DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US 2020/0052219) (Hwang) in view of Jang et al (US 2016/0276596) (Jang).
In reference to claims 1-13, Hwang teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, and an electron transport layer (Hwang [0173] [0040] [0243]) wherein the hole transport layer comprises a second compound of formula 2 as shown below (Hwang [0155]), the light emitting layer comprises a host compound H27 (Hwang [0202]) and a dopant that is a blue fluorescent dopant such as the pyrene derivative FD5 (Hwang [0238]), and the electron transport layer can include azine derivatives such as those of formula 602.
for example, wherein in the Formula 2, the compound is a compound 2 as shown below except wherein one of a4, a5 and a6 is 0 (Hwang [0018] [0155] [0078]).
Given that Hwang discloses the compound of formula 2 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the Formula 2, the compound is a compound 2 as shown below except wherein one of a4, a5 and a6 is 0, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use compound, which is both disclosed by Hwang and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Hwang does not expressly teach that the compound of formula 602 is a compound as instantly claimed but such materials are within the formula 602 (Hwang [0256]).
With respect to the difference, Jang teaches, in analogous art, triazine materials that are within the scope of formula 602 for an electron transport layer in an organic EL device such as compound of formula 1 and specifically compound 1-8 as shown below (Jang [0009] [0046] [0239]). Jang further teaches that these compounds when used in the electron transport layer can provide excellent stability and provide a device with long service life and can effectively block holes (Jang [0053] [0073]).
In light of the motivation of using compound 1-8 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the compound of formula 1-8 as described by Jang in order to provide excellent stability and provide a device with long service life and can effectively block holes and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
While Hwang in view of Jang does not expressly state that the formula 1, 2 or 3 are met, these rely upon inherent properties of the materials. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
While Hwang in view of Jang does not expressly state that the device emits light in the claimed range, the light emission is an inherent feature of the device. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the compound 2 of Hwang has two aryl substituents on the amine nitrogen that are identical whereas as claimed, the two aryl groups must be different. However, this differentiation is not significant. Hwang specifically teaches that these groups can be different. For example in [0078] but also in many other places Hwang teaches independent selection of substituents. Further, examples in Hwang of second compounds include those that have different substituents at the corresponding positions (see e.g. compound 9).
Applicant also argues that the prior art of record does not teach or suggest selecting any combination of compounds based on relative LUMO, singlet or triplet energy levels. This argument is not convincing. The prior art does not need to provide the same selection rationale for selecting materials but does indeed provide sufficient teaching to arrive at a device that inherently has the claimed relative properties.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786