DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/28/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7, 9-11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Khoshnevisan (Pub No 20200351934) in view of Li (Pub No 20220224453), Ying (Pub No 20220377767), and newly cited Gerami (Pub No 20220386336).
Regarding claim 7,
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitation.
The examiner relies on newly cited Gerami (Pub No 20220386336) which teaches the amended limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan (Pub No 20200351934) in view of Li (Pub No 20220224453), Ying (Pub No 20220377767), and and Gerami (Pub No 20220386336)
Regarding claim 7 and 9,
Khoshnevisan teaches A terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives first information regarding one or more time domain resource allocation candidates notified by higher layer signaling (interpreted as For example, NR (e.g., NR Release 15) specifies that TDRA field indicates one of the entries of the higher layer parameter pusch-TimeDomainAllocationList, if this higher layer parameter is configured, see para [0065]) and second information regarding a certain time domain resource allocation candidate indicated by a time domain resource allocation field included in downlink control information; and (interpreted as In certain aspects, as the TDRA field of the DCI indicates one of the entries/rows from the TDRA table, see para [0064]. Wherein the TDRA candidates are interpreted as TDRA entries).
a processor that determines, based on a number of the one or more time domain resource allocation candidates, a size of the time domain resource allocation field, (interpreted as the bit length of the TDRA field is a function of the number of rows in the TDRA table. For example, bit-width of the TDRA field is 4 bits for indicating each of the sixteen TDRA options from the default TDRA table as shown in FIG. 4A., see para [0064]. Examiner notes 16 TDRA rows/entries is 4 bits (e.g. 2 to the 4th power), 9 TDRA rows/entries is 3 bits (2 to the 3rd power), etc.)
wherein each of the time domain resource allocation candidates has information regarding a start symbol and length (SLIV) of a downlink shared channel (interpreted as shown in FIG. 4A, for each TDRA option (e.g., each row), the table 400A defines a Row index, a mapping type, a slot offset (K.sub.2), a starting symbol (S) and an allocation length L…. Alternatively, the starting symbol S and the allocation length L may be indicated jointly as Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV), see para [0059]). Also see Time-Domain Resource Allocation (TDRA) for transmissions (e.g., PUSCH/PDSCH transmissions) in a slot of an NR subframe, see para [0056]).
However, Khoshnevisan does not teach and a number of repetitions, and a SLIV value corresponding to each number of repetitions can be configured separately.
Li teaches and a number of repetitions, and a SLIV value corresponding to each number of repetitions can be configured separately. (interpreted as Optionally, the higher layer parameter used to indicate the quantity K of repetitions and the higher layer parameter used to indicate the TDRA table are two different parameters, and the quantity K of repetitions is applicable to all SLIVs in the TDRA table. Optionally, the higher layer parameter used to indicate the quantity K of repetitions and the higher layer parameter used to indicate the TDRA table are a same parameter. For example, each SLIV in the TDRA table is associated with one quantity K of repetitions, and quantities K of repetitions associated with different SLIVs may be the same or different. K is an integer, and K≥2, see para [0111])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the SLIV taught by Khoshnevisan with the repetitions for SLIV taught by Li with the motivation being to configure the parameters for performing the communications.
However Koshnevisan in view of Li does not teach wherein a number of the time domain resource allocation candidates corresponding to different numbers of repetitions can be configured separately.
Ying teaches wherein a number of the time domain resource allocation candidates corresponding to different numbers of repetitions can be configured separately. (interpreted as TDRA table with number of repetitions is configured for a DCI format(s) (e.g., DCI format 0_1, DCI format 0_2, or DCI format 0_0), see para [0163]). Also see TIME DOMAIN RESOURC EALLOCATION LIST for DCI format 0_1 … number of repetitions INTEGER (0..8), see TABLE-US-00007)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the configuring of the TDRA taught by Khoshnevisan in view of Li with the configuring separately the repetitions of the TDRA taught by Ying the motivation being to configure the parameters for performing the communications.
However Khoshnevisan in view of Li and Ying do not teach wherein the information regarding the number of repetitions indicates a value selected from a set of discrete values including a value indicating a number of repetitions greater than 8.
Gerami teaches wherein the information regarding the number of repetitions indicates a value selected from a set of discrete values including a value indicating a number of repetitions greater than 8. (interpreted as repK can be chosen to be a set of values, i.e., repK={repKvalue1,repKvalue2,repKvalue3,repKvalue4}., e.g., repK.Math.{1,2,4,8}, or repK={1, 2, 4, 16}. Also see The process also includes selecting a number of repetitions from the set (Block S142), see para [0113])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the number of repetitions taught by Khoshnevisan in view of Li and Ying with the increased number of repetitions as taught by Gerami the motivation being to improve reliability by using the more optimal number of repetitions.
Regarding claim 8,
Khoshnevisan teaches The terminal according to claim 7, however does not teach wherein a number of the time domain resource allocation candidates corresponding to different numbers of repetitions can be configured separately.
Li teaches wherein a number of the time domain resource allocation candidates corresponding to different numbers of repetitions can be configured separately. (interpreted as Optionally, the higher layer parameter used to indicate the quantity K of repetitions and the higher layer parameter used to indicate the TDRA table are two different parameters, and the quantity K of repetitions is applicable to all SLIVs in the TDRA table. Optionally, the higher layer parameter used to indicate the quantity K of repetitions and the higher layer parameter used to indicate the TDRA table are a same parameter. For example, each SLIV in the TDRA table is associated with one quantity K of repetitions, and quantities K of repetitions associated with different SLIVs may be the same or different. K is an integer, and K≥2, see para [0111])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the SLIV taught by Khoshnevisan with the repetitions for SLIV taught by Li since it would have been a simple modification providing expected results of indicating multiple transmissions.
Regarding claim 10,
Khoshnevisan teaches A base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits first information regarding one or more time domain resource allocation candidates notified by higher layer signaling (interpreted as For example, NR (e.g., NR Release 15) specifies that TDRA field indicates one of the entries of the higher layer parameter pusch-TimeDomainAllocationList, if this higher layer parameter is configured, see para [0065]) and second information regarding a certain time domain resource allocation candidate indicated by a time domain resource allocation field included in downlink control information; and (interpreted as In certain aspects, as the TDRA field of the DCI indicates one of the entries/rows from the TDRA table, see para [0064]. Wherein the TDRA candidates are interpreted as TDRA entries).
a processor that determines, based on a number of the one or more time domain resource allocation candidates, a size of the time domain resource allocation field, (interpreted as the bit length of the TDRA field is a function of the number of rows in the TDRA table. For example, bit-width of the TDRA field is 4 bits for indicating each of the sixteen TDRA options from the default TDRA table as shown in FIG. 4A., see para [0064]. Examiner notes 16 TDRA rows/entries is 4 bits (e.g. 2 to the 4th power), 9 TDRA rows/entries is 3 bits (2 to the 3rd power), etc.)
wherein each of the time domain resource allocation candidates has information regarding a start symbol and length (SLIV) of a downlink shared channel (interpreted as shown in FIG. 4A, for each TDRA option (e.g., each row), the table 400A defines a Row index, a mapping type, a slot offset (K.sub.2), a starting symbol (S) and an allocation length L…. Alternatively, the starting symbol S and the allocation length L may be indicated jointly as Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV), see para [0059]). Also see Time-Domain Resource Allocation (TDRA) for transmissions (e.g., PUSCH/PDSCH transmissions) in a slot of an NR subframe, see para [0056]).
However, Khoshnevisan does not teach and a number of repetitions, and a SLIV value corresponding to each number of repetitions can be configured separately.
Li teaches and a number of repetitions, and a SLIV value corresponding to each number of repetitions can be configured separately. (interpreted as Optionally, the higher layer parameter used to indicate the quantity K of repetitions and the higher layer parameter used to indicate the TDRA table are two different parameters, and the quantity K of repetitions is applicable to all SLIVs in the TDRA table. Optionally, the higher layer parameter used to indicate the quantity K of repetitions and the higher layer parameter used to indicate the TDRA table are a same parameter. For example, each SLIV in the TDRA table is associated with one quantity K of repetitions, and quantities K of repetitions associated with different SLIVs may be the same or different. K is an integer, and K≥2, see para [0111])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the SLIV taught by Khoshnevisan with the repetitions for SLIV taught by Li with the motivation being to configure the parameters for performing the communications.
However Koshnevisan in view of Li does not teach wherein a number of the time domain resource allocation candidates corresponding to different numbers of repetitions can be configured separately.
Ying teaches wherein a number of the time domain resource allocation candidates corresponding to different numbers of repetitions can be configured separately. (interpreted as TDRA table with numberofrepetitions is configured for a DCI format(s) (e.g., DCI format 0_1, DCI format 0_2, or DCI format 0_0), see para [0163]). Also see TIME DOMAIN RESOURC EALLOCATION LIST for DCI format 0_1 … number of repetitions INTEGER (0..8), see TABLE-US-00007)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the configuring of the TDRA taught by Khoshnevisan in view of Li with the configuring separately the repetitions of the TDRA taught by Ying the motivation being to configure the parameters for performing the communications.
Regarding claim 11,
Khoshnevisan teaches A system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises: a receiver that receives first information regarding one or more time domain resource allocation candidates notified by higher layer signaling (interpreted as For example, NR (e.g., NR Release 15) specifies that TDRA field indicates one of the entries of the higher layer parameter pusch-TimeDomainAllocationList, if this higher layer parameter is configured, see para [0065]) and second information regarding a certain time domain resource allocation candidate indicated by a time domain resource allocation field included in downlink control information; and (interpreted as In certain aspects, as the TDRA field of the DCI indicates one of the entries/rows from the TDRA table, see para [0064]. Wherein the TDRA candidates are interpreted as TDRA entries).
a processor that determines, based on a number of the one or more time domain resource allocation candidates, a size of the time domain resource allocation field, (interpreted as the bit length of the TDRA field is a function of the number of rows in the TDRA table. For example, bit-width of the TDRA field is 4 bits for indicating each of the sixteen TDRA options from the default TDRA table as shown in FIG. 4A., see para [0064]. Examiner notes 16 TDRA rows/entries is 4 bits (e.g. 2 to the 4th power), 9 TDRA rows/entries is 3 bits (2 to the 3rd power), etc.)
wherein each of the time domain resource allocation candidates has information regarding a start symbol and length (SLIV) of a downlink shared channel (interpreted as shown in FIG. 4A, for each TDRA option (e.g., each row), the table 400A defines a Row index, a mapping type, a slot offset (K.sub.2), a starting symbol (S) and an allocation length L…. Alternatively, the starting symbol S and the allocation length L may be indicated jointly as Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV), see para [0059]). Also see Time-Domain Resource Allocation (TDRA) for transmissions (e.g., PUSCH/PDSCH transmissions) in a slot of an NR subframe, see para [0056]).
However, Khoshnevisan does not teach and a number of repetitions, and a SLIV value corresponding to each number of repetitions can be configured separately.
Li teaches and a number of repetitions, and a SLIV value corresponding to each number of repetitions can be configured separately. (interpreted as Optionally, the higher layer parameter used to indicate the quantity K of repetitions and the higher layer parameter used to indicate the TDRA table are two different parameters, and the quantity K of repetitions is applicable to all SLIVs in the TDRA table. Optionally, the higher layer parameter used to indicate the quantity K of repetitions and the higher layer parameter used to indicate the TDRA table are a same parameter. For example, each SLIV in the TDRA table is associated with one quantity K of repetitions, and quantities K of repetitions associated with different SLIVs may be the same or different. K is an integer, and K≥2, see para [0111])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the SLIV taught by Khoshnevisan with the repetitions for SLIV taught by Li with the motivation being to configure the parameters for performing the communications.
However Koshnevisan in view of Li does not teach wherein a number of the time domain resource allocation candidates corresponding to different numbers of repetitions can be configured separately.
Ying teaches wherein a number of the time domain resource allocation candidates corresponding to different numbers of repetitions can be configured separately. (interpreted as TDRA table with numberofrepetitions is configured for a DCI format(s) (e.g., DCI format 0_1, DCI format 0_2, or DCI format 0_0), see para [0163]). Also see TIME DOMAIN RESOURC EALLOCATION LIST for DCI format 0_1 … number of repetitions INTEGER (0..8), see TABLE-US-00007)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the configuring of the TDRA taught by Khoshnevisan in view of Li with the configuring separately the repetitions of the TDRA taught by Ying the motivation being to configure the parameters for performing the communications.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461 /HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461