DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This office action fully acknowledges Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 18 July 2025.
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from consideration.
No claims are cancelled.
Claims 1-5 and 7 are amended.
Claims 16 and 17 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umapathi (US 2019/0262829 A1), referred to hereinafter as “Umapathi”, in view of Kim et al. (US 2010/0096266 A1), referred to hereinafter as “Kim”.
Regarding Claim 1, Umapathi teaches an apparatus comprising:
a digital microfluidic (DMF) array 100 including a plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes 120 (Figs. 1A and 1B);
a controller communicatively coupled to a droplet dispenser to deposit fluid on the DMF array ([0231]: “Various processes described herein may be implemented by appropriately programmed general purpose computers, special purpose computers, and computing devices.” – See also Fig. 12C. [0183]: “Droplets may be dispensed onto the chip through one or more “liquid dispenser” droppers. Each liquid dispenser may be an electro-fluidic pump, syringe pump, simple tube, robotic pipettor, inkjet nozzle, acoustic ejection device, or other pressure or non-pressure driven device.”),
as in Claim 1.
Further regarding Claim 1, Umapathi does not specifically teach the apparatus discussed above wherein the controller is configured to:
receive a signal from a sensor monitoring a first droplet manipulation electrode of the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes, the signal indicating a droplet characteristic of a first droplet on the first droplet manipulation electrode or an electrode characteristic of the first droplet manipulation electrode;
select, based on the droplet characteristic of the first droplet or the electrode characteristic of the first droplet manipulation electrode, a second droplet manipulation electrode from the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes on which to dispense a first volume of fluid via the droplet dispenser;
position the droplet dispenser over the selected second droplet manipulation electrode; and
deposit the first volume of fluid onto the selected second droplet manipulation electrode, as in Claim 1.
However, Kim teaches a respective DMF array for laboratory droplet analysis wherein a controller is configured with the DMF array to monitor a characteristic (droplet size) of a first droplet on a first droplet manipulation electrode (See Fig. 5 and para. [0044].), and select a second electrode based on the characteristics of the first electrode to deposit a volume of fluid onto the second electrode (See Figs. 7A-D and paras. [0053-0054] discussing adding a droplet of a second solution to a second electrode based on satisfaction of the feedback system determining the size of the first droplet, so as to merge the two droplets thereby performing a dilution operation.).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus of Umapathi wherein the controller is configured to: receive a signal from a sensor monitoring a first droplet manipulation electrode of the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes, the signal indicating a droplet characteristic of a first droplet on the first droplet manipulation electrode or an electrode characteristic of the first droplet manipulation electrode; select, based on the droplet characteristic of the first droplet or the electrode characteristic of the first droplet manipulation electrode, a second droplet manipulation electrode from the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes on which to dispense a first volume of fluid via the droplet dispenser; position the droplet dispenser over the selected second droplet manipulation electrode; and deposit the first volume of fluid onto the selected second droplet manipulation electrode, such as suggested by Kim, so as to enable on-chip droplet dilution operations such as serial dilutions utilized prevalently in laboratory analyses; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Regarding Claim 2, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, modified Umapathi does not specifically teach the apparatus discussed above wherein the controller is configured to:
cause the droplet dispenser to move to a different position over a third droplet manipulation electrode of the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes responsive to a detection from the second droplet manipulation electrode; and deposit a second volume of fluid onto the third droplet manipulation electrode, as in Claim 2.
However, as discussed above regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches adding droplets to selected electrodes of the system based on feedback signals received by a controller. Therein, one skilled in the art would find it obvious to repeat the step of droplet detection and subsequent dispensing as many times as indicated or desired for a particular assay at hand.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus of Umapathi wherein the controller is configured to: cause the droplet dispenser to move to a different position over a third droplet manipulation electrode of the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes responsive to a detection from the second droplet manipulation electrode; and deposit a second volume of fluid onto the third droplet manipulation electrode, such as suggested by Kim, given that mere duplication of the detection and subsequent dispensing step would provide the expected result of another dilution performed or reagent added, which would be recognized by one skilled in the art given an assay requiring or benefiting from multiple dilutions or reagents combined; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 2 as discussed above. Further, Umapathi teaches the apparatus discussed above wherein the controller is configured to:
cause the first volume of fluid on the second droplet manipulation electrode to merge with the second volume of fluid deposited on the third droplet manipulation electrode (Figs. 10D-F and [0069]: “…differential wetting may be used to merge two droplets…”), wherein the first volume of fluid and the second volume of fluid are different fluids ([0195]: “…droplets of two reagents may be brought together…”), as in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Umapathi teaches the apparatus discussed above wherein the controller is configured to:
cause the droplet dispenser to move to a different position over a third droplet manipulation electrode of the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes absent a detection from the first droplet manipulation electrode (As Umapathi teaches the droplet dispenser 1184 as depositing droplets at any location of the electrowetting device ([0213]), and Umpathi teaches the deposition of two or more droplets ([0069]), and Umpathi teaches droplet location detection ([0189]), Umpathi thereby inherently teaches the droplet dispenser as moving to a different position over a second droplet manipulation electrode of the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes absent a detection from the first droplet manipulation electrode. – I.e. the controller does not rely on detection for depositing droplets; as currently claimed, the first electrode need not even hold a droplet to satisfy the condition of “absent a detection”.); and cause the first volume of fluid on the second droplet manipulation electrode to move to the third droplet manipulation electrode (Figs. 10A-C and [0003]: “A set of electrode pads is arranged in an array or in paths defining one or more tracks over which liquid droplets may be induced to move over a sequence of the electrode pads.” – Further, it appears the claim is drawn to droplet merging, which is discussed in Umapathi paras. [0053-0054].), as in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 4 as discussed above. Further, Umapathi teaches the apparatus discussed above wherein the controller is configured to:
cause the droplet dispenser to deposit a second volume of fluid onto the third volume of fluid on the second droplet manipulation electrode (As Umapathi teaches the droplet dispenser 1184 as depositing droplets at any location of the electrowetting device ([0213]), and Umpathi teaches the deposition of two or more droplets ([0069]), and Umpathi teaches droplet location detection ([0189]), Umpathi thereby inherently teaches the droplet dispenser as depositing a second volume of fluid onto the first volume of fluid on the second droplet manipulation electrode. – See also para. [0211] which discusses dispensing directly to a droplet already located on the chip.), wherein the first volume of fluid and the second volume of fluid are different fluids (As Umapathi teaches two or more droplets of different compositions being deposited on the electrowetting device ([0174], Umapathi inherently teaches the droplet dispenser as depositing droplets onto one another, wherein the droplets have different compositions.), as in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Umapathi teaches the apparatus discussed above further comprising a plurality of reservoirs 1164 coupled to the droplet dispenser, wherein each of the plurality of reservoirs 1164 contains a different fluid (Fig. 11I and [0184]: “Droplets may be moved from the digital microfluidic chip on to micro plates. Microplates are plates with wells that can hold samples. Microplates may have anywhere from one to a million wells on a single plate. Multiple microplates may interface with the chip in the box. To dispense droplets from the microfluidic chip to the microplate, electrowetting chips with various geometries may be used.” – Further, Fig. 11I shows various different fluids held in the wells 1164. While every well may not contain a different fluid, the microwell plate is fully capable of holding a different fluid in each well.), as in Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Umapathi teaches the apparatus discussed above wherein the controller is configured to:
transmit control signals to at least some of the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes ([0189]: “The cameras may be used to locate droplets on the chip, to measure volumes of droplets, to measuring mixing, and to analyze reaction in progress.”), as in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 16, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Umapathi does not specifically teach the apparatus discussed above wherein the controller is configured to select the second droplet manipulation electrode from the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes based on the droplet characteristic of the first droplet, as in Claim 16.
However, Kim teaches a respective DMF array for laboratory droplet analysis wherein a controller is configured with the DMF apparatus to monitor a characteristic (droplet size) of a first droplet on a first droplet manipulation electrode (See Fig. 5 and para. [0044].), and select a second electrode based on the characteristics of the first electrode to deposit a volume of fluid onto the second electrode (See Figs. 7A-D and paras. [0053-0054] discussing adding a droplet of a second solution to a second electrode based on satisfaction of the feedback system determining the size of the first droplet, so as to merge the two droplets thereby performing a dilution operation.).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus of Umapathi wherein the controller is configured to select the second droplet manipulation electrode from the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes based on the droplet characteristic of the first droplet, such as suggested by Kim, so as to enable on-chip droplet dilution operations such as serial dilutions utilized prevalently in laboratory analyses; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Regarding Claim 17, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Umapathi does not specifically teach the apparatus discussed above wherein the controller is configured to select the second droplet manipulation electrode from the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes based on the electrode characteristic of the first droplet manipulation electrode, as in Claim 17.
However, Kim teaches a respective DMF array for laboratory droplet analysis wherein a controller is configured with the DMF apparatus to monitor a characteristic (droplet size) of a first droplet on a first droplet manipulation electrode (See Fig. 5 and para. [0044].), and select a second electrode based on the characteristics of the first electrode to deposit a volume of fluid onto the second electrode (See Figs. 7A-D and paras. [0053-0054] discussing adding a droplet of a second solution to a second electrode based on satisfaction of the feedback system determining the size of the first droplet, so as to merge the two droplets thereby performing a dilution operation.). – See also Fig. 8A showing changing electrode characteristics used for measurement and detection.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus of Umapathi wherein the controller is configured to select the second droplet manipulation electrode from the plurality of droplet manipulation electrodes based on the electrode characteristic of the first droplet manipulation electrode, such as suggested by Kim, so as to enable on-chip droplet dilution operations such as serial dilutions utilized prevalently in laboratory analyses; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendments sufficiently overcome the objection over Claim 1 set forth in the previous office action. Accordingly, the claim rejection is hereby withdrawn.
35 USC 112
Applicant’s amendments sufficiently overcome those 35 USC 112(b) indefiniteness rejections set forth in the previous office action. Accordingly, those indefiniteness rejections under 35 USC 112(b) are hereby withdrawn.
35 USC 102
Applicant’s arguments are on the grounds that the device of Umapathi deposits droplets upon the DMF array electrodes in any arbitrary location, as opposed to the Claim 1 requirement that the device select a particular electrode on which to deposit a second droplet in response to a signal obtained from performing an analysis on a first droplet.
This is not found persuasive because the prior art reference of Kim (newly added herein as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments requiring the controller “configured to” perform the desired functions makes up for this deficiency. Kim teaches a respective DMF array wherein a feedback system monitors the droplet characteristic of droplet size and, upon the droplet size signal satisfying a predetermined voltage trigger of the electrode (Fig. 8A), the device selects second, third, etc. electrodes for depositing subsequent droplets for combining reagents with and diluting the original droplets (Figs. 7A-D). Note that while Kim teaches droplets actuated by the electrodes to reach the selected electrode as opposed to a movable dispenser depositing the droplets, Umapathi provides for the movable droplet dispenser, wherein one skilled in the art would modify the device of Umapathi with the detection and selecting capabilities of Kim while utilizing the movable dispenser of Umapathi for actually depositing droplets upon the chip.
Further note that the art of digital microfluidics is highly developed, wherein numerous devices disclose performing separate analyses based on an initial preliminary result, such as Srinivasan et al. (US 2007/0275415 A1), for example, which teaches conditional execution of controls triggered by a particular test result, such as performing a second confirmatory test ([0465]), which necessarily involves selecting electrodes and performing droplet manipulations as claimed herein. Thus, merely performing basic operations of selecting electrodes for providing droplets to merge with other droplets as claimed is routine and expected in such operations.
Applicant further argues that Claims 2-7 depend from Claim 1 and are thereby allowable in view of the alleged alloability of Claim 1.
This is not found persuasive because, as discussed above, Claim 1 is unpatentable under 35 USC 103 over Umapathi in view of Kim. Thus, Claims 2-7 are not allowable merely for their dependance on Claim 1.
New Claims
Claims 16-17 are newly added herein and rejected under 35 USC 103 over Umapathi in view of Kim. Thus, as discussed above, Claims 16-17 are not allowable merely for their dependance on Claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BENJAMIN JOSEPH KASS whose telephone number is (703)756-5501. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jill Warden, can be reached at telephone number (703)756-5501. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/B.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/NEIL N TURK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798