DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US 2020/0052219) (Hwang) in view of Jang et al (US 2016/0276596) (Jang).
In reference to claims 1-13, Hwang teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, and an electron transport layer (Hwang [0173] [0040] [0243]) wherein the hole transport layer comprises compound 2 as shown below (Hwang [0155]), the light emitting layer comprises a host compound H27 (Hwang [0202]) and a dopant that is a blue fluorescent dopant such as the pyrene derivative FD5 (Hwang [0238]), and the electron transport layer can include azine derivatives such as those of formula 602.
Hwang does not expressly teach that the compound of formula 602 is a compound as instantly claimed but such materials are within the formula 602 (Hwang [0256]).
With respect to the difference, Jang teaches, in analogous art, triazine materials that are within the scope of formula 602 for an electron transport layer in an organic EL device such as compound of formula 1 and specifically compound 1-8 as shown below (Jang [0009] [0046] [0239]). Jang further teaches that these compounds when used in the electron transport layer can provide excellent stability and provide a device with long service life and can effectively block holes (Jang [0053] [0073]).
In light of the motivation of using compound 1-8 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the compound of formula 1-8 as described by Jang in order to provide excellent stability and provide a device with long service life and can effectively block holes and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
While Hwang in view of Jang does not expressly state that the formula 1, 2 or 3 are met, these rely upon inherent properties of the materials. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
While Hwang in view of Jang does not expressly state that the device emits light in the claimed range, the light emission is an inherent feature of the device. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant also argues that the prior art of record does not teach or suggest selecting any combination of compounds based on relative LUMO, singlet or triplet energy levels. This argument is not convincing. The prior art does not need to provide the same selection rationale for selecting materials but does indeed provide sufficient teaching to arrive at a device that inherently has the claimed relative properties.
Applicant further argues that the selection of materials as claimed results in a device with unexpected improvements in driving voltage and efficiency. This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing for at least the following reasons.
For a finding of unexpected results, the results presented need to be of both statistical and practical
significance and be commensurate in scope with the subject matter claimed (See MPEP 716.02).
First, while the inventive examples allegedly show improvements in driving voltage and efficiency, the specification has provided no information that would allow the analysis of the statistical significance of the results. That is, there is no indication if more than one device was prepared and
analyzed for each comparative and exemplary device and there is no information on the reproducibility or precision of the measured parameters presented in the data tables.
Second, the showing of the results of a few examples is not commensurate in scope with the very large number of compounds encompassed by the instant claims. For example, only a single example of each of the 3 materials are demonstrated in a combination in the data presented whereas a near infinite number of combinations of materials are claimed. These examples are not intended to be interpreted as the only points in which the data in not commensurate in scope with the claims but merely to illustrate how the breadth of the claimed compounds is much larger than that set forth in the examples, these variables resulting in claiming thousands of more compounds and even more devices. As applicant is attesting that the claimed compounds have properties that would not be expected based on the genus as a whole, for example compounds taught by Hwang in view of Jang, support for the unexpected results must be provided that covers the scope of what is claimed
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786