DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment and argument filed 09/25/2025 in response to the final rejection, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any previous rejection or objection not mentioned herein is withdrawn.
Claims 1-3 are pending and being examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jon J. Kabara (US6638978B1) and USDA National Organic Program, (Glycerol Monooleate, NOSB TAP Review Compiled by OMRI, September 25, 2001, page 1-16).
Regarding claim 1, Kabara teaches “It has been observed that a combination of a glyceryl fatty acid ester and a mixture of at least one or more acids selected from the group consisting of fatty acids having from about six to about eighteen carbon atoms demonstrates remarkable preservative activity” and that the preferred glyceryl fatty acid ester compounds include 1-monolinolein (see columns 3-4, lines 57-61 and lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, Kabara teaches that the composition is useful as pharmaceutical preservatives and has utility in topical pharmaceutical applications (see column 3, lines 49-51) and can be used in cosmetics (see column 4, lines 31-34).
Kabara does not specifically teach that the composition can be used as a moisturizer or anti-atopic composition. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation that the composition is for a moisturizing or anti-atopic compostion is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
USDA teaches that glycerol monooleate is specifically used as a moisturizer (see 111-112, page 3). Glycerol monooleate is a synonym for monolinolein.
Therefore it would have been obvious to persons having skill in the art before the effective filing date to create the instant invention because Kabara teaches of compositions with effective amounts of a preservative and 1-monolinolein (a synonym for monolinolein) and USDA teaches that glycerin monooleate is specifically used as a moisturizer.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jon J. Kabara (US6638978B1) and USDA National Organic Program, (Glycerol Monooleate, NOSB TAP Review Compiled by OMRI, September 25, 2001, page 1-16), as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Pubchem (https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/1-Monolinolein) and Akio Fukikawa (JP62111654A).
Kabara teaches a composition comprising an effective amount of a preservative and monolinolein, however does not teach that the compounds are from the stems and leaves of carrots.
PubChem teaches 1-monolinolein is a 1-monoglyceride that has octadecadienoyl (linoleoyl) as the acyl group. It has a role as a plant metabolite and an antiviral agent. It is functionally related to a linoleic acid. (see page 1, description).
Fukikawa teaches of compositions which include carrots (Daucus carota L.) and its whole plant including leaves for creating skin atopic compositions (page 6, para. 10 and claim 1) and teaches the invention is useful for atopic dermatitis (see page 5, para. 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use monolinolein which is derived from the stems and leaves of carrots because as PubChem teaches monolinolein is a known plant metabolite. Additionally, the compound would be the same no matter its source and so the selection of where the compound comes from would have been a matter of mere judicious selection. Furthermore, it is prima facie obvious to use prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and in this case the use of monolinolein as a moisturizer is prima facie obvious. Determining its place of origin is not necessarily inventive nor does it distinguish it over the prior art. It would have further been obvious to use the composition as an atopic composition for dermatitis because Fukikawa teaches of compositions which include carrots (Daucus carota L.) and its whole plant including leaves for creating skin atopic compositions.
Given the prior art there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the instant invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
JACOB A BOECKELMAN Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/TERRY A MCKELVEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655