DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walker (US 5678734).
Regarding claim 1, Walker discloses
A water dispenser (hot water dispenser 10, fig.1) for providing hot water for preparing hot beverages (intended use), wherein the water dispenser (hot water dispenser 10) comprises:
a water storage container (storage tank 39, fig.1);
a heating element (heater element 40, fig.1) for heating water positioned within the water storage container (storage tank 39); and
a tap (discharge pipe outlet 16, fig.1) configured to dispense hot water that exits from said water dispenser (hot water dispenser 10), wherein the tap (discharge pipe outlet 16) is positioned completely above the water storage container (storage tank 39), wherein the tap (discharge pipe outlet 16) is fluidically connected to the water storage container (storage tank 39) via a pipeline (vertical discharge pipe 19, fig.1), wherein the pipeline (vertical discharge pipe 19) comprises a pump (pump 24, fig.1), and
wherein the pipeline (vertical discharge pipe 19) is at least partly formed as a riser (lower portion of vertical discharge pipe 19), wherein the riser (lower portion of vertical discharge pipe 19) is a pipe having a length that extends within or through the water storage container (storage tank 39) such that the riser (lower portion of vertical discharge pipe 19) is adapted to be surrounded by heated water within the water storage container (storage tank 39).
Regarding claim 2, Walker discloses
the water storage container (storage tank 39, fig.1) is an open water storage container [storage tank 39, fig.1, has inlet pipe 32 is opened].
Regarding claim 8, Walker discloses
the pump (pump 24, fig.1) is a booster pump [pump 24, fig.1, acts as a booster pump].
Regarding claim 9, Walker discloses
the pump (pump 24, fig.2) is positioned beneath the water storage container (storage tank 39, fig.1).
Regarding claim 10, Walker discloses
the pipeline (vertical discharge pipe 19) fluidically connected to a bottom section of the water storage container (storage tank 39, fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 5678734) in view of Marinoza (US 4534282).
Regarding claim 3, Walker discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above such as a pipe, a water storage container and a riser.
However, Walker does not disclose the pipeline comprises a drain valve for draining the water from the pipeline or parts thereof, wherein the drain valve comprises a tapping position and a draining position, wherein the water storage container and the tap are fluidically connected to each other via the riser if the drain valve is in the tapping position.
Marinoza discloses a pipeline (holding chamber 2, fig.8) comprises a drain valve (three-way valve 89’, fig.8) for draining the water from the pipeline (holding chamber 2) or parts thereof, wherein the drain valve (holding chamber 2) comprises a tapping position and a draining position [one way for draining and the other for tapping, fig.8].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a pipeline of Walker, comprises a drain valve for draining the water from the pipeline or parts thereof, wherein the drain valve comprises a tapping position and a draining position, as taught by Marinoza, in order to provide a draining position.
Such that the modification of Walker and Marinoza can be performed the function the water storage container and the tap are fluidically connected to each other via the riser if the drain valve is in the tapping position.
Regarding claim 4, Marinozo discloses
the drain valve (three-way valve 89’, fig.8) is a three-two-way valve [three-way valve 89’, fig.8].
Regarding claim 5, Marinozo discloses
a pipeline (holding chamber 2, fig.8) comprises a drain valve (three-way valve 89’, fig.8) for draining the water from the pipeline (holding chamber 2) or parts thereof, wherein the drain valve (holding chamber 2) comprises a tapping position and a draining position [one way for draining and the other for tapping, fig.8].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a pipeline of Walker, comprises a drain valve for draining the water from the pipeline or parts thereof, wherein the drain valve comprises a tapping position and a draining position, as taught by Marinoza, in order to provide a draining position.
Such that the modification of Walker and Marinoza can be performed the function the tap and the water storage container are connected fluidically to each other via the pipeline, if the drain valve is in the draining position.
Regarding claim 16, Walker discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above such as a pipe, a water storage container and a riser.
However, Walker does not disclose the pipeline comprises a drain valve for draining the water from the pipeline or parts thereof, wherein the drain valve comprises a tapping position and a draining position, wherein the water storage container and the tap are fluidically connected to each other via the riser if the drain valve is in the tapping position, wherein the drain valve is a three-two-way valve, and wherein the tap and the water storage container are connected fluidically to each other via the pipeline, if the drain valve is in the draining position.
Marinoza discloses a pipeline (holding chamber 2, fig.8) comprises a drain valve (three-way valve 89’, fig.8) for draining the water from the pipeline (holding chamber 2) or parts thereof, wherein the drain valve (holding chamber 2) comprises a tapping position and a draining position [one way for draining and the other for tapping, fig.8]; and the drain valve (three-way valve 89’, fig.8) is a three-two-way valve [three-way valve 89’, fig.8].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a pipeline of Walker, comprises a drain valve for draining the water from the pipeline or parts thereof, wherein the drain valve comprises a tapping position and a draining position, and the drain valve is a three-two-way valve, as taught by Marinoza, in order to provide a draining position.
Such that the modification of Walker and Marinoza can be performed the function the water storage container and the tap are fluidically connected to each other via the riser if the drain valve is in the tapping position; and the tap and the water storage container are connected fluidically to each other via the pipeline, if the drain valve is in the draining position.
Claims 6 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 5678734) in view of Marinoza (US 4534282) and further in view of Yoon (US 20120318823 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Walker and Marioza discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above such as a tap and a pipeline.
However, the modification of Walker and Marioza does not disclose the tap is additionally fluidically connected to a second water source and the pipeline comprises a non-return valve.
Yoon discloses an apparatus (hot water supply device, fig.1) comprises a tap (faucet 4, fig.1) is additionally fluidically connected to a second water source (water supply) and a pipeline (inlet pipe line 6, fig.1) comprises a non-return valve (check valve V1, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a tap of Walker, is additionally fluidically connected to a second water source and the pipeline comprises a non-return valve; and the non-return valve, as taught by Yoon, in order to provide a draining position.
Regarding claim 17, the modification of Walker and Marinoza discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above, Walker further disclose the pump (pump 24, fig.1) is a booster pump [pump 24, fig.2, acts as a booster pump], but does not disclose the tap is additionally fluidically connected to a second water source and the pipeline comprises a non-return valve, wherein the pipeline comprises a pressure relief valve between the drain valve and the non-return valve,
Yoon discloses an apparatus (hot water supply device, fig.1) comprises a tap (faucet 4, fig.1) is additionally fluidically connected to a second water source (water supply) and a pipeline (inlet pipe line 6, fig.1) comprises a non-return valve (check valve V1, fig.1), wherein the pipeline (inlet pipe line 6) comprises a pressure relief valve (decompression valve V2, fig.1) between a drain valve (solenoid valve V3, fig.1) and the non-return valve (check valve V1, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a tap of Walker, is additionally fluidically connected to a second water source and the pipeline comprises a non-return valve; and a pressure relief valve between a drain valve and the non-return valve, as taught by Yoon, in order to provide a draining position.
Regarding claim 18, Walker discloses
the pump (pump 24, fig.1) is positioned beneath the water storage container (storage tank 39, fig.1), and wherein the pipeline (vertical discharge pipe 19, fig.1)is fluidically connected to a bottom section of the water storage container (storage tank 39).
Regarding claim 19, Walker discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above such as a riser, a heating element, a water storage container, but does not disclose a distance D between the riser and the heating element within the water storage container is larger than or equal to a safety distance Ds, wherein the safety distance is larger than 5 mm and less than or equal to 20 cm.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify an apparatus of Walker, with a distance between the riser and the heating element within the water storage container is larger than or equal to a safety distance, wherein the safety distance is larger than 5 mm and less than or equal to 20 cm, as it well known in the art of manufacturing design choice purpose of rearrangement in part, in order for the safety purpose.
Regarding claim 20, Walker discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above, but does not disclose the heating element is configured to heat the water within the water storage container to a temperature between 90° C. and 100° C.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a heating element of Walker, is configured to heat the water within the water storage container to a temperature between 90° C. and 100° C, as it well known in the art, in order to provide a boiling water.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 5678734) in view of Marinoza (US 4534282) in view of Yoon (US 20120318823 A1) and further in view of Quah et al. (US 20090183639 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Walker, Marioza, and Yoon discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above, but does not disclose the pipeline comprises a pressure relief valve between a drain valve and the non-return valve.
Quah discloses a pipeline (inlet pipe line 6, fig.1) comprises a pressure relief valve (decompression valve V2, fig.1) between a drain valve (solenoid valve V3, fig.1) and the non-return valve (check valve V1, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a pipeline of Walker, by comprising a pressure relief valve between a drain valve and the non-return valve, as taught by Quah, in order to provide a pressure relief.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 5678734).
Regarding claim 14, Walker discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above such as a riser, a heating element, a water storage container, but does not disclose a distance D between the riser and the heating element within the water storage container is larger than or equal to a safety distance Ds, wherein the safety distance is larger than 5 mm and less than or equal to 20 cm.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify an apparatus of Walker, with a distance between the riser and the heating element within the water storage container is larger than or equal to a safety distance, wherein the safety distance is larger than 5 mm and less than or equal to 20 cm, as it well known in the art of manufacturing design choice purpose of rearrangement in part, in order for the safety purpose.
Regarding claim 15, Walker discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claim above, but does not disclose the heating element is configured to heat the water within the water storage container to a temperature between 90° C. and 100° C.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a heating element of Walker, is configured to heat the water within the water storage container to a temperature between 90° C. and 100° C, as it well known in the art, in order to provide a boiling water.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gijizel et al. (US 6098525) is considered as a relevant prior art in field of a water heater dispenser, as shown in fig.1, with a water container, a heating element, a tap, and pipeline, and a riser…but does not disclose a heater is positioned in the water container….
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
06/12/2026