DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-100406480-B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches:
A nonaqueous electrolyte solution for a lithium battery (“a non-aqueous electrolyte for batteries used in lithium secondary batteries,” see [0003]), which solution comprises
i) a liquid electrolyte medium; ii) a lithium-containing salt (“an appropriate amount of lithium salt is dissolved in an organic solvent,” see [0004]);
and iii) a flame retardant, in a flame retardant amount, wherein the flame retardant comprises at least one brominated flame retardant
Kim does not teach the addition of a flame retardant. However, Kim teaches using an additive in the electrolyte solution which can suitably be dibromobenzene, see [0020]. Kim teaches the genus of dibromobenzene. The genus dibromobenzene contains three species; 1,2-dibromobenzene, 1,3-dibromobenzene, and 1,4-dibromobenzene. The skilled artisan can envisage each species of the genus and readily acknowledge that the genus of dibromobenzene contains the species of 1,3-dibromobenzene. The species of dibromobenzene to use as additive in Kim represents a problem with a finite number of predictable potential solutions, namely, 1) 1,2-dibromobenzene, 2) 1,3-dibromobenzene, and 3) 1,4-dibromobenzene. It is the Examiners position that any of the presented predictable solutions are obvious.
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention have pursued the presented known potential solution of using 1,3-dibromobenzez as the additive in Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. The instant specification recognizes 1,3-dibromobenzene as a brominated flame retardant, see instant-spec [0006].
wherein A) the flame retardant amount is about 20 wt% or more relative to the total weight of the solution, and the flame retardant is selected from (1) a mixture of 1,2-dibromoethane and 2,3-dibromo-2-propen-1-ol, (2) 1,3-dibromobenzene, and (3) bromochloromethane
As rendered obvious above, Kim teaches the addition of 1,3-dibromobeneze. Kim further teaches this additive is preferably added in an amount of 2-40 wt% which overlaps the claimed range. Additionally, Kim teaches within this weight percent range the charge-discharge cycle life characteristics are improved.
Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, I). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the overlapping portion of the claimed 1,3-dibromobeneze wt% range in order to arrive at favorable charge-discharge cycle life characteristics.
or B) the flame retardant amount is about 6 wt% or more flame retardant molecules relative to the total weight of the electrolyte solution, the at least one brominated flame retardant is 1,3-dibromopropane or 1,2-dibromoethane (optional limitation).
The modification of Kim with the rational given above further teaches:
(per Claim 25) the flame retardant amount about 20 wt% or more relative to the total weight of the solution, and wherein the brominated flame retardant is 1,3- dibromobenzene.
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yew et al. (US-20060194118-A1) in view of Reed et al. (WO-2017210593-A1 as provided in the IDS dated 08/15/2022) and Okamoto et al. (US-20130130128-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yew with the following modifications in view of Redd and Okamoto teaches:
A nonaqueous electrolyte solution for a lithium battery, which solution comprises i) a liquid electrolyte medium; ii) a lithium-containing salt; and iii) a flame retardant, in a flame retardant amount, wherein the flame retardant comprises at least one brominated flame retardant (a nonaqueous electrolyte for a lithium battery that has a lithium salt (LiPF6) and 1,2-dibromoethane (DBE) dissolved in a mixed solvent including ethylene carbonate and ethyl methyl carbonate, see [0056] and [0061]. The instant specification recognizes 1,2-dibromoethane as a brominated flame retardant, see instant-spec [0006]),
wherein A) the flame retardant amount is about 20 wt% or more relative to the total weight of the solution, and the flame retardant is selected from (1) a mixture of 1,2-dibromoethane and 2,3-dibromo-2-propen-1-ol, (2) 1,3- dibromobenzene, and (3) bromochloromethane (optional limitation);
Yew does not necessarily teach:
or B) the flame retardant amount is about 6 wt% or more flame retardant molecules relative to the total weight of the electrolyte solution, the at least one brominated flame retardant is 1,3-dibromopropane or 1,2-dibromoethane,
Example 6 of Yew discloses using 1,2-dibromoethane in the amount of 5 wt%. Therefore, the embodiment of Example 6 does not teach “the flame retardant amount is about 6 wt% or more flame retardant molecules relative to the total weight of the nonaqueous electrolyte solution.” However, Yew teaches the 1,2-dibromoethane can suitably be added in the amount of 0.1-10 wt%.
Therefore, absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided the 1,2-dibromoethane in the amount of 0.1-10 wt% because Yew teaches this is a suitable amount. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, I).
Yew does not teach:
the flame retardant further comprises a non-brominated flame retardant,
wherein the non-brominated flame retardant is 2-phenoxy-2,4,4,6,6-pentafluoro-1,3,5,2λ5,4λ5,6λ5- triazatriphosphinine, and the weight ratio of the at least one brominated flame retardant to the 2-phenoxy-2,4,4,6,6-pentafluoro-1,3,5,2λ5,4λ5,6λ5- triazatriphosphinine is about 1.5:1 to about 3:1.
To solve the same problem of providing a non-aqueous electrolytic solution for a battery (see Abstract), Okamoto teaches addition of 0.1 to 3% by weight, relative to the non-aqueous electrolytic solution of phenoxypentafluorocyclotriphosphazene (i.e., 2-phenoxy-2,4,4,6,6- pentafluoro-1,3,5,2λ5,4λ5,6λ5triazatriphosphinine) as a blister inhibitor which inhibits gas generation, see [0140] and [0151]-[0152].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have added phenoxypentafluorocyclotriphosphazene in the amount of 0.1 to 3% by weight as taught by Okamoto into the electrolyte solution of Yew to inhibits gas generation.
The modification given above indicates having an electrolyte solution with 1,2-dibromoethane and 2-phenoxy-2,4,4,6,6- pentafluoro-1,3,5,2λ5,4λ5,6λ5triazatriphosphinine in amounts that at least have some overlap with the amount of 6 wt% of flame retardant and the claimed ratio of “1.5:1 to about 3:1.” Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, I).
Regarding Claim 9,
the flame retardant amount is about 6 wt% or more flame retardant molecules relative to the total weight of the electrolyte solution, the at least one brominated flame retardant is 1,3-dibromopropane or 1,2-dibromoethane,
Example 6 of Yew discloses using 1,2-dibromoethane in the amount of 5 wt%. Therefore, the embodiment of Example 6 does not teach “the flame retardant amount is about 6 wt% or more flame retardant molecules relative to the total weight of the nonaqueous electrolyte solution.” However, Yew teaches the 1,2-dibromoethane can suitably be added in the amount of 0.1-10 wt%.
Therefore, absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided the 1,2-dibromoethane in the amount of 0.1-10 wt% because Yew teaches this is a suitable amount. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, I).
Yew does not teach:
the flame retardant further comprises a non-brominated flame retardant,
wherein the non-brominated flame retardant is 2-phenoxy-2,4,4,6,6-pentafluoro-1,3,5,2λ5,4λ5,6λ5- triazatriphosphinine, and the weight ratio of the at least one brominated flame retardant to the 2-phenoxy-2,4,4,6,6-pentafluoro-1,3,5,2λ5,4λ5,6λ5- triazatriphosphinine is about 2:1 to about 2.5:1.
To solve the same problem of providing a non-aqueous electrolytic solution for a battery (see Abstract), Okamoto teaches addition of 0.1 to 3% by weight, relative to the non-aqueous electrolytic solution of phenoxypentafluorocyclotriphosphazene (i.e., 2-phenoxy-2,4,4,6,6- pentafluoro-1,3,5,2λ5,4λ5,6λ5triazatriphosphinine) as a blister inhibitor which inhibits gas generation, see [0140] and [0151]-[0152].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have added phenoxypentafluorocyclotriphosphazene in the amount of 0.1 to 3% by weight as taught by Okamoto into the electrolyte solution of Yew to inhibits gas generation.
The modification given above indicates having an electrolyte solution with 1,2-dibromoethane and 2-phenoxy-2,4,4,6,6- pentafluoro-1,3,5,2λ5,4λ5,6λ5triazatriphosphinine in amounts that at least have some overlap with the amount of 6 wt% of flame retardant and the claimed ratio of “2:1 to about 2.5:1.” Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, I).
Regarding Claim 10, Yew discloses a mixture of ethylene carbonate and ethyl methyl carbonate with a lithium salt of lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6), see [0056] and [0061].
Regarding Claim 23, Yew teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte of his invention is added in a lithium battery which has a positive electrode and a negative electrode, see [0012].
Claims 11-15, 17-20, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yew et al. (US-20060194118-A1) in view of Reed et al. (WO-2017210593-A1 as provided in the IDS dated 08/15/2022) and Okamoto et al. (US-20130130128-A1) as applied to Claim 1 above and in further view of Dubois et al. (US-20170084951-A1).
Regarding Claims 11-15 and 18-20, Yew does not teach the addition of a saturated cyclic hydrocarbyl sulfates to the electrolyte.
To solve the same problem of providing electrolyte compositions for lithium ion batteries (see Abstract), Dubois teaches adding ethylene sulfate (1,3,2-dioxathiolane, 2,2-dioxide) to the electrolyte at an amount of 2 wt% aids specific discharge capacity and decreases gas generation, see Table 3-Example 4-5 and [0176]. Ethylene sulfate has the structure below in which both the A groups are hydrogen, see [0009].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have added 1,3,2-dioxathiolane, 2,2-dioxide at an amount of 2 wt% as taught by Dubois in the electrolyte solution of Yen to aid specific discharge capacity and decreases gas generation.
The modification above teaches the claim limitations of:
(per Claim 11) further comprising at least one electrochemical additive selected from: g) saturated cyclic hydrocarbyl sulfates having a 5-membered or 6-membered ring and containing two to about six carbon atoms
(per Claim 12) wherein the electrochemical additive is selected from: g) saturated cyclic hydrocarbyl sulfates having a 5-membered ring and containing two to about four carbon atoms.
(per Claim 13) wherein the electrochemical additive is selected from: ,g) a saturated cyclic hydrocarbyl sulfate in an amount of about 0.25 wt% to about 5 wt%, relative to the total weight of the nonaqueous electrolyte solution
(per Claim 14) wherein the electrochemical additive is a saturated cyclic hydrocarbyl sulfate,
(per Claim 15) wherein the electrochemical additive is a saturated cyclic hydrocarbyl sulfate in an amount of about 1 wt% to about 4 wt%
(per Claim 18) wherein the electrochemical additive is selected from…1,3,2-dioxathiolane 2,2-dioxide
(per Claim 19) wherein the electrochemical additive is selected from: 1,3,2-dioxathiolane 2,2-dioxide in an amount of about 1 wt% to about 4 wt%, relative to the total weight of the nonaqueous electrolyte solution.
(per Claim 20) wherein the electrochemical additive is selected from …1,3,2-dioxathiolane 2,2- dioxide… 1,3,2-dioxathiolane 2,2-dioxide, in an amount of about 1 wt% to about 4 wt%...relative to the total weight of the nonaqueous electrolyte solution.
Regarding Claim 17, the modifications of Yew in view of Reed and Dubois do not teach addition of any other electrochemical additives. The scope of other electrochemical additives is interpreted as being based on the list of additive provided in the instant specification at paragraph [0035]-[0046].
Regarding Claim 22, the modifications of Yew in view of Reed and Dubois do not teach addition of any other electrochemical additives. The scope of other electrochemical additives is interpreted as being based on the list of additive provided in the instant specification at paragraphs [0035]-[0046].
Claims 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yew et al. (US-20060194118-A1) in view of Reed et al. (WO-2017210593-A1 as provided in the IDS dated 08/15/2022) and Okamoto et al. (US-20130130128-A1) as applied to Claim 1 above and in further view of Yamaguchi et al. (US-20020037458-A1).
Regarding Claim 29, Yew does not teach:
wherein the nonaqueous electrolyte solution further comprises vinylene carbonate in an amount of about 8 wt% to about 11 wt%, relative to the total weight of the nonaqueous electrolyte solution.
To solve the same problem of providing a nonaqueous electrolyte for a secondary battery, Yamaguchi teaches adding vinylene carbonate within a range of 0.05 wt% or more to 20 wt% or lower relative to all the nonaqueous electrolyte solution. Yamaguchi further teaches that within this range of the vinylene carbonate the cyclic characteristic of the battery can be enhanced without deteriorating the capacity of the battery, see [0066].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have added vinylene carbonate in order to enhance the cyclic characteristic without deteriorating the capacity of the battery. Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Further searching failed to identify any additional prior art that would render the limitations in amended Claim 8 either anticipated or obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered and are addressed below.
Rejection under U.S.C. 35 §112d
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, with respect to the rejection of Claim 9 under U.S.C. 35 §112d have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under U.S.C. 35 §112d of Claim 9 has been withdrawn.
Rejections under U.S.C. 35 §103
Applicant argues on pages 12-23 that the cited art does not teach the claimed invention due to a showing of unexpected results exemplified in the experimental evidence found in the instant specification. However, this showing of unexpected results is respectfully found unpersuasive because the experimental evidence is not commensurate in scope with independent Claim 1. The results are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention for at least the following reasons. All Examples provided in the instant specification use 1.2M LiPF6 in ethylene carbonate/ethyl methyl carbonate (see instant spec. [0058]) whereas Claim 1 allows for any liquid electrolyte medium and lithium-containing salt.
Additionally, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2123, I and II.
Conclusion
/K.E.C./
Kayla E. ClaryExaminer, Art Unit 1721 /ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721