DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amending of claims 1, 18, the cancellation of claim 16, and the addition of claims 21-23.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s Remarks that Setiawan spends the majority of the article discussing metal materials. Setiawan, however, does not appear to rule out applying the methods to materials other than metals, but instead chooses a metal in the “Experimental Methods” section as a proof of concept. In order to more fully make the case for combining Lee with Setiawan a new reference is introduced to further make obvious the application of photoacoustic monitoring of windows in laser systems.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-12, 14, 15, 18, 20, 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0041372) in view of Setiawan et al. (“Surface crack detection with low-cost photoacoustic imaging system”; applicant submitted prior art) and Jeen et al. (“Two techniques for early detection of pulsed laser induced damage in optical materials”; applicant submitted prior art).
With respect to claim 1, Lee teaches an apparatus (fig.1) for monitoring mechanical integrity ([0020, 65], fig.2) of an eye-safety component (fig.1 #130, [0056]) of an illuminator, the apparatus comprising: a sensor (fig.1 #160) operable to sense a change in pressure ([0054]) in the eye-safety component during operation of the illuminator and to output a signal representative of the sensed pressure effect ([0067] sensor reading used for feedback); and a processor (fig.1 #170) operable to: monitor the signal from the sensor ([0067]); determine if the signal comprises at least one parameter that falls outside of a pre-determined acceptable range ([0059]), the pre-determined acceptable range being indicative of mechanical integrity of the eye-safety component ([0067]); and initiate a safety action in response to a determination that the at least one parameter falls outside of the pre-determined acceptable range thereby indicating a loss of mechanical integrity ([0067, 99]), wherein the eye-safety component comprises a glass substrate and/or a diffuser configured to pass a light of the illuminator ([0056], note light exits through #130). Lee does not teach the sensor senses a photoacoustic effect in the eye-safety component, wherein the sensor is configured to sense a sound wave formed by the photoacoustic effect. Setiawan teaches that detection of cracks can be accomplished via shining a laser diode onto a surface and monitoring the photoacoustic effect on that surface using a photoacoustic sensor to sense a sound wave (abstract, fig.2b via microphone). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the laser device of Lee, used to detect cracks in elements ([0067], fig.2), by making use of a photoacoustic sensor to sense a sound wave formed by the photoacoustic effect in the manner taught by Setiawan, and with the feedback control of Lee, in order to further ensure the integrity of the laser housing unit as desired by Lee ([0020]).
The Examiner notes that pressure sensors, as used by Lee, are often transducers which convert mechanical energy into an electrical signal, much the same way as a microphone within the photoacoustic sensor of Setiawan operates. Further, both references are directed to accomplishing the same problem which is one of crack detection.
Setiawan does not rule out, but does not particularly focus on the detection of damage in windows in laser systems by making use of the photoacoustic effect. Jeen teaches that monitoring photoacoustic effects in windows in laser systems is useful for detecting damage to those windows (abstract). Therefore, it would further have been obvious to combine the system of Lee with the photoacoustic effect monitoring techniques of Setiawan as demonstrated by Jeen in order to prevent serious failure of the window (Jeen, abstract).
With respect to claim 3, Lee, as modified, teaches a phononic structure configured to improve a signal-to-noise ratio of the sound wave (Lee fig.1, sealed container would reduce outside noises and thereby improve the signal-to-noise ratio).
With respect to claim 4, Lee, as modified, teaches the processor is further operable to detect a change in environmental conditions within the illuminator based on the signal from the sensor (Lee, fig.2, [0067]).
With respect to claim 5, Lee, as modified, teaches the processor is operable to initiate the safety action by transmitting an instruction to the illuminator to modify an intensity of illumination ([0099]).
With respect to claim 6, Lee, as modified, teaches the processor is operable to initiate the safety action by transmitting an instruction to the illuminator to cease illumination ([0099]).
With respect to claim 7, Lee, as modified, teaches the sensor comprises a microphone (Setiawan, fig.2b).
With respect to claim 8, Lee, as modified, teaches one or more of an amplifier; a filter; a lock-in detector; and an acceptable range detector ([0013], acceptable range detector, such as a comparator, necessarily present to accomplish the comparison of the measurement to the reference value).
With respect to claim 9, Lee, as modified, teaches an illuminator comprising: at least one emitter (fig.1 #110) ;an eye-safety component (fig.1 #130) providing a shield between the at least one emitter and a user (fig.1 #130 is a diffuser which shields via dispersing light); and the apparatus of claim 1.
With respect to claim 10, Lee, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach a modulator configured to modulate a light output from at least one of the at least one emitter at a pre-determined frequency and wherein the processor is operable to use the pre-determined frequency in a lock-in detection method and/or a gated detection method when monitoring the signal from the sensor. Setiawan further teaches a modulator configured to modulate a light output from at least one of the at least one emitter at a pre-determined frequency and wherein the processor is operable to use the pre-determined frequency in a lock-in detection method and/or a gated detection method when monitoring the signal from the sensor (pg.160 para.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to make use of the further modulation with lock-in teachings of Setiawan in the device and control of Lee in order to improve the signal-to-noise ratio (Setiawan, pg.160 para.2).
With respect to claim 11, Lee, as modified, teaches the at least one emitter comprises an illumination emitter (fig.1 #110, emitter illuminates) and the sensor is operable to sense a photoacoustic effect resulting from operation of the illumination emitter (as modified above by Setiawan).
With respect to claim 12, Lee, as modified, teaches the at least one emitter comprises a monitoring emitter (fig.1 #110, emitter used for monitoring as modified) and the sensor is operable to sense a photoacoustic effect resulting from operation of the monitoring emitter (as modified above by Setiawan).
With respect to claim 14, Lee, as modified, teaches the sensor is arranged to sense the photoacoustic effect in the eye-safety component indirectly by receiving an input via a waveguide or other medium (Setiawan, fig.2b sensor spaced apart from surface via a “medium” – air).
With respect to claim 15, Lee, as modified, teaches the at least one emitter comprises a laser ([0053]).
With respect to claim 18, Lee teaches a method for monitoring mechanical integrity of an eye-safety component of an illuminator, the method comprising: obtaining, from a sensor, a signal representative of a sensed pressure effect in the eye-safety component during operation of the illuminator; monitoring the signal; determining if the signal comprises at least one parameter that falls outside of a pre-determined acceptable range, the pre-determined acceptable range being indicative of mechanical integrity of the eye-safety component; and initiating a safety action in response to a determination that the at least one parameter falls outside of the pre-determined acceptable range thereby indicating a loss of mechanical integrity ([0059, 67] fig.2), wherein the eye-safety component comprises a glass substrate and/or a diffuser configured to pass a light of the illuminator ([0056], note the light exits through #130). Lee does not teach the sensor senses a photoacoustic effect in the eye-safety component. Setiawan teaches that detection of cracks can be accomplished via shining a laser diode onto a surface and monitoring the photoacoustic effect on that surface using a photoacoustic sensor (abstract, fig.2b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the laser device/method of Lee, used to detect cracks in elements ([0067], fig.2), by making use of a photoacoustic sensor in the manner taught by Setiawan, and with the feedback control of Lee, in order to further ensure the integrity of the laser housing unit as desired by Lee ([0020]).
The Examiner notes that pressure sensors, as used by Lee, are often transducers which convert mechanical energy into an electrical signal, much the same way as a microphone within the photoacoustic sensor of Setiawan operates. Further, both references are directed to accomplishing the same problem which is one of crack detection.
Setiawan does not rule out, but does not particularly focus on the detection of damage in windows in laser systems by making use of the photoacoustic effect. Jeen teaches that monitoring photoacoustic effects in windows in laser systems is useful for detecting damage to those windows (abstract). Therefore, it would further have been obvious to combine the system of Lee with the photoacoustic effect monitoring techniques of Setiawan as demonstrated by Jeen in order to prevent serious failure of the window (Jeen, abstract).
With respect to claim 20, Lee, as modified, teaches the method outlined above, including using a processor which necessarily contains instructions/firmware, but does not specify non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon program instructions for causing at least one processor to perform the method according to claim 18. The Examiner takes Official notice that use of non-transitory computer readable mediums for storing executable programs thereon are well-known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to adapt the method of Lee and Setiawan to make use of a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon program instructions for causing at least one processor to perform the method according to claim 18 as a means of making the method portable from one location to another.
With respect to claim 21, Lee, as modified, further teaches the emitter is not tuned to a resonant frequency of the eye-safety component (Lee, [0062], noting Lee makes no teaching of the emitter frequency to match a resonance of the diffuser, only relating the emitter frequency to eye-safety).
With respect to claim 23, Lee, as modified, teaches the photoacoustic effect is a crack extending completely through the eye-safety component (Lee, [0065]; also note the detection method of Setiawan can detect surface cracks, wherein a crack extending completely through would necessarily be located on the surface).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Setiawan and Jeen in view of Kenneth Mason Publications (“Research disclosure”; applicant submitted prior art; hereafter KMP).
With respect to claim 13, Lee, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the sensor is arranged to sense the photoacoustic effect in the eye-safety component directly. KMP teaches a related photoacoustic monitoring system with laser wherein the sensor can be directly on the optical element or adjacent (pg.3 para.1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Lee and Setiawan to place the sensor directly on the optical component as demonstrated by KMP in order to enable monitoring of shockwaves of small amplitude.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Setiawan and Jeen in view of Finn et al. (US 2019/0339234).
With respect to claim 19, Lee, as modified, teaches the method outlined above, but does not teach establishing the pre-determined acceptable range using an artificial neural network. Finn teaches a related acoustic monitoring device (abstract) which includes establishing the pre-determined acceptable range using an artificial neural network ([0041, 43-45]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to modify the method of Lee and Setiawan to establish the pre-determined acceptable range using an artificial neural network as demonstrated by Finn in order to make use of more complex models to verify damage (Finn, [0041]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art was not found to teach or make obvious adding a second emitter tuned to the resonant frequency of the eye-safety component in addition to the other outlined limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see the previously included pto892 for a list of related art.
/TOD T VAN ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828