may be determined implicitly (e.g. first configuration gets identity=1, second one gets identity=2, etc.).) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 31-36); or ...
Regarding Claim 26, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 14, Rugeland teaches
wherein transmitting the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier to the user device is performed by a first base station of the RAN ([para 0075] of Rugeland; The first radio network node 12 may transmit a message to the UE comprising the one or more handover configurations and the associated identifiers.) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 37-38), and wherein either:
(i) assigning the dedicated configuration identifier to the configuration is performed at the first base station ([para 0075] of Rugeland; the first radio network node 12 may decide unique identities and indicate to the second radio network node 13 the assigned identifier for a corresponding handover configuration.) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 33-36);
the method further comprises transmitting, by the first base station, a secondary node addition or change request including the dedicated configuration identifier to the candidate base station ([para 0130] of Rugeland; the second radio network node 13 may receive one or more messages from the source radio network node 12 comprising an identifier)([para 0130] of Rugeland; when a candidate target network node receives a conditional handover request (interpreted as “a secondary node addition or change request”) from a neighboring network node which is connected to the UE 10,)(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 23, lines 29-35); and
the method further comprises transmitting, by the candidate base station, a secondary node addition or change request acknowledgment including the configuration to the first base station ([para 0134] of Rugeland; The candidate target network node then responds to the source network node with the conditional handover request acknowledgment comprising the set of CHO configurations.)(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 24, lines 20-22); or
(ii) the method further comprises transmitting, by the first base station, a secondary node addition or change request to the candidate base station ([para 0130] of Rugeland; the second radio network node 13 may receive one or more messages from the source radio network node 12 comprising an identifier)([para 0130] of Rugeland; when a candidate target network node receives a conditional handover request (interpreted as “a secondary node addition or change request”) from a neighboring network node which is connected to the UE 10,)(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 23, lines 29-35);
assigning the dedicated configuration identifier to the configuration is performed at the candidate base station ([para 0131] of Rugeland; the candidate target radio network node may create a CHO configuration and may assign the identifier.)(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 24, lines 5-7); and
the method further comprises transmitting, by the candidate base station, a secondary node addition or change request acknowledgment including the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier to the first base station ([para 0134] of Rugeland; The candidate target network node then responds to the source network node with the conditional handover request acknowledgment comprising the set of CHO configurations.)(see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 24, lines 20-22).
Regarding Claim 29, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 14, wherein assigning the dedicated configuration identifier to the configuration is performed by a first base station of the RAN that is operating as a current secondary node ([para 0075] of Rugeland; The first radio network node 12 may transmit a message to the UE comprising the one or more handover configurations and the associated identifiers.) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 37-38), and wherein either: Rugeland teaches
(i) the method further comprises transmitting, by the first base station, the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier to a second base station of the RAN that is operating as a master node ([para 0136] of Rugeland; the target may have prepared two CHOs for the UE; CHO1 which comprises a configuration without carrier aggregation (i.e. only a PCell).) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, page 24, lines 29-33); and transmitting the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier to the user device is performed by the second base station ([para 0119] of Rugeland; The candidate target network node may provide a unique identifier associated to each HO configuration. This will allow the UE 10 to report to the candidate target network node in e.g. RRCReconfigurationComplete message, which of the conditional configuration it has used.) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, page 22, lines 6-9); or
(ii) transmitting the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier to the user device is performed by the first base station ([para 0075] of Rugeland; The first radio network node 12 may transmit a message to the UE comprising the one or more handover configurations and the associated identifiers.) (see Provisional Application No. 62/875,067 (filed on Jul 17, 2019) of Rugeland, page 21, lines 37-38).
Regarding Claim 31, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 14, further comprising: Kim and Rugeland further teach
transmitting, to the user device, a configuration release message that includes the dedicated configuration identifier ([para 0077] of Rugeland), which instructs the user device to release the configuration (para [0013]; in a case where a release request for the second conditional handover is received (by UE).
Regarding Claim 34, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 14, comprising:
transmitting, to the user device, the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier, which instructs the user device to use the configuration and the dedicated configuration identifier ([para 0068]; The UE 1 e-10 that receives some of the configuration information may replace redundant information with new information and add non-redundant information to existing configuration information.)(Examiner’s note: the replacing and adding in para [0068] of Kim is interpreted as “instructs the user device to use the configuration”).
Regarding Claim 36, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 1, wherein using the configuration to modify the pre- existing configuration comprises replacing at least a portion of the pre-existing configuration with the configuration associated with a condition to be satisfied ([para 0068]; The source cell 1 e-05 may provide, to the UE 1 e-10, only some of the CHO configuration information that needs to be modified … The UE 1 e-10 that receives some of the configuration information may replace redundant information with new information (interpreted as “modify a pre-existing configuration already stored in the user device”)).
Regarding Claim 37, Kim and Rugeland teach The method of claim 14, wherein using the configuration to modify the pre-existing configuration comprises replacing at least a portion of the pre-existing configuration with the configuration associated with a condition to be satisfied ([para 0068]; The source cell 1 e-05 may provide, to the UE 1 e-10, only some of the CHO configuration information that needs to be modified … The UE 1 e-10 that receives some of the configuration information may replace redundant information with new information (interpreted as “modify a pre-existing configuration already stored in the user device”)).
Conclusion
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411