DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Applicants’ response filed on 10/17/2025 has been fully considered. Claim 28 is new, claims 10, 18, 20-22 and 24-26 and claims 1-9, 11-17, 19, 23 and 27-28 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-14, 19, 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al (US 2018/0192527 A1) in view of Okumoto et al (US 2014/0254112 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses a foldable display (foldable display device; paragraph [0009]) comprising:
a display layer having flexibility (display panel; Fig. 5 #100; paragraph [0069]), the display layer having a first display region (the display panel having a region left of the folding part F/A; Fig. 3 #100; paragraph [0069]), a second region (a region right of the folding area F/A; Fig. 3 #100; paragraph [0069]) and a third display region located between the first display region and the second display region (region overlapping the folding part F/A; Fig. 3 #100; paragraph [0069]);
cover having flexibility and covering the display layer (a cover window covering the display panel; Fig. 3 #3000; paragraph [0069]),
first support substrate having inflexibility and supporting the first display region (a plate comprising metal exhibiting high rigidity disposed under region of display panel left of the folding part F/A; Fig. 5 #2111f; paragraph [0037]),
second support substrate having inflexibility and supporting the second display region (a plate comprising metal exhibiting high rigidity disposed under region of display panel right of the folding part F/A; Fig. 5 #2111e; paragraph [0037]),
shock absorption layer disposed between the display layer and the first support substrate (a plate comprising metal exhibiting high rigidity disposed under non-folding parts of display panel; Fig. 5 #2111a and 2111b; paragraph [0037]),
bending portion that is foldable and that includes the third display region, such that the first display region and the second display region oppositely face each other (a folding part F/A including the region of the display panel overlapping the folding part F/A such that the region of the display panel left of the folding area F/A and the region of the display panel right of the folding area F/A oppositely face each other; Fig. 5; paragraphs [0092]-[0093])
wherein the shock absorption layer comprises a metal film having a slit disposed in a portion overlapping the bending portion (opening patterns disposed between plates #2111a and #2111b; Fig. 5; paragraph [0038]).
Fig. 5 of Yun does not disclose the foldable display comprising a cover having flexibility and covering the display layer.
However, Yun discloses a cover window covering the display panel (cover having flexibility and covering the display layer; Fig. 3 #3000; paragraph [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the cover window from the embodiment of Fig. 3 on the display panel in the embodiment of Fig. 5 because doing so would provide increased protection for a display panel.
Yun does not disclose the foldable display comprising the shock absorption layer comprising a first plastic film, a second plastic film disposed on a side of the first plastic film opposite the display layer and the metal film interposed between the first plastic film and the second plastic film.
However, Okumoto discloses a foldable display (multi-layered film; paragraph [0078]) comprising a first plastic film (first organic layer disposed on the first inorganic section; Fig. 3A #6; paragraph [0140]), a second plastic film disposed on a side of the first plastic film opposite the display layer (a base member; Fig. 3A #2; paragraph [0140]) and the metal film interposed between the first plastic film and the second plastic film (a first inorganic section between first organic layer #6 and base member #2; Fig. 3A #3; paragraph [0140]); wherein the first organic layer comprises polyimide (Fig. 3A #6; paragraph [0152]), the first inorganic section comprises a metal film (Fig. 3A #3; paragraph [0151]) and the base member comprises acrylic resin (Fig. 3A #2; paragraph [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display of Yun to include the first organic layer of Okumoto between the display layer and plates #2111b and #2111a of Yun because having the required organic layer suppresses transfer of stress thereby improving resistance to splitting and prevents moisture from infiltrating through space thereby improving gas barrier properties (paragraphs [0079] and [0086] of Okumoto).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display of Yun to include the base member of Okumoto directly below the plates #2111b and #2111a of Yun because having the required base member provides a film that is flexible enough not to be easily split or destroyed when the multi-layered film is bent (paragraph [0145] of Okumoto).
Yun does not disclose the foldable display comprising the second plastic film being as thick or thicker than the first plastic film.
However, Okumoto further discloses the foldable display (multi-layered film) comprising the organic layers each having a thickness from 10 nm to 100 µm (paragraph [0153]), the inorganic sections each having a thickness from 10 nm to 100 µm (paragraph [0151]) and the base member having a thickness of 1 µm to 1000 µm (paragraph [0146]).
Okumoto does not disclose the foldable display comprising the second plastic film being as thick or thicker than the first plastic film.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thicknesses for each of the organic layers and the base member such that the base member is thicker than the organic layers because doing so would provide necessary mechanical strength and bendability (paragraph [0146] of Okumoto).
Yun does not disclose the foldable display comprising the first plastic film being harder than the second plastic film.
However, Okumoto discloses a foldable display (multi-layered film; paragraph [0078]) comprising a first plastic film (first organic layer disposed on the first inorganic section; Fig. 3A #6; paragraph [0140]), a second plastic film disposed on a side of the first plastic film opposite the display layer (a base member; Fig. 3A #2; paragraph [0140]) and the metal film interposed between the first plastic film and the second plastic film (a first inorganic section between first organic layer #6 and base member #2; Fig. 3A #3; paragraph [0140]); wherein the first organic layer comprises polyimide (Fig. 3A #6; paragraph [0152]), the first inorganic section comprises a metal film (Fig. 3A #3; paragraph [0151]) and the base member comprises acrylic resin (Fig. 3A #2; paragraph [0144]).
Since, Okumoto discloses the base member comprising acrylic resin, which is one of Applicant’s preferred materials for the second plastic film, and the first organic layer comprises polyimide, which is one of Applicant’s preferred materials for the first plastic film; the first plastic film (first organic layer) of Okumoto would inherently be harder than the second plastic film (base member).
Regarding claim 2, Yun discloses the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above and Yun discloses the foldable display comprising an inside-bending region having a bending center located inside the foldable display and the slit disposed in at least the inside-bending region (opening patterns between the plates disposed within the folding area F/A; Fig. 3; paragraph [0038]).
The gap or void in the opening patterns is considered to be the slit.
Regarding claim 3, Yun discloses the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above and Yun discloses the foldable display comprising bending portion being bent (being folded inward; Fig. 5; paragraphs [0092]-[0093]).
Yun does not disclose the bending portion being bent such that the foldable display is folded into a droplet shape.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bend the foldable display of Yun inward into a droplet shape because doing so provides an excellent folding effect allowing for stress to be dispersed throughout the foldable display device (paragraphs [0099]-[0100]).
Paragraph [0100] of Yun states that various modifications and variations can be made without departing from the scope of the invention
Regarding claim 4, Yun discloses the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above and Yun discloses the foldable display comprising bending portion being bent (being folded inward; Fig. 5; paragraphs [0092]-[0093]).
Yun does not disclose the bending portion being bent such that the foldable display is folded into a U-shape.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bend the foldable display of Yun inward into a U-shape because doing so provides an excellent folding effect allowing for stress to be dispersed throughout the foldable display device (paragraphs [0099]-[0100]).
Paragraph [0100] of Yun states that various modifications and variations can be made without departing from the scope of the invention
Regarding claim 5, Yun discloses the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above and Yun discloses the foldable display comprising an outside-bending region having a bending center located outside the foldable display and the shock absorption layer disposed in the outside-bending region (the plates with opening patterns therebetween; Fig. 3; paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 6, Yun discloses the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above and Yun discloses the foldable display comprising an inside-bending region having a bending center located inside the foldable display and the shock absorption layer further disposed in the inside-bending region (opening patterns between the plates disposed within the folding area F/A; Fig. 3; paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above.
Yun and Okumoto do not disclose the foldable display comprising a second moment of area of the metal film overlapping the bending portion being smaller than a second moment of area of the metal film overlapping the first support substrate and being smaller than a second moment of area of the metal film overlapping the second support substrate.
However, it would have been obvious to adjust the gaps between portions of the inorganic sections of Okumoto such that a second moment of area of the metal film overlapping the bending portion being smaller than a second moment of area of the metal film overlapping the first support substrate and being smaller than a second moment of area of the metal film overlapping the second support substrate because doing so would prevent moisture from infiltrating through space thereby improving gas barrier properties (paragraph [0086] of Okumoto).
The gaps within the inorganic section prevent infiltration of moisture while suppressing stress.
Regarding claim 12, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 11 as noted above.
Yun does not disclose the foldable display comprising the metal film overlapping the bending portion having a grating shape.
However, Okumoto discloses a foldable display (multi-layered film; paragraph [0078]) comprising the metal film overlapping the bending portion having a grating shape (the inorganic sections having a pattern; Fig. 1; paragraph [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display of Yun to include the structure of the first inorganic section (metal film) for the plates #2111b and #2111a of Yun because having the required layer structure suppresses transfer of stress thereby improving resistance to splitting and prevents moisture from infiltrating through space thereby improving gas barrier properties (paragraphs [0079] and [0086] of Okumoto).
Regarding claim 13, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 11 as noted above.
Yun does not disclose the foldable display comprising the metal film in whole having a grating shape.
However, Okumoto discloses a foldable display (multi-layered film; paragraph [0078]) comprising the metal film in whole having a grating shape (the inorganic sections having a pattern; Fig. 1; paragraph [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display of Yun to include the structure of the first inorganic section (metal film) for the plates #2111b and #2111a of Yun because having the required layer structure suppresses transfer of stress thereby improving resistance to splitting and prevents moisture from infiltrating through space thereby improving gas barrier properties (paragraphs [0079] and [0086] of Okumoto).
Regarding claim 14, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above.
Yun does not disclose a foldable display comprising a shock absorption layer further having an adhesive layer disposed between the first plastic film and the metal film or disposed between the second plastic film and the metal film.
However, Okumoto discloses a foldable display (multi-layered film; paragraph [0078]) comprising shock absorption layer further having an adhesive layer disposed between the first plastic film and the metal film or disposed between the second plastic film and the metal film (the base material comprising an adhesive layer laminated on a resin layer; paragraph [0361]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display device of Yun to include the adhesive layer of Yun between the second plastic film and the metal film of Yun because doing so provides the desired adhesion between the between the second plastic film and the metal film.
Regarding claim 19, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above.
Yun does not disclose the foldable display comprising the metal film having a thickness of 10 to 100 µm inclusive.
However, Okumoto discloses the foldable display (multi-layered film; paragraph [0078]) comprising the metal film having a thickness of 10 to 100 µm inclusive (inorganic sections having a thickness of 10 nm to 100 µm; paragraph [0151]).
The thickness of the inorganic sections overlap the claimed thickness of the metal film.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference in order to have gas barrier properties and allow for easy formation of an electronic device on the multi-layered film (paragraph [0151] of Okumoto). It has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” Please see MPEP 2144.05, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); and In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A thickness less than the above range results in moisture permeation affecting difficulty exhibiting gas barrier properties and a thickness more than the above range results in excessive difference in level resulting in difficulty forming the electronic device on the multi-layered film.
Regarding claim 23, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above.
Yun does not disclose the foldable display comprising the first plastic film being thicker than the metal film.
However, Okumoto further discloses the foldable display (multi-layered film) comprising the organic layers each having a thickness from 10 nm to 100 µm (paragraph [0153]), the inorganic sections each having a thickness from 10 nm to 100 µm (paragraph [0151]) and the base member having a thickness of 1 µm to 1000 µm (paragraph [0146]).
Okumoto does not disclose the foldable display comprising the first plastic film being thicker than the metal film.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the thicknesses for each of the organic layers and the base member such that the base member is thicker than the organic layers because doing so would provide gas barrier properties and allow for easy formation of an electronic device on the multi-layered film (paragraph [0151] of Okumoto) and complete coverage of the inorganic section and easy bending of the multi-layered film (paragraph [0153] of Okumoto).
Regarding claim 28, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above and Yun discloses the foldable display comprising a film having a slit in a portion that overlaps the bending portion (Fig. 5 #2111c and #2111d; paragraph [0037]).
Yun does not disclose the foldable display comprising a second plastic film.
However, Okumoto discloses a foldable display (multi-layered film; paragraph [0078]) comprising a first plastic film (first organic layer disposed on the first inorganic section; Fig. 3A #6; paragraph [0140]), a second plastic film disposed on a side of the first plastic film opposite the display layer (a base member; Fig. 3A #2; paragraph [0140]) and the metal film interposed between the first plastic film and the second plastic film (a first inorganic section between first organic layer #6 and base member #2; Fig. 3A #3; paragraph [0140]); wherein the first organic layer comprises polyimide (Fig. 3A #6; paragraph [0152]), the first inorganic section comprises a metal film (Fig. 3A #3; paragraph [0151]) and the base member comprises acrylic resin (Fig. 3A #2; paragraph [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display of Yun to include the base member of Okumoto directly below the plates #2111b and #2111a of Yun because having the required base member provides a film that is flexible enough not to be easily split or destroyed when the multi-layered film is bent (paragraph [0145] of Okumoto).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al (US 2018/0192527 A1) in view of Okumoto et al (US 2014/0254112 A1) in further view of Kimura et al (US 2017/0179210 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above.
Yun and Okumoto do not disclose the foldable display comprising a thermal-diffusion sheet between the first support substrate and the shock absorption layer as well as the second support substrate and the shock absorption layer.
However, Kimura discloses a foldable display (display device; paragraph [0039]) comprising a thermal-diffusion sheet (heat diffusion plate; Fig. 24 #210; paragraph [0128]) between the first support substrate (first substrate; Fig. 24 #102a; paragraph [0128]) and the shock absorption layer (protective film; Fig. 24 #610; paragraph [0128]) as well as the second support substrate (first substrate; Fig. 24 #102a; paragraph [0128]) and the shock absorption layer (protective film; Fig. 24 #610; paragraph [0128]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display device of Yun and Okumoto to include the heat diffusion plate of Kimura between the plate #2111b and plate #2111d of Yun as well as between the plate #2111a and #2111c of Yun because having the heat diffusing plate allows for heat to be dissipated from the display when in use leading to improved functionality of the display.
Regarding claim 8, Yun, Okumoto and Kimura disclose the foldable display of claim 7 as noted above.
Yun and Okumoto do not disclose the foldable display comprising a slit disposed in the thermal diffusion sheet.
However, Kimura discloses a display device comprising a heat diffusion plate provided with slits (Fig. 24 #210; paragraph [0128]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display of Yun and Okumoto to include the heat diffusion plate of Kimura between the plate #2111b and plate #2111d of Yun as well as between the plate #2111a and #2111c of Yun because having the heat diffusing plate allows for heat to be dissipated from the display when in use leading to improved functionality of the display.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al (US 2018/0192527 A1) in view of Okumoto et al (US 2014/0254112 A1) in further view of Kimura et al (US 2017/0179210 A1) and in further view of Kakuda et al (US 2015/0362791 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Yun, Okumoto and Kimura disclose the foldable display of claim 7 as noted above.
Yun, Okumoto and Kimura do not disclose the foldable display comprising the thermal diffusion sheet comprising a graphite sheet, a resin having flexibility and an adhesive layer.
However, Kakuda discloses a foldable display (electronic device; paragraph [0033]) comprising a thermal diffusion sheet (a heat spreading layer; Fig. 7 #92; paragraph [0057]) comprising a graphite sheet (graphite layer; Fig. 7 #102; paragraph [0058]), a resin having flexibility (upper and lower polymers layers are formed from sheets of a flexible material such as polyethylene terephthalate; paragraph [0058]) and an adhesive layer (Fig. 7 #98; paragraph [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display device of Yun, Okumoto and Kimura to include the heat spreading layer of Kakuda for the heat diffusing plate of Kimura because having the required heat spreading layer avoids excessive concentrations of heat in an electronic device (paragraph [0033] of Kakuda).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al (US 2018/0192527 A1) in view of Okumoto et al (US 2014/0254112 A1) in further view of Tamai (JP 2018-036474 A).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Tamai (JP 2018-036474 A).
Regarding claim 15, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 14 as noted above.
Yun and Okumoto do not disclose a foldable display comprising an air layer disposed within the adhesive layer.
However, Tamai discloses the foldable display (flexible display; pg. 1 of translation) comprising an air layer disposed within the adhesive layer (an adhesive layer disposed on sides #54a and #54b with a gap in between to prevent a display defect from occurring when the flexible display device is curved; Figs. 1 and 2 #26 and #27; pg. 4 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display of Yun and Okumoto to substitute the adhesive layer of Okumoto for the adhesive layer with the gap of Tamai because having the required adhesive layer with a gap disposed within prevents a display defect from occurring when the flexible display device is curved (pg. 4 of translation of Tamai).
Regarding claim 16, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 14 as noted above.
Yun and Okumoto do not disclose the foldable display comprising the adhesive layer separated into a plurality of parts with the bending portion interposed therebetween.
However, Tamai discloses the foldable display (flexible display; pg. 1 of translation) comprising the adhesive layer separated into a plurality of parts with bending portion interposed therebetween (an adhesive layer disposed on sides #54a and #54b with a gap in between to prevent a display defect from occurring when the flexible display device is curved; Figs. 1 and 2 #26 and #27; pg. 4 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display of Yun and Okumoto to substitute the adhesive layer of Okumoto for the adhesive layer with the gap of Tamai because having the required adhesive layer with a gap disposed within prevents a display defect from occurring when the flexible display device is curved (pg. 4 of translation of Tamai).
Regarding claim 17, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 14 as noted above.
Yun and Okumoto do not disclose the foldable display comprising the adhesive layer separated into a plurality of parts with the bending portion interposed therebetween and with the foldable display folded the adhesive layer separated into two parts is arranged in parallel with each other.
However, Tamai discloses the foldable display (flexible display; pg. 1 of translation) comprising the adhesive layer separated into a plurality of parts with the bending portion interposed therebetween and with the foldable display folded the adhesive layer separated into two parts arranged in parallel with each other (an adhesive layer disposed on sides #54a and #54b with a gap in between to prevent a display defect from occurring when the flexible display device is curved; Figs. 1 and 2 #26 and #27; pg. 4 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display of Yun and Okumoto to substitute the adhesive layer of Okumoto for the adhesive layer with the gap of Tamai because having the required adhesive layer with a gap disposed within prevents a display defect from occurring when the flexible display device is curved (pg. 4 of translation of Tamai).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al (US 2018/0192527 A1) in view of Okumoto et al (US 2014/0254112 A1) in further view of Jang et al (US 2017/0153668 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Yun and Okumoto disclose the foldable display of claim 1 as noted above.
Yun and Okumoto do not disclose a foldable display comprising a touch panel disposed between the display layer and the cover.
However, Jang discloses a foldable display device further comprising a touch panel disposed between the display panel and the cover window (paragraph [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display device of Yun and Okumoto to include the touch panel of Jang between the display panel and cover window of Yun because having the required touch panel in a foldable display device allows for a user to interact directly with the screen making it easier to navigate menus, select options and perform tasks without the need of a keyboard or a mouse.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Yun and Okumoto do not disclose, teach or suggest the shock absorption layer comprising a first plastic film, a second plastic film disposed on a side opposite the display layer, a metal film interposed between the first plastic film and the second plastic film, the metal film having a slit disposed in a portion overlapping the bending portion, the second plastic film being as a thick or thicker than the first plastic film and the first plastic film being harder than the second plastic film.
This argument is not persuasive as the plates #2111a and #2111b of Yun are made of a rigid material such as metal (see paragraph [0037] of Yun) and have opening patterns, which are read on the claimed slit. The first organic layer #6 of Okumoto made of polyimide and the base member #2 made of acrylic resin read on the claimed first plastic film and the second plastic film. Providing the first organic layer of Okumoto on the top surfaces of the plates #2111a and #2111b of Yun and the base member on the bottom surfaces of the plates #2111a and #2111b of Yun would result in a structure of a first plastic film, a second plastic film disposed on a side opposite the display layer, a metal film interposed between the first plastic film and the second plastic film, the metal film having a slit disposed in a portion overlapping the bending portion, the second plastic film being as a thick or thicker than the first plastic film and the first plastic film being harder than the second plastic film.
Applicants argue that Kimura, Kakuda, Tamai and Jang do not remedy the deficiencies of Yun and Okumoto.
The Examiner disagrees and notes that Kimura, Kakuda, Tamai and Jang are teaching references used to teach a heat diffusion plate (Kimura), a heat spreading layer (Kakuda), an adhesive layer with a gap (Tamai) and touch panel (Jang).
However, note that while Kimura, Kakuda, Tamai and Jang do not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Kimura, Kakuda, Tamai and Jang are as teaching references, and therefore, it is not necessary for these secondary references to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather these references teach certain concepts, namely a heat diffusion plate (Kimura), a heat spreading layer (Kakuda), an adhesive layer with a gap (Tamai) and touch panel (Jang), and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Conclusion
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785