DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 03/02/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 6-8, 13, and 15-18 are amended.
Claim 20 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 03/02/2026 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PRADAS to (WO2023017040A1 ) (for examination purpose see US 20250126614 A1) in view of Lee to (US20220116952 A1)
Regarding claim 1, PRADAS teaches encode for transmission, to a base station (BS), UL traffic information as part of traffic related information, the UL traffic information including a periodicity, an offset ,and a latency requirement for transmitting UL data of an uplink (UL) traffic flow;([0131] Discloses The UE determines the time offset (i.e. the time difference) to the closest UL CG that potentially the predicted 2nd packet can be transmitted so that the latency requirement is expected to be met… [0074] In XR, great part of the traffic may be periodic with varying large packet size such as e.g., used in video traffic. However, in the UL, there may be other type of traffic such as pose or other control application traffic. Pose data is, for example, periodic and its size confined to a couple of hundreds of bytes)
PRADAS does not exility teach receive, from the BS, UL radio parameters, wherein the UL radio parameters conform with the periodicity, the offset, and the latency requirement for transmission of the UL data, encode for transmission, to the BS, the UL data of the UL traffic flow according to the UL radio parameters
However, Lee teaches receive, from the BS, UL radio parameters, wherein the UL radio parameters conform with the periodicity, the offset, and the latency requirement for transmission of the UL data, ( [0185] (1) The last symbol of a PDSCH corresponding to HARQ-ACK information is received before time N1+from the start symbol of the earliest channel among the overlapping PUCCH(s) and/or PUSCH(s) (on the time axis). T1 may be determined based on i) a minimum PDSCH processing time N1 defined according to a UE processing capability) encode for transmission, to the BS, the UL data of the UL traffic flow according to the UL radio parameters ([0323] discloses when a plurality of PUCCHs/PUSCHs (resources) having different service types, QoSs, BLER requirements, reliability requirements, latency requirements, and/or processing times overlaps in a transmission period on the time axis, the BS may receive UL channel(s) transmitted based on collision handling by the UE under the expectation that the UE will perform collision handling first on channels in the same group by grouping channels having the same service type, QoS, BLER requirement, reliability requirement, latency requirement, and/or processing time (or channels that may be classified as the same type based on a predefined/promised/configured/indicated rule))
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of PRADAS include receive, from the BS, UL radio parameters, wherein the UL radio parameters conform with the transmitting of the latency requirement for the UL data transmission, encode for transmission, to the BS, the UL data the BS according to the UL radio parameters, as suggested by Lee. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication error.
Regarding claim 6, PRADAS and Lee teaches parameters for the UL data transmission, including a reliability requirement, an average packet size, a flow label, a port number, a type of service (ToS), and an IP address (Lee, [0323] discloses handling first on channels in the same group by grouping channels having the same service type, QoS, BLER requirement, reliability requirement, latency requirement, and/or processing time (or channels that may be classified as the same type based on a predefined/promised/configured/indicated rule))
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PRADAS in view of Lee and further in view of Koc to (US20140036794)
Regarding claim 2, PRADAS does not explicitly teach wherein the traffic related information is transmitted to the BS by a radio resource control (RRC) message
However, Koc teaches wherein the traffic related information is transmitted to the BS by a radio resource control (RRC) message ([0032] The UE 102 may send the assistance information to the eNB 104 as an inclusion in any one of a number of different types of RRC messages)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of PRADAS and Lee include wherein the traffic related information is transmitted to the BS by a radio resource control (RRC) message, as suggested by Koc. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication error.
Regarding claim 3, PRADAS and Lee and Koc teaches wherein the RRC message is a UE assistance information message UEAssistanceInformation as provided by 3GPP technical specifications(Koc [0021] Discloses Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) Long Term Evolution (LTE) and/or LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) based wireless network standard).
Regarding claim 4, PRADAS and Lee and Koc teaches The baseband processor of claim 1, wherein the traffic related information is transmitted to the BS by a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)( Koc [0037] Discloses The message may be transmitted as a MAC CE signal on a UL-SCH channel or as an RRC message on a UL-DCCH channel).
Regarding claim 5, PRADAS and Lee and Koc teaches wherein the traffic related information is transmitted to the BS by a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Koc [0037] Discloses The message may be transmitted as a MAC CE signal on a UL-SCH channel or as an RRC message on a UL-DCCH channel).
Claim(s) 7-14,16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan to (US20210227621) in view of Miao in view of (US 20210243782 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Pan teaches A baseband processor of a user equipment (UE),([0035]) the baseband processor configured to perform operations comprising: receive, from a peer UE or an application server, downlink (DL) traffic information as part of traffic related information,([0431] discloses UE1 needs to report sidelink QoS flow or profile of the traffic to gNB1. Furthermore, UE1 could also report traffic pattern of the traffic to gNB1. With these reported traffic information, gNB1 could determine a sidelink DRX configuration for UE2 to comply with. gNB1 could transmit the sidelink DRX configuration of UE2 to UE1) wherein the DL traffic information that includes an indication of a labeling scheme, the labeling scheme comprising one a type of service (ToS), or an IP address; ([0431] discloses UE1 needs to report sidelink QoS flow or profile of the traffic to gNB1) encode for transmission to a base station (BS), the traffic related information , ([0352] The UE requests transmission resources from the eNB. The eNB schedules transmission resources for transmission of sidelink control information and data. Sidelink SPS is supported for scheduled resource allocation; [0353] UE autonomous resource selection, characterized by: [0354] The UE on its own selects resources from resource pools and performs transport format selection to transmit sidelink control information and data). receive a message that configures the UE conformance with the traffic related information
([0210] 2> initiate transmission of the UEAssistanceInformation message in accordance with 5.7.4.3 to provide configured grant assistance information for NR sidelink communication [0287] The UEAssistanceInformation message is used for the indication of UE assistance information to the network) ([0262] Reception of an RRCReconfigurationSidelink by the UE ) 0263], [0268] 2> for each slrb-PC5-ConfigIndex value included in the slrb-ConfigToAddModList that is not part of the current UE sidelink configuration: [0269] 3> apply the sl-MappedQoS-FlowsToAddList and sl-MappedQoS-FlowsToReleaseList, if included; [0270] 3> perform the sidelink DRB addition procedure, according to sub-clause 5.x.9.1.5; [0271] 2> for each slrb-PC5-ConfigIndex value included in the slrb-ConfigToAddModList that is part of the current UE sidelink configuration) and ([0442] gNB1 could provide the (updated) Uu DRX configuration of UE1 to UE1 via one RRC message (e.g. RRCReconfiguration). gNB2 could provide the (updated) Uu DRX configuration of UE2 to UE2 via one RRC message (e.g. RRCReconfiguration),
Pan does not explicitly teach receive, from the BS, a message that configures the UE in conformance with DL radio parameters related to transmission of DL data; and receive, from the BS, the DL data according to the DL traffic information
However, Miao teaches receive, from the BS, a message that configures the UE in conformance with DL radio parameters related to transmission of DL data; and receive, from the BS, the DL data according to the DL traffic information([0200] discloses a semi-persistent scheduling configuration message SPS-Config including parameters defining an index of associated CS-RNTI SPS-ConfigIndex including a cs-RNTI-identification (cs-RNTI-id) parameter and downlink scheduling PDSCH data scrambling identifications, the downlink scheduling PDSCH data scrambling identifications including a parameter dataScramblingIdentityPDSCH, and an optional parameter dataScramblingIdentityPDSCH2; configuring the UE with a SPS configuration based on the RRC message; and receiving a DL transmission from the gNB based on the SPS configuration)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Pan include receive, from the BS, a message that configures the UE in conformance with DL radio parameters related to transmission of DL data; and receive, from the BS, the DL data according to the DL traffic information, as suggested by Miao. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication error.
Regarding claim 8, Pan teaches The baseband processor of claim 7, wherein the DL traffic information includes one of more of periodicity, offset, reliability requirement, latency requirement, average packet size, or packet size standard deviation([0262] Discloses The UE assistance information used for V2X sidelink communication includes traffic characteristic parameters (e.g. a set of preferred SPS interval, timing offset with respect to subframe 0 of the SFN 0, PPPP, PPPR, Destination Layer-2 ID, and maximum TB size based on observed traffic pattern) related to the SPS configuration. The UE assistance information can be reported in case either SPS is already configured )
Regarding claim 9 Pan teaches The baseband processor of claim 8, wherein the traffic related information further comprises a DL semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) information indicating periodicity, latency, offset, jitter window size, or amount of spatial layers of a DL SPS([0262] Discloses The UE assistance information used for V2X sidelink communication includes traffic characteristic parameters (e.g. a set of preferred SPS interval, timing offset with respect to subframe 0 of the SFN 0, PPPP, PPPR, Destination Layer-2 ID, and maximum TB size based on observed traffic pattern) related to the SPS configuration. The UE assistance information can be reported in case either SPS is already configured ).
Regarding claim 10, Pan and Miao teaches sending the traffic related information to the BS, two or more IP flows are indicated as a group for indicating a latency budget of all packets from the group(Miao [0014] multiple casting group support can be used for grouping UEs according to the subscription of the multicast message as well as the commonality of radio link quality of involved UEs).
Regarding claim 11, Pan teaches wherein the traffic related information further comprises a UL configured grant (CG) configuration information indicating IP address and port, periodicity, latency, offset, or jitter window size of a UL CG([0136] 2> if the PDCCH indicates a UL transmission: [0137] 3> start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PUSCH transmission).
Regarding claim 12, Pan teaches wherein the traffic related information further comprises a channel state information (CSI) measurement information and a CSI reporting information([0304] RRCReconfigurationSidelink field descriptions sl-CSI-RS-FreqAllocation Indicates the frequency domain position for sidelink CSI-RS. sl-CSI-RS-FirstSymbol Indicates the position of first symbol of sidelink CSI-RS. sl-LogicalChannelIdentity Indicates the identity of the sidelink logical channel. sl-MappedQoS-FlowsToAddList Indicate the QoS flows to be mapped to the configured SLRB).
Regarding claim 13, Pan teaches wherein the CSI measurement information indicates a periodicity of a first integral multiple of the non-integer periodicity of the DL SPS ([0304] RRCReconfigurationSidelink field descriptions sl-CSI-RS-FreqAllocation Indicates the frequency domain position for sidelink CSI-RS. sl-CSI-RS-FirstSymbol Indicates the position of first symbol of sidelink CSI-RS. sl-LogicalChannelIdentity Indicates the identity of the sidelink logical channel. sl-MappedQoS-FlowsToAddList Indicate the QoS flows to be mapped to the configured SLRB) and wherein the CSI reporting information indicates a periodicity of the same or a second integral multiple of the non-integer periodicity of the DL SPS([0190] MAC-CellGroupConfig field descriptions csi-Mask If set to true, the UE limits CSI reports to the on-duration period of the DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 14, Pan teaches wherein the traffic related information further comprises discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information indicating periodicity, offset, or on-duration of a DRX([0431] Discloses gNB1 also can configure or reconfigure Uu DRX configuration (to align Uu wake-up time with sidelink wake-up time) on UE1 if needed. On the other hand, when gNB2 provides the sidelink DRX configuration to UE2, gNB2 can also configure or reconfigure Uu DRX configuration (to align Uu wake-up time with sidelink wake-up time) on UE2)
Regarding claim 17, Pan teaches wherein the traffic related information further comprises PUCCH configuration information([0086] Discloses TPC-PUCCH-RNTI)
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan to (US20210227621) in view of Zhu to (WO 2020247488 A1)
Regarding claim 18, Pan teaches A baseband processor of a user equipment (UE), the baseband processor configured to perform operations comprising: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message from a base station (BS), ([0154] The Network may initiate the RRC reconfiguration procedure to a UE in RRC_CONNECTED. The Network applies the procedure as follows) wherein the RRC reconfiguration message configures UE with a channel configuration for data traffic; ;([0263], [0268] 2> for each slrb-PC5-ConfigIndex value included in the slrb-ConfigToAddModList that is not part of the current UE sidelink configuration: [0269] 3> apply the sl-MappedQoS-FlowsToAddList and sl-MappedQoS-FlowsToReleaseList, if included; [0270] 3> perform the sidelink DRB addition procedure, according to sub-clause 5.x.9.1.5; [0271] 2> for each slrb-PC5-ConfigIndex value included in the slrb-ConfigToAddModList that is part of the current UE sidelink configuration) transmitting an adjustment request to the BS, the adjustment request including requesting adjustment of channel configuration; ([0442] gNB1 could provide the (updated) Uu DRX configuration of UE1 to UE1 via one RRC message (e.g. RRCReconfiguration). gNB2 could provide the (updated) Uu DRX configuration of UE2 to UE2 via one RRC message (e.g. RRCReconfiguration,[0352] The UE requests transmission resources from the eNB. The eNB schedules transmission resources for transmission of sidelink control information and data. Sidelink SPS is supported for scheduled resource allocation) receiving a second RRC reconfiguration message from the BS, wherein the second RRC reconfiguration message configures the UE with an updated channel configuration based on the adjustment request; ([0442] gNB1 could provide the (updated) Uu DRX configuration of UE1 to UE1 via one RRC message (e.g. RRCReconfiguration). gNB2 could provide the (updated) Uu DRX configuration of UE2 to UE2 via one RRC message (e.g. RRCReconfiguration,[0352] The UE requests transmission resources from the eNB. The eNB schedules transmission resources for transmission of sidelink control information and data. Sidelink SPS is supported for scheduled resource allocation) and transmitting and receiving data with the BS according to the updated channel configuration(,[0352] The UE requests transmission resources from the eNB. The eNB schedules transmission resources for transmission of sidelink control information and data. Sidelink SPS is supported for scheduled resource allocation; [0353] UE autonomous resource selection, characterized by: [0354] The UE on its own selects resources from resource pools and performs transport format selection to transmit sidelink control information and data)
Pan does not explicitly teach the adjustment request including requesting adjustment of the channel configuration, wherein the adjustment request includes an adjustment request of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) offset or a configured grant (CG) offset to match an offset of an application traffic of the UE
However, Zhu teaches the adjustment request including requesting adjustment of the channel configuration, wherein the adjustment request includes an adjustment request of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) offset or a configured grant (CG) offset to match an offset of an application traffic of the UE([0017] discloses a first request for at least one of a DRX configuration for a UE or an SPS configuration for the UE; means for transmitting, to a BS, the first request and a second request for a traffic offset between the application server and the BS…[0018] discloses adjusting, based at least in part on at least one of the DRX configuration or the SPS configuration)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Pan include the adjustment request including requesting adjustment of the channel configuration, wherein the adjustment request includes an adjustment request of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) offset or a configured grant (CG) offset to match an offset of an application traffic of the UE, as suggested by Zhu. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication error.
Regarding claim 19, Pan teaches The baseband processor of claim 18, wherein the channel configuration comprises semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration and/or configured grant (CG) configuration([0262] Discloses The UE assistance information used for V2X sidelink communication includes traffic characteristic parameters (e.g. a set of preferred SPS interval, timing offset with respect to subframe 0 of the SFN 0, PPPP, PPPR, Destination Layer-2 ID, and maximum TB size based on observed traffic pattern) related to the SPS configuration. The UE assistance information can be reported in case either SPS is already configured).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461