DETAILED ACTION
Response to amendments
The amendments filed 10/21/2025 have been entered. Accordingly claims 1-18 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 10/21/2025, with respect to claim 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of 17 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant firstly argues (page 10):
“These rejections are respectfully traversed.
Complete discussions of the Examiner's rejections are set forth in the Office Action, and are not being repeated here.
By this amendment, without conceding the propriety of the rejection, and in an effort to advance prosecution of the instant application, Applicant has amended claim 1. Applicant's claim1 recites as follows:
1. A mounting wiring board, comprising:
a base;
an electrode portion disposed on the base; and
a heat generation pattern disposed on the electrode portion and to be heated by a magnetic field of a standing wave of a microwave;
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of an upper surface of the electrode portion.
In support of the rejection of claim 1, the Examiner alleged that Hisayasu and Toossi render the claims invention obvious. Applicant respectfully submits that Applicant's claim 1 is patentable over the cited art.
Hisayasu is Patent Document 1 listed in the background art of the present specification. Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Examiner's characterization of the technical aspects of Hisayasu.
Firstly, Hisayasu does not use microwave heating technology. Hisayasu generates magnetic field by passing current through a coil.”
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because the frequency of Hisayasu is disclosed as a “high frequency” the limit being finite only to what would effectively work for the induction heating of electrode 21a, additionally the secondary references Toossi and Verhoeven as modifying provide frequency’s within the microwave wave range to enhance specific targeting functions as provided below in the current 103 rejection.
Applicant secondly argues (page 10):
“Secondly, Hisayasu does not use a heat generation pattern as defined in the claimed invention. The Examiner has stated that the soft ferrite of Hisayasu corresponds to the heating generation pattern of the claimed invention.
However, the soft ferrite of Hisayasu is used for generating eddy currents in the conductive electrode 21 by adjusting the magnetic field generated around the coil 16. Hisayasu merely describes a configuration in which the eddy currents induce heating in the electrode 21 itself located within the target area, melting the solder paste on the electrode 21 and joining the mounted component CP to the electrode 21 (see Figures 2 and 3, paragraph [0046], etc.).”
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because the electrode 21a is receiving of the magnetic flux and heated uniformly through induction heating to include hysteresis “The magnetic flux F generated from the coil 16 travels from the proximal end portion 41a of the ferrite material 41 located near the coil 16 to the distal end portion 41b and converges to the distal end portion 41b without being attenuated. Since the converged magnetic flux F advances in the z direction and is irradiated onto the target region T on the substrate 7, an eddy current is generated in the conductor disposed within the target region T, and the conductor is induction-heated. That is, only the electrode 21a located within the target region T among the plurality of electrodes 21 arranged on the substrate 7 is efficiently induction-heated (see FIG. 3).” (page 16, 6th paragraph), the target heating region where electrode 21 contacts is anticipated to include ferrite material and therefor hysteresis action is presence “a soft ferrite that is in proximity to or in contact with the solder” (page 3, paragraph 11) soft ferrite as a known hysteresis efficiency advantage over ferrite) Examiner acknowledges in the non-final filed 07/22/2025 that Hisayasu is silent regarding the heat generation pattern disposed on the electrode portion, However Toossi as provided provides advantage to enhanced efficiency/targeting of heat through use of small footprint susceptor for targeting conversion of electromagnetic field to heat.
Additionally see Malofsky, as previously applied to claim 3, providing obviousness to a hysteresis actionable medium directly applied to susceptor technology, to advantage utilization of magnetic flux in conversion of electromagnetic fields to heat, emphasis added “heat is produced in the susceptor sheet by two mechanisms: eddy current resistive heating and magnetic hysteresis.” Malofsky [0089]).
Applicant thirdly argues (page 11):
“According to Hisayasu, the electrode 21 itself generates heat. Hisayasu does not describe nor suggest a configuration in which a heat generation pattern is provided separately from the electrode 21. In contrast, according to the claimed invention, a heat generation pattern is disposed on an electrode portion and the heat generation pattern (not the electrode) is heated by a standing wave of a microwave.”
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because as provided above Toossi teaches advantage to a small/thin form susceptor for targeting/efficiency, such that it would be obvious to separate the monolithic electrode/susceptor structure of Hisaysu to include the smaller susceptor target of Toossi, for the advantages as already disclosed above and in the prior rejections, it is best understood that the electrode 21 of Hisaysu is soft ferrite as soft ferrite is disclosed as contacting solder “a soft ferrite that is in proximity to or in contact with the solder, and solder bonding is performed by supplying an electric current to the coil and inductively heating the portion to be soldered.” (page 3, paragraph 11), However as disclosed above Malofsky provides concretely to using magnetic hysteresis to enhance utilization of magnetic field for heating in thin susceptors.
Therefore the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 13, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisayasu (JP 2017163015 A) in view of Toossi (US 2013/0334218) and Verhoeven (NPL).
Regarding claim 1, Hisayasu (JP 2017163015 A) discloses (Fig-12b) a mounting wiring board, comprising:
a base (7b);
an electrode portion (instance of 21 on 7b) disposed on the base; and
a heat generation pattern (soft ferrite in proximity/contact to solder “a soft ferrite that is in proximity to or in contact with the solder, and solder bonding is performed by supplying an electric current to the coil and inductively heating the portion to be soldered.” (page 3, paragraph 11) as/or surface of electrode 21 in contacting solder) disposed on the electrode portion (soft ferrite as an electrode and or with separable electrode 21, are provided as down stream from electromagnetic flux source 16 for target heating of solder “a solder paste P is applied to each of the electrodes 21 in the circuit pattern formed on the substrate 7. A mounting component CP is mounted on each of the electrodes 21 to which the solder paste P is applied.” (page 7, paragraph 4) see figure 11 providing coil 16 at end of 41 inducing heat generation at P for solder bonding of electronic components 7a/7b), heating by a magnetic field (“That is, the solder bonding apparatus according to the present invention is a solder bonding apparatus using electromagnetic induction heating, and is disposed inside a coil that generates a magnetic field when current is supplied, and is a solder bonding target portion. And a soft ferrite that is in proximity to or in contact with the solder” (page 3, paragraph 11)).
Hisayasu is silent regarding wherein the heat generation pattern that is disposed on the electrode portion, is to be heated by a standing wave of a microwave; and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of an upper surface of the electrode portion.
However Toossi teaches a heat generation pattern (12) that is disposed on the electrode portion (wave guides 32) is to be heated by a standing wave of a microwave (standing wave relative to pattern/susceptor “The susceptor area is preferably matched to the expected standing waves associated with the design, for example as generated by the microwave waveguide.” [0052);
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of an upper surface of the electrode portion (pattern/susceptor may be smaller than microwave directing component (waveguide/electrode) “The bonded materials may be smaller or larger than the waveguide. The susceptor area is preferably matched to the expected standing waves associated with the design, for example as generated by the microwave waveguide.” [0052], optimization to limit arcing “Also to be avoided are sharp, acute angles within the susceptor elements as micro-sized arcing appears common on those locations due to the very high current density generated.” [0050]).
The advantage of the heat generation pattern that is disposed on the electrode portion, is to be heated by a standing wave of a microwave; and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of an upper surface of the electrode portion, is to enhance targeting and control of localized heating of joining components “The heating rate per area is controlled by the design of the susceptors to correct for the variability expected from standing waves in the microwave cavity (to get uniform heating rates) or designed to heat some areas faster than others, by either increasing the density of susceptor elements or efficiency of the designs on the assumption of a time averaged uniform intensity electromagnetic field.” [0033] and size the pattern/susceptor of the localized heating according to size of microwave which may be bigger or smaller than surrounding components “The bonded materials may be smaller or larger than the waveguide. The susceptor area is preferably matched to the expected standing waves associated with the design, for example as generated by the microwave waveguide.” [0052].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu and Toossi before him or her, to modify the frequency targeted magnetic field dominant heating of Hisayasu to include the microwave standing wave relation optimized susceptor/pattern of Toossi because a standing microwave (or antinode) targeting of a resonance chamber tuned susceptor/pattern provides enhanced control/localizing of heat delivery.
Hisayasu as modified is silent reading the microwave standing wave being a magnetic wave.
However Verhoeven teaches providing a microwave (“The first is a dual mode cavity, which can be used to create pulses at either 3 GHz or 75 MHz” (page 3, first paragraph)) magnetic field standing wave (emphasis added “When exciting the TM110 mode, this standing wave has a transverse oscillating magnetic field on the axis of the cavity and no electric field.” (page 2, second paragraph)) to a target zone (intensity central to cylinder as shown in figure 3 on page 3).
The Advantage of providing a microwave magnetic field standing wave, is to limit interference specific to electric waves from the work performed at target location by magnetic waves “Inside the cavity, electromagnetic standing waves can be resonantly generated. When exciting the TM110 mode, this standing wave has a transverse oscillating magnetic field on the axis of the cavity and no electric field. When electrons move through this field, the Lorentz force will periodically deflect the electron beam” (page 2, second paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu (as modified by the standing wave targeted/susceptor of Toossi) and Verhoeven before him or her, to modify the magnetic flux optimized/directed (electric coil remote at ferrous conductor targeting chip/capacitor/resistor on metal circuit (description second paragraph, figure 4a of Hisayasu)) system of Hisayasu with the microwave optimized magnetic standing wave and reduced electric wave targeting system of Hisayasu, to perform magnetic field work at target location, because providing shaping of the standing wave selectively to the magnetic field enables targeted working with reduced interference from electric field for electric field sensitive work.
Regarding claim 3, Hisayasu as modified discloses the mounting wiring board according to Claim 1, Hisayasu as already modified teaches wherein a conductive object to be heated (solder P at electrode 21, see figures 5, “a solder paste P is applied to each of the electrodes 21 in the circuit pattern formed on the substrate 7. A mounting component CP is mounted on each of the electrodes 21 to which the solder paste P is applied.” (page 7, paragraph 4)) is disposed on the electrode portion (electrodes 21, see figures 11 providing solder P on electrodes) to be electrically connected to the electrode portion at least via the heat generation pattern (heat generation pattern of soft ferrite of Hisayasu or susceptor as already modified Toossi), and melted by a heat generation of the heat generation pattern (nature of bonding via solder), and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of a lower surface of the object to be heated (as already modified by Toossi, the heat generation pattern is dependent to the microwave wavelength and may be smaller or larger than adjacent components “The bonded materials may be smaller or larger than the waveguide. The susceptor area is preferably matched to the expected standing waves associated with the design, for example as generated by the microwave waveguide.” Toossi [0052]).
Regarding claim 4, Hisayasu as modified teaches the mounting wiring board according to Claim 3, Hisayasu further discloses wherein the object to be heated is solder (“a solder paste P is applied to each of the electrodes 21 in the circuit pattern formed on the substrate 7. A mounting component CP is mounted on each of the electrodes 21 to which the solder paste P is applied.” (page 7, paragraph 4)).
Regarding claim 5, Hisayasu discloses an electronic device mounting board, comprising:
a base (7b);
an electrode portion (instance of 21 on 7b) disposed on the base;
a heat generation pattern
solder (P) disposed on the electrode portion (“a solder paste P is applied to each of the electrodes 21 in the circuit pattern formed on the substrate 7. A mounting component CP is mounted on each of the electrodes 21 to which the solder paste P is applied.” (page 7, paragraph 4)) to be electrically connected to the electrode portion (electrode directly contacting solder as disclosed above) at least via the heat generation pattern (where heat generation is transferred to solder); and
an electronic device (7a) including an electrode (first instance of 21 on 7a) disposed on the solder (solder P thereon, see figure 5b), heating by a magnetic field (“That is, the solder bonding apparatus according to the present invention is a solder bonding apparatus using electromagnetic induction heating, and is disposed inside a coil that generates a magnetic field when current is supplied, and is a solder bonding target portion. And a soft ferrite that is in proximity to or in contact with the solder” (page 3, paragraph 11)).
Hisayasu is silent regarding that the heat generation pattern that is disposed on the electrode portion, is to be heated by a standing wave of a microwave, and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of an upper surface of the electrode portion.
However Toossi teaches that the heat generation pattern (12) that is disposed on the electrode portion (wave guides 32), is to be heated by a standing wave of a microwave (standing wave incident to pattern/susceptor “The susceptor area is preferably matched to the expected standing waves associated with the design, for example as generated by the microwave waveguide.” [0052]); and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of an upper surface of the electrode portion (pattern/susceptor may be smaller than waveguide “The bonded materials may be smaller or larger than the waveguide. The susceptor area is preferably matched to the expected standing waves associated with the design, for example as generated by the microwave waveguide.” [0052]).
The advantage of the heat generation pattern that is disposed on the electrode portion, is to be heated by a standing wave of a microwave; and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of an upper surface of the electrode portion, is to enhance targeting and control of localized heating of joining components “The heating rate per area is controlled by the design of the susceptors to correct for the variability expected from standing waves in the microwave cavity (to get uniform heating rates) or designed to heat some areas faster than others, by either increasing the density of susceptor elements or efficiency of the designs on the assumption of a time averaged uniform intensity electromagnetic field.” [0033] and size the pattern/susceptor of the localized heating according to size of microwave which may be bigger or smaller than surrounding components “The bonded materials may be smaller or larger than the waveguide. The susceptor area is preferably matched to the expected standing waves associated with the design, for example as generated by the microwave waveguide.” [0052].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu and Toossi before him or her, to modify the frequency targeted heating of Hisayasu to include the resonance chamber microwave standing wave with susceptor/pattern of Toossi because a standing microwave (or antinode) targeting through waveguides/electrodes to tuned susceptor/heating pattern provides enhanced control/localizing of heat delivery.
Hisayasu as modified is silent reading the microwave standing wave being a magnetic wave.
However Verhoeven teaches providing a microwave (“The first is a dual mode cavity, which can be used to create pulses at either 3 GHz or 75 MHz” (page 3, first paragraph)) magnetic field standing wave (emphasis added “When exciting the TM110 mode, this standing wave has a transverse oscillating magnetic field on the axis of the cavity and no electric field.” (page 2, second paragraph)) to a target zone (intensity central to cylinder as shown in figure 3 on page 3).
The Advantage of providing a microwave magnetic field standing wave, is to limit interference specific to electric waves from the work performed at target location by magnetic waves “Inside the cavity, electromagnetic standing waves can be resonantly generated. When exciting the TM110 mode, this standing wave has a transverse oscillating magnetic field on the axis of the cavity and no electric field. When electrons move through this field, the Lorentz force will periodically deflect the electron beam” (page 2, second paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu (as modified by the standing wave targeted/susceptor of Toossi) and Verhoeven before him or her, to modify the magnetic flux optimized/directed (electric coil remote at ferrous conductor targeting chip/capacitor/resistor on metal circuit (description second paragraph, figure 4a of Hisayasu)) system of Hisayasu with the microwave optimized magnetic standing wave and reduced electric wave targeting system of Hisayasu, to perform magnetic field work at target location, because providing shaping of the standing wave selectively to the magnetic field enables targeted working with reduced interference from electric field for electric field sensitive work.
Regarding claim 6, Hisayasu as modified teaches method of mounting an electronic device, comprising the steps of:
heating the heat generation pattern of the mounting wiring board according to Claim 4 (Hisayasu as already modified) by a standing wave formed by a microwave irradiation (as already modified by Toossi and Verhoeven) to melt the solder disposed on the heat generation pattern (nature of solder bonding), and
subsequently solidifying the solder to electrically connect an electrode (21, second instance) of the electronic device to the electrode portion via the solder (nature of solder bonding, see figure 5b).
Regarding claim 7, Hisayasu as modified teaches a microwave heating method, comprising the steps of:
heating the heat generation pattern of the mounting wiring board according to Claim 3 (Hisayasu as already modified) by a standing wave of a microwave (as already modified), and melting the object to be heated using the heat generation of the heat generation pattern (as already modified).
Regarding claim 8, Hisayasu as modified teaches the microwave heating method according to Claim 7, Hisayasu as already modified teaches wherein an electrode of an electronic device is electrically connected to the electrode portion via the object to be heated by melting the object to be heated (nature of solder bonding, see bonding of figure 11b).
Regarding claim 13, Hisayasu as modified teaches a microwave heating apparatus, which comprises a cavity resonator (Toossi as already modifying provides resonance of standing waves (antinode) “The susceptor area is preferably matched to the expected standing waves associated with the design, for example as generated by the microwave waveguide.” [0052] within cavity 18, or TM110 of Verhoeven) that internally has a microwave irradiation space (nature of Toossi / Verhoeven) in which the mounting wiring board according to Claim 3 is to be disposed (nature of placing targets within resonator cavity), wherein the object to be heated (solder P) is melted by selectively heating the heat generation pattern (“soft ferrite” of Hisayasu as disclosed previously and as already modified by Toossi to the susceptor/pattern 12 by magnetic standing wave of Verhoeven) of the mounting wiring board with a standing wave (standing wave see above Toossi [0052]) formed in the microwave irradiation space (Toossi cavity 18, or TM110 of Verhoeven).
Regarding claim 14, Hisayasu as modified teaches the microwave heating apparatus according to Claim 13, Hisayasu as already modified teaches (Fig-12b) wherein an electrode (21) of an electronic device (7a/b) is electrically connected to the electrode portion via the object to be heated by melting the object to be heated (melting of solder P provides connection between electrodes/electronic devices “The converged magnetic flux F is irradiated from the front end portion 41b to the target regions T of the substrates 7a and 7b along the direction z perpendicular to the surface of the substrate 7. And since an eddy current generate | occur | produces efficiently in the electrode 21 of the board | substrate 7a and the electrode 21 of the board | substrate 7b, each of the electrode 21 which is a conductor is induction-heated. As a result, the solder paste P applied to the electrode 21 is melted, so that the substrate 7a and the substrate 7b are soldered via the electrode 21.” (page 14 paragraph 2)).
Regarding claim 18, Hisayasu as modified teaches the microwave heating apparatus according to Claim13, Hisayasu as already modified teaches wherein the microwave heating apparatus has one or a plurality of the microwave irradiation spaces (microwave irradiation cavity of Toossi [0052]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisayasu in view of Toossi and Verhoeven and in further view of Malofsky (US 2002/0031644).
Regarding claim 2, Hisayasu as modified teaches the mounting wiring board according to Claim 1, Hisayasu as already modified teaches wherein the heat generation pattern is a susceptor “customized metallic susceptors are required to produce localized controllable, efficient, and selective heating without arcing. The specific design of the metallic patterns can produce heating at different rates at the same time in a microwave field either from specific efficiencies from the shapes of the susceptor designs, or by altering the density of different heating elements.” Toossi [0027], the magnetic field of Hisayasu as applied to the induction heated electrode 21a).
Hisayasu is silent regarding the susceptor/thin film pattern being or including a ferrous/magnetic material.
However Malofsky teaches a Magnetic susceptor material/method (emphasis added “heat is produced in the susceptor sheet by two mechanisms: eddy current resistive heating and magnetic hysteresis.” [0089]),
The advantage of a magnetic susceptor is its ability to efficiently target/transform energy to heat beyond that of eddy current susceptors, emphasis added “The heat resulting from magnetic hysteresis is observed only in magnetic materials. As the electromagnetic field produced by the generator reverses polarity, the magnetized atoms or molecules in the susceptor also reverse. There is an energy loss in this reversal which is analogous to friction: this energy loss is magnetic hysteresis. The lost energy is quickly converted to heat and conducted by the susceptor to the contiguous and heat-activateable adhesive material to initiate adhesion. When heated to the necessary temperature, the adhesive material will liquefy or become heat-activated, attach itself to the adjacent associated parts and, on cooling, create an adhesive relationship between the associated parts.” [0089] “because heat generation is rapid in the thinner susceptor” [0043].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu as modified and Malofsky before him or her, to modify the undisclosed metallic type of pattern/susceptor of Hisayasu to include the magnetic susceptor of Malofsky because a magnetic susceptor enables enhanced targeting/efficiency of fluctuating magnetic fields to localized heat energy.
Claims 9, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisayasu in view of Toossi and Vanhoeven and in further view of Lewis (US 3,461,261).
Regarding claim 9, Hisayasu as modified teaches the microwave heating method according to Claim 7, Hisayasu as already modified teaches wherein the standing wave is TMn10 (where n is an integer of 1 or more) mode or TE10n (where n is an integer of 1 or more) mode (changing the outer number of lobes (n) alone does not remove the central axis heating arrangement, the number of lobes (n) is limited (finite) by the frequency and diameter of the resonance cylinder, therefore it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select a number of circumferential lobes within the finite range permitted by cavity diameter and operating frequency, see MPEP 2144.05 II. B.).
Additionally Lewis teaches wherein the standing wave is TMn10 (where n is an integer of 1 or more) mode (multiple zones of standing waves, emphasis added “whereas the TM21 and TM212 modes are shown at 26 and 27, respectively. From these latter it is clear that no axial electric field is developed, so that dielectric material passed axially through the cavities of these modes would not be heated. Nor does there exist any other conveniently accessible high concentration field regions for these modes, rendering them essentially useless for the purposes of this invention.” (column 4, lines 5-14) While not appropriate to continuous pulled substrate through axis of Lewis, the citation provides obviousness to non-axis targeted/multiple zone heating, see MPEP 2144.05 II. B. Routine Optimization, -because providing variability to value (n) of Modes of the Transverse Magnetic wave propagation merely changes quantity and/or location of standing waves within the finite space of a cylindrical resonate cavity (“FIG. 2 relating to the transverse magnetic modes specifically, hereinafter abbreviated TM, whereas FIG. 3 relates to the transverse electric modes specifically, abbreviated TE. In order to further subclassify the modes, the convention is to append three subscript numbers thereafter, the first referring to the total number of full periodic variations in the field along a circular path concentric with the cylindrical wall, the second is one more than the total number of sign reversals of the field along a radial path and the third (hereinafter sometimes denoted n for generality) is the number of nodes which exist in an axial direction.” (column 3, lines 15-36)), such that it would be obvious to optimize said standing wave quantity/location in relation to quantity and or location of heating targets/patterns/susceptors) or TE10n (where n is an integer of 1 or more) mode.
The advantage of wherein the standing wave is TMn10 (where n is an integer of 1 or more) mode or TE10n (where n is an integer of 1 or more) mode, is to enable modification of resonance from a cylindrical resonate cavity, producing concentrations of Magnetic/Electric radiation that are capable of point heating substrate/target at certain locations and not others “whereas the TM21 and TM212 modes are shown at 26 and 27, respectively. From these latter it is clear that no axial electric field is developed, so that dielectric material passed axially through the cavities of these modes would not be heated.” (column 4, lines 5-14).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu as modified and Lewis before him or her, to modify the electrode targeted and transferring heating of Hisayasu to include the adjustable TM/TE cylindrical resonant cavity of Toossi because adjusting TM/TE enables changing of targeting and multi-heating zones in relation to substrates position within microwave heating chamber.
Regarding claim 10, Hisayasu as modified teaches the microwave heating method according to Claim 7, comprising the steps of:
transferring a mounting wiring board in a
a base (7b);
an electrode portion (instance of 21 on 7b) disposed on the base; and
a heat generation pattern (soft ferrite in proximity/contact to solder “a soft ferrite that is in proximity to or in contact with the solder, and solder bonding is performed by supplying an electric current to the coil and inductively heating the portion to be soldered.” (page 3, paragraph 11)),
wherein a conductive object to be heated (solder P) is disposed on the electrode portion to be electrically connected to the electrode portion at least via the heat generation pattern (heat generation pattern of “soft ferrite” (page 3, paragraph 11) of Hisayasu or susceptor as already modified), and melted by a heat generation of the heat generation pattern (21 at solder of Hisayasu, or bonding portion of 32 of Toossi), and
and melting the object to be heated by the heat generation pattern heated by an action of the magnetic field (nature of susceptor heating to solder/thermal bonding as disclosed above).
Hisayasu is silent regarding that the heat generation pattern that is disposed on the electrode portion, is to be heated by a standing wave of a microwave; and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of an upper surface of the electrode portion, and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of a lower surface of the object to be heated.
However Toossi teaches that the heat generation pattern (12) that is disposed on the electrode portion (wave guides 32), is to be heated by a standing wave of a microwave (standing wave incident to pattern/susceptor “The susceptor area is preferably matched to the expected standing waves associated with the design, for example as generated by the microwave waveguide.” [0052]); and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of an upper surface of the electrode portion (pattern/susceptor may be smaller than waveguide/object to be heated “The bonded materials may be smaller or larger than the waveguide. The susceptor area is preferably matched to the expected standing waves associated with the design, for example as generated by the microwave waveguide.” [0052]), and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of a lower surface of the object to be heated (as disclosed above susceptor is sized to wave not substrate [0052] and waveguide/substrate may be larger than pattern/susceptor [0052]).
The advantage of having the heat generation pattern that is disposed on the electrode portion, is to be heated by a standing wave of a microwave; and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of an upper surface of the electrode portion, and
wherein an occupation area of the heat generation pattern is smaller than an area of a lower surface of the object to be heated, is to enhance targeting and control of localized heating of joining components “The heating rate per area is controlled by the design of the susceptors to correct for the variability expected from standing waves in the microwave cavity (to get uniform heating rates) or designed to heat some areas faster than others, by either increasing the density of susceptor elements or efficiency of the designs on the assumption of a time averaged uniform intensity electromagnetic field.” [0033] and size the pattern/susceptor of the localized heating according to size of microwave which may be bigger or smaller than surrounding components “The bonded materials may be smaller or larger than the waveguide. The susceptor area is preferably matched to the expected standing waves associated with the design, for example as generated by the microwave waveguide.” [0052].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu and Toossi before him or her, to modify the frequency targeted heating of Hisayasu to include the resonance microwave standing wave with susceptor/pattern of Toossi, because a standing microwave (or antinode) targeting to tuned susceptor/pattern via waveguide/electrode provides enhanced control/localizing of heat delivery.
Hisayasu is silent regarding forming the magnetic field standing wave in a cylindrical cavity resonator by radiating a microwave so as to have a magnetic field strength uniform and maximum along a cylinder central axis.
However Lewis teaches forming a magnetic field (tm disclosed below) standing wave in the cylindrical cavity resonator by radiating a microwave so as to have a magnetic field strength uniform and maximum along a cylinder central axis (Adjusting TM to central axis when target is at axis of the cylindrical cavity resonator (see figure 2) “FIG. 2 relating to the transverse magnetic modes specifically, hereinafter abbreviated TM, whereas FIG. 3 relates to the transverse electric modes specifically, abbreviated TE. In order to further subclassify the modes, the convention is to append three subscript numbers thereafter, the first referring to the total number of full periodic variations in the field along a circular path concentric with the cylindrical wall, the second is one more than the total number of sign reversals of the field along a radial path and the third (hereinafter sometimes denoted n for generality) is the number of nodes which exist in an axial direction. The use of the term "transverse" refers to the spatial position of the field vector in relation to the axial direction of energy propagation and, since it is desired, of course, to maintain a concentrated axial electric energy propagation for the heater of this invention, operation is advantageously confined to transverse magnetic modes.” (column 3, lines 15-36)).
The advantage of forming a standing wave in the cylindrical cavity resonator by radiating a microwave so as to have a magnetic field strength uniform and maximum along a cylinder central axis, is to concentrate the microwave heating source to a single point for targeted/uniform heating “The use of the term "transverse" refers to the spatial position of the field vector in relation to the axial direction of energy propagation and, since it is desired, of course, to maintain a concentrated axial electric energy propagation for the heater of this invention, operation is advantageously confined to transverse magnetic modes.” (column 3, lines 15-36)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu as modified and Lewis before him or her, to modify the heating of Hisayasu to include the TM mode optimized heating of Lewis because optimization of the standing waves provides concentration of the heating microwaves to a single point/axis.
Additionally Verhoeven teaches providing a microwave magnetic standing wave with enhanced isolation from the electric flux (“The first is a dual mode cavity, which can be used to create pulses at either 3 GHz or 75 MHz” (page 3, first paragraph) emphasis added “When exciting the TM110 mode, this standing wave has a transverse oscillating magnetic field on the axis of the cavity and no electric field.” (page 2, second paragraph)).
The Advantage of teaches providing a microwave magnetic standing wave with enhanced isolation for the electric wave, is to limit interference specific to electric waves from the work performed at target location by magnetic waves “Inside the cavity, electromagnetic standing waves can be resonantly generated. When exciting the TM110 mode, this standing wave has a transverse oscillating magnetic field on the axis of the cavity and no electric field. When electrons move through this field, the Lorentz force will periodically deflect the electron beam” (page 2, second paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu (as modified by the standing wave targeted/susceptor of Toossi and Lewis) and Verhoeven before him or her, to modify the magnetic flux optimized/directed (electric coil remote at ferrous conductor targeting chip/capacitor/resistor on metal circuit (description second paragraph, figure 4a of Hisayasu)) system of Hisayasu with the microwave optimized magnetic standing wave and reduced electric wave targeting system of Hisayasu, to perform magnetic field work at target location, because providing shaping of the standing wave selectively to the magnetic field enables targeted working with reduced interference from electric field for electric field sensitive work.
Regarding claim 15, Hisayasu as modified teaches the microwave heating apparatus according to Claim 13, Hisayasu as already modified teaches wherein the cavity resonator is a cavity resonator (standing wave resonator cavity as already modified by Toossi [0052] and or Verhoeven).
Hisayasu as modified is silent regarding the cavity resonator is including of a cylindrical microwave irradiation space.
However Lewis teaches the cavity resonator is including of a cylindrical microwave irradiation space (see figure 1, providing elongated cylinder 14 as microwave irradiation space).
The advantage of the cavity resonator is including of a cylindrical microwave irradiation space, is to advantage modification of resonance from a cylindrical resonate cavity, producing concentrations of Magnetic/Electric radiation that are capable of point heating substrate/target at certain locations and not others “whereas the TM21 and TM212 modes are shown at 26 and 27, respectively. From these latter it is clear that no axial electric field is developed, so that dielectric material passed axially through the cavities of these modes would not be heated.” (column 4, lines 5-14).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu as modified and Lewis before him or her, to modify the targeted heating of Hisayasu to include the the adjustable standing wave (or antinode where heating takes place) cylindrical resonant cavity of Toossi because adjusting TM/TE enables changing of individual targeting and or multi-heating zones relatable to substrates position within microwave heating chamber.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisayasu in view of Toossi and Verhoeven and Lewis and in further view of Bible (US 5,321,222).
Regarding claim 11, Hisayasu as modified teaches the microwave heating method according to Claim 10, Hisayasu is silent regarding wherein the frequency of the microwave supplied to the cavity resonator is adjusted corresponding to the change of the resonance frequency of the standing wave formed in the cavity resonator to maintain the formation state of the standing wave in the cavity resonator.
However Bible teaches wherein the frequency of the microwave supplied to the cavity resonator is adjusted corresponding to the change of the resonance frequency of the standing wave formed in the cavity resonator to maintain the formation state of the standing wave in the cavity resonator (frequency of cavity microwave heating is known to be modulated in maintenance of optimum target absorption “The microwave furnace 10 is designed to allow modulation of the frequency of the microwaves introduced into a furnace cavity for testing or other selected applications. Such modulation is useful in testing procedures to determine the most efficient frequencies at which a particular material may be processed.” (column 4-5, lines 60-3)).
The advantage of wherein the frequency of the microwave supplied to the cavity resonator is adjusted corresponding to the change of the resonance frequency of the standing wave formed in the cavity resonator to maintain the formation state of the standing wave in the cavity resonator, is to modulate the frequency to where the heating target is optimally being heating “with the ability of such frequency and amplitude modulation, it will be seen that the processing of a workpiece 36 may be accomplished by alternating the frequency and amplitude of the microwave in order to achieve maximum processing efficiency.” (column 5, lines 59-68).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu as modified and Bible before him or her, to modify frequency of Hisayasu to include variable optimized frequency of Bible because optimization of the heating frequency to target absorption maximizes efficiency of heating target.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisayasu in view of Toossi and Verhoeven and Lewis and in further view of Malofsky.
Regarding claim 12, Hisayasu as modified teaches the microwave heating method according to Claim 10, Hisayasu is silent regarding wherein the heat generation pattern is heated by a magnetic loss caused by the action of the magnetic field and/or an induced current generated in the heat generation pattern by the action of the magnetic field.
However Malofsky teaches wherein the heat generation pattern is heated by a magnetic loss caused by the action of the magnetic field and/or an induced current generated in the heat generation pattern by the action of the magnetic field. (emphasis added “heat is produced in the susceptor sheet by two mechanisms: eddy current resistive heating and magnetic hysteresis.” [0089]),
The advantage of wherein the heat generation pattern is heated by a magnetic loss caused by the action of the magnetic field and/or an induced current generated in the heat generation pattern by the action of the magnetic field, is to efficiently target/transform energy to heat beyond that of eddy current only susceptors “The heat resulting from magnetic hysteresis is observed only in magnetic materials. As the electromagnetic field produced by the generator reverses polarity, the magnetized atoms or molecules in the susceptor also reverse. There is an energy loss in this reversal which is analogous to friction: this energy loss is magnetic hysteresis. The lost energy is quickly converted to heat and conducted by the susceptor to the contiguous and heat-activateable adhesive material to initiate adhesion. When heated to the necessary temperature, the adhesive material will liquefy or become heat-activated, attach itself to the adjacent associated parts and, on cooling, create an adhesive relationship between the associated parts.” [0089]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu as modified and Malofsky before him or her, to modify the undisclosed metallic type of pattern/susceptor of Hisayasu to include the magnetic susceptor of Malofsky because a magnetic susceptor enables enhanced targeting/efficiency of fluctuating magnetic fields to localized heat energy.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisayasu in view of Toossi and Verhoeven and in further view of Johnson (US 3,597,567) and Lewis.
Regarding claim 16, Hisayasu as modified teaches the microwave heating apparatus according Claim13, Hisayasu as already modified is silent regarding comprising:
an inlet provided to a barrel portion wall of the cavity resonator for transferring the mounting wiring board in the microwave irradiation space, the mounting wiring board passing through the inlet;
an outlet provided to a barrel portion wall of the cavity resonator for transferring out the mounting wiring board from the microwave irradiation space, the mounting wiring board passing through the outlet; and
a transfer mechanism that transfers the mounting wiring board in from the inlet and transfers out from the outlet passing through a magnetic field region,
However Johnson teaches comprising:
an inlet (17) provided to a barrel portion wall (13) of the cavity resonator (10) for transferring (via substrate puller/transfer mechanism 12) the mounting wiring board (substrate W) in the microwave irradiation space, the mounting wiring board passing through the inlet (see figure 1);
an outlet (19) provided to a barrel portion wall of the cavity resonator for transferring out the mounting wiring board from the microwave irradiation space, the mounting wiring board passing through the outlet (as shown in figure 1 by direction of travel of substrate w through inlet/outlet 17/18, indicated by movement arrow); and
a transfer mechanism (12) that transfers the mounting wiring board in from the inlet and transfers out from the outlet passing through a magnetic field region (nature of microwave resonator).
The advantage of comprising:
an inlet provided to a barrel portion wall of the cavity resonator for transferring the mounting wiring board in the microwave irradiation space, the mounting wiring board passing through the inlet;
an outlet provided to a barrel portion wall of the cavity resonator for transferring out the mounting wiring board from the microwave irradiation space, the mounting wiring board passing through the outlet; and
a transfer mechanism that transfers the mounting wiring board in from the inlet and transfers out from the outlet passing through a magnetic field region, is to provide a means of feeding a microwave heating resonator with substrate “The web W is fed to the applicator from a source diagrammatically illustrated by the box 11; and after passing through the applicator, it may be collected by any suitable means (such as a reeler diagrammatically shown by the block 12) or transported through a second, independent applicator similar to the one shown.” (column 2, lines 50-58).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu as modified and Johnson before him or her, to modify the resonance microwave heating system of Hisayasu to include the microwave resonance substrate feed system of Johnson, because a feeding system enable the microwave resonance system to controllingly receive substrate for processing.
Additionally Lewis teaches wherein, in the microwave irradiation space, a standing wave in TMn10 (n is an integer of 1 or more) (multiple zones of standing waves, emphasis added “whereas the TM21 and TM212 modes are shown at 26 and 27, respectively. From these latter it is clear that no axial electric field is developed, so that dielectric material passed axially through the cavities of these modes would not be heated. Nor does there exist any other conveniently accessible high concentration field regions for these modes, rendering them essentially useless for the purposes of this invention.” (column 4, lines 5-14) While not appropriate to continuous pulled substrate through axis of Lewis, the citation provides obviousness to non-axis targeted/multiple zone heating, see MPEP 2144.05 II. B. Routine Optimization, -because providing variability to value (n) of Modes of the Transverse Magnetic wave propagation merely changes quantity and/or location of standing waves (antinode) within the finite space of a cylindrical resonate cavity (“FIG. 2 relating to the transverse magnetic modes specifically, hereinafter abbreviated TM, whereas FIG. 3 relates to the transverse electric modes specifically, abbreviated TE. In order to further subclassify the modes, the convention is to append three subscript numbers thereafter, the first referring to the total number of full periodic variations in the field along a circular path concentric with the cylindrical wall, the second is one more than the total number of sign reversals of the field along a radial path and the third (hereinafter sometimes denoted n for generality) is the number of nodes which exist in an axial direction.” (column 3, lines 15-36)), such that it would be obvious to optimize said standing wave (antinode) quantity/location in relation to quantity and or location of heating targets/patterns/susceptors) mode or TE10n (n is an integer of 1 or more) mode where the magnetic field strength is uniform and maximum along a cylinder central axis of the microwave irradiation space is formed.
The advantage of wherein, in the microwave irradiation space, a standing wave in TMn10 (n is an integer of 1 or more) mode or TE10n (n is an integer of 1 or more) mode where the magnetic field strength is uniform and maximum along a cylinder central axis of the microwave irradiation space is formed, is to enable modification of resonance from a cylindrical resonate cavity, producing concentrations of Magnetic/Electric radiation that are capable of point heating substrate/target at certain locations and not others “whereas the TM21 and TM212 modes are shown at 26 and 27, respectively. From these latter it is clear that no axial electric field is developed, so that dielectric material passed axially through the cavities of these modes would not be heated.” (column 4, lines 5-14).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hisayasu as modified and Lewis before him or her, to modify the electrode targeted and transferring heating of Hisayasu to include the adjustable TM/TE cylindrical resonant cavity of Toossi because adjusting TM/TE enables changing of targeting and multi-heating zones in relation to substrates position within microwave heating chamber.
Hisayasu as already modified teaches wherein, in the microwave irradiation space, a standing wave in TMn10 (n is an integer of 1 or more) mode (as already modified by Verhoven and Lewis having central axis cylinder chamber magnetic standing wave peaks, changing the outer number of lobes (n) alone does not remove the central axis heating arrangement, the number of lobes (n) is limited (finite) by the frequency and diameter of the resonance cylinder, therefore it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select a number of circumferential lobes within the finite range permitted by cavity diameter and operating frequency, see MPEP 2144.05 II. B.) or TE10n (n is an integer of 1 or more) mode where the magnetic field strength is uniform and maximum along a cylinder central axis of the microwave irradiation space is formed.
Regarding claim 17, Hisayasu as modified teaches the microwave heating apparatus according to Claim 16, Hisayasu as already modified teaches wherein, in the microwave irradiation space, a standing wave in TM110 mode where the magnetic field strength is uniform and maximum along a cylinder central axis (See Lewis Figure 2 TM11n, where standing waves are either side of central cylindrical cavity, the maximum magnetic strength/flux there between at center axis, n merely being a repetition length wise down the cylinder, see dotted line around nodes at maximum to centerline indicated by horizontal dotted lines) of the microwave irradiation space (within 24) is formed (and or as already modifying the TM110 field of Verhoeven)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761