DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment/arguments filed on 9/28/2026 which was in response to the office action mailed on 6/29/2026 (hereinafter the prior office action).
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 is/are amended.
Claim(s) 13 is/are cancelled.
Claim(s) 14 is/are new.
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 14 is/are independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 9/28/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states in Pg. 6 in “Remarks” regarding claim 1 that Nord’s trigger event is different from claim 1’s newly added limitation of the controller converting the received radio signal into a simulated activation or pressing of a local service button located on the control device in order to activate the WLAN service interface. Applicant elaborates on Pg. 7 that Nord’s Para. 71 does not teach a building automation control device, logic stored in that control device, or any conversion of a received radio signal into a simulated activation of a service button located on the control device.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because it is not Nord, but Holland, that has been used in the Office action to teach a building automation control device (Holland, Para. 33) as well as activation of a service button located on the control device (Holland, Para. 59 - - buttons on control device can be activated).
Nord has only been used to teach activating the wireless service interface by simulating…upon receiving a radio signal (Nord, Para. 71 - - trigger event activates the wireless service interface 12, which is a simulation of a physical action such as pressing a button) from a second device via the radio interface (Nord, Fig. 1, Para. 12, 71 - - trigger event is receipt of radio signal using first wireless service interface 11, i.e. radio interface, from a further, i.e. second, device 20, 25).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., logic stored in that control device, and conversion of a received radio signal into a simulated activation) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, claim 1 does not recite any logic stored in the control device (claim 2 recites this, and Nord’s Para. 67 teaches it as outlined below). Further, claim 1 recites simulating activation upon receiving, i.e. in response to receiving, a radio signal (which Nord teaches as outlined above), and not converting the received signal into a simulated activation.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, it is the combination of both Nord and Holland that teaches the claim limitations as outlined above, and neither Nord, nor Holland, taken individually.
Applicant further states in Pg. 7 in “Remarks” regarding claim 1 that Holland does not disclose activating a WLAN service interface by simulating pressing of a service button located on a control device in response to a radio signal received from a second device.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because it is not Holland, but Nord, that has been used in the Office action to teach activating the wireless service interface by simulating…upon receiving a radio signal (Nord, Para. 71 - - trigger event activates the wireless service interface 12, which is a simulation of a physical action such as pressing a button) from a second device via the radio interface (Nord, Fig. 1, Para. 12, 71 - - trigger event is receipt of radio signal using first wireless service interface 11, i.e. radio interface, from a further, i.e. second, device 20, 25).
Holland has only been used to teach the wireless local area network (WLAN) (Holland, Para. 33 - - LAN is used; Para. 31 - - where network can use wireless communication, i.e. WLAN) and activation of a service button located on the control device (Holland, Para. 59 - - buttons on control device can be activated).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., pressing of a service button) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, there is no mention of a pressing (as is recited in claim 9), which the combination of Nord and Holland does teach as outlined with respect to claim 9.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, it is the combination of both Nord and Holland that teaches the claim limitations as outlined above, and neither Nord, nor Holland, taken individually.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the controller activates…” in Claim 1,
“the controller uses…to access…receive…transmit” in Claim 1,
“the controller simulates…” in Claim 2,
“the control device receives…or transmits…” in Claim 3,
“the control device automatically deactivates…” in Claim 4, and
“the control device receives…and deactivates…” in Claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nord (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0196044) (hereinafter “Nord”) in view of Holland et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0187832) (hereinafter “Holland”).
Regarding claim 1, Nord teaches a control device comprising a wireless service interface to a wireless…area network…; a radio interface; and a controller; (Fig. 1, Para. 56 - - control device 10 comprises radio interface 11, wireless service interface 12 and controller 13, along with wireless communication network; Para. 60, 63 - - interfaces use radio communication)
wherein the controller activates the wireless service interface by simulating…upon receiving a radio signal (Para. 71 - - trigger event activates the wireless service interface 12, which is a simulation of a physical action such as pressing a button)
from a second device via the radio interface; (Fig. 1, Para. 12, 71 - - trigger event is receipt of radio signal using first wireless service interface 11, i.e. radio interface, from a further, i.e. second, device 20, 25)
and the controller uses the wireless service interface to access one or more…devices (Fig. 1, Para. 58 - - further device 20, 25, i.e. one or more devices, may be mobile device or further device may be user equipment/device with wireless interfaces; Para. 71 - - controller of first device 10 accesses further device through Wi-Fi access)
…receive data from the one or more…devices, and transmit the data from the controller to the second device. (Para. 27, 61 - - one or more devices 20, 25 receive and transmit data traffic using respective wireless interfaces 22 and 27)
But Nord does not explicitly teach wireless local area network (WLAN)
activation of a service button located on the control device
access one or more field devices of a building automation system through a field bus of the WLAN,
However, Holland teaches wireless local area network (WLAN) (Para. 33 - - LAN is used; Para. 31 - - where network can use wireless communication, i.e. WLAN)
activation of a service button located on the control device (Para. 59 - - buttons on control device can be activated)
access one or more field devices of a building automation system through a field bus of the WLAN, (Para. 33 - - equipment, i.e. field devices, in a building automation system are controlled; Para. 34 - - control/access can be over bus)
Nord and Holland are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain control via wireless communications.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Nord, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Holland.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to control, monitor and manage equipment in or around a building or building area, as suggested by Holland (Para. 33).
Regarding claim 2, Nord further teaches wherein the controller simulates…using logic stored in the control device upon receiving the radio signal and thereby activates the wireless service interface. (Para. 71 - - trigger event activates the wireless service interface 12, which is a simulation of a physical action such as pressing a button; Para. 67 - - microprocessors, microcontrollers, processors, controllers and/or ASICs, etc. can be used, which have stored logic)
Holland further teaches the activation of a service button located on the control device (Para. 59 - - buttons on control device can be activated)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to allow a user to control device(s), as suggested by Holland (Para. 59).
Regarding claim 3, Nord further teaches wherein after activation of the wireless service interface, the control device receives data or transmits data using the wireless service interface. (Para. 60 - - interface 12 is activated for receiving or transmitting data)
Regarding claim 4, Nord further teaches wherein the control device automatically deactivates the wireless service interface after receiving or transmitting the data. (Para. 75, 77 - - interface 12 is deactivated when no longer needed, i.e. after receiving or transmitting the data)
Regarding claim 5, Nord further teaches wherein the second device comprises a mobile communication terminal. (Fig. 1, Para. 58 - - further, i.e. second, device may be mobile device)
Regarding claim 6, Holland further teaches wherein the second device comprises a wireless communication field device. (Para. 33-34 - - field devices are controlled including wireless communication being used)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to control, monitor and manage equipment in or around a building or building area, as suggested by Holland (Para. 33).
Regarding claim 7, Nord further teaches wherein the control device receives the radio signal generated by the second device via a radio connection and deactivates the wireless service interface on the basis of the radio signal. (Para. 75, 77 - - interface 12 is deactivated when no longer needed, i.e. after receiving or transmitting the data)
Regarding claim 8, Nord teaches a method for controlling…devices…using a control device, the method comprising: sending a radio signal to the control device, the radio signal generated by a second device; (Fig. 1 - - control device 10 comprises wireless service interface 12 and controller 13; Para. 71 - - trigger event activates the wireless service interface 12)
receiving the radio signal at a radio interface of the control device; (Fig. 1, Para. 12, 71 - - trigger event is receipt of radio signal using first wireless service interface 11, i.e. radio interface, from a further, i.e. second, device 20, 25; Para. 60, 63 - - interfaces use radio communication)
activating a first wireless service interface to a wireless…area network…of the control device in response to the receipt of the radio signal, (Fig. 1, Para. 56 - - wireless communication network; Para. 71 - - trigger event activates the wireless service interface 12)
wherein activation of the first wireless service interface includes simulating (Para. 71 - - trigger event activates the wireless service interface 12, which is a simulation of a physical action such as pressing a button)
…by the radio signal received from the second device; (Para. 71 - - trigger event activates the wireless service interface 12, which is a simulation of a physical action such as pressing a button; Fig. 1, Para. 12, 71 - - trigger event is receipt of radio signal using first wireless service interface 11, i.e. radio interface, from a further, i.e. second, device 20, 25)
and using the first wireless service interface to access one or more…devices (Fig. 1, Para. 58 - - further device 20, 25, i.e. one or more devices, may be mobile device or further device may be user equipment/device with wireless interfaces; Para. 71 - - controller of first device 10 accesses further device through Wi-Fi access)
…receive data from the one or more…devices, and transmit the data from the controller to the second device. (Para. 27, 61 - - one or more devices 20, 25 receive and transmit data traffic using respective wireless interfaces 22 and 27)
But Nord does not explicitly teach controlling field devices in a building
wireless local area network (WLAN)
activation of a service button located on the control device
access field devices of the building automation system with the control device through a field bus of the WLAN.
However, Holland teaches controlling field devices in a building (Para. 33 - - equipment, i.e. field devices, in a building automation system are controlled)
wireless local area network (WLAN) (Para. 33 - - LAN is used; Para. 31 - - where network can use wireless communication, i.e. WLAN)
activation of a service button located on the control device (Para. 59 - - buttons on control device can be activated)
access field devices of the building automation system with the control device through a field bus of the WLAN. (Para. 33 - - equipment, i.e. field devices, in a building automation system are controlled; Para. 34 - - control/access can be over bus)
Nord and Holland are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain control via wireless communications.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Nord, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Holland.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to control, monitor and manage equipment in or around a building or building area, as suggested by Holland (Para. 33).
Regarding claim 9, Nord further teaches wherein activation of the first wireless service interface includes simulating…by executing logic stored in the control device triggered by the radio signal received from the second device. (Fig. 1, Para. 12, 71 - - trigger event is receipt of radio signal using first wireless service interface 11, i.e. further wireless interface from a further, i.e. second, device 20, 25, where trigger event activates the wireless service interface 12, which is a simulation of a physical action such as pressing a button; Para. 67 - - microprocessors, microcontrollers, processors, controllers and/or ASICs, etc. can be used, which have stored logic)
Holland further teaches pressing a service button located on the control device (Para. 59 - - buttons on control device can be activated)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to allow a user to control device(s), as suggested by Holland (Para. 59).
Regarding claim 10, Nord further teaches automatically deactivating the first wireless service interface after the data has been transferred. (Para. 75, 77 - - interface 12 is deactivated when no longer needed, i.e. after receiving or transmitting the data)
Regarding claim 11, Nord further teaches automatically deactivating the first wireless service interface upon receipt of a further radio signal generated by the second device and sent to the control device. (Para. 75, 77 - - interface 12 is deactivated when no longer needed, i.e. after receiving or transmitting the data)
Regarding claim 12, Holland further teaches wherein the second device comprises a mobile communication terminal or a correspondingly designed field device. (Para. 33-34 - - field devices are controlled)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to control, monitor and manage equipment in or around a building or building area, as suggested by Holland (Para. 33).
Regarding claim 14, Nord teaches a control device comprising: a wireless service interface to a wireless…area network…a radio interface; and a controller communicating with one or more…devices (Fig. 1, Para. 56 - - control device 10 comprises radio interface 11, wireless service interface 12 and controller 13, along with wireless communication network; Para. 60, 63 - - interfaces use radio communication; Fig. 1, Para. 58 - - further device 20, 25, i.e. one or more devices, may be mobile device or further device may be user equipment/device with wireless interfaces; Para. 71 - - controller of first device 10 accesses further device through Wi-Fi access)
wherein the controller activates the wireless service interface by simulating…upon receiving a radio signal (Para. 71 - - trigger event activates the wireless service interface 12, which is a simulation of a physical action such as pressing a button)
from a second device via the radio interface; (Fig. 1, Para. 12, 71 - - trigger event is receipt of radio signal using first wireless service interface 11, i.e. radio interface, from a further, i.e. second, device 20, 25)
and the controller accesses the one or more…devices system (Fig. 1, Para. 58 - - further device 20, 25, i.e. one or more devices, may be mobile device or further device may be user equipment/device with wireless interfaces; Para. 71 - - controller of first device 10 accesses further device through Wi-Fi access)
receives data from the one or more…devices, and transmits the data from the controller to the second device; (Para. 27, 61 - - one or more devices 20, 25 receive and transmit data traffic using respective wireless interfaces 22 and 27)
wherein the second device comprises a mobile communication terminal or a wireless communication field terminal. (Fig. 1, Para. 58 - - further, i.e. second, device may be mobile device)
But Nord does not explicitly teach wireless local area network (WLAN) comprising at least one field bus;
communicating with one or more field devices through the at least one field bus;
activation of a service button located on the control device
accesses the one or more field devices system through the at least one field bus,
However, Holland teaches wireless local area network (WLAN) comprising at least one field bus; (Para. 33 - - LAN is used; Para. 31 - - where network can use wireless communication, i.e. WLAN; Para. 33 - - equipment, i.e. field devices, in a building automation system are controlled; Para. 34 - - control/access can be over bus)
communicating with one or more field devices through the at least one field bus; (Para. 33 - - equipment, i.e. field devices, in a building automation system are controlled; Para. 34 - - control/access can be over bus)
activation of a service button located on the control device (Para. 59 - - buttons on control device can be activated)
accesses the one or more field devices system through the at least one field bus, (Para. 33 - - equipment, i.e. field devices, in a building automation system are controlled; Para. 34 - - control/access can be over bus)
Nord and Holland are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain control via wireless communications.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Nord, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Holland.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to control, monitor and manage equipment in or around a building or building area, as suggested by Holland (Para. 33).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0259533 by Nixon et al., which discloses self-configuring communication networks for use with process control systems (Title/Abstract).
U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0166490 by Lee et al. which discloses establishing connection of devices including via wireless communication interface (Title/Abstract).
U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0239258 by Ginsberg et al. which discloses service tool wireless access management including wireless access interface and equipment service system (Title/Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119