DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alegre (EP3001772) in view of Erdmann (DE19825321) and further in view of Cho (KR101515026B1) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Figs. 7-8 of Alegre
Regarding claim 1, Alegre teaches an electric range comprising:
A case (10);
a plurality of heating units (a plurality of heating elements 12) arranged in the case (10), and disposed at a plurality of regions so as to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1);
a cover plate (36) coupled to a top of the case (10); an input interface (operating unit 38 for input ) disposed on a top surface of the cover plate (36), and configured to display a specific image (operating unit could optically and / or acoustically output the value of the operating parameter to an operator, where an optical output value is taken to be the equivalent of an image);
and a control unit (a control unit 16, which is provided to execute actions and / or to change settings in dependence on operating parameters entered by means of the operating unit 38. The control unit 16 regulates an energy supply to the heating elements 12 in an operating state) configured to control the plurality of heating units (12) and the input interface (38),
wherein an item (18b) to be heated is located at a first position (32b) on the top surface of the cover plate (36), and heated by a heating unit of the plurality of heating units (12) disposed at the first position (32b),
wherein when the heated item (18b) is slid in a first direction of a rearward-forward direction and a lateral direction on the top surface of the cover plate ([0035] the direction of the reference position 32 b),
the control unit (16) adjusts a heat power of the heating unit disposed in the first direction ([0035] In the event of a change in position of the first cookware 18 b in the direction of the reference position 32 b, the control unit 16 b operates the first cookware 18 b with a lower heating power density, through the plurality of heating units 12),
wherein each heating unit ([0021] one of heating units 12) is a working coil ([0021] an induction heating element, understood to be a working coil), and the item (18b) is heated by one or more of the plurality of working coils (12),
and wherein the control unit (16) senses on which working coil of the plurality of working coils (12) the item (18b) to be heated is located ([0034] control unit 16 b locates the reference position),
and wherein the control unit (16) adjust heat power by the working coil (12, [0023]).
Alegre is silent on wherein when the heated item is slid in a second direction of the rearward-forward direction and the lateral direction, the control unit controls at least one of the input interface or a heating unit of the plurality of heating units disposed in the second direction in order to provide at least one additional function; the control unit measures how much of a resonance current flowing through the working coil is attenuated, in order to determine whether the heated item was slid by sensing through a non-contact sensing signal of the working coil and wherein the control unit adjusts heat power by the working coil.
Figs. 1-2 of Erdmann
Erdmann teaches when the heated item (21) is slid in a second direction of the vertical and horizontal directions (([0016] position not near sensor elements 15 or 17 or a second horizontal direction),
the control unit controls at least one of the input interface (13) or a heating unit of plurality of heating units disposed in the second direction in order to provide an additional function ([0015-0016] determination/setting heating level or turning off and timing, display 13 changes).
Alegre and Erdmann are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating devices. It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre to incorporate the teachings of Erdmann to adjust a heat power of a heating unit when the item is slid in one direction and control the input interface or the heating unit when the item is slid in another direction so that a user does not need to operate switches to change cooking temperature or to control the heating device, so it may be done automatically (Erdmann [0003]).
Alegre and Erdmann are silent on the control unit measures how much of a resonance current flowing through the working coil is attenuated, in order to determine whether the heated item was slid by sensing through a non-contact sensing signal of the working coil.
Cho teaches the control unit (50) measures how much of a resonance current flowing through the working coil (41, 42) is attenuated ([0040] detects the resonant current flowing through any working coil), in order to determine whether the heated item was slid by sensing through a non-contact sensing signal of the working coil ([0059, 0066] measurement value of the detection unit (50) is provided to the control unit so that the control unit (60) can detect which working coil is heating the container normally, normal resonant current is a current with a very large value; where it is understood any low resonance current or attenuated resonance current would be indicative of a coil not heating normally, being the equivalent of the heated item being slid)
Alegre, Erdmann, and Cho are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating devices. It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre and Erdmann to incorporate the teachings of Cho to have a controller detect a movement of a heated object based on a resonance current applied to a working coil through the use of a non-contact sensing signal, so heating is only performed when the working coil detects normal induction heating, when an object is placed in the current position (Cho [0001-0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Alegre, Erdmann and Cho teach the electric range of claim 1, and Alegre teaches wherein the first direction ([0035] a direction facing or facing away from the reference position 32 b) comprises a first-first direction (([0035] a direction facing 32b) and a first-second direction ([0035] a direction facing away 32b), the first-first direction is opposite to the first-second direction ([0035] a direction facing or facing away), wherein when the heated item (18b) is slid in the first-first direction (([0035] a direction facing 32b), the control unit (15) increases or maintains the heat power of a heating unit of the plurality of heating units (12) disposed in the first-first direction from the first position ([0035] In the event of a change in position of the first cookware 18 b in the direction of the reference position 32 b, the control unit 16 b operates the first cookware 18 b with a lower heating power density, through the plurality of heating units 12) and wherein when the heated item (18b) is slid in the first-second direction ([0035] a direction facing away 32b), the control unit decreases (16) or maintains the heat power of the heating unit of the plurality of heating units (12) disposed in the first-second direction from the first position ([0035] in the event of a change in position of the first cookware 18 b in a direction facing away from the reference position 32 b, the control unit 16 b operates the first cookware 18 b with a higher heating power density).
Regarding claim 3, Alegre, Erdmann and Cho teach the electric range of claim 2, and
Alegre teaches wherein when a first heat power of the heating unit disposed in the first position is smaller than a default maximum heat power, the control unit sets the heat power of the heating unit (32b) of the plurality of heating units, disposed at an end position in the first-first direction (32b), to the default maximum heat power ([0034] maximum heating power density), and sequentially increases heat powers of heating unit of the plurality of heating units, disposed between the first position and the end position in the first-first direction, in proportion to a sidling distance ([0034] increase heating power of first cooking utensil at position 30b Fig. 7)
and when the first heat power is equal to the default maximum heat power, the control unit sets the heat power of the heating unit disposed in the first-first direction to the default maximum heat power ([0034] moving towards position 32b, increase heating power density until maximum is reached at position 30b).
Regarding claim 4, Alegre, Erdmann and Cho teach the electric range of claim 2, and Alegre teaches wherein when a first heat power of the heating unit disposed in the first position is larger than a default minimum heat power, the control unit sets the heat power of the heating unit (32b) of the plurality of heating units, disposed at an end position in the first-second direction, to the default minimum heat power (Fig. 8 [0035] minimum heating power density), and sequentially decreases the heat powers of heating units, disposed between the first position and wherein the end position in the first-second direction, in proportion to a sidling distance, ([0035] when changing the position of the first cooking utensil 18b in the direction of the reference position 32b, the control unit 16b operates the first cooking utensil 18b with a lower heating power density.)
and when the first heat power is equal to the default minimum heat power, the control unit sets the heat power of the heating unit, disposed in the first-second direction, to the default minimum heat power ([0035] moving towards position 32b, decrease heating power density until minimum is reached at position 30b).
Regarding claim 5, Alegre, Erdmann and Cho teach the electric range of claim 2, and Alegre teaches wherein when the first position (30b) is an end position in the first-first direction, a first heat power is the default minimum heat power (Fig. 8 minimum heating power density), and the heated item is slid in the first-second direction ([0035] not moving towards position 32b),
the control unit changes the setting to increase the heat power of the heating unit of the plurality of heating units, disposed in the first-second direction, in proportion to a sliding distance ([0035] When changing the position of the first cooking utensil 18b in a direction away from the reference position 32b, the control unit 16b operates the first cooking utensil 18b with a higher heating power density).
Regarding claim 6, Alegre, Erdmann and Cho teach the electric range of claim 2, and Alegre teaches wherein when the first position (30b) is an end position in the first-second direction, a first heat power is the default maximum heat power (Fig, 7 [0034] maximum heating power density), and the heated item is slid in the first-first direction ([0034] not moving towards position 32b),
the control unit changes a setting to decrease the heat power of the heating unit of the plurality of heating units, disposed in the first-first direction, in proportion to a sliding distance ([0034] When changing the position of the first cooking utensil 18b in a direction away from the reference position 32b, the control unit 16b operates the first cooking utensil 18b with a lower heating power density).
Regarding claim 7, Alegre, Erdmann, and Cho teach the electric range of claim 1, but Alegre and An are silent on wherein the at least one additional function comprises a first additional function and a second additional function, wherein when the heated item 1s slid to a second position spaced by a first distance from the first position in the second direction, the control unit provides the first additional function, and when the heated item 1s slid to a third position spaced by a second distance from the first position in the second direction, the control unit provides the second additional function and wherein the second position does not overlap the third position.
Erdmann teaches wherein the at least one additional function comprises
a first additional function ([0015] determination/setting heating level) and a second additional function ([0016] turning off),
wherein when the heated item is slid to a second position (Fig. 2 solid lines) spaced by a first distance from the first position in the second direction (Fig. 2 broken lines),
the control unit provides the first additional function ([0015] determination/setting heating level)
and when the heated item is slid to a third position ([0016] position not near sensor elements 15 or 17) spaced by a second distance from the first position in the second direction (solid lines),
the control unit provides the second additional function ([0016] turning off), and wherein the second position does not overlap the third position (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre and Cho to incorporate the teachings of Erdmann to have a first and second additional function so that a user does not need to operate switches to change cooking temperature or to control the heating device, so it may be done automatically (Erdmann [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Alegre, Erdmann, and Cho teach the electric range of claim 7, and Alegre teaches the plurality of heating units (12) but is silent on wherein the first additional function is a lock function of setting the input interface to a lock state while the heat power of the heating unit of the plurality of heating units in the second position is fixed at a first heat power, when the heated item is slid in the second direction, and wherein the second additional function is a timer function of maintaining the first heat power for a specific time while the heat power of the heating unit of the plurality of heating units in the third position is fixed at the first heat power, and then turning off the first heat power, when the heated item is slid in the second direction.
Erdmann teaches wherein the first additional function is a lock function of setting the input interface to a lock state while the heat power of the heating unit the second position is fixed to the first heat power ([0015] second horizontal direction),
when the heated item is slid in the second direction ([0015] operator agrees with the displayed heating level, he pushes the pot 21 back into the heating position according to FIG. 1.)
and the second additional function is a timer function ([0015] timing of position of pot in proximity to sensors 15 or 17) of maintaining the first heat power for a specific time while the heat power of the heating unit in the third position is fixed at the first heat power ([0015] heating power applied),
and then turning off the first heat power, when the heated item is slid in the second direction ([0015] the heating power of the corresponding cooking zone 4 is switched off).
It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre and Cho to incorporate the teachings of Erdmann to have a first and second additional function being a lock and timer function so that a user does not need to operate switches to change cooking temperature or to control the heating device, so it may be done automatically (Erdmann [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Alegre, Erdmann, and Cho teach the electric range of claim 1, but Alegre and An are silent on wherein the at least one additional function is a timer function, and wherein the control unit sets a time of the timer in proportion to a distance by which the heated item is slid in the second direction.
Erdmann teaches wherein the at least one additional function is a timer function ([0015] timing of position of pot in proximity to sensors 15 or 17),
and wherein the control unit sets a time of the timer in proportion to a distance by which the heated item is slid in the second direction ([0015] timing of position of pot in proximity to sensors 15 or 17).
It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre and Cho to incorporate the teachings of Erdmann to have a timer function so that a user does not need to operate switches to change cooking temperature or to control the heating device, so it may be done automatically (Erdmann [0003]).
Regarding claim 15, Alegre teaches an electric range comprising:
A case (10);
a plurality of heating units (a plurality of heating elements 12) arranged in the case (10), and disposed at a plurality of regions so as to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1);
a cover plate (36) coupled to a top of the case (10); an input interface (operating unit 38 for input ) disposed on a top surface of the cover plate (36), and configured to display a specific image (operating unit could optically and / or acoustically output the value of the operating parameter to an operator, where an optical output value is taken to be the equivalent of an image);
and a control unit (a control unit 16, which is provided to execute actions and / or to change settings in dependence on operating parameters entered by means of the operating unit 38. The control unit 16 regulates an energy supply to the heating elements 12 in an operating state) configured to control the plurality of heating units (12) and the input interface (38),
wherein an item (18b) to be heated is located at a first position (32b) on the top surface of the cover plate (36), and heated by a heating unit of the plurality of heating units (12) disposed at the first position (32b),
wherein when the heated item (18b) is slid in a first direction of a rearward-forward direction and a lateral direction on the top surface of the cover plate ([0035] the direction of the reference position 32 b),
the control unit (16) adjusts a heat power of the heating unit disposed in the first direction ([0035] In the event of a change in position of the first cookware 18 b in the direction of the reference position 32 b, the control unit 16 b operates the first cookware 18 b with a lower heating power density, through the plurality of heating units 12),
wherein each heating unit ([0021] one of heating units 12) is a working coil ([0021] an induction heating element, understood to be a working coil), and the item (18b) is heated by one or more of the plurality of working coils (12),
and wherein the control unit (16) senses on which working coil of the plurality of working coils (12) the item (18b) to be heated is located ([0034] control unit 16 b locates the reference position),
and wherein the control unit (16) adjust heat power by the working coil (12, [0023]).
Alegre is silent on when the heated item is slid in a second direction of the rearward-forward and lateral directions, the control unit controls at least one of the input interface or a heating unit of the plurality of heating units disposed in the second direction in order to provide an additional function, wherein the additional function is a different function from a main function of the heating unit to provide heat power, the control unit measures how much of a resonance current flowing through the working coil is attenuated, in order to determine whether the heated item was slid by sensing through a non-contact sensing signal of the working coil.
Erdmann teaches when the heated item (21) is slid in a second direction of the rearward-forward and lateral directions (([0016] position not near sensor elements 15 or 17 or a second horizontal direction),
the control unit controls at least one of the input interface or a heating unit (9) of the plurality of heating units disposed in the second direction in order to provide an additional function ([0015-0016] determination/setting heating level or turning off and timing),
wherein the additional function is a different function ([0015-0016] determination/setting heating level or turning off and timing) from a main function of the heating unit to provide heat power.
It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre to incorporate the teachings of Erdmann to adjust a heat power of a heating unit when the item is slid in one direction and control the input interface or the heating unit when the item is slid in another direction so that a user does not need to operate switches to change cooking temperature or to control the heating device, so it may be done automatically (Erdmann [0003]).
Alegre and Erdmann are silent on the control unit measures how much of a resonance current flowing through the working coil is attenuated, in order to determine whether the heated item was slid by sensing through a non-contact sensing signal of the working coil.
Cho teaches the control unit (50) measures how much of a resonance current flowing through the working coil (41, 42) is attenuated ([0040] detects the resonant current flowing through any working coil), in order to determine whether the heated item was slid by sensing through a non-contact sensing signal of the working coil ([0059, 0066] measurement value of the detection unit (50) is provided to the control unit so that the control unit (60) can detect which working coil is heating the container normally, normal resonant current is a current with a very large value; where it is understood any low resonance current or attenuated resonance current would be indicative of a coil not heating normally, being the equivalent of the heated item being slid)
It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre and Erdmann to incorporate the teachings of Cho to have a controller detect a movement of a heated object based on a resonance current applied to a working coil through the use of a non-contact sensing signal, so heating is only performed when the working coil detects normal induction heating, when an object is placed in the current position (Cho [0001-0002]).
Claims 10-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alegre (EP3001772), Erdmann (DE19825321), and Cho (KR101515026B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Frommelt (EP2527747) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 10, Alegre, Erdmann, and An teach the electric range of claim 9, but are silent on wherein when the heated item is slid and then relocated at the end position in the second direction within a preset time, the control unit controls the input interface to display a first image for setting the time of the timer.
Frommelt teaches wherein when the heated item (14, 16) is slid and then relocated at the end position in the second direction within a preset time ([0039-0041] during cooking and any motion),
the control unit controls the input interface to display a first image for setting the time of the timer ([0044-0044] display in projection field 24 heating duration).
It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre, Erdmann, and An to incorporate the teachings of Frommelt to have an image be displayed when a heated item is sild so that the user may still receive all important information on the cooking process directly in their field of view (Frommelt [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Alegre, Erdmann, and An teach the electric range of claim 9, but are silent on wherein when the heated item is slid in the first direction and then relocated at the end position in the second direction within a preset time, the control unit controls the input interface to display a first image for setting the time of the timer.
Frommelt teaches wherein when the heated item (14, 16) is slid in the first direction and then relocated at the end position in the second direction within a preset time ([0039-0041] during cooking and any motion),
the control unit controls the input interface to display a first image for setting the time of the timer ([0044-0044] display in projection field 24 heating duration).
It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre, Erdmann, and An to incorporate the teachings of Frommelt to have an image be displayed when a heated item is sild so that the user may still receive all important information on the cooking process directly in their field of view (Frommelt [0039]).
Regarding claim 12, Alegre, Erdmann, and An teach the electric range of claim 9, but are silent on wherein when the heated item is lifted and then relocated at the end position in the second direction within a preset time, the control unit controls the input interface to display a first image for setting the time of the timer.
Frommelt teaches wherein when the heated item (14, 16) is lifted and then relocated at the end position in the second direction within a preset time ([0039-0041] during cooking and any motion),
the control unit controls the input interface to display a first image for setting the time of the timer ([0044-0044] display in projection field 24 heating duration).
It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre, Erdmann, and An to incorporate the teachings of Frommelt to have an image be displayed when a heated item is lifted so that the user may still receive all important information on the cooking process directly in their field of view (Frommelt [0039]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alegre (EP3001772) in view of Bunya (JP2011100562) and further in view of Cho (KR101515026B1) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 14, Alegre teaches an electric range comprising:
A case (10);
a plurality of heating units (a plurality of heating elements 12) arranged in the case (10), and disposed at a plurality of regions so as to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1);
a cover plate (36) coupled to a top of the case (10); an input interface (operating unit 38 for input ) disposed on a top surface of the cover plate (36), and configured to display a specific image (operating unit could optically and / or acoustically output the value of the operating parameter to an operator, where an optical output value is taken to be the equivalent of an image);
and a control unit (a control unit 16, which is provided to execute actions and / or to change settings in dependence on operating parameters entered by means of the operating unit 38. The control unit 16 regulates an energy supply to the heating elements 12 in an operating state) configured to control the plurality of heating units (12) and the input interface (38),
wherein an item (18b) to be heated is located at a first position (32b) on the top surface of the cover plate (36), and heated by a heating unit of the plurality of heating units (12) disposed at the first position (32b),
wherein each heating unit ([0021] one of heating units 12) is a working coil ([0021] an induction heating element, understood to be a working coil), and the item (18b) is heated by one or more of the plurality of working coils (12),
and wherein the control unit (16) senses on which working coil of the plurality of working coils (12) the item (18b) to be heated is located ([0034] control unit 16 b locates the reference position),
and wherein the control unit (16) adjust heat power by the working coil (12, [0023]).
Alegre is silent on wherein when the heated item is slid in a first direction of a rearward-forward direction and a lateral direction on the top surface of the cover plate, the control unit controls the speaker to output a guidance message for adjusting heat powers of two or more heating units of the plurality of heating units disposed in the first direction, or controls the input interface to display a third image corresponding to the guidance message, the control unit measures how much of a resonance current flowing through the working coil is attenuated, in order to determine whether the heated item was slid by sensing through a non-contact sensing signal of the working coil.
Fig. 2 of Bunya
Bunya teaches wherein when the heated item (21) is slid in a first direction of a rearward-forward direction and a lateral direction on the top surface of the cover plate (2), the control unit controls the speaker to output a guidance message for adjusting heat powers of two or more heating units of the plurality of heating units disposed in the first direction, or controls the input interface to display a third image corresponding to the guidance message ([0034] operation guide outputted to reduce a heating power).
Alegre and Bunya are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cooking devices. It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre to incorporate the teachings of Bunya to have a speaker and microphone, where the control unit can output a guidance message through the speaker in order to be able to reduce the interference between two heating coils through sound and voice guidance (Bunya [0006]).
Alegre and Bunya are silent on the control unit measures how much of a resonance current flowing through the working coil is attenuated, in order to determine whether the heated item was slid by sensing through a non-contact sensing signal of the working coil.
Cho teaches the control unit (50) measures how much of a resonance current flowing through the working coil (41, 42) is attenuated ([0040] detects the resonant current flowing through any working coil), in order to determine whether the heated item was slid by sensing through a non-contact sensing signal of the working coil ([0059, 0066] measurement value of the detection unit (50) is provided to the control unit so that the control unit (60) can detect which working coil is heating the container normally, normal resonant current is a current with a very large value; where it is understood any low resonance current or attenuated resonance current would be indicative of a coil not heating normally, being the equivalent of the heated item being slid)
It would have been obvious to have modified Alegre and Bunya to incorporate the teachings of Cho to have a controller detect a movement of a heated object based on a resonance current applied to a working coil through the use of a non-contact sensing signal, so heating is only performed when the working coil detects normal induction heating, when an object is placed in the current position (Cho [0001-0002]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 3/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 15 under Alegre, Erdmann and An and claim 14 under Alegre, Bunya, and Anhave been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view towards claims 1 and 15 under Alegre, Erdmann in view of newly cited reference Cho (KR101515026B1) and claim 14 under Alegre, Bunya in view of newly cited reference Cho (KR101515026B1).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/4/2026
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761