DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The amendment filed 09/19/2025 has been entered. Claims 1,2 and 4-19 are pending and under consideration.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s argument with respect to 35 USC 102 rejection have been considered and are at least partially persuasive, but are moot in light of new rejection/interpretation.
In response to applicant’s argument with respect to 35 USC 103 rejection that the combination made Locke in view of Braga failed to teach “a cover element comprising a push button interacting with the coupling device for decoupling the container housing from the pump housing” because Braga’s device does not comprises a cover element covering the coupling device, the locking surface of Braga is part of the coupling device (i.e., corresponding to the ridges or recesses in Locke forming what was considered in the Office action to be the coupling device), and the combination would be unworkable, as the modified ridge would not be accessible to be activated (as indicated applicant’s reproduced figure in page 9).
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons below.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In the instant case, even if Braga does not explicitly teach a push button integrated into a cover element, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cover element (figure 2, 208) of Locke with the corresponding container or pump body wall (figure 2, 210 or 204) to incorporate Braga’s latch coupling mechanism (Braga; figure 2b, locking slot 130 and coupling segment 124), for example, providing locking slot on the housing of reduced pressure source 210 or canister 204 and providing flexible locking surface on dressing connector 208, please see reproduced figure below. Such a modification would predictably facilitate secure and easily reversible connection and disconnection of the container housing from the pump housing, as expressly taught by Braga ([0009]).
Furthermore, in response to applicant’s assertion that the combination would be unworkable due to the modified ridge allegedly becoming inaccessible. Examiner respectfully disagree. Even if the cover element was made flush with the pump and container housing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize the design to ensure the locking surface remain accessible for activation as illustrated in the reproduced figure above.
There are no distinct arguments directed to dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 4, 5, 9-11, 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (US 20140074053 A1; figures 2 and 5) in view of alternate embodiment of Locke (US 20140074053 A1; figure 6) and Braga (US 20090240218 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 and claims dependent therefrom, Locke substantially teaches applicant’s claimed invention, and specifically discloses a device with every structural limitation of applicant’s claimed invention (except for the limitations shown in italics and grayed-out) including:
a pump (figures 2 and 5, reduced-pressure source 210) with a pump housing (figures 2 and 5, housing of reduced-pressure source 210) that comprises a suction opening (annotated figure 5, suction opening),
a container (figures 2 and 5, canister 204 equivalent canister 400) with a container housing (figure 5, body of canister 400) that surrounds a reservoir (figure 5, reservoir 518) for storing the extracted body fluid ([0041]) and comprises an interface (annotated figure 5, interface in the canister housing wall) in a container housing wall for the communication between said suction opening and said reservoir (annotated figure 5 and [0049], interface provided with fitting 410 on the body that provide fluid connection 216 between the suction opening and chamber 518),
a suction line port (annotated figure 5, suction line port on the canister 204) provided on the container housing, the suction line port in communication with said reservoir and connectable to a suction line (figure 5, tube 206) for the extraction of body fluid by suction ([0041]), and
a coupling device (figures 2-5, [0049]-[0053], feature such as ridges (e.g., 506, 508, 510) and recesses (e.g., 502, 504)) that detachably couples said container housing to said pump housing (the features above facilitate the coupling of the canister and the reduced-pressure source), further comprising a cover element (figure 5, dressing connector 208 covers the features as shown figure 6) covering said coupling device, the cover element interfacing with the suction line port to reinforce a connection of a suction line to the suction line port (figure 5 [0043], dressing connector 208 includes a port 318 that forms a press fit connection with the tube 206, reinforcing the tube connection, which at least secures fluid connection between the tube 206 and the suction line port).
wherein said cover element comprises a push button interacting with said coupling device for decoupling said container housing from said pump housing, and
wherein the cover element is flush with the outer surface of the pump housing and the container housing
Locke does not expressly teach wherein the cover element is flush with the outer surface of the pump housing and the container housing.
However, in an alternate embodiment of Locke (figure 6), Locke teaches wherein the cover element is flush with the outer surface of the pump housing and the container housing ([0055] dressing connector 707 may be adapted fit in a recess of reduced-pressure source 602 and canister).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke to incorporate the teachings of the alternate embodiment of Locke and provides the cover element as claimed for the purpose of minimizing the profile of the assembly as taught by Locke ([0055]).
Locke is still silent as to wherein said cover element comprises a push button interacting with said coupling device for decoupling said container housing from said pump housing
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a wound therapy system, Braga teaches a cover element (figure 2a, first coupling segment 124) comprises a push button (figure 2b, locking surface 128) interacting with said coupling device (figure 2b, second coupling segment 126) for decoupling said container housing from said pump housing ([0062] the surface 128 is configured to be pushed in direction k for decoupling the canister 118 from control unit housing 120).
Braga teaches providing the coupling segments comprising locking surface that can be pushed in order to facilitate the connection, disconnection ([0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke to incorporate the teachings of Braga and provide the cover element comprises a push button interacting with said coupling device for decoupling said container housing from said pump housing, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose facilitating connection and disconnection of the container housing from the pump housing.
Regarding Claim 2, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke further teaches wherein said cover element is connectable to said container housing in a positive-fit and/or positive substance-fit and/or force-fit manner ([0054] the fittings 410-412 and receptacles 308-310 provide a press fit).
Regarding Claim 4, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke further teaches wherein said cover element covers a locking projection (figure 5, retaining ridges 506-508 on canister 400) provided on said container housing (figure 5, the dressing cover 208 at least disposes over and covers the retaining edge 506-508 for coupling the pump housing and the container housing) or said pump housing for coupling said container housing and said pump housing and/or forms a locking projection for coupling said container housing and said pump housing.
Regarding Claim 5, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke further teaches the device further comprises two mounting segment that are formed by said cover element and connected to said container housing (figure 3, at least two receptacles 308-310 are configured to be fitted into to fittings 410-412 of the container housing).
The combination does not expressly teach said push button is arranged between the two mounting segments.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke, as modified by Braga, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have the push button arranged between the two mounting segments as a person of ordinary skill has good reason to peruse the known options within his or her technical grasp and if the modification made to the anticipated success, it is like that product was not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense (MPEP 2143.I.E). In the instant case, the combination teaches the push button disposed on the surface of the cover element, and there are finite number of positioning the push button on the surface of the cover element, i.e., positioning between the two mounting segments or above one of the mounting segments, a person in the ordinary skill in the art would modify location and have it between two mounting segment for the purpose of providing intuitive design and facilitating button pressing.
Regarding Claim 9, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke further teaches wherein said reservoir is provided with a filter which seals a suction duct which is in communication with said pump (figure 5, filter 306 seals aperture 524).
Regarding Claim 10, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke further teaches wherein said cover element comprises at least one passage opening for said suction line (figure 5, channel 318) and forms at least one securing surface (figure 5, inner surface of 318 that abuts the tube 206), due to the abutment of which against said respective line, a clamping force is affected in the axial direction clamping said suction line against a port on the device side (figure 5 and [0043], the port 312 on the device is configured to provide a press fit or an interference fit which clamps tubing 206 in the axial direction).
Regarding Claim 11, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke does not teach said pump housing comprises at least one mounting element and said container housing at least one mounting mating element and that said container housing is pivotable relative to said pump housing by an interaction of said mounting element of said pump housing with said mounting mating element of said container housing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a wound therapy system, Braga teaches said pump housing comprises at least one mounting element (figure 3a, tab 260 on control unit housing 260) and said container housing at least one mounting mating element (figure 3a, slot 262 on canister 258) and that said container housing is pivotable relative to said pump housing by an interaction of said mounting element of said pump housing with said mounting mating element of said container housing (figure 3a and [0064] “control unit housing 256 is pivoted about the longitudinal end containing tab 260 to insert latch 252 within locking slot 254 until the latch 252 is secured within the locking slot 254”).
Braga teaches providing tab and slot in order to facilitate the connection, disconnection ([0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke, as modified by Braga, to incorporate the teachings of Braga and provide said pump housing comprises at least one mounting element and said container housing at least one mounting mating element and that said container housing is pivotable relative to said pump housing by an interaction of said mounting element of said pump housing with said mounting mating element of said container housing, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose facilitating connection and disconnection of the container housing from the pump housing.
Regarding Claim 14, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke further teaches said cover element has a nonlinear arrangement of passage openings (see figure 5, passage openings along fluid path 216 has a nonlinear arrangement) and the cover element has a shape of a segment of a circle (figures 3 and 5, the receptacles 308 and 310 that forms the fluid path 216 has a circle shape)
Regarding Claim 16, Locke teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke further teaches wherein that said cover element is connectable to said container housing by way of a locking mechanism ([0053]-[0054] ridges 506-580 and fittings 410-412 configured to connect the dressing connector 208 to the container housing).
Regarding Claim 17, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke further teaches wherein said cover element covers a locking projection (figure 5, retaining ridges 506-508 on canister 400) provided on said container housing (figure 5, the dressing cover 208 at least disposes over and covers the retaining edge 506-508 for coupling the pump housing and the container housing) or said pump housing for coupling said container housing and said pump housing and/or forms a locking projection for coupling said container housing and said pump housing.
Regarding Claim 18, Locke teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke further teaches wherein said cover element comprises the at least one passage opening (figure 5, port 312) for said suction line or for a ventilation line and forms at least one securing surface (figure 5, surface of channel 318) due to the abutment of which against said suction line or said ventilation line, a clamping force is effected in the axial direction clamping said suction line against a port on the device side (figure 5 and [0043], the port 312 on the device is configured to provide a press fit or an interference fit which clamps tubing 206 in the axial direction).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (US 20140074053 A1; figures 2 and 5) in view of alternate embodiment of Locke (US 20140074053 A1; figure 6) and Braga (US 20090240218 A1), and in further view of Jardret et al (US 20190201595 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke does not teach further comprising a ventilation rinsing line port for a ventilation line for supplying a fluid to the end of said suction line on an application side, where said ventilation line port is in communication with a ventilation duct leading into said pump housing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a negative pressure wound therapy system, Jardret teaches a negative pressure wound therapy system (figure 2, 10) comprising a ventilation rinsing line port (figure 2, portion of canister 18 where coupled to connected to second fluid lumen 22) for supplying a fluid to an end of said suction line ([0027] and figure 2, the fluid from second lumen 22 is supplied into the first lumen 20) on an application side, where said ventilation line port is in communication with a ventilation duct (figure 2, outlet 15) leading into said pump housing (figure 2, pressure source 14).
Jardret provides the ventilation rinsing line port and the ventilation line in order to facilitate flow of the exudate from the wound to the canister ([0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke, as modified by Braga, to incorporate the teachings of Jardret and provides the ventilation rinsing line port for a ventilation line for supplying a fluid to the end of said suction line on an application side, where said ventilation line port is in communication with a ventilation duct leading into said pump housing, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose of facilitating flow of the exudate from the wound to the container.
Claims 7, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (US 20140074053 A1; figures 2 and 5) in view of alternate embodiment of Locke (US 20140074053 A1; figure 6) and Braga (US 20090240218 A1), and in further view of Boehringer et al (US 20060025727 A1)
Regarding Claim 7, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke further teaches a suction segment (figures 3 and 5, interface 304) extending between said suction opening of said pump housing and said interface of said container housing (annotated figure 5, interface 304 extends between the suction opening and the interface as set forth in claim 1), wherein at least one of said coupling device is covered by said cover element (figure 5 and 6, dressing connector 205 at least covers the ridges 506-508 and its associating recesses 502-504 when the connecting being coupled to the system)
The combination does not teach an intermediate module which can be detachably connected by way of coupling devices to one of container housing and pump housing, which is provided with a feed pump, comprises inlet and outlet openings for a feed hose interacting with said feed pump.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a system for treating a wound with suction, Boehringer teaches a dual head peristaltic pump (figure 7, 100) comprising an intermediate module (figure 7, second pump head 102) in addition to a suction pump head (figure 7, 104), which is provided with a feed pump ([0068], separate drive mechanism for second head 102), comprises inlet and outlet openings (figure 7, openings of pump head 102 on each sides for inserting delivery conduit 82) for a feed hose interacting with said feed pump (figure 3 and 7, the hose interact with the drive mechanism of the pump head)
Boehringer teaches a wound treatment system comprising the infusion pump head with individual driving mechanism in addition to the suction pump head in order to provide more precise control over dosing delivery compared to systems that deliver fluid using gravimetric methods ([0067]-[0068].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke, as modified by Braga, to incorporate the teachings of Boehringer and provide the intermediate module being connected to one of the container housing and pump housing, which is provided with a feed pump, comprises inlet and outlet openings for a feed hose interacting with said feed pump for the purpose of providing precise control over dosing delivery to the wound.
The combination is still silent as to the intermediate module which can be detachably connected by way of coupling devices.
However, Locke teaches connecting the container housing and pump housing by way of coupling devices (figures 2, 4 and 5, [0049]-[0051], structure on the canister and the interface, for example fittings 410, 412 associates with receptacles 308-310 comprises surface 315, ridges 506-508, 510 correspond with recesses 502-504 provides detachable connection between the canister and the reduced-pressure source).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke, as modified by Braga and Boehringer, to incorporate teachings of Locke and provides the intermediate module which can be detachably connected by way of coupling devices, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose of providing removable and replaceable module (Locke; [0038]).
Regarding Claim 8, Locke, as modified by Braga and Boehringer teaches the device according to claim 7.
Locke further teaches a second cover element covering said coupling devices (Locke; figure 2, dressing connector 205, the combination would have the intermediate module as taught by Boehringer being coupled to the pump housing by way of coupling devices as taught by Locke, therefore the modified coupling device would also include cover element of Locke that covers the coupling devices).
Regarding Claim 12, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the container according to claim 1.
The combination does not teach the container comprises an intermediate module.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a system for treating a wound with suction, Boehringer teaches a dual head peristaltic pump (figure 7, 100) comprising an intermediate module (figure 7, second pump head 102) in addition to a suction pump head (figure 7, 104)
Boehringer teaches a wound treatment system comprising the infusion pump head in addition to the suction pump head in order to provide more precise control over dosing delivery compared to systems that deliver fluid using gravimetric methods ([0067]-[0068].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke, as modified by Fogarty, to incorporate the teachings of Boehringer and provide the intermediate module, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose of providing precise control over dosing delivery to the wound.
The combination does not teach the intermediate module comprises a mounting element and a mounting mating element and that said container housing is pivotable relative to said intermediate module by an interaction of said mounting element of said intermediate module with said mounting mating element of said container housing and that said intermediate module is pivotable relative to said pump housing by an interaction of said mounting element of said pump housing with said mounting mating element of said intermediate module
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a wound therapy system, Braga teaches said pump housing comprises at least one mounting element (figure 3a, tab 260 on control unit housing 260) and said container housing at least one mounting mating element (figure a, slot 262 on canister 258) and that said container housing is pivotable relative to said pump housing by an interaction of said mounting element of said pump housing with said mounting mating element of said container housing ([0064], control unit housing 256 is pivoted about the longitudinal end containing tab 260 to insert latch 256).
Braga teaches providing tab and slot in order to facilitate the connection, disconnection ([0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke to incorporate the teachings of Braga and provide intermediate module comprises a mounting element and a mounting mating element and that said container housing is pivotable relative to said intermediate module by an interaction of said mounting element of said intermediate module with said mounting mating element of said container housing and that said intermediate module is pivotable relative to said pump housing by an interaction of said mounting element of said pump housing with said mounting mating element of said intermediate module, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose facilitating connection and disconnection of the connection and disconnection of the device.
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (US 20140074053 A1; figures 2 and 5) in view of alternate embodiment of Locke (US 20140074053 A1; figure 6) and Braga (US 20090240218 A1), and in further view of Kullas et al (US 6077246 A).
Regarding Claim 13, Locke, as modified by Braga, teaches the device according to claim 1.
The combination does not teach the device further comprising a detection device and an identifier provided on said container housing and/or on said intermediate module, where said detection device is adapted to detect said identifier and is coupled via a signal line to a motor control device of said pump.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a medical irrigation pump and pump system, Kullas teaches a system comprising a detection device (col 3 lines 1-30, switches) and an identifier (col 3 lines 1-30, feature on pump body, for example small bumps in a pattern) provided on said container housing and/or on an intermediate module, where said detection device is adapted to detect said identifier and is coupled via a signal line to a motor control device of said pump (col 3 lines 1-30, switch is configured to detect which pump body has been installed in the controller, for example small bumps in a pattern engages an switch of the controller, and based on the information retrieved from the switch reading, the controller selects a default motor speed).
Kullas provide the identifier and a detection device for the pump system in order to provide appropriate fluid pressure for the particular procedure (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke, as modified by Braga, to incorporate the teachings of Kullas, and provides a detection device and an identifier provided on said container housing and/or on said intermediate module, where said detection device is adapted to detect said identifier and is coupled via a signal line to a motor control device of said pump, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose of providing appropriate procedure.
Regarding Claim 19, Locke teaches the device according to claim 1.
Locke does not teach the device further comprising a detection device and an identifier provided on said container housing or on said intermediate module, where said detection device is adapted to detect said identifier and is coupled via a signal line to a motor control device of said pump.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a medical irrigation pump and pump system, Kullas teaches a system comprising a detection device (col 3 lines 1-30, switches) and an identifier (col 3 lines 1-30, feature on pump body, for example small bumps in a pattern) provided on said container housing and/or on an intermediate module, where said detection device is adapted to detect said identifier and is coupled via a signal line to a motor control device of said pump (col 3 lines 1-30, switch is configured to detect which pump body has been installed in the controller, for example small bumps in a pattern engages an switch of the controller, and based on the information retrieved from the switch reading, the controller selects a default motor speed).
Kullas provides the identifier and a detection device for the pump system in order to provide appropriate fluid pressure for the particular procedure (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke to incorporate the teachings of Kullas, and provides a detection device and an identifier provided on said container housing and/or on said intermediate module, where said detection device is adapted to detect said identifier and is coupled via a signal line to a motor control device of said pump, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose of providing appropriate procedure.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke (US 20140074053 A1; figures 2 and 5) in view of alternate embodiment of Locke (US 20140074053 A1; figure 6), Fogarty et al (US 6003906 A) and Braga (US 20090240218 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Locke teaches a container (figure 2, canister 204 equivalent to canter 400 shown figures 4-5) for storing extracted body fluid, comprising
a container housing (figure 4, body 414) that surrounds a reservoir (figure 5, chamber 518) for body fluid ([0041]),
an interface (annotated figure 5, interface is fluidly connectable to a suction opening) to said reservoir connectable to a suction opening (annotated figure 5, suction opening) of a pump housing,
a suction line port (annotated figure 5, suction line port) provided on the container housing, and in communication with said reservoir (annotated figure 5, the suction line port is in fluid communication with the reservoir along the fluid path 216), and
a suction line (figure 5, tube 206) for the extraction of body fluid by suction that is connected to said suction line port ([0041] the tube 206 is connected to port 312),
a suction line port nozzle (figure 5, fitting 512 project from canister 400) that projects from the container housing
a cover element (figure 5, dressing connector 208) abutting against the suction line (figure 5, dressing connector 208), the cover element including at least one passage opening (figure 5, port 312) for said suction line and at least one securing surface (figure 5, inner surface of channel 318); and
wherein due to the abutment of the cover element against said suction line, a clamping force is effected in the axial direction clamping said suction line against said suction line port (figure 5 and [0043], the port 312 on the device is configured to provide a press fit or an interference fit that clamps tubing 206 in the axial direction against the port 312), the suction line being clamped between the suction line port nozzle and the at least one securing surface of the cover element reinforcing a connection of a suction line to the suction line port.
Wherein said cover element comprises a push button interacting with said coupling device for decoupling said container housing from said pump housing, and
Wherein the cover element is flush with the outer surface of the container housing
Locke does not teach wherein the cover element is flush with the outer surface of the container housing.
However, in an alternate embodiment of Locke (figure 6), Locke teaches wherein the cover element is flush with the outer surface of the pump housing and the container housing ([0055] dressing connector 707 may be adapted fit in a recess of reduced-pressure source 602 and canister).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke to incorporate the teachings of the alternate embodiment of Locke and provides the cover element as claimed for the purpose of minimizing the profile of the assembly as taught by Locke ([0055])
The combination does not teach the suction line being clamped between the suction line port nozzle and the at least one securing surface of the cover element, reinforcing a connection of the suction line to the suction line port.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a connector for elastomeric conduit, Fogarty teaches the suction line being (figures 2-4, elastomeric conduit 16) clamped between the suction line port nozzle (figures 2-4, connector barb 20) and the at least one securing surface of the cover element (figures 2-4, clamp surface 64 and 66 of clamp 14), reinforcing a connection of the suction line to the suction line port (the clamping force reinforce connection of conduit 16 to the port 12)
Fogarty teaches providing the elastomeric conduit clamped between the connector barb and inner clamp surface in order to prevent the escape of the conduit (col 6 lines 62-66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke to incorporate the teachings of Fogarty and provides the suction line being clamped between the suction line port nozzle and the at least one securing surface of the cover element, and one of skill in the art motivated to do so, for the purpose of ensuring a secure connection between the suction port nozzle and the suction line, this design further allows the suction line to be detached from the cover element. As a result, if the suction line becomes damaged, it can be replaced independently without requiring the replacement of the entire cover element and suction line assembly.
The combination is still silent as to wherein said cover element comprises a push button interacting with said coupling device for decoupling said container housing from said pump housing,
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely a wound therapy system, Braga teaches a cover element (figure 2a, first coupling segment 124) comprises a push button (figure 2b, locking surface 128) interacting with said coupling device (figure 2b, second coupling segment 126) for decoupling said container housing from said pump housing ([0062] the surface 128 is configured to be pushed in direction k for decoupling the canister 118 from control unit housing 120).
Braga teaches providing the coupling segments comprising locking surface that can be pushed in order to facilitate the connection, disconnection ([0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Locke, as modified by Fogarty, to incorporate the teachings of Braga and provide the cover element comprises a push button interacting with said coupling device for decoupling said container housing from said pump housing, and one of skill would have been motivated to do so, for the purpose facilitating connection and disconnection of the container housing from the pump housing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781