DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “drive unit” in claim 33.
Regarding “drive unit,” the claim recites a generic placeholder (“drive unit”) and functional language (“move the safety barrier”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function. The drive unit is interpreted as the drive unit described on P. 5 of the specification in the paragraph beginning “the safety module may comprise a drive unit” and is described as being an electric, servo or step motor or a pneumatic, hydraulic and/or magnetic drive and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2013/015272 A1 to Sato.
Regarding claim 46, Sato teaches a safety module 29 for a bending machine according to claim 29 (Figs. 1-4; it is noted that claim 46 does not recite any features of the safety module for the bending machine of claim 46, and thus the safety barrier 29 in Sato may be a safety module for such a bending machine).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29, 31-45 and 47-50 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record alone or in combination fails to explicitly teach when the safety barrier is extended the safety barrier is extended laterally and telescopically from the frame in a direction away from the bending machine and when the safety barrier is retracted the safety barrier retracts laterally and telescopically into the frame in a direction towards the machine, as recited in claim 29 and the corresponding method claims in claim 47. Claims 31-46 and 48-50 depend from these claims are allowable for at least the reasons discussed above. It is noted that claim 48 has not been amended to address the indefiniteness claims, but in view of Applicant’s remarks on P. 11 of the remarks “processing the workpiece” is being interpreted to mean simply loading it into a bending machine as this claim does not require any additional steps, e.g., bending of the workpiece.
WO 2013/015272 A1 to Sato teaches a safety barrier that extends across the front of the bending machine and slides up and down (Figs. 1-4), and this reference fails to explicitly teach the safety barrier moving laterally and telescopically towards or away from the bending machine.
US 4,078,451 to Norton teaches a safety barrier that extends across the front and sides of the bending press and slides up and down relative to the bending area (Fig. 1; Col. 3, Lns. 43-49, Col. 6, Lns. 42-44, and Col. 7, Lns. 34-37), and this reference fails to explicitly teach the safety barrier moving laterally and telescopically towards or away from the bending machine.
US 2021/0121930 A1 (cited in 892 dated June 18, 2024) teaches safety barriers extending laterally from the sides of the bending machine such that the work area is accessible from the front and not the sides in a shut-off state (Figs. 1-2), however the safety barriers are pivotably connected to the bending machine and do not move laterally and telescopically towards or away from the bending machine
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725