DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 4 are amended. Claims 5-6 are cancelled. Claims 11-13 are new.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the bristles on the fixing-ejecting element (2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,124,741 to Crawford.
Regarding claim 1, Crawford ‘741 discloses a system for picking-up elements, comprising: an automated arm 18 provided with at least one tool 23 at one of its ends for picking up said elements 14, a work surface 16 on which said elements 14 are placed, and a fixing ejecting element 28 characterized in that said tool 23 comprises at least one pick 24 (figs 9-10), wherein the fixing-ejecting element 28 removes from the at least one pick 24 at least one of said elements 14 that has been picked up, and wherein the fixing-ejecting element 28 remains fixed (col. 3, lines 20-26 – element 28 is fixed to the automated arm 18) and the automated arm 18 moves while the at least one element 14 is being removed from the at least one pick 24.
Regarding claim 2, Crawford ‘741 discloses wherein said tool 23 also comprises a head 23a at which said at least one pick 24 is fixed (fig 10 – col. 3, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 3, Crawford ‘741 discloses wherein said fixing- ejecting element 28 comprises at least one hole or groove for the passage of said at least one pick 24 (fig. 2 – col. 3, line 11).
Regarding claim 4, Crawford ‘741 discloses wherein said fixing-ejecting element 28 is movable with respect to said head 23a (col. 3, lines 7-9).
Regarding claim 8, Crawford ‘741 discloses wherein said at least one pick 24 is in the form of a needle or harpoon.
Regarding claim 9, Crawford ‘741 discloses wherein an end of said at least one pick 24 for perforating said element is beveled (fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Crawford ‘741 discloses wherein said at least one pick 24 is pivoting in relation to said head 23a (note that there is a pivotal connection where pick 24 is in pivoting relation to head 23a – when the set screw is not locking the pivotal connection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,124,741 to Crawford in view of US 4,688,837 to Ball.
Regarding claim 7, Crawford ‘741 teaches a work surface 16.
Ball ‘837 teaches using a soft pourous member (equates to flexible bristles) on which said elements A are placed in order to offer additional support.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work surface taught in Crawford ‘741 to include the pourous member or flexible bristles as taught in Ball ‘837 in order to offer more support.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,124,741 to Crawford in view of US 4,157,825 to Ellenberger et al.
Regarding claim 11, Crawford ‘741 discloses a system for picking-up elements, comprising: an automated arm 18 provided with at least one tool 23 at one of its ends for picking up said elements 14, a work surface 16 on which said elements 14 are placed, and a fixing-ejecting element 28,characterized in that said tool comprises at least one pick 24, wherein the fixing-ejecting element 28 removes from the at least one pick 24 at least one of said elements 14 that has been picked up,
Ellenberger ‘825 teaches a fixing-ejecting member 11/12 that comprises bristles 10 for directing the workpiece. Ellenberger ‘825 also teaches that the bristles may be strips or loops of leather or rubber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixing-ejecting element 28 taught in Crawford ‘741 to include the bristles, strips or loops in order to direct a workpiece.
Noting that once element 28 of Crawford ‘741 is modified with the bristles, strips or loops – which would extend along the sides of the fixing-ejecting element 28 since the bristles in Ellenberger extend around the roll 9. Then, Crawford ‘741, as modified, would teach wherein said fixing-ejecting element 28 comprises a plurality of flexible bristles 10 (as taught by Ellenberger ‘825) that secure the at least one element 14 by surrounding at least a portion of the at least one element 14.
Regarding claim 12, Crawford ‘741, as modified, discloses wherein the automated arm 18 moves to pick up the at least one element 14 using the at least one pick 24 and moves in an opposite direction to remove the at least one element 14 from the at least one pick 24.
Regarding claim 13, Crawford ‘741, as modified, discloses wherein the plurality of flexible bristles (10 as taught in Ellenberger) would surround the at least one pick. Noting that Crawford ‘741 is modified with bristle, strips or loops that extend around and from the fixing-ejecting element 28, as modified.
Response to Arguments
Applicants submits that the bristles are depicted in Fig. 9. However, claim 11 recites that the fixing-ejecting element comprises a plurality of flexible bristles, which is not shown in Fig. 9.
Applicant’s specification states that “Figure 9 shows another possible configuration of the fixing-ejecting element 2, which incorporates an array of flexible bristles securing the element 3 to be picked up before being perforated.” However, the bristles (unlabeled) are shown extending from head 6. The fixing -ejecting element 2 does not appear to be shown in Fig. 9 and is clearly not shown as claimed by applicant. Claimed subject matter must be shown in the claims. The object is upheld.
New claim 11 is rejected under US 4,124,741 to Crawford in view of US 4,157,825 to Ellenberger et al. Applicant argues that the bristles 10 taught in Ellenberger ‘825 do not secure the sections by surrounding portions of the stack S. Rather, the bristles 10 merely contact the stack S on one side. Applicant then submits that Ellenberger ‘825 fails to teach or suggest “wherein said fixing-ejecting element (2) comprises a plurality of flexible bristles that secure the at least one element (3) by surrounding at least a portion of the at least one element (3).”
The examiner disagrees and submits that once element 28 of Crawford ‘741 is modified with the bristles, strips or loops of Ellenberger ‘825 – which would obviously extend around the sides of the fixing-ejecting element 28 as the bristles in Ellenberger ‘825 extend around the roll 9. Thus, Crawford ‘741, as modified, would teach wherein said fixing-ejecting element 28 comprises a plurality of flexible bristles 10 (as taught by Ellenberger ‘825) that secure the at least one element 14 by surrounding at least a portion of the at least one element 14. The examiner is suggesting that the bristles 10 would surround Crawford’s fixing-ejecting element 28 just like the bristles in Ellenberger ‘825 surround the roll 9.
Applicant’s other arguments are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection. Noting that the examiner addressed the arguments made to Ellenberger which is the secondary reference in the claim 11 rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA E MILLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632