DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 28, 30, 31, 33-40, 43, 46-48, 50-58 are pending, of which claims 28, 30, 31, 33-39 and 51-57 stand withdrawn.
Claims 40, 43, 46-48, 50 and 58 are under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40, 43, 46-48, 50, 58 and elected species are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chertok (ACS Nano, Vol 10, No. 8, pages 7267-7278, 2016; as provided by the applicant on IDS dated 09/05/2024).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Chertok teaches a PEG-lipid comprising fragmented heparin (same as in claim 46) of Mw 5-10 kDa (same as claim 47 and 48) wherein fragmented heparin is conjugated to the PEG-lipid through a covalent Carbon-nitrogen bond between carbonyl carbon of aldehyde group of heparin and a nitrogen in the N-terminal amino group in a link with sulfhydryl moiety -S (CH2)2 CONH-NH of a PEG-lipid comprising such link (Entire article, especially Figures 1 and 2):
With regards to process limitations of the instant claims, “PEG-lipid has affinity ---and Factor H”- Since the cited prior art teaches same PEG-lipid as in the instant claims, the PEG-lipid of the cited prior art is also capable of having same affinity “PEG-lipid has affinity ---and Factor H”, whether or not recognized by the cited prior art. Further, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81 (preamble is not a limitation where claim is directed to a product and the preamble merely recites a property inherent in an old product defined by the remainder of the claim); STX LLC. v. Brine, 211 F.3d 588, 591, 54 USPQ2d 1347, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Chertok teaches a PEG-lipid comprising fragmented heparin (same as in claim 46) of Mw 5-10 kDa (same as claim 47 and 48) wherein fragmented heparin is conjugated to the PEG-lipid through a covalent Carbon-nitrogen bond between carbonyl carbon of aldehyde group of heparin and a nitrogen in the N-terminal amino group in a link with sulfhydryl moiety -S (CH2)2 CONH-NH of a PEG-lipid comprising such link, but differs with respect to link with sulfhydryl moiety -S (CH2)2 CONH-NH vs instant claims cysteine -S-CH2-CH(COOH)(NH).
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference link with sulfhydryl moiety -S (CH2)2 CONH-NH vs instant claims cysteine -S-CH2-CH(COOH)(NH)-The link -S (CH2)2 CONH-NH is closely structurally similar to the instant claims cysteine -S-CH2-CH(COOH)(NH) link. Thus, with the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary sill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that a link similar to -S (CH2)2 CONH-NH, such as cysteine may be useful in making PEG-lipid of the instant claims.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ PEG-lipid.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Chertok teaches a PEG-lipid comprising fragmented heparin (same as in claim 46) of Mw 5-10 kDa (same as claim 47 and 48) wherein fragmented heparin is conjugated to the PEG-lipid through a covalent Carbon-nitrogen bond between carbonyl carbon of aldehyde group of heparin and a nitrogen in the N-terminal amino group in a link with sulfhydryl moiety -S (CH2)2 CONH-NH of a PEG-lipid comprising such link.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that an amino acid linker, such as cysteine similar to the linker of the cited prior art may be used to make PEG-lipid and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed PEG-lipid with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendment, as filed on 02/18/2026 and 04/03/2026, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicant’s argument is moot in view of new rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623