DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 08/21/2026, are accepted and do not introduce new matter.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1 and 9 disclose the second annular member having “a step”, “a first step” and “a second step”. It is unclear if the step and the first step are the same or distinct features altogether. For clarity these should be claimed as a first step, a second step and a third step; or claimed as a protrusion, a first step and a second step - in order to clearly claim the three distinct steps.
Claims 2-8 are indefinite for depending on claim 1.
Claims 10-15 are indefinite for depending on claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lozier (U.S. 2009/0101368) in view of Oestreich (U.S. 2019/0195402).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Lozier teaches a rotating conduit assembly (14) for a fire suppression system (see abstract), the conduit assembly comprising:
a first conduit (base 26) configured to be fluidly coupled with a fluid source (water source is coupled to base 26, as seen in Fig 2 and 6, and disclosed in Par 0038);
a second conduit (18); and
a rotatable coupling (39, as labeled in Fig 6) configured to rotatably couple the first conduit with the second conduit (26 and 18 are rotatable coupled, i.e. 18 rotates about base 26, as seen in Fig 6 and disclosed in Par 0040), the rotatable coupling comprising:
a first annular member (shown below) fixedly coupled with the first conduit (as shown below, the first annular member is coupled to the first conduit 26);
a second annular member (shown below) fixedly coupled with the second conduit (as shown below, the second annular member is coupled to the second conduit 18);
a rotational actuator (drive mechanism 30, seen in Fig 2) that includes a body (shown below) that is coupled to the first annular member (as shown below) and an annular gear (defined by teeth 44, seen below) that is coupled to the second annular member (as shown below) and configured to rotate the second annular member relative to the first annular member (mechanism 30 includes a worm gear 56 that moves gear teeth 44 in order to rotate the second annular member with respect to the first annular member, i.e. 18 rotates in relation to 26, as disclosed in Par 0041).
However, Lozier does not teach the assembly comprising an inner sleeve extending between the first annular member and into the second annular member, the second annular member forming a cavity that covers an axial end of the inner sleeve with a step that protrudes radially inwards; an annular seal disposed between the inner sleeve and the second annular member and configured to provide a fluidic seal between the inner sleeve and the second annular member, the annular seal being positioned radially outward from the inner sleeve and radially inward from the second annular member; wherein the annular seal is secured at a first end by a first step within the second annular member, secured at a second end by a second extending radially inward from the second annular member, and secured in a radially inward direction by the inner sleeve.
Oestreich teaches a rotary joint (seen in Fig 4) for fluid coupling comprising an inner sleeve (24) extending between a first annular member (74) and into a second annular member (defined by 3 and 61) (as shown below, inner sleeve 24 extends between 74 and into the cavity of 61, i.e. the inner sleeve is radially inside the second annular member portion 61), the second annular member forming a cavity (shown below) that covers an axial end of the inner sleeve with a step (shown below) that protrudes radially inwards (as shown below); an annular seal (shaft seal 39) disposed between the inner sleeve and the second annular member (39 is disposed between the inner sleeve 24 and the second annular member portion 3, as seen in Fig 4) and configured to provide a fluidic seal between the inner sleeve and the second annular member (as disclosed in Par 0009), the annular seal being positioned radially outward from the inner sleeve (39 is radially outward, i.e. outside, of the inner sleeve 24, see Fig 4) and radially inward from the second annular member (39 is radially inward, i.e. inside, the second annular member portion 3, see Fig 4); wherein the annular seal is secured at a first end by a first step (first step defined by 45) within the second annular member (45 is within the second annular member 3), secured at a second end by a second step (second step defined by 37) extending radially inward from the second annular member (37 is defined radially inwards from second annular member 3), and secured in a radially inward direction by the inner sleeve (the annular seal 39 is secured in a radially inward direction by the inner sleeve 24, due to the sleeve limiting its position radially inwardly) (Fig 4 shows the annular seal 39 being in between the first and second steps 45 and 37, as claimed).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lozier to incorporate the teachings of Oestreich to provide an inner sleeve and an annular seal in the first and second annular members in order to limit axial displacement between the two annular members, and to create a robust coupling that resists axial and bending forces (as disclosed in Par 0006 of Oestreich ). In combination, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotational actuator disposed radially outward from the inner sleeve, since the sleeve is placed in between the first and second annular members of Lozier. Note: the claim language “disposed” only means placed in the vicinity of, the claim does not specify that the actuator has to be coupled to the inner sleeve. This is also consistent with Applicant’s figures, which do not show the rotational actuator directly contacting the inner sleeve.
Note: all references made in parenthesis hereafter are referencing Lozier, unless otherwise stated.
Regarding claim 2, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotating conduit assembly of claim 1, further comprising: an annular bearing (bearing 35 of Oestreich) disposed between the inner sleeve and the second annular member (as seen in Fig 4 of Oestreich, the bearing 35 is in between the inner sleeve 24 and the second annular member portion 3).
Regarding claim 3, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotating conduit assembly of claim 1, wherein the rotational actuator comprises: an input gear (worm gear 56, disclosed in Par 0041) disposed within a gear box (shown below), the gear box fixedly coupled to the first annular member (the gear box is fixed to the first annular member, as shown below), wherein the annular gear engages the input gear (as seen in Figs 6 and 7, 44 engages with 56); and a motor (57, disclosed in Par 0041) coupled with the input gear for rotating the second annular member with respect to the first annular member (as disclosed in Par 0041-42).
Regarding claim 4 Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotating conduit assembly of claim 1, wherein: at least one of the first conduit and second conduit form an elbow (as shown below, the conduits 26 and 18 are at an angle, thus forming an elbow).
Regarding claim 5, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotating conduit assembly of claim 1, wherein the first step is disposed at a radially inwards position of the second annular member (as seen in Fig 4 of Oestreich, the first step 45 is disposed at a radially inward position of the second annular member 3); and wherein the second step extends radially inwards from the second annular member (as seen in Fig 4 of Oestreich, the second step 37 extends radially inwards from the second annular member 3).
Regarding claim 6, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotating conduit assembly of claim 2, wherein: the annular bearing (35 of Oestreich) is coupled with at least one of an annular protrusion or the second step, the annular protrusion extending axially from the second annular member, the second step structured to limit the annular bearing in an axial direction (as seen in Fig 4 of Oestreich, the second step 37 limits axial movement of the annular bearing 35 due to them being placed adjacent to each other) (Note: the “at least one of” is alternate language, as such the prior art does not need both an annular protrusion and a second step in order to anticipate claim language, it only needs one or the other. In this case, Oestreich teaches the second step as claimed).
Regarding claim 7, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotating conduit assembly of claim 1, further comprising: a third conduit (defined by downstream portion of conduit 18) fluidly coupled with the second conduit (as seen in Fig 6); a fourth conduit (20); and a second rotatable coupling (22) fluidly coupled with the third conduit and the fourth conduit (as seen in Fig 6, the third conduit 18 and the fourth conduit 20 are rotatable via rotatable coupling 22). Note: Examiner is interpreting the third conduit as part of the second conduit based on Applicant’s disclosure Par 0045, which states that conduit 120 defines the second and third conduit together.
Regarding claim 8, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotating conduit assembly of claim 7, wherein: at least one of the first conduit, second conduit, third conduit, or the fourth conduit form an elbow (the first conduit 26 forms an elbow with the second conduit 18; and the third conduit, i.e. downstream portion of 18, forms an elbow with the fourth conduit 20, as seen in Fig 6) and wherein the fourth conduit is fluidly coupled with a nozzle (the fourth conduit 20 is connected to a nozzle N, as seen in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Lozier teaches a mobile fire suppression system (as disclosed in Par 0002, Lozier teaches a fire monitor that is used in a fire truck), the mobile fire suppression system comprising:
a mobile mount (defined by flange 27, which is configured to be mounted on a fire truck, i.e. it is considered a mobile mount – see Par 0038);
a first conduit (base 26) coupled with the mobile mount (as seen in Fig 6) and configured to fluidly couple with a fluid source (water source is coupled to base 26, as seen in Fig 2 and 6, and disclosed in Par 0038);
a second conduit (18); and
a rotatable coupling (39, as labeled in Fig 6) providing a sealed fluid flow path (path between 26 and 18; it is understood that the coupling 39 is sealed to avoid any leaks, much like coupling 22, which is disclosed as sealed – see Par 0037) between the first conduit and the second conduit for providing relative rotation between the first conduit and the second conduit (26 and 18 are rotatable coupled, i.e. 18 rotates about base 26, as seen in Fig 6 and disclosed in Par 0040), the rotatable coupling comprising:
a first annular member (shown below) fixedly coupled with the first conduit (as shown below, the first annular member is coupled to the first conduit 26);
a second annular member (shown below) fixedly coupled with the second conduit (as shown below, the second annular member is coupled to the second conduit 18);
a rotational actuator (drive mechanism 30, seen in Fig 2) that includes a body (shown below) that is coupled to the first annular member (as shown below) and an annular gear (defined by teeth 44, seen below) that is coupled to the second annular member (as shown below) and configured to rotate the second annular member relative to the first annular member (mechanism 30 includes a worm gear 56 that moves gear teeth 44 in order to rotate the second annular member with respect to the first annular member, i.e. 18 rotates in relation to 26, as disclosed in Par 0041).
However, Lozier does not teach the system comprising an inner sleeve extending between the first annular member and into the second annular member, the second annular member forming a cavity that covers an axial end of the inner sleeve with a step that protrudes radially inwards; and an annular seal disposed between the inner sleeve and the second annular member and configured to provide a fluidic seal between the inner sleeve and the second annular member, the annular seal being positioned radially outward from the inner sleeve and radially inward from the second annular member; wherein the annular seal is secured at a first end by a first step within the second annular member, secured at a second end by an annular protrusion extending radially inward from the second annular member, and secured in a radially inward direction by the inner sleeve.
Oestreich teaches a rotary joint (seen in Fig 4) for fluid coupling comprising an inner sleeve (24) extending between a first annular member (74) and into a second annular member (defined by 3 and 61) (as shown below, inner sleeve 24 extends between 74 and into the cavity of 61, i.e. the inner sleeve is radially inside the second annular member portion 61), the second annular member forming a cavity (shown below) that covers an axial end of the inner sleeve with a step (shown below) that protrudes radially inwards (as shown below); an annular seal (shaft seal 39) disposed between the inner sleeve and the second annular member (39 is disposed between the inner sleeve 24 and the second annular member portion 3, as seen in Fig 4) and configured to provide a fluidic seal between the inner sleeve and the second annular member (as disclosed in Par 0009), the annular seal being positioned radially outward from the inner sleeve (39 is radially outward, i.e. outside, of the inner sleeve 24, see Fig 4) and radially inward from the second annular member (39 is radially inward, i.e. inside, the second annular member portion 3, see Fig 4); wherein the annular seal is secured at a first end by a first step (first step defined by 45) within the second annular member (45 is within the second annular member 3), secured at a second end by a second step (second step defined by 37) extending radially inward from the second annular member (37 is defined radially inwards from second annular member 3), and secured in a radially inward direction by the inner sleeve (the annular seal 39 is secured in a radially inward direction by the inner sleeve 24, due to the sleeve limiting its position radially inwardly) (Fig 4 shows the annular seal 39 being in between the first and second steps 45 and 37, as claimed).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lozier to incorporate the teachings of Oestreich to provide an inner sleeve and an annular seal in the first and second annular members in order to limit axial displacement between the two annular members, and to create a robust coupling that resists axial and bending forces (as disclosed in Par 0006 of Oestreich ). In combination, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotational actuator disposed radially outward from the inner sleeve, since the sleeve is placed in between the first and second annular members of Lozier. Note: the claim language “disposed” only means placed in the vicinity of, the claim does not specify that the actuator has to be coupled to the inner sleeve. This is also consistent with Applicant’s figures, which do not show the rotational actuator directly contacting the inner sleeve.
Note: all references made in parenthesis hereafter are referencing Lozier, unless otherwise stated.
Regarding claim 10, Lozier and Oestreich teach the mobile fire suppression system of claim 9, further comprising: an annular bearing (bearing 35 of Oestreich) disposed between the inner sleeve and the second annular member (as seen in Fig 4 of Oestreich, the bearing 35 is in between the inner sleeve 24 and the second annular member portion 3)
Regarding claim 11, Lozier and Oestreich teach the mobile fire suppression system of claim 9, wherein the rotational actuator comprises: an input gear (worm gear 56, disclosed in Par 0041) disposed within a gear box (shown below), the gear box fixedly coupled with the first annular member (the gear box is fixed to the first annular member, as shown below), wherein the annular gear engages the input gear (as seen in Figs 6 and 7, 44 engages with 56); and a motor (57, disclosed in Par 0041) coupled with the input gear for rotating the second annular member with respect to the first annular member (as disclosed in Par 0041-42).
Regarding claim 12, Lozier and Oestreich teach the mobile fire suppression system of claim 9, wherein the first step is disposed at a radially inwards position of the second annular member (as seen in Fig 4 of Oestreich, the first step 45 is disposed at a radially inward position of the second annular member 3); and wherein the second step extends radially inwards from the second annular member (as seen in Fig 4 of Oestreich, the second step 37 extends radially inwards from the second annular member 3).
Regarding claim 13, Lozier and Oestreich teach the mobile fire suppression system of claim 10, wherein: the annular bearing (35 of Oestreich) is coupled with at least one of an annular protrusion or the second step, the annular protrusion extending axially from the second annular member, the second step structured to limit the annular bearing in an axial direction (as seen in Fig 4 of Oestreich, the second step 37 limits axial movement of the annular bearing 35 due to them being placed adjacent to each other) (Note: the “at least one of” is alternate language, as such the prior art does not need both an annular protrusion and a second step in order to anticipate claim language, it only needs one or the other. In this case, Oestreich teaches the second step as claimed).
Regarding claim 14, Lozier and Oestreich teach the mobile fire suppression system of claim 9, further comprising: a third conduit (defined by downstream portion of conduit 18) fluidly coupled with the second conduit (as seen in Fig 6); a fourth conduit (20); and a second rotatable coupling (22) fluidly coupled with the third conduit and the fourth conduit (as seen in Fig 6, the third conduit 18 and the fourth conduit 20 are rotatable via rotatable coupling 22). Note: Examiner is interpreting the third conduit as part of the second conduit based on Applicant’s disclosure Par 0045, which states that conduit 120 defines the second and third conduit together.
Regarding claim 15, Lozier and Oestreich teach the mobile fire suppression system of claim 14, wherein: at least one of the first conduit, second conduit, third conduit, and fourth conduit form an elbow (the first conduit 26 forms an elbow with the second conduit 18; and the third conduit, i.e. downstream portion of 18, forms an elbow with the fourth conduit 20, as seen in Fig 6) and wherein the fourth conduit is fluidly coupled with a nozzle (the fourth conduit 20 is connected to a nozzle N, as seen in Fig 2).
Note: Examiner is interpreting the first and second “flanges” of claim 16 the same as “annular members”, which are interchangeable terms, as per Applicant’s specification Par 0049
Regarding claim 16, Lozier teaches a rotatable coupling (39, as labeled in Fig 6) comprising:
a first flange (shown below) configured to fluidly couple with a first conduit (base 26, as seen below);
a second flange (shown below) configured to fluidly couple with a second conduit (18, as seen below); and
a drive member (drive mechanism 30, seen in Fig 2) that includes including a body (shown below) that is coupled to the first flange (as shown below) and an annular gear (defined by teeth 44, seen below) that is coupled to the second flange (as shown below) and positioned longitudinally between the first flange and the second flange (the drive member 30, which is located where void 52 is shown in Fig 6, is positioned between the upstream end the first flange and the downstream end of the second flange from a longitudinal direction) and configured to rotate the second flange relative to the first flange (mechanism 30 includes a worm gear 56 that moves gear teeth 44 in order to rotate the first flange with respect to the second flange, i.e. 18 rotates in relation to 26, as disclosed in Par 0041).
However, Lozier does not teach a coupling comprising an inner sleeve positioned between the first flange and the second flange, the inner sleeve fixedly coupled to the first flange and rotatably coupled to the second flange, the second flange forming a cavity that covers an axial end of the inner sleeve with a step that protrudes radially inwards; a seal disposed between the inner sleeve and the second flange, the seal being positioned radially outward from the inner sleeve and radially inward from the second flange; wherein the seal is secured at first end by a first shoulder within the second flange, secured at a second end by a second shoulder extending radially inward from the second flange, and secured in a radially inward direction by the inner sleeve; an alignment bearing disposed between the inner sleeve and the second flange.
Oestreich teaches a rotary joint for fluid coupling comprising an inner sleeve (24) positioned between a first flange (74) and the second flange (defined by 3 and 61) (as shown below, inner sleeve 24 extends between 74 and into the cavity of 61, i.e. the inner sleeve is radially inside the second annular member portion 61), the inner sleeve fixedly coupled to the first flange (24 is fixed to the first flange 74 via thread 27) and rotatably coupled to the second flange (24 rotates in relation to second flange 3 due to bearing 35), the second flange forming a cavity (shown below) that covers an axial end of the inner sleeve with a step (shown below) that protrudes radially inwards (as shown below); a seal (shaft seal 39) disposed between the inner sleeve and the second flange (39 is disposed between the inner sleeve 24 and the second flange 3, as seen in Fig 4), the seal being positioned radially outward from the inner sleeve (39 is radially outward, i.e. outside, of the inner sleeve 24, see Fig 4) and radially inward from the second flange (39 is radially inward, i.e. inside, the second flange 3, see Fig 4); wherein the seal is secured at first end by a first shoulder (first shoulder defined by 45) within the second flange (45 is within the second flange 3), secured at a second end by a second shoulder (second shoulder defined by 37) extending radially inward from the second flange (37 is defined radially inwards from second flange 3), and secured in a radially inward direction by the inner sleeve (the annular seal 39 is secured in a radially inward direction by the inner sleeve 24, due to the sleeve limiting its position radially inwardly) (Fig 4 shows the annular seal 39 being in between the first and second steps 45 and 37, as claimed); an alignment bearing (bearing 35) disposed between the inner sleeve and the second flange (as seen in Fig 4, the bearing 35 is in between the inner sleeve 24 and the second flange 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lozier to incorporate the teachings of Oestreich to provide an inner sleeve and a seal in the first and second flanges in order to limit axial displacement between the two annular members, and to create a robust coupling that resists axial and bending forces (as disclosed in Par 0006 of Oestreich ). In combination, Lozier and Oestreich teach the drive member positioned radially outward from the inner sleeve, since the sleeve is placed in between the first and second flanges of Lozier. Note: the claim language “positioned radially outward” does not require the drive means to be in contact with the inner sleeve, it only means placed in the vicinity of. This is also consistent with Applicant’s figures, which do not show the drive member directly contacting the inner sleeve.
Note: all references made in parenthesis hereafter are referencing Lozier, unless otherwise stated.
Regarding claim 17, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotatable coupling of claim 16, wherein: a fluid flow path (shown below) extends along the first flange, the inner sleeve, and the second flange (as shown below, the fluid path extends from the first flange to the second flange; in combination with Oestreich, it also extends past the inner sleeve, since the sleeve is defined in between the two flanges); and wherein the drive member is fluidly sealed from the fluid flow path (as seen in Fig 7, the drive member 30 is sealed and apart from the flow path, since it is defined outside of the conduits).
Regarding claim 18, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotatable coupling of claim 16, wherein: the inner sleeve (24 of Oestreich) includes a step (47) extending radially outward from the inner sleeve (as seen in Fig 4 of Oestreich); and the alignment bearing (35 of Oestreich) is positioned between the step and the second shoulder (as seen in Fig 4 of Oestreich, the bearing 35 is positioned between the step 47 and the second shoulder 37 in a radial direction, i.e. 35 is radially between 47 and 37).
Regarding claim 19, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotatable coupling of claim 16, wherein the drive member further comprises: an input gear (worm gear 56, disclosed in Par 0041) disposed within a gear box (shown below), the gear box fixedly coupled to the first flange (the gear box is fixed to the first flange, as shown below), wherein the an annular gear engages the input gear (as seen in Figs 6 and 7, 44 engages with 56); and a motor (57, disclosed in Par 0041) coupled with the input gear and configured to drive the second flange to rotate relative to the first flange (as disclosed in Par 0041-42).
Regarding claim 20, Lozier and Oestreich teach the rotatable coupling of claim 18, wherein the seal (39 of Oestreich) is coupled with the first shoulder and the second shoulder (as seen Fig 4 of Oestreich, the seal 39 in coupled in between the two shoulders 45 and 37), such that the seal is held in position with respect to the second flange (seal 39 is held in position with respect to second flange 3 with the aid of the first shoulder 45 and the second shoulder 37, as seen in Fig 4); and wherein the alignment bearing (35) is coupled with at least one of an annular protrusion or the second shoulder, the annular protrusion extending axially from the second flange, and the second shoulder structured to limit the annular bearing in an axial direction (as seen in Fig 4 of Oestreich, the second shoulder 37 limits axial movement of the annular bearing 35 due to them being placed adjacent to each other) (Note: the “at least one of” is alternate language, as such the prior art does not need both an annular protrusion and a second shoulder in order to anticipate claim language, it only needs one or the other. In this case, Oestreich teaches the second shoulder as claimed).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply in view of new grounds of rejection. Applicant's amendments filed on 08/21/2026 have resulted in the new grounds of rejection found above.
Examiner advises Applicant to set up an interview to discuss amendments to the independent claim in order to overcome the cited art and move the case forward.
Conclusion
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/JUAN C BARRERA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 September 4, 2026