DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim1 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 4, the word “and” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) s 1,-4,6-8, 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gross et al. US 2018/0370843.
Gross et al. discloses a glass composition comprising:
66.72 mole % SiO2
8.64 mole % Al2O3
16.69 mole % Na2O
2.95 mole % K2O
0 mole % Fe@O3
4.85 mole % ZnO
RO (both MgO and CaO)
wherein the sum of RO and ZnO is greater than 4 mole %.
Gross et al. also discloses that the composition has a thermal expansion of 10.1ppm/°C. See example 33.
With respect to the claimed Young’s modulus of at least 65 GPa, paragraph [0105] discloses the glasses of the invention have a Young’s modulus of 70-85 GPa. Although this disclosure is not specifically associated with Example 33 as are the disclosures above, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112.01
Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP 2112.01
The same rationale applies with respect to the transmission property claimed in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-23, 25-27, 29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross et al. US 2018/0370843 as applied to claims 1-4,6-8, 10 and 13 above, and further in view of Boratov et al. US 2017/0349471.
Boratov et al. discloses forming a glass sheet by delivering molten glass to a forming apparatus that has a body with an inlet that receives the molten glass which flows into a trough formed in the body and then overflows two top surfaces of the trough and runs down two sides of the body before fusing together where the two sides come together to form a glass sheet, and drawing the glass sheet using a pull roll assembly to produce a glass substrate [0054], [0051]. Note the mass flow rate of glass is managed [0072], Figure 27.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the molding process of Boratov et al. to produce the glass sheets for use in producing the articles in Gross et al as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious.
Note that Gross et al. further teaches that the glass articles can be ion exchanged to improve the properties thereof. Gross et al. discloses that the ion exchanging can take place using a KNO3 or NaNO3 bath. See paragraphs [0120] and [0121].
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A FIORILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731