Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokozutsumi et al. US publication no.: US 2015/0357988 A1 in view of Kang Doo won et al. JP 2015/122311 and further in view of Ariga et al. US patent no.: 6,084,502.
Regarding claim 1, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, A filter device for filtering noise, including a capacitor unit (capacitors Cs, figure 2) and a short-circuit prevention unit (Rs, figure 2), wherein the capacitor unit and the short-circuit prevention unit are connected in series on a single same current path (see figure 2 where the capacitance is connected to the resistor in series), and wherein when the capacitor unit is short-circuited, the short-circuit prevention unit blocks a short-circuit current by changing an impedance formed through the capacitor unit and the short-circuit prevention unit connected in series on the single same current path (see figures 1-2 and paragraph 63 that the fuse blocks the short-circuit current flowing through the capacitor)
Yokozutsumi et al. teach that the short-circuit prevention unit has a Resistor S as seen in figures 1-2 is silent on specifically teaching :
wherein the short-circuit prevention unit comprises a resistor having a resistor body in which an empty groove is formed, and is configured to be fusible in response to the short-circuit current such that a portion of the resistor body around the empty groove of the resistor body is meltable by the short-circuit current.
wherein the groove formed in the resistor body is covered by an alumina substrate disposed between electrodes
However, Kang Doo won teaches: wherein the short-circuit prevention unit comprises a resistor having a resistor body in which an empty groove is formed, and is configured to be fusible in response to the short-circuit current such that a portion of the resistor body surrounding the empty groove of the resistor body is meltable by the short-circuit current (fuse resistor 100 which includes a “resistor body” encompassing all of the elements of the fuse resistor 100. Examiner is interpretating the claim language wherein the short circuit prevention unit comprising a resistor having a resistor body as element 100 (emphasis added). Thermal fuse 140 is part of the resistor body and it can be seen in paragraphs 53 and 59 and figure 3a that it forms receiving groove 157. The purpose of groove is to provide a space where the fuse can be melted and it also serves the same purpose as the claimed invention)
In view of Kang doo won’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yokozutsumi et al. to include; wherein the short-circuit prevention unit comprises a resistor having a resistor body in which an empty groove is formed, and is configured to be fusible in response to the short-circuit current such that a portion of the resistor body surrounding the empty groove of the resistor body is meltable by the short-circuit current, for the purpose of protecting the circuit.
However, Ariga et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the groove formed in the resistor body is covered by an alumina substrate disposed between electrodes (see resistor body, figure 1; col.3, lines 23-50).
In view of Ariga et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yokozutsumi et al. to include; wherein the groove formed in the resistor body is covered by an alumina substrate disposed between electrodes, for the purpose of protecting the circuit.
Regarding claim 2, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, the filter device of claim 1, wherein the capacitor unit includes a capacitor (capacitor 52b, figures 1-2), and the resistor of the short-circuit prevention unit is (Resistor Rs, figure 2) connected in series to the capacitor.
Regarding claim 3, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, the filter device of claim 2, wherein when the capacitor of the capacitor unit is short-circuited, the resistor of the short-circuit prevention unit blocks the short-circuit current as a resistance is changed to increase the impedance of the capacitor unit and the short-circuit prevention unit connected in series(see figures 1-2 and and paragraph 63 that the fuse blocks the short-circuit current flowing through the capacitor).
Regarding claim 4, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The filter device of claim 3, wherein the resistor of the short-circuit prevention unit is fused after the resistance gradually increases with respect to a first resistance (see paragraph 40, where the first resistance value or Rs is considered to be ignored and very small).
Regarding claim 5, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The filter device of claim 4, wherein the first resistance is 0 Ω (see paragraph 40, where the first resistance value or Rs is considered to be ignored and very small).
Regarding claim 6, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The filter device of claim 5, wherein when the capacitor of the capacitor unit is not short-circuited, the noise is filtered through the capacitor of the capacitor unit and the resistor with 0 Ω of the short-circuit prevention unit (see paragraph 32 where the filter device removes a noise current generated by the inverter and prevents the noise current from flowing out to the overhead line) .
Regarding claim 7, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The filter device of claim 1, further comprising at least one of an inductor unit including an inductor (reactor l2, figure 2)
Yokozutsumi et al. teach a resistor as seen in figure 1 but is silent on specifically teaching and a resistor unit including another resistor.
However, having multiple resistors could’ve been easily configured by one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yokozutsumi et al. as it is merely a replication of part and would provide further circuit protection.
Regarding claim 8, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The filter device of claim 7, wherein when the capacitor unit includes a first capacitor unit and a second capacitor unit (see capacitor Cs, C1, figure 2), and the filter device further includes the inductor unit (L2 L1, figure 2), the first capacitor unit, the second capacitor unit, and the inductor unit constitute a π-shaped LC filter (see figure 2, where the capacitor and reactors form a pi shaped LC filter).
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urimoto et al. US publication no.: US 2019/0016373 A1 in view of Yokozutsumi et al. US publication no.: US 2015/0357988 A1 and Kang Doo won et al. JP 2015/122311 and further in view of Ariga et al. US patent no.: 6,084,502.
Regarding claim 9, Urimoto et al. teach, A steering control device, comprising: and a steering motor power supply unit converting the filtered electrical energy based on a steering motor control signal to generate an assist steering force, and controlling a steering motor based on the assist steering force (see figure 1 and claim 1)
Urimoto et al. is silent on specifically teaching:
1) a filter unit filtering noise of electrical energy; wherein the filter unit includes a capacitor unit and a short-circuit prevention unit which are connected in series on a single same current path, and wherein when the capacitor unit is short-circuited, the short-circuit prevention unit blocks a short-circuit current by changing an impedance formed through the capacitor unit and the short-circuit prevention unit connected in series on the single same current path;
2) wherein the short-circuit prevention unit comprises a resistor having a resistor body in which a groove is formed, and is configured to be fusible in response to the short-circuit current such that a portion of the resistor body around the groove of the resistor body is meltable by the short-circuit current.
3) wherein the groove formed in the resistor body is covered by an alumina substrate disposed between electrodes
1) Yokozutsumi et al. teach: a filter unit filtering noise of electrical energy (see filter 5, figures 1-2) ; wherein the filter unit includes a capacitor unit and a short-circuit prevention unit which are connected in series on a single same current path (see resistor Rs and Capacitor 52b), and wherein when the capacitor unit is short-circuited, the short-circuit prevention unit blocks a short-circuit current by changing an impedance formed through the capacitor unit and the short-circuit prevention unit connected in series on the single same current path (see figures 1-2 and paragraph 63 that the fuse blocks the short-circuit current flowing through the capacitor).
In view of Yokozutsumi et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Urimoto et al. to include; a filter unit filtering noise of electrical energy; wherein the filter unit includes a capacitor unit and a short-circuit prevention unit which are connected in series on a single same current path, and wherein when the capacitor unit is short-circuited, the short-circuit prevention unit blocks a short-circuit current by changing an impedance formed through the capacitor unit and the short-circuit prevention unit connected in series on the single same current path, for the purpose of improving the control of the drive system.
2) However, Kang Doo won teaches: wherein the short-circuit prevention unit comprises a resistor having a resistor body in which an empty groove is formed, and is configured to be fusible in response to the short-circuit current such that a portion of the resistor body surrounding the empty groove of the resistor body is meltable by the short-circuit current (fuse resistor 100 which includes a “resistor body” encompassing all of the elements of the fuse resistor 100. Examiner is interpretating the claim language wherein the short circuit prevention unit comprising a resistor having a resistor body as element 100 (emphasis added). Thermal fuse 140 is part of the resistor body and it can be seen in paragraphs 53 and 59 and figure 3a that it forms receiving groove 157. The purpose of groove is to provide a space where the fuse can be melted and it also serves the same purpose as the claimed invention).
In view of Kang doo won’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yokozutsumi et al. to include; wherein the short-circuit prevention unit comprises a resistor having a resistor body in which an empty groove is formed, and is configured to be fusible in response to the short-circuit current such that a portion of the resistor body surrounding the empty groove of the resistor body is meltable by the short-circuit current, for the purpose of protecting the circuit.
However, Ariga et al. is in the same field of art and teach: wherein the groove formed in the resistor body is covered by an alumina substrate disposed between electrodes (see resistor body, figure 1; col.3, lines 23-50).
In view of Ariga et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yokozutsumi et al. to include; wherein the groove formed in the resistor body is covered by an alumina substrate disposed between electrodes, for the purpose of protecting the circuit.
Regarding claim 10, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, the filter device of claim 1, wherein the capacitor unit includes a capacitor (capacitor 52b, figures 1-2), and the resistor of the short-circuit prevention unit is (Resistor Rs, figure 2) connected in series to the capacitor.
Regarding claim 11, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, the steering control device of claim 10, wherein when the capacitor of the capacitor unit is short-circuited, the resistor of the short-circuit prevention unit blocks the short- circuit current as a resistance is changed to increase the impedance of the capacitor unit and the short-circuit prevention unit connected in series (see figures 1-2 and paragraph 63 that the fuse blocks the short-circuit current flowing through the capacitor).
Regarding claim 12, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The steering control device of claim 11, wherein the resistor of the short- circuit prevention unit is fused after the resistance gradually increases with respect to a first resistance (see paragraph 40, where the first resistance value or Rs is considered to be ignored and very small).
Regarding claim 13, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The steering control device of claim 12, wherein the first resistance is 0 Ω (see paragraph 40, where the first resistance value or Rs is considered to be ignored and very small).
Regarding claim 14, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The steering control device of claim 13, wherein when the capacitor of the capacitor unit is not short-circuited, the noise is filtered through the capacitor of the capacitor unit and the resistor with 0 Ω of the short-circuit prevention unit (see paragraph 32 where the filter device removes a noise current generated by the inverter and prevents the noise current from flowing out to the overhead line) .
Regarding claim 15, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The steering control device of claim 9, wherein the filter unit further includes at least one of an inductor unit including an inductor (reactor l2, figure 2)
Yokozutsumi et al. teach a resistor as seen in figure 1 but is silent on specifically teaching and a resistor unit including another resistor.
However, having multiple resistors could’ve been easily configured by one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Yokozutsumi et al. as it is merely a replication of part and would provide further circuit protection.
Regarding claim 16, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The steering control device of claim 15, wherein when the capacitor unit includes a first capacitor unit and a second capacitor unit (see capacitor Cs, C1, figure 2), and the filter unit further includes the inductor unit, the first capacitor unit, the second capacitor unit, and the inductor unit constitute a π-shaped LC filter (see figure 2, where the capacitor and reactors form a pi shaped LC filter).
Regarding claim 17, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The filter device of claim 1, further comprising another capacitor unit and another short-circuit prevention unit connected in series with each other and connected in parallel to the capacitor unit and the short-circuit prevention unit (see figure 12); and an inductor unit connected to one terminal of the capacitor unit and one terminal of the another capacitor unit to constitute a i-shaped LC filter (see figure 2, where the capacitor and reactors form a pi shaped LC filter).
Regarding claim 18, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The filter device of claim 1, wherein the short-circuit prevention unit is configured to, when the capacitor unit is short-circuited, open the single same current path on which the capacitor unit and the short-circuit prevention unit are connected in series (see paragraph 75).
Regarding claim 19, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The steering control device of claim 9, further comprising another capacitor unit and another short-circuit prevention unit connected in series with each other and connected in parallel to the capacitor unit and the short-circuit prevention unit (see figure 12 and paragraph 75); and an inductor unit connected to one terminal of the capacitor unit and one terminal of the another capacitor unit to constitute a i-shaped LC filter (see figure 2, where the capacitor and reactors form a pi shaped LC filter).
Regarding claim 20, Yokozutsumi et al. teach, The steering control device of claim 9, wherein the short-circuit prevention unit is configured to, when the capacitor unit is short-circuited, open the single same current path on which the capacitor unit and the short-circuit prevention unit are connected in series (see figure 12 and paragraphs 75-78).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/ Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2846