DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III and species of disrupting the insulin receptor and TB006 in the reply filed on 7/7/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
The claim amendments filed 7/7/25 are acknowledged. Claims 2-5, 10-25, 27, 30, 32, 48-51, 56-70, 72-83, 85, 87, 90-92, and 94-99 are cancelled. Claims 1, 6-9, 26, 28-29, 31, 33-47, 52-55, 71, 84, 86, 88-89, 93 are pending. Claims 28-29, 31, 33-47, 52-53, 71, 84, 86, 88-89, 93 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 26 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/7/25.
Claims 1, 6-9, and 54-55 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 10/26/23, 11/18/24, 1/27/25, and 9/11/25 have been considered. Signed copies are enclosed.
The references lined through were not considered because the references were not properly cited including date and author (if any) (see 37 CFR 1.98(b)).
Notably, the disclosure statement filed lists a Search Report. The listing of the references cited in a Search Report itself is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, "the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper." Therefore, the references cited in the Search Report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information or any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the IDS, including all "statement" requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Note: If copies of the individual references cited on the Search Report are also cited separately on the IDS (and these references have not been lined-through) they have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1, 6-9, and 54-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus.
The instant claims are drawn to a method of disrupting an interaction between Gal3 and insulin receptor or integrin or both, the method comprising contacting an interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or integrin or both with an anti-Gal3 antibody or binding fragment thereof that selectively binds Gal3 and disrupts the interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or the integrin or both. The anti-Gal3 antibody can bind to one or more of the peptides of SEQ ID NO:3-26, including epitopes within a region of Gal3 defined by SEQ ID NO:3-9, or where the Gal3 comprises an amino acid sequence of GxYPG wherein x is alanine, glycine, or valine. The interaction can be reduced by less than 80%. The claims are further directed to a method of treating NASH or NAFLD comprising administering an anti-Gal3 antibody to disrupt an interaction between Gal3 and an insulin receptor. The specification describes antibodies having a VL-CDR1 of SEQ ID NO:100-104 or 106-128; a VL-CDR2 of SEQ ID NO:129-131 or 133-144; a VL-CDR3 of SEQ ID NO:145-148 or 150-168; a VH-CDR1 of SEQ ID NO:27-30 or 32-47; a VL-CDR2 of SEQ ID NO:48-51 or 53-69; and a VL-CDR1 of SEQ ID NO:70-75 or 77-99. However, these antibodies are structurally very similar and do not represent the breadth of the encompassed genus of antibodies. The antibody must have the specific functions of binding to Gal3, at specific peptide epitopes, and must interrupt Gal3 interaction with insulin receptor or integrin, and treat NAFLD and NASH. This genus of antibodies is not adequately described.
Notably, claims 6 and 7 recite “one or more peptides of” and “an epitope present within a region”. These phrases are indefinite with regard to the actual epitopes required for binding. Therefore, the epitopes are given the broadest reasonable interpretation, which is any two amino acids in sequence from any of the named sequences. This includes an enormous scope of possible antigen epitopes, which further expands the genus of antibodies that are encompassed. The epitope is therefore also not adequately described.
The recited genus of antibodies, and the corresponding epitopes, have no correlation between their structure and function. The specification provides no guidance regarding which antibodies or fragments or epitopes are capable of the required functions. Therefore, the specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that
"applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
With the exception of the antibodies comprising the specifically enumerated CDRs that are recited by sequence, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed polypeptides, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. The nucleic acid and/or protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that:
...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc. , 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli , 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2datl966.
Regarding the encompassed epitope peptides, the selection of epitopes for immune stimulation and therapeutic application is highly unpredictable. As taught in basic immunology texts, an epitope or antigenic determinant interacts with its corresponding antibody based on the three-dimensional structure of both molecules and the fit between them (Cruse et al., Illustrated Dict. of Immunology, 2nd ed., CRC Press, 2003, page 46). These epitopes can be conformational (or discontinuous) epitopes which are formed from separate regions in the primary sequence that are brought together by proper protein folding. Approximately 90% of total epitopes are discontinuous, which means that the residues in the sequence are far from each other and come close together in the vicinity by protein folding, forming a functional antigenic determinant region (see p. 2, left column of Kumar, Protein Sci. 2023 Nov;32(11):e4785) The accurate determination of conformational epitopes is highly dependent on the 3D structure of the antigen (see Kumar, p. 2, left column). Antibodies which bind to conformational epitopes will only bind to proteins folded into their proper native state (Cruse et al., page 166). There are also linear epitopes, which are regions of six amino acids in the primary sequence of a protein. These are generally not found on the surface of a folded protein and are only available to antibodies upon denaturation of a protein (Cruse et al., page 382). Even with linear epitopes, a protein can fold and obscure the epitope. Although various tools and methods are available for epitope prediction, their utility in designing vaccine candidates is currently limited (see Kumar, p.14, right column). While several experimental approaches exist, they can be expensive in terms of cost, time, and effort required (see e.g. Kumar, p.14, right column). Furthermore, the accuracy of computational tools heavily relies on the quality of data collected from publicly available repositories. This has led to an increase in redundant sequences and ambiguity in databases such as IEDB, where multiple sequences are assigned as both epitopes and non epitopes (see e.g. Kumar, p. 14, right column). This ambiguity has posed a challenge for identifying correct epitopes despite being generated through experimental methods (Kumar, p. 14, right column to p. 15, left column). Kumar concludes that However, the precise determination of epitope characteristics that allow biorecognition of in an antigen-antibody complex is still challenging (Kumar, p.15, left column).
Regarding the encompassed antibodies and fragments thereof, the functional characteristics of antibodies (including binding specificity and affinity are dictated on their structure. Amino acid sequence and conformation of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin. For example, Vajdos et al. (J Mol Biol. 2002 Jul 5;320(2):415-28 at 416) teaches that, “ … Even within the Fv, antigen binding is primarily mediated by the complementarity determining regions (CDRs), six hypervariable loops (three each in the heavy and light chains) which together present a large contiguous surface for potential antigen binding. Aside from the CDRs, the Fv also contains more highly conserved framework segments which connect the CDRs and are mainly involved in supporting the CDR loop conformations, although in some cases, framework residues also contact antigen. As an important step to understanding how a particular antibody functions, it would be very useful to assess the contributions of each CDR side-chain to antigen binding, and in so doing, to produce a functional map of the antigen-binding site." The art shows an unpredictable effect when making single versus multiple changes to any given CDR. For example, Brown et al. (J Immunol. 1996 May;156(9):3285-91 at 3290 and Tables 1 and 2), describes how the VH CDR2 of a particular antibody was generally tolerant of single amino acid changes, however the antibody lost binding upon introduction of two amino changes in the same region.
Recently, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) decided Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017), which concerned adequate written description for claims drawn to antibodies. The Federal Circuit explained in Amgen that when an antibody is claimed, 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) requires adequate written description of the antibody itself even when preparation of such an antibody would be routine and conventional. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79. A key role played by the written description requirement is to prevent “attempt[s] to preempt the future before it has arrived.” Ariad at 1353, (quoting Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d at 1171). Upholding a patent drawn to a genus of antibodies that includes members not previously characterized or described could negatively impact the future development of species within the claimed genus of antibodies. In the instant application, neither the art nor the specification provide a sufficient representative number of antibodies or a sufficient structure-function correlation to meet the written description requirements.
The prior art recognizes that the antigen binding by antibodies requires precise orientation of the complementarity determining region (CDR) loops in the variable domain to establish the correct contact surface. For example, Vattekatte, (PeerJ. 2020 Mar 6:8:e8408. doi: 10.7717/peerj.8408. eCollection 2020.) teach that antigen binding in heavy chain only antibodies, (HCAbs) is mediated by only three CDR loops from the single variable domain (VHH) at the N-terminus of each heavy chain, (see abstract). The Vattekatte et al further teach that the amino acid length distribution in different regions of VHH (see Fig. S7) shows diversity in CDR lengths, and that most diversity in CDR3, (see page 7 and 19). However, the prior art also recognizes that a single protein can be bound by a very large and structurally diverse genus of antibodies (i.e., there is no common structural relationship even for antibodies that bind to the same protein, epitope, or overlapping epitopes). For example, Edwards et al. (Mol Biol. 2003 Nov 14;334(1):103-18) teach that over 1,000 different antibodies to a single protein can be generated, all with different sequences, and representative of almost the entire extensive heavy and light chain germline repertoire (42/49 functional heavy chain germlines and 33 of 70 V-lambda and V-kappa light chain germlines), and with extensive diversity in the HCDR3 region sequences (that are generated by VDJ germline segment recombination) as well (see table 2, figure 2).
Lloyd et al. (Protein Eng Des Sel. 2009 Mar;22(3):159-68. Epub 2008 Oct 29.) teach that a large majority of VH/VL germline gene segments are used in the antibody response to an antigen, even when the antibodies were selected by antigen binding, (abstract). The Lloyd et al reference further teaches that in their studies, of the 841 unselected and 5,044 selected antibodies sequenced, all but one of the 49 functional VH gene segments was observed, and that there are on average about 120 different antibodies generated per antigen (page 167, column 1). Said reference also teaches that a wide variety of VH and VL pairings further increase diversity. (page 159, column 2).
Goel et al. (J Immunol. 2004 Dec 15;173(12):7358-67) teach that three mAbs that bind to the same short (12-mer) peptide, exhibit diverse V gene usage, indicating their independent germline origin. Said reference further teaches that two of these mAbs recognize the same set of amino acid residues defining the epitope (alternate amino acid residues spread over the entire sequence), however, the relative contribution of each set of residues in the peptide showed significant variation. The reference notes that all of the mAbs do not show any kind of V gene restriction among themselves, implying variable paratope structure, despite that two of these mAbs bind to the peptide through a common set of residues. (See entire reference).
Khan et al. (J Immunol (2014) 192 (11): 5398–5405) teach that two structurally diverse germline mAbs recognizing overlapping epitopes of the same short peptide do so in different topologies, the antibodies possessing entirely different CDR sequences. Said reference teaches that unrelated mAbs structurally adjust to recognize an antigen, indicating that the primary B cell response is composed of BCRs having a high degree of structural adaptability. Said reference also teaches that the common epitope(s) also adopt distinct conformations when bound to different mAbs, with the higher degree of structural plasticity inherent to the mAbs. Said reference further teaches “It has been shown that both the framework region and the CDRs have a considerable amount of inherent conformational plasticity...Therefore, it is not surprising that distinct germline Abs recognize the same epitope by rearranging the CDR conformations. This may well have implications of Ag specificity beyond the naive BCR repertoire, because Kaji et al... .have shown in a recent report that the B cell memory can contain both germline-encoded and somatically mutated BCRs.” (See entire reference).
Poosarla et al. (Biotechnol Bioeng. 2017 June ; 114(6): 1331–1342) teach substantial diversity in designed mAbs (sharing less than 75% sequence similarity to all existing natural antibody sequences) that bind to the same 12-mer peptide, binding to different epitopes on the same peptide. Said reference further teaches “most B-cell epitopes... in nature consist of residues from different regions of the sequence and are discontinuous...de novo antibody designs against discontinuous epitopes present additional challenges...". (See entire reference.)
Rabia, et al. (Biochem Eng J. 2018 Sep 15:137:365-374. Epub 2018 Jun 5) teach what effects mutations can have on an antibody's stability, solubility, binding affinity and binding specificity. Rabia et al. report that an increase in antibody affinity can be associated with a decrease in stability (p. 366, col. 2 last paragraph; Fig. 2). Rabia et al. thus teach that affinity and specificity are not necessarily correlated and that an increase in affinity does not indicate an increase in specificity (Fig. 3; p. 368, col. 1, section 3,1st full paragraph to col. 2, 2nd full paragraph).
Therefore, neither the art nor the specification provide a sufficient representative number of antibodies or a sufficient structure-function correlation to meet the written description requirements.
Applicant is reminded that generally, in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus (Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen- Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956 (Fed. Cir. 2002); Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly Co., 119 F.3d 1559 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). A patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017) at page 1358). An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products — “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361).
MPEP § 2163.02 states, “[a]n objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, 'does the description clearly allow person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed’”. The courts have decided: the purpose of the "written description" requirement is broader than to merely explain how to "make and use"; the Applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art, that as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is for purposes of the “written description” inquiry, whatever is now claimed. See Vas-Cath, Inc v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Federal Circuit, 1991).
Furthermore, the written description provision of 35 USC §112 is severable from its enablement provision; and adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993). And Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. Moreover, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. However, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; nor has Applicant shown the invention was “ready for patenting” by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; nor has the Applicant described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant were in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Therefore for all these reasons the specification lacks adequate written description, and one of skill in the art cannot reasonably conclude that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 7 recite “one or more peptides of” and “an epitope present within a region”. These phrases are indefinite with regard to the actual epitopes required for binding. It is unclear if the claims are requiring the exact sequence of the named SEQ ID NO, or if any fragment, such as two amino acids in sequence from any of the named sequences, would be sufficient to meet the limitations of the claims.
Claim 7 contains terms or phrases that are referenced parenthetically. It is unclear, due to the presence of the parentheses, if the terms/phrases are intended as limitations of the claims, or are merely exemplary.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “less than 80%”, and the claim also recites various other ranges, which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, and 54-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al (WO 2016/004093 A2; filed 1/7/16; published 1/7/16).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of disrupting an interaction between Gal3 and insulin receptor or integrin or both, the method comprising contacting an interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or integrin or both with an anti-Gal3 antibody or binding fragment thereof that selectively binds Gal3 and disrupts the interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or the integrin or both. The anti-Gal3 antibody can bind to one or more of the peptides of SEQ ID NO:3-26, including epitopes within a region of Gal3 defined by SEQ ID NO:3-9, or where the Gal3 comprises an amino acid sequence of GxYPG wherein x is alanine, glycine, or valine. The interaction can be reduced by less than 80%. The claims are further directed to a method of treating NASH or NAFLD comprising administering an anti-Gal3 antibody to disrupt an interaction between Gal3 and an insulin receptor.
Wilson teaches methods and compositions for treatment and/or prevention of diseases or conditions comprising administering a galectin-3 inhibitor (see e.g. abstract). The galectin-3 inhibitor can be a galectin-3 inactivating antibody (see e.g. paragraph [0164]). This antibody can be an antibody that interferes with, reduces, inhibits activity of galectin-3 (see e.g. paragraph [0117]. Anti-Galectin-3 antibody 87B5 detects a non-linear epitope comprising YPGAPAPGVYPGPPSGPGAYPSSGQPSATGA, which contains the GxYPG motif with an alanine and valine at different points in the sequence (SEQ ID NO: 22; see paragraph [0337]). The bold underlined segment is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:10. Furthermore, instant claim 7 recites “an epitope present within a region of Gal3 defined by” and lists several sequences. The term “an epitope present within a region” indicates that any fragment of the peptide is also considered an ”epitope”. Reference SEQ ID NO:15, which has the sequence MADNFSLHDALSGS comprises a portion of instant SEQ ID NO:3, which is underlined and in bold (see paragraph [0337]). Wilson teaches that epitopes are 5-15 amino acids in length, indicating that at least part of the overlapping sequence between Wilson SEQ ID:15 and instant SEQ ID NO:3 would be bound by the antibody. Given that the same epitope is targeted, the function of the antibody would inherently meet the requirements of the instant claims to reduce activity to less than 80% interaction compared to without the antibody present. The antibodies, which are galectin-3 inhibitors, can be administered to a subject having a disorder associated with insulin resistance, which can include fatty liver disease and NASH (see e.g. paragraph [0559]).
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spriggs et al (WO 2019/152895 A1; filed 2/1/19; published 8/8/19).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of disrupting an interaction between Gal3 and insulin receptor or integrin or both, the method comprising contacting an interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or integrin or both with an anti-Gal3 antibody or binding fragment thereof that selectively binds Gal3 and disrupts the interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or the integrin or both. The anti-Gal3 antibody can bind to one or more of the peptides of SEQ ID NO:3-26, including epitopes within a region of Gal3 defined by SEQ ID NO:3-9, or where the Gal3 comprises an amino acid sequence of GxYPG wherein x is alanine, glycine, or valine. The interaction can be reduced by less than 80%. The claims are further directed to a method of treating NASH or NAFLD comprising administering an anti-Gal3 antibody to disrupt an interaction between Gal3 and an insulin receptor.
Spriggs teaches antibodies that bind GAL3 (see abstract and claim 1). The binding of the antibody can inhibit interaction of Gal3 with integrin (see e.g. paragraph [0005] and claim 8). The antibody can be administered to a subject in need of treatment to treat GAL3-related disease (see e.g. paragraph [0273]). This administration would inherently interrupt the interaction of Gal3 with integrin, as indicated by Springs (see e.g. paragraph [0005] and claim 8). Instant claim 6 recites the phrase “one or more peptides of SEQ ID NO:3-26.” When given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the phrase refers to any peptide within any of the named sequences, wherein a peptide is any two amino acids within any of those sequences. Therefore any protein that contains any two amino acids in sequence that are found within instant SEQ ID NO:3-26 are encompassed. Furthermore, Spriggs teaches that an epitope can be CNTKLDNNWGREERQSVFPFESG, or Spriggs SEQ ID NO: 2, which contains all but one residue of instant SEQ ID NO:20 (shown underlined and in bold). Given that the same epitope is targeted by the antibody of Spriggs, the Spriggs antibody would inherently cause the same level of interaction disruption as the instant antibodies.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,281,166.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The instant claims are drawn to a method of disrupting an interaction between Gal3 and insulin receptor or integrin or both, the method comprising contacting an interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or integrin or both with an anti-Gal3 antibody or binding fragment thereof that selectively binds Gal3 and disrupts the interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or the integrin or both. The anti-Gal3 antibody can bind to one or more of the peptides of SEQ ID NO:3-26, including epitopes within a region of Gal3 defined by SEQ ID NO:3-9, or where the Gal3 comprises an amino acid sequence of GxYPG wherein x is alanine, glycine, or valine. The interaction can be reduced by less than 80%. The claims are further directed to a method of treating NASH or NAFLD comprising administering an anti-Gal3 antibody to disrupt an interaction between Gal3 and an insulin receptor.
The reference patent claims a method of decreasing or inhibiting inflammation in a subject in need thereof comprising administering an anti-Gal3 antibody (see e.g. claim 1). The antibody is named by CDRs that are enumerated in SEQ ID NOs (see e.g. claim 1). The antibodies can bind to the same epitopes of instant SEQ ID NO:6 and 8-9 (see e.g. claim 8; identical SEQ ID NO as the instant SEQ ID NO: from instant claim 7). The antibodies further can be selected from several antibodies including TB006 and others, which are shown in the instant specification to have the required functions of the instant claims (see e.g. instant specification paragraph [0012], [0071]).
While the reference patent anticipates the instant claims, the reference patent differs in scope by claiming specific species of antibodies, while the instant claims are directed to methods of administering the entire genus of antibodies with the required functions. Therefore, the scope of the reference patent claims overlaps, but is not identical to the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 6-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 11, 13, 18-19, 26, 30, 34, 39-40, 47, 56, 61-62, 70-71 of copending Application No. 17/834,703 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The instant claims are drawn to a method of disrupting an interaction between Gal3 and insulin receptor or integrin or both, the method comprising contacting an interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or integrin or both with an anti-Gal3 antibody or binding fragment thereof that selectively binds Gal3 and disrupts the interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or the integrin or both. The anti-Gal3 antibody can bind to one or more of the peptides of SEQ ID NO:3-26, including epitopes within a region of Gal3 defined by SEQ ID NO:3-9, or where the Gal3 comprises an amino acid sequence of GxYPG wherein x is alanine, glycine, or valine. The interaction can be reduced by less than 80%. The claims are further directed to a method of treating NASH or NAFLD comprising administering an anti-Gal3 antibody to disrupt an interaction between Gal3 and an insulin receptor.
The reference application claims an anti-Gal3 antibody and method of enhancing glucose transporter translocation in a cell (see e.g. claim 1, 7). The antibody is named by heavy and light chains (see e.g. claim 18). The antibodies of the recited SEQ ID NOs in the reference are variants of antibody 20H5.A3, which the instant specification has indicated will disrupt the interaction between integrin (see e.g. instant paragraph [0074] and reference paragraph [0066])(see e.g. reference claim 18-19). The antibodies are shown in the instant specification to have the required functions of the instant claims (see e.g. instant specification paragraph [0012], [0071]).
While the reference application anticipates the instant claims, the reference application differs in scope by claiming specific species of antibodies, while the instant claims are directed to methods of administering the entire genus of antibodies with the required functions. Therefore, the scope of the reference application claims overlaps, but is not identical to the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 6-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-7, 10, 13, 19, 21-22, 29, 34-36, 39-41, 43-44, 61, 66-68, 72, 79, 85-91 of copending Application No. 18/053,191 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The instant claims are drawn to a method of disrupting an interaction between Gal3 and insulin receptor or integrin or both, the method comprising contacting an interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or integrin or both with an anti-Gal3 antibody or binding fragment thereof that selectively binds Gal3 and disrupts the interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or the integrin or both. The anti-Gal3 antibody can bind to one or more of the peptides of SEQ ID NO:3-26, including epitopes within a region of Gal3 defined by SEQ ID NO:3-9, or where the Gal3 comprises an amino acid sequence of GxYPG wherein x is alanine, glycine, or valine. The interaction can be reduced by less than 80%. The claims are further directed to a method of treating NASH or NAFLD comprising administering an anti-Gal3 antibody to disrupt an interaction between Gal3 and an insulin receptor.
The reference application claims a method of inhibiting, reducing, preventing, and/or treating stroke or TBI, or a disorder associated with fibrin activity (see e.g. claim 1, 35). The antibody is named by heavy and light chains (see e.g. claim 18). The antibodies further can be selected from several antibodies including TB006 and others (see e.g. claims 29, 61, 79, 86, and 90-91) which are shown in the instant specification to have the required functions of the instant claims (see e.g. instant specification paragraph [0012], [0071]).
While the reference application anticipates the instant claims, the reference application differs in scope by claiming specific diseases and species of antibodies, while the instant claims are directed to methods of administering the entire genus of antibodies with the required functions. Therefore, the scope of the reference application claims overlaps, but is not identical to the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 6-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 18, 22-23, 26-27, 29, 35, 37-39, 42-43, 45, 48-49, 52-54, 62-64, 68-69, 72-73, 76-77, 88, 102, 104, 108, 110-111 of copending Application No. 18/492,607 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The instant claims are drawn to a method of disrupting an interaction between Gal3 and insulin receptor or integrin or both, the method comprising contacting an interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or integrin or both with an anti-Gal3 antibody or binding fragment thereof that selectively binds Gal3 and disrupts the interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or the integrin or both. The anti-Gal3 antibody can bind to one or more of the peptides of SEQ ID NO:3-26, including epitopes within a region of Gal3 defined by SEQ ID NO:3-9, or where the Gal3 comprises an amino acid sequence of GxYPG wherein x is alanine, glycine, or valine. The interaction can be reduced by less than 80%. The claims are further directed to a method of treating NASH or NAFLD comprising administering an anti-Gal3 antibody to disrupt an interaction between Gal3 and an insulin receptor.
The reference application claims a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease, comprising administering an antibody that binds to Gal3 (see e.g. claim 102), and the antibody itself (see e.g. claim 1). The antibody is named by CDRs (see e.g. claim 1 and 102). The antibody is TB006 (see e.g. reference specification paragraph [0006]), which is shown in the instant specification to have the required functions of the instant claims (see e.g. instant specification paragraph [0012], [0073]).
While the reference application anticipates the instant claims, the reference application differs in scope by claiming specific diseases and species of antibodies, while the instant claims are directed to methods of administering the entire genus of antibodies with the required functions. Therefore, the scope of the reference application claims overlaps, but is not identical to the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 6-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 19/183,662 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The instant claims are drawn to a method of disrupting an interaction between Gal3 and insulin receptor or integrin or both, the method comprising contacting an interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or integrin or both with an anti-Gal3 antibody or binding fragment thereof that selectively binds Gal3 and disrupts the interaction between Gal3 and the insulin receptor or the integrin or both. The anti-Gal3 antibody can bind to one or more of the peptides of SEQ ID NO:3-26, including epitopes within a region of Gal3 defined by SEQ ID NO:3-9, or where the Gal3 comprises an amino acid sequence of GxYPG wherein x is alanine, glycine, or valine. The interaction can be reduced by less than 80%. The claims are further directed to a method of treating NASH or NAFLD comprising administering an anti-Gal3 antibody to disrupt an interaction between Gal3 and an insulin receptor.
The reference application claims an antibody that binds to Gal 3 (see e.g. claim 1), comprising various CDRs designated by SEQ ID NO: (see e.g. claim 1). The antibodies named include TB006 (see e.g. claim 1 and reference specification paragraph [0130]), which is shown in the instant specification to have the required functions of the instant claims (see e.g. instant specification paragraph [0012], [0073]).
While the reference application anticipates the instant claims, the reference application differs in scope by claiming specific species of antibodies, while the instant claims are directed to methods of administering the entire genus of antibodies with the required functions. Furthermore, the reference specification indicates that the antibody can be administered to decrease or inhibit inflammation (see e.g. reference specification paragraph [0059]), which would inherently include the method of disrupting an interaction with insulin receptor or integrin as claimed in the instant claims. Therefore, the scope of the reference application claims overlaps, but is not identical to the instant claims.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ANDREA K MCCOLLUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1674