Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6, filed 11/28/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s)1-15 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hosoya (JP 2018089670 A) in view of Matsuo (US 5709585 A) and McDowell (US 3667165 A).
The rejection of claim 1 now only cites to the “example of the second aspect of the present invention (Preferred mode 1 of the present invention)” discussed in the reference, and has been updated to use the US version of the reference over the European patent application.
Specifically, regarding Applicants arguments regarding the grinding/cutting in the is conducted without moving the grinder in width and longitudinal directions. Examiner respectfully disagrees, Col 6 Line 5-10 of Matsuo discloses that during the grinding operation, the grinding machine 30 moves synchronously with the billet “The travelling grinding machine 30 is also supported in a movable state along the travelling direction of the billets 10 and 11, and the travelling grinding machine 30 moves when the grinding operation begins synchronously with the travelling billets 10 and 11.” Indicating the movement in the longitudinal direction. Regarding the with direction, as discussed below in the rejection of claim 1 and in Annotated Figure A below, the revolutionary movement of the grinding machine represents both a vertical and horizontal strip direction. As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosoya (JP 2018089670 A) in view of Matsuo (US 5709585 A) and McDowell (US 3667165 A).
Hosoya discloses A steel strip notching method comprising:
A steel strip notching method comprising:
forming a notch at an end portion of a joint of a steel strip in a strip width direction, the joint being formed by joining a trailing end of a preceding steel strip to a leading end of a succeeding steel strip (See Para [0011] “A method for notching a steel strip, characterized in that after forming a notch at an end portion in the width direction of a joint where the rear end of a preceding steel strip and the front end of a following steel strip are joined, the end portion in the width direction of the joint”); and
Condition A: cutting the region with a rotary grinding tool by feeding the rotary grinding tool at a feed rate in the strip width direction (See Para [0013] “10 is a graph showing the hardness distribution from the end 3b in the plate width direction of the joint after forming a notch toward the plate width center. 10 is a graph showing the hardness distribution from the end 3c in the width direction of the joint portion after grinding toward the center of the width of the plate.”)
But does not explicitly disclose: removing at least part of a region of the notch through grinding: by satisfying following Conditions A to D simultaneously:
Condition A: cutting the region with a rotary grinding tool by feeding the rotary grinding tool at a feed rate in the strip width direction,
Condition B: feeding the rotary grinding tool in a strip vertical direction at a feed rate that is a predetermined range of times the feed rate of the rotary grinding tool in the strip width direction, the strip vertical direction being substantially orthogonal to the strip width direction,
Condition C: giving a predetermined feed amount in a strip longitudinal direction while feeding the rotary grinding tool by a predetermined feed amount in the strip width direction simultaneously with feeding the rotary grinding tool in the strip vertical direction, the strip longitudinal direction being substantially orthogonal to both the strip vertical direction and the strip width direction, and
Condition D: cutting the region while oscillating the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction.
However, Matsuo discloses a burr removal method of that satisfies
Condition A: cutting the region with a rotary grinding tool by feeding the rotary grinding tool at a feed rate in the strip width direction (See Col 7 Line 56-59 “The travelling grinding machine 5 is supported in a movable state along the travelling direction of the billet, and, when the grinding starts, the travelling grinding machine 30 moves synchronously with the movement of the billet. The target billet in this example is a round billet, and the grinders 31 through 33 are supported in a revolutionary state along the circumference of the billet.” The revolutionary state involves the grinders revolving around the billet, this includes movement in the width and vertical direction of the billet),
Condition B: feeding the rotary grinding tool in a strip vertical direction at a feed rate that is a predetermined range of times the feed rate of the rotary grinding tool in the strip width direction, the strip vertical direction being substantially orthogonal to the strip width direction (See Col 7 Line 56-59 “The target billet in this example is a round billet, and the grinders 31 through 33 are supported in a revolutionary state along the circumference of the billet.” The revolutionary state involves the grinders revolving around the billet, this includes movement in the width and vertical direction of the billet),
Condition C: giving a predetermined feed amount in a strip longitudinal direction while feeding the rotary grinding tool by a predetermined feed amount in the strip width direction simultaneously with feeding the rotary grinding tool in the strip vertical direction, the strip longitudinal direction being substantially orthogonal to both the strip vertical direction and the strip width direction (See Col 7 Line 52-59 “The travelling grinding machine 5 is supported in a movable state along the travelling direction of the billet, and, when the grinding starts, the travelling grinding machine 30 moves synchronously with the movement of the billet. The target billet in this example is a round billet, and the grinders 31 through 33 are supported in a revolutionary state along the circumference of the billet.” See Annotated Figure A, the revolutionary motion of the grinding wheels result in the grinding wheel moving in both the horizontal and vertical direction, while also travelling along the workpiece),
Condition D: cutting the region while feeding the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction (Col 7 Line 52-56 “The travelling grinding machine 5 is supported in a movable state along the travelling direction of the billet, and, when the grinding starts, the travelling grinding machine 30 moves synchronously with the movement of the billet”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the burr of Hosoya to be able to feeding the rotary grinding tool in a strip vertical direction at a feed rate within a predetermined range with respect to a feed rate of the rotary grinding tool in the strip width direction, giving a predetermined feed amount in a strip longitudinal direction while feeding the rotary grinding tool by a predetermined feed amount in the strip width direction simultaneously with feeding the rotary grinding tool in the strip vertical direction, doing so would allow an operator to have a greater deal of control in the size and shape of the notch formed in the steel and accurately deburr said notches increasing the quality of the end product.
Hosoya as modified does not explicitly disclose
Condition D: cutting the region while oscillating the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction.
McDowell discloses a similar grinding tool wherein a rotary grinding tool (28) cuts a region while oscillating the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction (See Col 1 Line 30-44 “One of the specific difficulties experienced with prior grinders has been a tendency for the grinding wheel to remove an excessive amount of metal near the ends of the workpiece when the relative travel between the wheel and the workpiece slows down. It is conventional in conditioning grinders for the grinding wheel to be reciprocated back and forth along the work. For this purpose, the workpiece holder can be reciprocated beneath a stationary assembly containing the grinding wheel and its drive mechanism, or the workpiece can be held in a stationary holder with the grinding wheel mounted on a reciprocating carriage. There will also be provision for indexing the grinding wheel across the workpiece on successive longitudinal passes of the wheel in order to take a similar cut from each portion of the workpiece surface.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the method of Hosoya in view of McDowell to cut the region while oscillating the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction as McDowell discloses that it is conventional for grinding devices to be oscillated back and forth along the work during a grinding process to facilitate an effective material removal process. Examiner notes that modifying Hosoya as modified in view of McDowell would result in Conditions A-D being satisfied simultaneously during a grinding operation.
Annotated Figure A (Figure 2 of Matsuo)
Note regarding compact prosecution: Examiner recognizes that during the discussion with applicant in the interview dates 11/24/2025, Examiner and Applicant among other things discussed the difference in the circumferential movement of the grinding tool around the work piece in Matsuo with respect to the rectilinear movement of the grinding tool discloses in the instant application. In light of that discussion and to hopefully promote compact prosecution, Examiner is offering an alternative rejection at the end of this office action of Claim 1, wherein the limitation “the strip vertical direction being substantially orthogonal to the strip width direction” is interpreted such that a circumferential movement of the grinding wheel could only satisfy a width direction or a vertical direction but not both.
Regarding claim 2, Hosoya as modified teaches all the limitations of claim of 1 and in addition discloses wherein the rotary grinding tool is a rotary burr (See Para [0021] “The work-hardened portion is preferably removed by grinding with a disc grinder or the like. This disc grinder is equipped with a grinding wheel, and by rotating this grinding wheel at high speed, it is possible to remove the work-hardened portion by grinding.”), and suggests but doesn’t explicitly disclose the rotary burr is fed in the strip vertical direction at a feed rate in a range of 0.3 to 10.0 times a feed rate of the rotary burr in the strip width direction (See above rejection of claim 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Hosoya to control the movement of the grinder with respect to the work piece as beneficially described by Matsuo in order to ensure that the correct material on the workpiece is worked via the grinder while ensuring that the workflow is uninterrupted by stopping the work piece for the grinding operation, additionally Hosoya discloses a small grinding tolerance and would assist in meeting said tolerance (See Hosoya Para [0021] “The work-hardened portion is preferably removed by grinding with a disc grinder or the like. This disc grinder is equipped with a grinding wheel, and by rotating this grinding wheel at high speed, it is possible to remove the work-hardened portion by grinding. As an example, the grain size (grit) of the grindstone used for grinding is preferably #80 to #120. The grinding speed is preferably in the range of 0.1 to 0.2 mm/sec. If the grain size of the grindstone is less than #80, the grain size of the grindstone becomes too coarse, and excessive load is applied to the grinding portion, which may cause new work hardening. Similarly, if the grinding speed is faster than 0.2 mm/sec, an excessive load is applied to the ground portion, which may cause new work hardening. By using such a disc grinder in a steel strip notching system, the work-hardened portion can be easily removed by grinding.”) showing that the grinding speed (feed rate) is a result effective variable as the rate can cause undesirable work hardening, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize the feed rate and amount of the grinder and finding the ideal feed rate and amount would be a matter of routine experimentation See MPEP 2144.05 II A. Examiner notes that applicant has not established criticality with regards to the feed rate stating only in Para [0031] “The rotary burr is fed in the strip width direction to cut the widthwise end portion of the joint, and the rotary burr is also fed in the strip vertical direction at a feed rate within a predetermined range with respect to a feed rate of the rotary burr in the strip width direction. Here, the rotary burr is preferably fed in the strip vertical direction at a feed rate 0.3 to 10.0 times the feed rate of the rotary burr in the strip width direction.”
Regarding claim 3, Hosoya as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and wherein the rotary grinding tool is a rotary burr, and suggests but does not explicitly disclose and a feed amount greater than or equal to 5.0% of a diameter of the rotary burr is given in the strip longitudinal direction while the rotary burr is fed in the strip width direction by the predetermined feed amount, the predetermined feed amount being less than or equal to 1.0% of the diameter of the rotary burr (See above rejection of claim 1).
However, Hosoya discloses in Para [0019] that work hardening occurs at a certain notching depth “In order to investigate the range of work hardening, the hardness distribution was measured from the end 3b of the joint 3 toward the center of the plate width, and the results are shown in FIG. As shown in FIG. 2, the Vickers hardness is highest at the end 3b due to the work hardening, and the increase in Vickers hardness decreases from the end 3b toward the center of the sheet width. In the range of 1 mm or more from the end 3b toward the center of the plate width, the Vickers hardness (240 HV) is equivalent to that of the end 3a before the notch is formed. That is, it can be seen from FIG. 2 that work hardening occurs in the range from the end 3b to 1 mm in the widthwise center direction. Therefore, it is believed that it is possible to prevent the occurrence of cracks by removing the area from the end 3b to 1 mm in the widthwise center direction.”
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to optimize the feed amount in the width and longitudinal direction, as Hosoya establishes that the feed amount is a result effective variable (See Hosoya Para [0020] “In FIG. 1C, the blank area within the dotted line indicates a ground region 5 that has been removed by grinding. As described above, work hardening occurs in the range from end 3b to 1 mm in the widthwise center direction, so it is preferable to remove the range from end 3b to 1 mm in the widthwise center direction by grinding. That is, in FIG. 1(c), it is preferable that the grinding width T (the distance from the end 3b of the joint 3 to the center of the plate width) is in the range of 1 mm or less. As an example, the grinding width T is preferably 0.5 mm or more and 1.0 mm or less. The grinding width T can be, for example, equal to or greater than 0.5 mm and less than 1.0 mm, and can be equal to or greater than 0.5 mm and equal to or less than 0.9 mm. In order to suppress abrupt fluctuations in the width of the steel strip, the grinding range in the longitudinal direction of the steel strip, that is, the grinding length L in FIG. 1(c), is preferably set to 10 mm or more. In the present invention, as described later, sufficient effect can be obtained by setting the increase in Vickers hardness of the plate width direction end 3c (hereinafter simply referred to as "end 3c") of the joint 3 after grinding to 50 HV or less relative to the Vickers hardness of the end 3a, so the grinding width T is appropriately adjusted depending on the Vickers hardness of the end 3c. In this specification, the Vickers hardness is measured in accordance with JIS Z 2244.”) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent undesirable work hardening, and doing so would be a matter of routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II A. Examiner notes that applicant has not established criticality of the feed amount in the width and longitudinal direction, stating in Para [0032] “The predetermined feed amount in the strip width direction is preferably, but not particularly limited to, greater than or equal to 0.2% of the rotary burr diameter. Also, the feed amount in the strip longitudinal direction is preferably, but not particularly limited to, less than or equal to 300% of the rotary burr diameter.”
Regarding Claim 4, Hosoya as modified discloses a cold rolling method comprising cold rolling a steel strip notched by the steel strip notching method (See Para [0011] of Hosoya “[1] A method for notching a steel strip, characterized in that after forming a notch at a widthwise end portion of a joint where the rear end of a leading steel strip and the front end of a trailing steel strip are joined, the widthwise end portion of the joint where the Vickers hardness has increased due to the formation of the notch is removed by grinding, and the increase in Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint after the grinding is 50 HV or less compared to the Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint before the notch is formed. [2] A cold rolling method, comprising cold rolling a steel strip after notching by the steel strip notching method described in [1]. [3] A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip, comprising the steps of: producing a cold-rolled steel strip using the cold rolling method according to [2].”) according to Claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 5, Hosoya as modified discloses A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip the method comprising forming a cold-rolled steel strip by using the cold rolling method (See Para [0011] of Hosoya “(See Para [0011] of Hosoya “[1] A method for notching a steel strip, characterized in that after forming a notch at a widthwise end portion of a joint where the rear end of a leading steel strip and the front end of a trailing steel strip are joined, the widthwise end portion of the joint where the Vickers hardness has increased due to the formation of the notch is removed by grinding, and the increase in Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint after the grinding is 50 HV or less compared to the Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint before the notch is formed. [2] A cold rolling method, comprising cold rolling a steel strip after notching by the steel strip notching method described in [1]. [3] A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip, comprising the steps of: producing a cold-rolled steel strip using the cold rolling method according to [2].”) according to Claim 4 (See Rejection of Claim 4 above).
Regarding claim 6, Hosoya as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and wherein the rotary grinding tool is a rotary burr, and suggests but does not explicitly disclose and a feed amount greater than or equal to 5.0% of a diameter of the rotary burr is given in the strip longitudinal direction while the rotary burr is fed in the strip width direction by the predetermined feed amount, the predetermined feed amount being less than or equal to 1.0% of the diameter of the rotary burr (See above rejection of claim 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to optimize the feed amount in the width and longitudinal direction, as Hosoya establishes that the feed amount is a result effective variable (See Hosoya Para [0020] “In FIG. 1C, the blank area within the dotted line indicates a ground region 5 that has been removed by grinding. As described above, work hardening occurs in the range from end 3b to 1 mm in the widthwise center direction, so it is preferable to remove the range from end 3b to 1 mm in the widthwise center direction by grinding. That is, in FIG. 1(c), it is preferable that the grinding width T (the distance from the end 3b of the joint 3 to the center of the plate width) is in the range of 1 mm or less. As an example, the grinding width T is preferably 0.5 mm or more and 1.0 mm or less. The grinding width T can be, for example, equal to or greater than 0.5 mm and less than 1.0 mm, and can be equal to or greater than 0.5 mm and equal to or less than 0.9 mm. In order to suppress abrupt fluctuations in the width of the steel strip, the grinding range in the longitudinal direction of the steel strip, that is, the grinding length L in FIG. 1(c), is preferably set to 10 mm or more. In the present invention, as described later, sufficient effect can be obtained by setting the increase in Vickers hardness of the plate width direction end 3c (hereinafter simply referred to as "end 3c") of the joint 3 after grinding to 50 HV or less relative to the Vickers hardness of the end 3a, so the grinding width T is appropriately adjusted depending on the Vickers hardness of the end 3c. In this specification, the Vickers hardness is measured in accordance with JIS Z 2244.”) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent undesirable work hardening, and doing so would be a matter of routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II A. Examiner notes that applicant has not established criticality of the feed amount in the width and longitudinal direction, stating in Para [0032] “The predetermined feed amount in the strip width direction is preferably, but not particularly limited to, greater than or equal to 0.2% of the rotary burr diameter. Also, the feed amount in the strip longitudinal direction is preferably, but not particularly limited to, less than or equal to 300% of the rotary burr diameter.”
Regarding Claim 7, Hosoya as modified discloses a cold rolling method comprising cold rolling a steel strip notched by the steel strip notching method (See Para [0011] of Hosoya “[1] A method for notching a steel strip, characterized in that after forming a notch at a widthwise end portion of a joint where the rear end of a leading steel strip and the front end of a trailing steel strip are joined, the widthwise end portion of the joint where the Vickers hardness has increased due to the formation of the notch is removed by grinding, and the increase in Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint after the grinding is 50 HV or less compared to the Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint before the notch is formed. [2] A cold rolling method, comprising cold rolling a steel strip after notching by the steel strip notching method described in [1]. [3] A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip, comprising the steps of: producing a cold-rolled steel strip using the cold rolling method according to [2].”) according to Claim 2 (See rejection of claim 2 above).
Regarding Claim 8, Hosoya as modified discloses a cold rolling method comprising cold rolling a steel strip notched by the steel strip notching method (See Para [0011] of Hosoya “[1] A method for notching a steel strip, characterized in that after forming a notch at a widthwise end portion of a joint where the rear end of a leading steel strip and the front end of a trailing steel strip are joined, the widthwise end portion of the joint where the Vickers hardness has increased due to the formation of the notch is removed by grinding, and the increase in Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint after the grinding is 50 HV or less compared to the Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint before the notch is formed. [2] A cold rolling method, comprising cold rolling a steel strip after notching by the steel strip notching method described in [1]. [3] A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip, comprising the steps of: producing a cold-rolled steel strip using the cold rolling method according to [2].”) according to Claim 1 (See rejection of claim 3 above).
Regarding Claim 9, Hosoya as modified discloses a cold rolling method comprising cold rolling a steel strip notched by the steel strip notching method (See Para [0011] of Hosoya “[1] A method for notching a steel strip, characterized in that after forming a notch at a widthwise end portion of a joint where the rear end of a leading steel strip and the front end of a trailing steel strip are joined, the widthwise end portion of the joint where the Vickers hardness has increased due to the formation of the notch is removed by grinding, and the increase in Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint after the grinding is 50 HV or less compared to the Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint before the notch is formed. [2] A cold rolling method, comprising cold rolling a steel strip after notching by the steel strip notching method described in [1]. [3] A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip, comprising the steps of: producing a cold-rolled steel strip using the cold rolling method according to [2].”) according to Claim 9 (See rejection of claim 9 above).
Regarding Claim 10, Hosoya as modified discloses A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip the method comprising forming a cold-rolled steel strip by using the cold rolling method (See Para [0011] of Hosoya “(See Para [0011] of Hosoya “[1] A method for notching a steel strip, characterized in that after forming a notch at a widthwise end portion of a joint where the rear end of a leading steel strip and the front end of a trailing steel strip are joined, the widthwise end portion of the joint where the Vickers hardness has increased due to the formation of the notch is removed by grinding, and the increase in Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint after the grinding is 50 HV or less compared to the Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint before the notch is formed. [2] A cold rolling method, comprising cold rolling a steel strip after notching by the steel strip notching method described in [1]. [3] A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip, comprising the steps of: producing a cold-rolled steel strip using the cold rolling method according to [2].”) according to Claim 7 (See Rejection of Claim 7 above).
Regarding Claim 11, Hosoya as modified discloses A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip the method comprising forming a cold-rolled steel strip by using the cold rolling method (See Para [0011] of Hosoya “(See Para [0011] of Hosoya “[1] A method for notching a steel strip, characterized in that after forming a notch at a widthwise end portion of a joint where the rear end of a leading steel strip and the front end of a trailing steel strip are joined, the widthwise end portion of the joint where the Vickers hardness has increased due to the formation of the notch is removed by grinding, and the increase in Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint after the grinding is 50 HV or less compared to the Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint before the notch is formed. [2] A cold rolling method, comprising cold rolling a steel strip after notching by the steel strip notching method described in [1]. [3] A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip, comprising the steps of: producing a cold-rolled steel strip using the cold rolling method according to [2].”) according to Claim 8 (See Rejection of Claim 8 above).
Regarding Claim 12, Hosoya as modified discloses A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip the method comprising forming a cold-rolled steel strip by using the cold rolling method (See Para [0011] of Hosoya “(See Para [0011] of Hosoya “[1] A method for notching a steel strip, characterized in that after forming a notch at a widthwise end portion of a joint where the rear end of a leading steel strip and the front end of a trailing steel strip are joined, the widthwise end portion of the joint where the Vickers hardness has increased due to the formation of the notch is removed by grinding, and the increase in Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint after the grinding is 50 HV or less compared to the Vickers hardness of the widthwise end portion of the joint before the notch is formed. [2] A cold rolling method, comprising cold rolling a steel strip after notching by the steel strip notching method described in [1]. [3] A method for producing a cold-rolled steel strip, comprising the steps of: producing a cold-rolled steel strip using the cold rolling method according to [2].”) according to Claim 7 (See Rejection of Claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 13, Hosoya as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the rotary grinding tool is fed in the strip vertical direction and in a rotation axis direction of the rotary grinding tool at the feed rate that is the predetermined range of times the feed rate of the rotary grinding tool (See Matsuo Col 7 Line 52-59 “The travelling grinding machine 5 is supported in a movable state along the travelling direction of the billet, and, when the grinding starts, the travelling grinding machine 30 moves synchronously with the movement of the billet. The target billet in this example is a round billet, and the grinders 31 through 33 are supported in a revolutionary state along the circumference of the billet.” See Annotated Figure A, the revolutionary motion of the grinding wheels result in the grinding wheel moving in both the horizontal and vertical direction, while also travelling along the workpiece), and a feed amount in the strip longitudinal direction from a turning point to a next turning point is predetermined (See Col 2 line 9-8 “and the travelling grinding machine 30 moves when the grinding operation begins synchronously with the travelling billets 10 and 11.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Hosoya as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses, wherein a travel of the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction turns before a feed amount of the rotary grinding tool in the strip width direction exceeds a predetermined amount (See Matsuo Col 7 Line 52-59 “The travelling grinding machine 5 is supported in a movable state along the travelling direction of the billet, and, when the grinding starts, the travelling grinding machine 30 moves synchronously with the movement of the billet. The target billet in this example is a round billet, and the grinders 31 through 33 are supported in a revolutionary state along the circumference of the billet.” See Annotated Figure A, the revolutionary motion of the grinding wheels result in the grinding wheel moving in both the horizontal and vertical direction, while also travelling along the workpiece), and a feed amount in the strip longitudinal direction from a turning point to a next turning point is predetermined (See Matsuo Col 7 Line 54-56 “when the grinding starts, the travelling grinding machine 30 moves synchronously with the movement of the billet.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Hosoya as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses, wherein the region is cut while oscillating the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction (See McDowell Col 1 Line 30-44 “One of the specific difficulties experienced with prior grinders has been a tendency for the grinding wheel to remove an excessive amount of metal near the ends of the workpiece when the relative travel between the wheel and the workpiece slows down. It is conventional in conditioning grinders for the grinding wheel to be reciprocated back and forth along the work. For this purpose, the workpiece holder can be reciprocated beneath a stationary assembly containing the grinding wheel and its drive mechanism, or the workpiece can be held in a stationary holder with the grinding wheel mounted on a reciprocating carriage. There will also be provision for indexing the grinding wheel across the workpiece on successive longitudinal passes of the wheel in order to take a similar cut from each portion of the workpiece surface.”) and simultaneously feeding in the strip width direction (See Matsuo Col 6 Line 5-10 “The travelling grinding machine 30 is also supported in a movable state along the travelling direction of the billets 10 and 11, and the travelling grinding machine 30 moves when the grinding operation begins synchronously with the travelling billets 10 and 11.”).
Claim(s) 1 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosoya (JP 2018089670 A) in view of Matsuo (EP 0761331 A1) and McDowell (US 3667165 A), and Staskiewicz (US 3780552).
Please see note following the original rejection of claim 1 above
Hosoya discloses A steel strip notching method comprising:
A steel strip notching method comprising:
forming a notch at an end portion of a joint of a steel strip in a strip width direction, the joint being formed by joining a trailing end of a preceding steel strip to a leading end of a succeeding steel strip (See Para [0011] “A method for notching a steel strip, characterized in that after forming a notch at an end portion in the width direction of a joint where the rear end of a preceding steel strip and the front end of a following steel strip are joined, the end portion in the width direction of the joint”); and
But does not explicitly disclose: removing at least part of a region of the notch through grinding: by satisfying following Conditions A to D simultaneously:
Condition A: cutting the region with a rotary grinding tool by feeding the rotary grinding tool at a feed rate in the strip width direction,
Condition B: feeding the rotary grinding tool in a strip vertical direction at a feed rate that is a predetermined range of times the feed rate of the rotary grinding tool in the strip width direction, the strip vertical direction being substantially orthogonal to the strip width direction,
Condition C: giving a predetermined feed amount in a strip longitudinal direction while feeding the rotary grinding tool by a predetermined feed amount in the strip width direction simultaneously with feeding the rotary grinding tool in the strip vertical direction, the strip longitudinal direction being substantially orthogonal to both the strip vertical direction and the strip width direction, and
Condition D: cutting the region while oscillating the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction.
However, Matsuo discloses a burr removal method of that satisfies
Condition A: cutting the region with a rotary grinding tool by feeding the rotary grinding tool at a feed rate in the strip width direction (See Col 7 Line 52-56 “The travelling grinding machine 5 is supported in a movable state along the travelling direction of the billet, and, when the grinding starts, the travelling grinding machine 30 moves synchronously with the movement of the billet.”),
Condition B: feeding the rotary grinding tool in a strip vertical direction at a feed rate that is a predetermined range of times the feed rate of the rotary grinding tool in the strip width direction, the strip vertical direction being substantially orthogonal to the strip width direction (See Col 7 Line 56-59 “The target billet in this example is a round billet, and the grinders 31 through 33 are supported in a revolutionary state along the circumference of the billet.”),
Condition C: giving a predetermined feed amount in a strip longitudinal direction while feeding the rotary grinding tool by a predetermined feed amount in the strip width direction simultaneously with feeding the rotary grinding tool in the strip vertical direction, (See Col 7 52-59 “The travelling grinding machine 5 is supported in a movable state along the travelling direction of the billet, and, when the grinding starts, the travelling grinding machine 30 moves synchronously with the movement of the billet. The target billet in this example is a round billet, and the grinders 31 through 33 are supported in a revolutionary state along the circumference of the billet.” See Annotated Figure A, the revolutionary motion of the grinding wheels result in the grinding wheel moving in both the horizontal and vertical direction, while also travelling along the workpiece),
Condition D: cutting the region while feeding the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction (Col 7 Line 52-56 “The travelling grinding machine 5 is supported in a movable state along the travelling direction of the billet, and, when the grinding starts, the travelling grinding machine 30 moves synchronously with the movement of the billet”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the burr of Hosoya to be able to feeding the rotary grinding tool in a strip vertical direction at a feed rate within a predetermined range with respect to a feed rate of the rotary grinding tool in the strip width direction, giving a predetermined feed amount in a strip longitudinal direction while feeding the rotary grinding tool by a predetermined feed amount in the strip width direction simultaneously with feeding the rotary grinding tool in the strip vertical direction, doing so would allow an operator to have a greater deal of control in the size and shape of the notch formed in the steel and accurately deburr said notches increasing the quality of the end product.
Hosoya as modified does not explicitly disclose
The strip longitudinal direction being substantially orthogonal to both the strip vertical direction and the strip width direction
Condition D: cutting the region while oscillating the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction.
McDowell discloses a similar grinding tool wherein a rotary grinding tool (28) cuts a region while oscillating the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction (See Col 1 Line 30-44 “One of the specific difficulties experienced with prior grinders has been a tendency for the grinding wheel to remove an excessive amount of metal near the ends of the workpiece when the relative travel between the wheel and the workpiece slows down. It is conventional in conditioning grinders for the grinding wheel to be reciprocated back and forth along the work. For this purpose, the workpiece holder can be reciprocated beneath a stationary assembly containing the grinding wheel and its drive mechanism, or the workpiece can be held in a stationary holder with the grinding wheel mounted on a reciprocating carriage. There will also be provision for indexing the grinding wheel across the workpiece on successive longitudinal passes of the wheel in order to take a similar cut from each portion of the workpiece surface.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the method of Hosoya in view of McDowell to cut the region while oscillating the rotary grinding tool in the strip longitudinal direction as McDowell discloses that it is conventional for grinding devices to be oscillated back and forth along the work during a grinding process to facilitate an effective material removal process. Examiner notes that modifying Hosoya as modified in view of McDowell would result in Conditions A-D being satisfied simultaneously during a grinding operation.
And Staskiewicz discloses a similar method for removing burrs in joined billets Wherein a cutting tool (49) is moveable in a strip vertical direction (up and down in Fig. 1) being substantially orthogonal to both the strip longitudinal direction (left and right along the billet in Fig. 1) and the strip width direction (Into and out of the page of Fig. 1). (See Col 6 Line 9-17 “it is preferred not to incline the tool from the direction normal to the direction of bar travel so that the cutting insert 49 at the leading edge thereof coincides with the center of axle 30 of the roll support 26 to thereby establish the proper depth of cut. Moreover, by maintaining a predetermined pressure on the elevation means 52 and rigidly securing the chamfering tools 47 within receiver 45 oscillations from the pass line are minimized.” The elevation means 52 provides a biasing downward force of the cutting tool (feeding the tool in a vertical direction) towards the billet such that any irregularities or disturbances minimizes the oscillations of the cutting tool during the working process).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cutting tool of Hosoya to feed the cutting tool in a vertical direction orthogonal to the longitudinal and width direction as doing so would ensure that the grinding or cutting tool stays at the desired depth, and does not make any unnecessary removal of materials, increasing the accuracy and fidelity of the process.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723