DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1, 4, 9-11 and 19 are being examined in this application. In the response to the restriction requirement, Applicants elected Group I, wherein R1 is SHRGY, Z is absent n is 0, the synthetic peptide is linear and unmodified, the pharmaceutical composition is in the form of an eye drop and formulated for topical administration, and wherein the kit does not include other compounds. Claims 2-3, 5-8, 12-18 and 20 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected species/invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 1, 4, 9-11 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 1 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Melino et al. is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1, 4, 9-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lajoie et al. (WO 2012/061937).
With respect to claim 1, Lajoie et al. teach a method of treating a wound in a mammal comprising administering to the mammal a therapeutically effective amount of a cyclic analogue of histatin 5 or a functionally equivalent derivative thereof (claim 1), wherein the cyclic analogue comprises the sequence RHHCYKRFHEKCHSHRGY (SEQ ID No. 25) (claim 3), which corresponds to the instantly claimed peptide of formula (I), wherein Z is an exogenous peptide, R1 is SEQ ID NO: 1, X is R, and n is 0.
With respect to claim 4, Lajoie et al. teach that the peptide is cyclic (claim 1).
With respect to claim 9, Lajoie et al. teach a composition suitable for wound treatment comprising a cyclic analogue of histatin 5 or a functionally equivalent variant thereof and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 11).
With respect to claims 10-11, Lajoie et al. teach the dosage may be administered orally, by injection, mucosally and topically (para [0026]).
With respect to claim 19, Lajoie et al. teach an article of manufacture comprising packaging and a composition comprising a cyclic analogue of histatin 5, wherein said packaging is labelled to indicate that the composition is suitable for treating a wound in a mammal (claim 18), which corresponds to the instantly claimed kit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 1/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “[t]he peptide of Lajoie has the same sequence as the native Hst5(5-24) peptide described in Table 5 under SEQ ID NO: 68 of the specification. Accordingly, Lajoie fails to anticipate the synthetic peptide as claimed”.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because, as discussed above, the cyclic analogue of Lajoie et al. comprises the sequence RHHCYKRFHEKCHSHRGY (SEQ ID No. 25) (claim 3), which corresponds to the instantly claimed peptide of formula (I).
For the reasons stated above the rejection is maintained.
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658