DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election Requirement
The Office acknowledges the Applicant’s election of Group I as set forth in the Requirement for Restriction/Election filed 10/24/25.
The election reads on Claims 1-11, 14, and 15.
Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 12 and 13 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The Specification filed 05/20/22 recites the structures chemical compounds on the following pages: 21-24, 30-32, and 38-40 which are all graphically unclear due to their low resolutions; they have faded lines and atoms which are not clearly drawn. They all need to be replaced by structures which are clearly legible, with all bonds and atoms clearly drawn (with solid lines).
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim recites the structures which are all graphically unclear due to their low resolutions; they have faded lines and atoms which are not clearly drawn. They need to be replaced by structures which are clearly legible, with all bonds and atoms clearly drawn (with solid liens).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites “a weight % of the first compound” that is equal to or greater than “a weight % of the second compound” which renders the exact scope of the claim indefinite as the scope of the “weight %” as recited in the claim is not clear. The Office has interpreted the “weight %” to refer to the percentage of the total weight of the first emitting material layer for the purpose of this Examination.
Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-5, 8-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (WO 2015/022987 A1) in view of Adachi et al. (US 2015/0105564 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2016/0268516 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2015/022987 A1 (herein referred to as “Tanaka et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to those found in the national phase publication.
Regarding Claims 1-5 and 14, Tanaka et al. discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) element (organic light emitting diode) comprising the following layers: anode, hole-injecting layer, hole-transporting layer, electron-blocking layer, light-emitting layer, hole-blocking layer, electron-transporting layer, electron-injecting layer, and cathode which lie on a substrate ([0153], [0373]); additional light-emitting units can be present (including three), which are interposed by intermediate (“charge generating”) layers ([0160]-[0164]). The non-light emitting surface of the device is covered with a glass case, with the substrate acting as a sealing substrate ([0373]). The one or plural light-emitting layers (i.e., within each light-emitting unit or among the plurality of light-emitting units) comprise a plurality of emission dopant materials to emit white light, particularly via the combination of blue, green, and red ([0177]-[0178], [0338], [0369]). The mass ratio of the host material is at least 20% ([0189]); a plurality of host materials can be present ([0190]). The light-emitting layer(s) comprise fluorescent compound(s) (dopant material(s)) in combination with host material(s) (the latter in excess) ([0024], [0173]); a plurality of dopants can be employed ([0175]). Delayed fluorescent dopants are used ([0101]-[0105]). Tanaka et al. further discloses host materials of the following form:
([0197]) where X101 = NR101, O, or S (among others), Ar101 = aryl or heteroaryl ([0198], [0205]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 38) (first compound) such that R = C6 aryl group (phenyl) and Z1-2 = O of Applicant’s Formula 1. However, Tanaka et al. does not explicitly disclose a first compound that fully reads on the Applicant’s formula, particularly in regards of the bonding position on the peripheral dibenzofuranyl group. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify compound H-191 as disclosed by Tanaka et al. (above) such that the resulting compound fully conforms to Applicant’s Formula 1 (and corresponds to 1-4 as recited in Claim 2). The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves change in the bonding position on the peripheral dibenzofuranyl group, producing a positional isomer that can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties; additional motivation exists, including the fact that the modification merely involves selection of one possible embodiment from a highly finite list as envisioned from the scope of Tanaka et al.’s general formula (in regards to the manner of connection of the -(Ar102)n102 group, i.e., wherein the bonding can occur at any position on the Ar102 group), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success. However, Tanaka et al. does not explicitly disclose a second compound as recited in Claim 1.
Adachi et al. discloses the following compound that is “extremely useful” as (delayed) fluorescent material, the use of which results in a device that can have high light emission efficiency ([0009]):
([0010], [0020]; page 7) (second compound) such that X = single bond, n2 = 2, n1 = 2, and Y = CN of Applicant’s Formula 2-1; corresponds to 2-9 as recited in Claim 3. It would have been obvious to incorporate any Compound No. 21 as disclosed by Adachi et al. into (any of) the light-emitting layer(s) of the organic EL device as disclosed by Tanaka et al. (as dopant material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Adachi et al., which teaches that the use of its materials as emitters may result in a device with high light emission efficiency.
Regarding Claims 8-11, Notice that the light-emitting layer comprising a plurality of dopant materials (for red, green, and blue emission) (second and third compounds) and a plurality of host materials (first and second hosts, which can be identical compounds, along with Tanaka et al.’s modified compound H-191 (first compound)) can be divided into three sublayers (corresponding to the first, second, and third layers starting from the anode). Defining the electron-blocking layer to further include some arbitrary portion of the first layer (comprising first host), and defining the hole-blocking layer to further include some arbitrary portion of the third layer (comprising second host) would inherently read the limitations of Claims 10 and 11.
13. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (WO 2015/022987 A1) in view of Adachi et al. (US 2015/0105564 A1) as applied above and in further view of Matsunami et al. (JP 2008-159777 A).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2016/0268516 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2015/022987 A1 (herein referred to as “Tanaka et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to those found in the national phase publication.
The Office has further relied on the Machine English translation of foreign patent publication JP 2008-159777 A (herein referred to as “Matsunami et al.”) as the English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to those found in the Machine English translation.
Tanaka et al. in view of Adachi et al. discloses the organic electroluminescent (EL) device (light emitting display device) of Claim 4 as shown above. The light-emitting layer comprise plural emission dopant materials to emit white light, particularly via the combination of blue, green, and red ([0177]-[0178], [0338], [0369]). The light-emitting layer(s) comprise fluorescent compound(s) (dopant material(s)) in combination with host material(s) (the latter in excess) ([0024], [0173]); a plurality of dopants can be employed ([0175]). However, Tanaka et al. in view of Adachi et al. does not explicitly disclose a third compound as recited in the claim.
Matsunami et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 10 of Matsunami et al.) (third compound) such that R41 = R43 = R45 = R47 = C7 aryl group (tolyl) and R42 = R44 = R46 = hydrogen of Applicant’s Formula 5-3. Matsunami et al. discloses its inventive compounds as dopant materials (which are in combination with host materials) for red emission, the use of which results in good luminous efficiency and color purity ([0012]-[0013]). Host materials include the following ([0045], [0051], [0055]):
(page 22 of Matsunami et al.) (alternative third compound). It would have been obvious to incorporate the composition as disclosed by Matsunami et al. into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Tanaka et al. in view of Adachi et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Matsunami et al., which discloses a red-emitting composition for the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device, the use of which results in good luminous efficiency and color purity.
14. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (WO 2015/022987 A1) in view of Adachi et al. (US 2015/0105564 A1) as applied above and in further view of Ramadas et al. (US 2011/0132449 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2016/0268516 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2015/022987 A1 (herein referred to as “Tanaka et al.”). Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to those found in the national phase publication.
Tanaka et al. in view of Adachi et al. discloses the organic electroluminescent (EL) device (light emitting display device) of Claim 1 as shown above. However, Tanaka et al. in view of Adachi et al. does not explicitly disclose an encapsulation film covering the device.
Ramadas et al. discloses a barrier film (120) which encapsulates an organic EL device (OLED) (Fig. 1); such films are “highly effective” for encapsulating moisture and oxygen sensitive devices as well as neutralizing UV light ([0009], [0011]). The invention avoids the use of metal or metal oxide film, which overcomes the problem of barrier degradation ([0011]). It would have been obvious to incorporate such an encapsulating layer into the organic EL device as disclosed by Tanaka et al. in view of Adachi et al. The motivation is provided by the fact that such a layer would provide moisture, oxygen, and UV protection, with the added benefit of increased durability due to the avoidance of metal or metal oxide film.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786