DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Applicant’s amendment and arguments, filed 04/03/2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 9, and 18 are amended; claims 5-8 and 12-17 stand as originally or previously presented; claims 2 and 10-11 are canceled; and claims 18-20 are withdrawn. Support for the amendments is found in the original filing, and there is no new matter.
Upon considered said amendments and arguments, the previous 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C.103 rejection set forth in Office Action mailed 01/05/2026 has been withdrawn. Amended and new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing to newly cited art and the originally cited art are set forth below as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20200020952 A1, hereinafter Zhang), in view of Yu (WO 2019153274 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), comprising:
a current collector comprising an insulation layer, a first conductive layer and a second conductive layer that are arranged on two surfaces of the insulation layer, respectively (Zhang, the current collector includes an insulating layer, first and second conductive layers, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are respectively arranged onto two surfaces of the insulating layer, Abstract, Annotated Figure 12 below); and
a tab assembly comprising a first tab and a second tab (Zhang, the conductive structure includes a first conductive member and a second conductive member, Abstract, Annotated Figure 12 below),
the first tab comprising a first current collector connection region that covers and is connected to an outer surface of the first conductive layer (Zhang, a first conductive member connected to the first protruding section, Abstract, Annotated Figure 12 below), and
the second tab comprising a second current collector connection region that covers and is connected to an outer surface of the second conductive layer (Zhang, the second conductive layer has a second body section with a second protruding section connected thereto, Abstract, Annotated Figure 12 below), wherein
a first recessed region is defined at a connection between the tab assembly and the current collector (Zhang, first recessed region, Annotated Figure 12 below), wherein
in the first recessed region, the first current collector connection region of the first tab and the first conductive layer are stacked with each other and both embedded in the insulation layer (Zhang, the first protruding section, the second protruding section and a section of the insulating layer located between the first protruding section and the second protruding section form an electric guiding section, and a conductive structure 13 includes a first conductive member 131 connected to the first protruding section 1122 and a second conductive member 132 connected to the second protruding section 1132, [0017, 0040], Figure 8, Annotated Figure 12 below), and
each of the first current collector connection region and the first conductive layer has a recessed outer surface (Zhang, the first conductive layer has a first body section and a first protruding section arranged to connect to the first body section, [0005], Annotated Figure 12 below), and wherein
the first conductive layer is electrically connected to the second conductive layer in the first recessed region (Zhang, the second conductive member is bent towards the first conductive member and connected to the first conductive member, Abstract).
Zhang is silent regarding the first current collector connection region, the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the second current collector connection region are welded in the first recessed region, and wherein in the first recessed region, the insulation layer is penetration-welded and the first conductive layer abuts with the second conductive layer.
Yu discloses an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Yu, a battery cell comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator layer, [0008]), comprising:
a current collector (Yu, current collector 90, [0142], Annotated Figure 30 below) comprising
an insulation layer (Yu, base film 91, [0142], Annotated Figure 30 below), a first conductive layer (Yu, first metal layer 92, [0142], Annotated Figure 30 below) and a second conductive layer that are arranged on two surfaces of the insulation layer (Yu, second metal layer 93, [0143], Annotated Figure 30 below), respectively, wherein
the first current collector connection region, the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the second current collector connection region are welded in the first recessed region, and wherein in the first recessed region, the insulation layer is penetration-welded and the first conductive layer abuts with the second conductive layer (Yu, the first metal layer 92 and the second metal layer 93 corresponding to the groove 911 are welded to allow the first metal layer 92 and the second metal layer 93 to pass, or penetrate, through the groove 911 to achieve connection, and the groove 911 is disposed on the first surface of the base film 91, [0144], Annotated Figure 30; the Examiner notes that the welding must pass through, or penetrate, through the groove in order to achieve connection, or abutment, between the two metal layers).
Yu teaches that the first metal layer 92 and the second metal layer 93 corresponding to the groove 911 are welded so that the first metal layer 92 and the second metal layer 93 pass through the groove 911 to achieve connection, which can make the current density of the first metal layer 992 and the second metal layer 93 equal (Yu, [0145], Annotated Figure 30 below).
Zhang and Yu are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a current collector for a secondary battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to weld the first and second conductive member of Zhang together, to penetrate the groove to achieve connection, or abutment, in order to make the current density of the first and second conductive member to be equal.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), wherein in the first recessed region, the second current collector connection region and the second conductive layer are stacked with each other and both embedded in the insulation layer, and each of the second current collector connection region and the second conductive layer has a recessed outer surface (Zhang, Annotated Figure 12 above).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), wherein in the first recessed region, the second current collector connection region has a flat surface facing away from the second conductive layer (Zhang, Annotated Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), wherein the second conductive layer is flat in the first recessed region (Zhang, Annotated Figure 12 above).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract).
Modified Zhang discloses a second embodiment for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), wherein the first tab further comprises a first tab connection region connected to the first current collector connection region, and the second tab further comprises a second tab connection region connected to the second current collector connection region (Zhang, Annotated Figure 13 below).
wherein a second recessed region is defined at a connection between the first tab connection region and the second tab connection region, and wherein in the second recessed region, the first tab connection region is electrically connected to the second tab connection region, and the second tab connection region and/or the first tab connection region has a recessed outer surface (Zhang, Annotated Figure 13 below).
Modified Zhang teaches that the second embodiment reduces an overall thickness after the adapter sheet and conductive structure are connected together, so that the space taken by a conductive structure is reduced and the energy density of the secondary battery is improved and has a simpler manufacturing process (Zhang, [0056-0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the two embodiments of Zhang to routinely design an electrode plate that has both a first and second recessed portion, in order to reduce the space taken by the conductive structure and improve the energy density of the battery.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), wherein each of the first recessed region and the second recessed region is a welding print (Zhang, Annotated Figure 12 and Annotated Figure 13 above).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), wherein the second tab further comprises a second post connection region, the second post connection region having one end connected to an end of the second tab connection region facing away from the second current collector connection region and another end extending beyond the first tab connection region and connected to a post (Zhang, Annotated Figure 13 above).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), comprising:
a current collector comprising an insulation layer, a first conductive layer and a second conductive layer that are arranged on two surfaces of the insulation layer, respectively (Zhang, the current collector includes an insulating layer, first and second conductive layers, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are respectively arranged onto two surfaces of the insulating layer, Abstract, Annotated Figure 12 above); and
a tab assembly comprising a first tab and a second tab (Zhang, the conductive structure includes a first conductive member and a second conductive member, Abstract, Annotated Figure 14 below),
the first tab comprising a first current collector connection region and a first tab connection region that are connected to each other, and
the second tab comprising a second current collector connection region, a second tab connection region, and
a second post connection region that are connected in sequence, wherein
the first current collector connection region is connected to the first conductive layer, and the second current collector connection region is connected to the second conductive layer, and wherein
the first tab connection region is connected to the second tab connection region;
wherein an end of the second post connection region facing away from the second tab connection region extends beyond the first tab connection region and is connected to a post, and wherein
a first through-hole passing through the current collector is defined between the first current collector connection region and the second current collector connection region, and
the first current collector connection region is electrically connected to the second current collector connection region at the first through-hole (Zhang, Annotated Figure 14 below), wherein each of the first current collector connection region and the second current collector connection region is recessed towards the first through-hole to weld the first current collector connection region to the second current collector connection region (Zhang, Annotated Figure 12 and Annotated Figure 14 above), and
wherein the first conductive layer, the insulation layer, and the second conductive layer of the current collector are penetration-welded (Yu, the first metal layer 92 and the second metal layer 93 corresponding to the groove 911 are welded to allow the first metal layer 92 and the second metal layer 93 to pass, or penetrate, through the groove 911 to achieve connection, and the groove 911 is disposed on the first surface of the base film 91, [0142, 0144], Annotated Figure 30 above) to form the first through-hole (Zhang, through hole, Annotated Figure 14 below).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), wherein the first current collector connection region has a first protrusion disposed on an inner surface thereof, and the second current collector connection region has a second protrusion disposed on an inner surface thereof, the first protrusion and the second protrusion being both arranged in the first through-hole and welded with each other in the first through-hole (Zhang, Annotated Figure 15 below).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery, Abstract), comprising:
a housing (Zhang, case, [0034]); and
an electrode assembly arranged in the housing (Zhang, an accommodating cavity is formed inside the case to accommodate the electrode assembly and electrolyte, [0034]),
the electrode assembly comprising a plurality of electrode plates, each of the plurality of electrode plates being the electrode plate of the secondary battery (Zhang, the electrode assembly includes a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate and a separator arranged between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate, [0035]).
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20200020952 A1, hereinafter Zhang), in view of Yu (WO 2019153274 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 20190157656 A1, hereinafter Li).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract). Modified Zhang is silent regarding a first conductive connection member disposed in the first through-hole, wherein the first conductive connection member is connected to the first current collector connection region at one end thereof and to the second current collector connection region at the other end thereof.
Li discloses an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Li, rechargeable battery and electrode member, Abstract), comprising a first conductive connection member disposed in the first through-hole, wherein the first conductive connection member is connected to the first current collector connection region at one end thereof and to the second current collector connection region at the other end thereof (Li, a current path can be formed in the insulating base by providing a conductive medium in the first through-hole, [0051]).
LI teaches that current can be transferred in the thickness direction, reducing the limitation on the conductivity of the electrode member caused by the presence of the insulating base, which can improve electrical conductivity (Li, [0051]).
Li and Zhang are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards an electrode plate for a secondary battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to fill the through hole of Zhang with a conductive medium, as taught by Li, in order to improve electrical conductivity.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), wherein the end of the first conductive connection member facing away from the second current collector connection region passes through the first through-hole and the first current collector connection region in sequence and is connected to the second current collector connection region (Li, a conductive medium can be provided directly in the first through-hole, and the current can be transferred in the thickness direction by means of the conductive medium filled in the first through-hole, [0092]; the Examiner notes that when the conductive medium fills in the though-hole, the conductive medium will be connected to the first and second current collector connection regions).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), wherein the first conductive connection member passes through the first current collector connection region, the first through-hole and the second current collector connection region in sequence, and wherein two ends of the first conductive connection member are connected to the first current collector connection region and the second current collector connection region, respectively (Li, a conductive medium can be provided directly in the first through-hole, and the current can be transferred in the thickness direction by means of the conductive medium filled in the first through-hole, [0092]; the Examiner notes that when the conductive medium fills in the though-hole, the conductive medium will be connected to the first and second current collector connection regions).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the limitations for an electrode plate of a secondary battery (Zhang, secondary battery has an electrode plate, Abstract), further comprising a second through-hole passing through the first tab connection region and the second tab connection region (Li, at least two first through-holes provided, which are arranged in rows and/or in columns, [0010], Figure 3), wherein the electrode plate of the secondary battery further comprises a second conductive connection member disposed in the second through-hole and connected to the first tab connection region and the second tab connection region (Li, a conductive medium can be provided directly in the first through-hole, and the current can be transferred in the thickness direction by means of the conductive medium filled in the first through-hole, [0092]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-9, filed 04/03/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and claim(s) 6-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhang et al. (US 20200020952 A1, hereinafter Zhang), in view of Yu (WO 2019153274 A1), as noted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752