Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Amended claims 1, 4-9, 11, 12 and withdrawn claims 13-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du, Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis (2012), 58, 182-192
Du teaches at page 186 compounds 5 and 6, (25R)-Zhankuic acid C and (25S)-Zhankuic acid C, the pictured claim 1 compounds.
(See specification page 1, compounds I and II. Also see ‘Response to Remarks filed 09/08/2026 for consideration of instant disclosure).
As per Du page 183 section under Introduction
Antrodia camphorata (AC, also known as Antrodia cinnamomea), by name Chang-Chih, is an endemic fungus in Taiwan. Hundreds years before, the Taiwanese aborigines found that the wild AC had a special effect to relief hangover syndrome. It was also used in folk medicine for the treatment of food and drug detoxication, diarrhea, abdominal pain, hypertension, skin itching, and cancer.
The limitation of claims 4, 5, 11 and 12 are in the teachings of Du, with Du being silent with respect to FXR activity or the limitations of claims 7-9.
As such the difference between the prior art teaching and instantly claimed method is in the language relating to FXR activity and other biological property of claims 1, 7-9.
These biological properties are inherent properties of compounds I and II (independent of how much each of I is administered).
Examination guidelines as to the position taken is predicated on the following:
The new use for an old compound must be novel as to the use directed and unobvious.
The new use (if any) must account for the possibility that the underlying mechanism for the new therapy is the same mechanism that allows for a prior art treatment using the same compound (or its obvious version).
The discovery of a new use for an old structure based on unknown properties of the structure might be patentable to the discoverer as a process of using. In re Hack, 245 F.2d 246, 248, 114 USPQ 161, 163 (CCPA 1957). However, when the claim recites using an old composition or structure and the “use” is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure, then the claim is anticipated. In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1090, 197 USPQ 601, 607 (CCPA 1978). The court upheld the rejection and stated that the applicants had merely found a new property of the compound and such a discovery did not constitute a new use.
As MPEP 2112 Requirements of Rejection Based on Inherency; Burden of Proof [R-10.2019], "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer."
High-throughput assays to find new use for old compounds are routine in the art of drug discovery. See Mishra, Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy (2008), 62(2), 94-98.
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, the claims do not recite an unobvious distinction over the prior art. Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
------------------------
Previously presented rejection of claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu WO2017088213; Wang, Nat. Prod. Bioprospect. (2015) 5:237–246; Geethangili, Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine Volume 2011, Article ID 212641, 1-17; Wang, Volume 3, Issue 5, May 1999, Pages 543-553; and Korn, “Dose optimization during drug development: whether and when to optimize” J Natl Cancer Inst. 2022 Dec 19;115(5):492–497 for reasons of record.
(See later for Response to Applicants Remarks filed 09/08/2026)
Wang teaches compounds antcin compound from Antrodia cinnamomea. See page compounds 5/6 of instant claim 1 in Fig 1 at page 239. According to Wang, page 238 column A, Antrodia cinnamomea (or A. camphorata, Polyporaceae family, known as ‘‘Niu-Chang-Chih’’ in Chinese) is a precious medicinal mushroom. It has been reported to exhibit anticancer, antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, anti-angiogenesis, liver protection and radioprotection activities.
Hu discloses a method of treating a liver disease or disorder in a subject in need thereof (machine translation - pg. 2, In 60-62: treatment of drug-induced liver injury), the method comprising: administering (pg. 4, In 158-159: oral administration) to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of antcin H in preparing drugs for treating and preventing drug-induced liver injury (see Abstract). For structure of antcin compounds see pages, 2, 4, 8, 9.
Geethangili reference is Review of Pharmacological Effects of Antrodia camphorata and
Its Bioactive Compounds. The bioactive compounds pictured at page 4 Table include the instantly pictured compounds. Starting at page 3, column A, Geethangili teaches the plethora of possible diseases (see claim 5) that could be treated with the said compounds. For example, claim 6 is drawn to the known biological property of the endogenous bile acid (CDCA is selectively activates the orphan nuclear receptor, see Wang 1999, titled Endogenous Bile Acids Are Ligands for the Nuclear Receptor FXR/BAR, Pages 543-553, reference to FXR and CDCA appear 145 and 34 times in Wang). CDCA and FRX are linked inexorably; CDCA selectively activates the orphan nuclear receptor FXR.
Taken together, all the claimed elements are taught in the prior art. The claimed method relies on the known inherent biochemical property of the active ingredient(s).
Thus, the active ingredient, recited inherent properties, disease being treated are all known in the prior art.
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, the claims do not recite an unobvious distinction over the prior art. Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Response to Applicants Remarks filed 09/08/2026:
Applicant’s Remarks focus on the alleged unexpected Results of compound I, which relates to the ‘substantially free’ limitation of base claim.
Applicant argues that the I free of stereoisomer II has shown stronger inhibition of CYP7A1 by compound (II) or by CDCA, and higher PPARa mRNA expression.
These limitations (properties), even if present(ed) in the (base) claim are inherent properties of the compound I. Sundaresan (Protein Sci. 2002 Jun;11(6):1330–1339, Protein–substrate interactions in enzymatic, neurological, and immunological systems are typically characterized by a high degree of stereoselectivity towards complex substrates), finding identifying/selecting specific stereochemically homogenous compound is part of drug discovery. Bioactive compound screening in natural product extracts has become a cornerstone of early-stage drug discovery, harnessing the chemical diversity of plants, fungi and marine organisms. This discipline integrates advanced separation methods, bioassays and computational tools to identify molecules with therapeutic potential. For example, see Wildey, Annual Reports in Medicinal Chemistry, Volume 50, 149-195, 2017. Also see previously noted Mishra on file.
In the disclosure of Du, Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis (2012), 58, 182-192 which teaches the active ingredient, reference to the term pure or purification appears 25 times. The instant compound I is purified from the fruiting bodies of Antrodia camphorate regarded as one of the health treasure troves of Taiwan. See Du introduction. The principle that purifying an old product is generally obvious relies on the legal and scientific expectation that a person of ordinary skill in the art possesses a "normal desire" to obtain pure chemical compounds. This concept is primarily evaluated under MPEP § 2144.04 (VII): Purifying an Old Product, which addresses how examiners apply legal precedent as a source of supporting rationale for obviousness rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As such Applicants arguments are not persuasive.
Suggestion: See MPEP § 1204 and 37 CFR § 41.31(a)(1),
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, include:
Li, Antcamphorols A-K, Cytotoxic and ROS Scavenging Triterpenoids from Antrodia camphorate, Journal of Natural Products (2020), 83(1), 45-54.
US 20160367611 Medication of Suppressing Viability of Tumor Cells; US 20160318972; US20120190871, pure compounds I and II.
/NIZAL S CHANDRAKUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625