DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed on 10/7/2025 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13-16, 18, 19, 21, 22, 28, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardin (US 2015/0276327 A1), in view of Ishii (US 2014/0060794 A1).
Claim 1: Nardin discloses an energy storage apparatus (i.e., FIG.2) comprising:
a crucible (i.e., container 6 used as crucible) having a cavity and a channel (i.e., channel/pipe 9) having at least two open ends within the body of the crucible (i.e., 6); a phase change material (i.e., 7 PCM) stored in the cavity of the crucible (i.e., 6); and a heat exchanger (i.e., exchanger 8; paragraph [128]: heat exchange module 5 consists of a heat exchanger known as internal exchanger 8) having an inlet and an outlet (i.e., inherent), wherein at least a portion (i.e., inherent) of the heat exchanger (i.e., 8) is encased within the channel (i.e., 9) and
Nardin discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose the heat exchanger is not in contact with the phase change material.
However, Ishii teaches the heat exchanger (i.e., 15) is not in contact with the phase change material (i.e., storage tank 20 contains phase change material 25) for the purpose of determining whether the phase of the whole phase change material is completely changed from the solid phase to the liquid phase that is whether the phase change material is allowed to be supercooled (paragraph [3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Nardin to include the heat exchanger is not in contact with the phase change material as taught by Ishii in order to determine whether the phase of the whole phase change material is completely changed from the solid phase to the liquid phase that is whether the phase change material is allowed to be supercooled.
Claim 3: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising a plurality of crucibles (i.e., paragraph [149]: each heat exchange module 5 consists of a container 6).
Claim 4: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the crucible (i.e., 6) comprises an open cavity (i.e., container 6 has open cavity within its structure in order to contain PCM; paragraph [84]: container 6 has a hollow shape where filling body PCM is inserted).
Claim 5: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the crucible (i.e., 6) comprises a closed cavity (i.e., paragraph [84]: container 6 has walls that delimit volume see FIG.2).
Claim 6: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the crucible (i.e., 6) comprises a plurality of cavities (i.e., cavities where pipes are inserted for fluid flows to container 6 within exchange module 5; paragraph [54]: pipes connected to exchange module for flow of fluid circulating in delivery and return pipes present in each and corresponding exchanger module).
Claim 7: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the crucible (i.e., 6) comprises one or more channels (i.e., paragraph [149]: heat exchanger 8 in contact with transfer material 7 with corresponding delivery/return channels/pipes 9 are along outer surface of body of container 6 see FIG.2) along an outer surface (i.e., inherent) of the crucible body, wherein a portion (i.e., inherent) of the heat exchanger (i.e., 8) is disposed along at least one of the one or more channels (i.e., 9).
Claim 10: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the material of the crucible (i.e., 6) is selected from the group consisting of silicon carbide, graphite, reinforced polymer, clay, porcelain, ceramics, carbon nanotubes, aluminum nitride, aluminum oxide, boron nitride, silicon nitride, steel, copper, mullite, zirconium oxide, ductile iron, cast iron, stainless steel, brass, alloys of columbian, tantalum, molybdenum, tungsten and combinations thereof (i.e., paragraph [134]: aluminum alloy).
Claim 13: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the energy storage apparatus stores energy (i.e., FIG.2) using a heating element (i.e., heat module 5 used as heating element).
Claim 14: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein the heating element (i.e., heat module 5) is selected from the group consisting of a heliostat, a furnace, an electrical resistor, a heat transfer fluid and combinations thereof (i.e., heat-carrying fluid 10).
Claim 15: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein the heating element (i.e., heat module 5) is internal to the energy storage apparatus (i.e., FIG.2).
Claim 16: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein the energy storage apparatus comprises a plurality of heating elements (i.e., multiple heat modules 5 FIG.3).
Claim 18: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the energy storage apparatus comprises a plurality of heat exchangers (i.e., paragraph [140] & [154]: PCM inserted with other transfer materials with corresponding internal heat exchangers SI, regulating designing heat exchangers).
Claim 19: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 18, wherein each heat exchanger (i.e., 8) is a separate independent circuit (i.e., separate circuits of FIG.3-4 and other related figures).
Claim 21: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the phase change material is a metal (i.e., paragraph [27]: PCM such as copper) or a metal alloy.
Claim 22: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 21, wherein the phase change material is aluminum (i.e., paragraph [159]: aluminum as the PCM), or an alloy comprising aluminum.
Claim 28: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1 an energy storage array comprising: a plurality of energy storage apparatus in thermal (i.e., FIG.3 illustrates multiple heat modules storage apparatus) and/or electrical communication .
Claim 32: Nardin as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 28, wherein the array is arranged in series or parallel (i.e., FIG.3 illustrates parallel array of heat modules 5).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardin (US 2015/0276327 A1), Ishii (US 2014/0060794 A1), and in view of Bissell (US 2019/0226735 A1).
Claim 33: Nardin fails to disclose wherein the material of the crucible is graphite.
However, Bissell teaches the material of the crucible is graphite (i.e., paragraph [91]: dispersion of graphite in the PCM is valuable) for the purpose of enhancing the thermal conductivity (paragraph [91]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Nardin to include the material of the crucible is graphite as taught by Bissell in order to enhance the thermal conductivity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/7/2025, with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and they are moot. Applicant’s arguments to new features and amendments are addressed in this office action. Therefore, a new ground(s) of rejections have been made in response to the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763