DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US 2020/0052219) (Hwang) in view of Jang et al (US 2016/0276596) (Jang) and Hong et al (WO 2010071362) (Hong.
In reference to claims 1-13, Hwang teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, and an electron transport layer (Hwang [0173] [0040] [0243]) wherein the hole transport layer comprises a second compound of formula 2 as shown below (Hwang [0155]), the light emitting layer comprises a host compound of formula 301A (Hwang [0200]) and a dopant that is a blue fluorescent dopant such as the pyrene derivative FD5 (Hwang [0238]), and the electron transport layer can include azine derivatives such as those of formula 602.
for example, wherein in the Formula 2, the compound is a compound 2 as shown below except wherein one of a4, a5 and a6 is 0 (Hwang [0018] [0155] [0078]).
Given that Hwang discloses the compound of formula 2 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the Formula 2, the compound is a compound 2 as shown below except wherein one of a4, a5 and a6 is 0, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use compound, which is both disclosed by Hwang and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Hwang does not expressly teach that the compound of formula 602 is a compound as instantly claimed but such materials are within the formula 602 (Hwang [0256]).
With respect to the difference, Jang teaches, in analogous art, triazine materials that are within the scope of formula 602 for an electron transport layer in an organic EL device such as compound of formula 1 and specifically compound 1-8 as shown below (Jang [0009] [0046] [0239]). Jang further teaches that these compounds when used in the electron transport layer can provide excellent stability and provide a device with long service life and can effectively block holes (Jang [0053] [0073]).
In light of the motivation of using compound 1-8 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the compound of formula 1-8 as described by Jang in order to provide excellent stability and provide a device with long service life and can effectively block holes and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Hwang teaches the host of formula 301A can include groups R301 that are phenyl groups and teaches deuterium substitution, Hwang does not point to the specific materials instantly claimed.
With respect to the difference, Hong teaches, in analogous art, deuterated anthracene compounds as host materials for organic light emitting devices and specifically teaches compound 6-2 as shown below. Hong further teaches that these compounds, when used as the host material of the light emitting layer, the electron transporting ability is increased, and thus the light emission efficiency is excellent because the electron and the electron make a better bond in the light emitting layer. In addition, it is possible to provide an organic light emitting diode having improved luminance, power efficiency, thermal stability, and lifetime characteristics (Hong p 9, [52]).
In light of the motivation of using deterted antrhacence 6-2 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the 6-2 as described by Hong in order to provide an organic light emitting diode having improved luminance, power efficiency, thermal stability, and lifetime characteristics and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
While Hwang in view of Jang and Hong does not expressly state that the formula 1, 2 or 3 are met, these rely upon inherent properties of the materials. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
While Hwang in view of Jang and Hong does not expressly state that the device emits light in the claimed range, the light emission is an inherent feature of the device. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786