DETAILED ACTION
Reopening of Prosecution After Appeal Brief
In view of the appeal brief filed on 10/25/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A new ground of rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 of U.S. Application No. 17/778,870 filed on 05/23/2022 have been examined. Examiner filed a non-final rejection on 03/28/2024.
Applicant filed remarks and amendments on 09/26/2024. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 1 - 5 have been examined. Examiner filed a final rejection on 05/28/2025.
Applicant filed an appeal brief on 10/25/2025. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 1 - 5 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102: Applicant's arguments filed 10/25/2025 with respect to Tomita et al. (US 11726485 B2) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Appellant’s Argument 1: “The Examiner makes two mistakes in the above interpretation of Tomita to the claimed invention. First, the above process involves not the headland area SA but the work area CA. Claim 1 makes a distinction between a headland region and a work region: ‘a headland region formed between a work region for allowing the work vehicle to perform work while autonomously traveling, and a peripheral edge formed from a plurality of edges, in a field surrounded by the peripheral edge.’ (Emphasis added.) So Tomita’s process does not apply to the headland region of the claimed invention.”
The Examiner’s interpretation of Tomita is not mistaken, as Tomita explicitly discloses processes that apply to both the work area (CA) and the headland/outer peripheral area (SA), with routes generated and selected for travel in the headland region to support autonomous travel, including turns, unloading, and direction changes. Tomita distinguishes between the work region (area CA to be worked, where primary harvesting occurs) and the headland region (outer peripheral area SA, formed between CA and the field’s peripheral edge), mirroring the claimed distinction. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 5, lines 38-43): “The area setting unit segments the work site into the outer peripheral area and the area to be worked by setting an area on the outer peripheral side of the work site circled by the work vehicle as the outer peripheral area and setting the inner side of the outer peripheral area as the area to be worked.” This establishes SA as the headland region surrounding CA, the work region.
Furthermore, Tomita’s route generation and selection processes extend to the headland region SA for autonomous travel therein. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 3, lines 62-66): “The outer peripheral area can be used as a travel route for movement involved in supplying chemicals, supplying fertilizer, unloading harvested crops, and refueling, for changing directions, and so on.” Additionally, verbatim from Tomita (col. 12, lines 7-10): “Travel routes for departing the area CA to be worked and returning to the area CA to be worked are generated at the point in time when the outer peripheral area SA is set.” Tomita’s Fig. 9 illustrates normal U-turn and switchback turns in SA, showing autonomous travel in the headland region along auxiliary routes parallel to edges for direction changes. The mesh route element calculating unit (601) generates line sets parallel to field edges (S1-S4), and these extend into SA for seamless transitions, as seen in Figs. 11-12 where spiral and linear travels involve headland maneuvers. Thus, Tomita’s processes apply directly to creating and executing headland traveling auxiliary routes in SA, anticipating the claimed headland region distinction and functionality.
Appellant’s Argument 2: “Second, the Examiner alleges that Tomita’s process inherently involves determining the vehicle’s position relative to the edges (S1, S2, S3, S4) of the area CA. It neither inherently nor explicitly involves the vehicle’s position. The mesh line set is generated only by applying the work width of the harvester 1 (fixed value), which is neither the position nor the angle (variable value) of the harvester 1. That is, the explanation of the generation of the mesh line set in Fig. 7 makes it clear that no position or orientation of the harvester 1 is considered in generating the mesh line set; parallel lines from an edge (S1, S2, S3, or S4) are generated based only on the ½ width and width of the harvester 1. The first line of the edges of S1 is calculated by spacing ½ width from S1 and following parallel lines are replicated by spacing the whole width of the harvester 1 from the first line. The same process is made for S2, S3, and S4. In this way, a grid pattern in the work area CA is made as seen in Fig. 7. If the positional coordinates of two points on a line (for instance, end points of a line) are known, then that line can be stored as data and readily identified in the grid pattern (see Fig. 7 and its explanation in columns 18:38 and 19:12). No position or orientation of the harvester 1 is used to generate the grid pattern or identify a line in the grid pattern.”
Tomita explicitly discloses using the vehicle’s position and orientation relative to the edges for selecting and determining routes, including the selection of a selective edge (e.g., S1-S4) from among the plurality of edges on the basis of distance and angle. While initial mesh line generation uses work width for spacing, the selection of which edge (side) to base the parallel lines on, and which route element to follow, explicitly incorporates the vehicle’s current position (distance to edges) and orientation (angle formed with edges). Verbatim from Tomita (col. 18, lines 38-45): “The mesh route element calculating unit 601 calculates a first straight line set arranged on the area CA to be worked, from a position distanced from the first side S1 of the area CA to be worked by a distance equivalent to half the work width of the harvester 1.” This initial generation is edge-based, but selection adapts dynamically. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 9, lines 15-18): “The route element selecting unit selects the next travel route element from the travel route element set on the basis of the vehicle position and the state information.”
The state information includes orientation, as the system aligns routes with vehicle heading for efficiency. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 30, lines 15-18): “In fields of rice, wheat, or the like, causing the harvester 1 to travel parallel to the rows (furrows) where seedlings are planted can improve the efficiency of the harvesting work.” This implies calculating angles between vehicle orientation and edges to select parallel routes. Furthermore, priority in selection is based on distance from current position to potential elements/edges. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 22-23, lines 58-67 & 1-9): “The “properly-distanced travel route element” is a travel route element separated by a predetermined distance from the previous travel route element in the order. The priority level is set to be lower for travel route elements further from the previous travel route element in the order than the properly-distanced travel route element. For example, when moving to the next travel route element, normal U-turn travel, which has a short travel distance, also has a short travel time and is therefore efficient. Accordingly, the priority level is set to the highest level (priority level=1) for the travel route elements that skip two spaces to the left and right. Travel route elements that from the perspective of the harvester 1 are located further than the stated travel route elements have longer normal U-turn travel times as the distance from the harvester 1 increases. Accordingly, the priority level is set to be lower (priority level=2, 3, . . . ) as the distance from the harvester 1 increases. In other words, the numerical value of the priority level indicates an order of priority.” In Fig. 7, the grid is tied to edges S1-S4, and selection of the next element (parallel to a selected edge) evaluates distance from the vehicle’s position to those edges and angle for alignment (e.g., to avoid oblique crossings). Verbatim from Tomita (col. 18, lines 65-67): “The first side S1 to the fourth side S4 serve as reference lines for generating the straight line sets serving as the travel route element set.” The vehicle’s position determines which reference edge is closest/aligned, inherently and explicitly using distance and angle for selection, as the system “selects the next travel route element from an untraveled travel route element set” based on positional coordinates (col. 5, lines 30-35). Thus, Tomita anticipates the use of vehicle position and orientation relative to edges, beyond mere fixed width generation.
Appellant’s Argument 3: “The Examiner continues on to state, Id at 2. Additionally, Tomita describes on column 18 that the creation of SA (the headland traveling auxiliary route) is based on a fixed distance (half the work width of the harvester 1) from the peripheral edge, and while the Applicant argues this does not depend on vehicle position or angle, the selection of the initial straight line set from the edges (e.g., S1) implicitly accounts for the harvester’s position and orientation. The positional coordinates of the two points on each straight line (column 18) and the adjustment of lines at intervals equivalent to the work width (column 18) suggest that the system adapts to the vehicle’s location and heading, satisfying the claimed ‘distance’ and ‘angle’ criteria. Thus, Tomita anticipates the ‘selective edge’ limitation of claim 1. While Tomita further describes the creation of SA, a peripheral headland area and not the headland traveling auxiliary route, it is based on, from the border of the field toward the inside of the field, the three to four circular passes at the harvester 1’s work width, which is fixed and invariable. Note that position or orientation of the harvester 1 is variable, so the creation of the headland area SA does not implicitly or explicitly account for the harvester’s position or orientation. The creation of the headland area SA depends only on the harvester 1’s fixed work width. Therefore, Tomita does not implicitly or explicitly disclose at least the bolded feature of claim 1 below. That is, ‘a selective edge for creating the headland traveling auxiliary route … on the basis of … a vehicle position … and a vehicle orientation of the work vehicle …’ is not anticipated by Tomita.”
Tomita’s creation and use of SA as the headland region explicitly involves auxiliary routes for autonomous travel, and selection of edges for these routes accounts for vehicle position (distance) and orientation (angle), not merely fixed work width. While initial SA width uses work width for circling passes, the auxiliary routes in SA are dynamically selected and adapted based on position and heading. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 11, lines 39-46): “To secure the outer peripheral area SA, the harvester 1 circles along the border line of the field three or four times as initial work travel. In the circling travel, the field is worked by an amount equivalent to the work width of the harvester 1 with each pass, and thus the outer peripheral area SA has a width approximately three to four times the work width of the harvester 1.” However, this is foundational; routes in SA are generated and selected using position. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 12, lines 7-12): “Travel routes for departing the area CA to be worked and returning to the area CA to be worked are generated at the point in time when the outer peripheral area SA is set.”
These auxiliary routes in SA are parallel to selected edges and selected based on distance to vehicle position and angle for alignment. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 3, lines 62-67): “The outer peripheral area can be used as a travel route for movement involved in supplying chemicals, supplying fertilizer, unloading harvested crops, and refueling, for changing directions, and so on.” Selection adapts to heading: Verbatim from Tomita (col. 22, lines 33-36): “In normal U-turn travel, the harvester 1 switches directions by approximately 180° upon entering the outer peripheral area SA from the endpoint of the travel route element being traveled.” This requires evaluating angle formed with the edge for proper turn entry. Position determines entry/exit: Verbatim from Tomita (col. 9, lines 15-18): “The route element selecting unit selects the next travel route element from the travel route element set on the basis of the vehicle position and the state information.” In Figs. 9 and 28, U-turn spaces in SA are created near vehicle position, with selection of edge (side) for parallel auxiliary route based on closest distance and orientation match. Thus, Tomita anticipates the selective edge for headland auxiliary routes based on vehicle position and orientation.
Appellant’s Argument 4: “The Examiner further alleges, However, … Tomita states on column 3 that ‘in the present invention, a process for generating a travel route, executed before the work, corresponds to the generation of this travel route element set. In the actual work travel executed in the area to be worked, the appropriate travel route elements are selected in sequence from the travel route element set, and the work vehicle travels along the selected travel route elements.’ This process involves selecting route elements based on the pre-calculated sets aligned with the edges (S1-S4), which are determined relative to the harvester’s position and orientation. The use of multiple straight line sets (first, second, third, and fourth line sets) corresponding to each side (S1-S4) as described on column 18 demonstrates that the system considers multiple edges around the field. The selection of the next route element, while guided by pre-defined rules, inherently adapts to the vehicle’s position and orientation as it progresses, aligning with the claimed invention’s methodology. Therefore, Tomita anticipates this aspect of claim 1. The description in Tomita’s column 3 is also for the work area and not the headland area/region: ‘in the present invention, a process for generating a travel route, executed before the work, corresponds to the generation of this travel route element set. In the actual work travel executed in the area to be worked, the appropriate travel route elements are selected in sequence from the travel route element set, and the work vehicle travels along the selected travel route elements.’ Note again that the work travel routes, which are parallel lines from the edge, are generated based on the fixed work width of the harvester 1 and not on the position or orientation of the harvester 1 as explained in the previous section.”
The column 3 description in Tomita encompasses both the work area CA and headland SA, as the route element set and selection process support autonomous travel across the entire field, including headland auxiliary routes for transitions and special maneuvers. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 3, lines 30-36): “in the present invention, a process for generating a travel route, executed before the work, corresponds to the generation of this travel route element set. In the actual work travel executed in the area to be worked, the appropriate travel route elements are selected in sequence from the travel route element set, and the work vehicle travels along the selected travel route elements.” While this references CA, the system integrates SA routes seamlessly. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 12, lines 8-10): “Travel routes for departing the area CA to be worked and returning to the area CA to be worked are generated at the point in time when the outer peripheral area SA is set.”Selection adapts to position and orientation beyond fixed width. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 9, lines 15-18): “The route element selecting unit selects the next travel route element from the travel route element set on the basis of the vehicle position and the state information.” State information includes orientation for route alignment. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 30, lines 15-18): “In fields of rice, wheat, or the like, causing the harvester 1 to travel parallel to the rows (furrows) where seedlings are planted can improve the efficiency of the harvesting work.” The multi-line sets (first to fourth, parallel to S1-S4) allow selection of edge-based routes relative to current position/orientation, as in spiral travel involving headland (Fig. 11). Thus, Tomita’s process anticipates the claimed methodology for headland routes.
Appellant’s Argument 5: “The ‘selection’ of Tomita as the Examiner refers to involves only the work area and not the peripheral headland area. It is non sequitur to implicate Tomita’s selection of work travel routes with the claimed invention’s selective edge for creating the headland traveling auxiliary route. The claimed invention as set forth in claim 1 is not anticipated by Tomita for at least the above reasons. Therefore, claim 1 is not anticipated by Tomita for at least the above reasons. Dependent claims 2-5 also are not anticipated for at least same reasons as claim 1.”
Tomita’s selection process explicitly applies to headland auxiliary routes in SA, not just CA, as selection includes departing/returning to SA and maneuvering therein, with selective edges chosen based on position and orientation. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 12, lines 7-12): “Travel routes for departing the area CA to be worked and returning to the area CA to be worked are generated at the point in time when the outer peripheral area SA is set.” Selection is dynamic: Verbatim from Tomita (col. 9, lines 15-18): “The route element selecting unit selects the next travel route element from the travel route element set on the basis of the vehicle position and the state information.” This includes headland routes for unloading/refueling in SA. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 3, lines 62-66): “The outer peripheral area can be used as a travel route for movement involved in supplying chemicals, supplying fertilizer, unloading harvested crops, and refueling, for changing directions, and so on.”
The selective edge (e.g., S1 for parallel lines) is chosen relative to vehicle position/distance and angle/orientation. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 18, lines 65-67): “The first side S1 to the fourth side S4 serve as reference lines for generating the straight line sets serving as the travel route element set.” In multi-edge fields, selection evaluates which edge aligns best with heading (angle) and is closest (distance), as in Fig. 7 and col. 19, lines 1-10, where line sets correspond to edges and are selected progressively. For dependents 3-5, they are anticipated for the same reasons, as Tomita discloses canceling/reselecting (e.g., mid-travel changes, col. 24, lines 40-49: “he travel pattern can be changed from spiral travel to linear back-and-forth travel midway through the work.”), display (communication terminal 4 shows routes/position), and locking (fixed attributes for traveled elements prohibit reselection).
Regarding Claim 2: Appellant’s Argument for Claim 2 Specifically: “Further, claim 2 has features, ‘a headland traveling auxiliary route creation unit that creates a plurality of the headland traveling auxiliary routes arranged side by side at every predetermined width in parallel to the selective edge selected from among a plurality of the edges; an auxiliary route creation edge determination unit that automatically determines the selective edge for which the headland traveling auxiliary routes are created, by evaluating each of the determination distances calculated by the determination distance calculation unit, and each of the determination angles calculated by the determination angle calculation unit,’ which are also not disclosed in Tomita. Therefore, claim 2 is also not anticipated for this reason.”
Tomita discloses these features for claim 2. The headland traveling auxiliary route creation unit corresponds to the mesh route element calculating unit (601) and U-turn route calculating unit (603), which create multiple parallel auxiliary routes in SA at predetermined widths (work width intervals) parallel to selected edges. Verbatim from Tomita (col. 18, lines 38-45): “The mesh route element calculating unit 601 calculates a first straight line set arranged on the area CA to be worked, from a position distanced from the first side S1 of the area CA to be worked by a distance equivalent to half the work width of the harvester 1.” This extends to SA routes: Verbatim from Tomita (col. 12, lines 7-12): “Travel routes for departing the area CA to be worked and returning to the area CA to be worked are generated at the point in time when the outer peripheral area SA is set.” Routes are arranged side by side at work width.
The auxiliary route creation edge determination unit corresponds to the route element selecting unit (63), which automatically determines the selective edge by evaluating distances (to elements/edges) and angles (for alignment). Verbatim from Tomita (col. 22-23, lines 58-67 & 1-9): “The “properly-distanced travel route element” is a travel route element separated by a predetermined distance from the previous travel route element in the order. The priority level is set to be lower for travel route elements further from the previous travel route element in the order than the properly-distanced travel route element. For example, when moving to the next travel route element, normal U-turn travel, which has a short travel distance, also has a short travel time and is therefore efficient. Accordingly, the priority level is set to the highest level (priority level=1) for the travel route elements that skip two spaces to the left and right. Travel route elements that from the perspective of the harvester 1 are located further than the stated travel route elements have longer normal U-turn travel times as the distance from the harvester 1 increases. Accordingly, the priority level is set to be lower (priority level=2, 3, . . . ) as the distance from the harvester 1 increases. In other words, the numerical value of the priority level indicates an order of priority.” Angles are evaluated for parallelism: Verbatim from Tomita (col. 30, lines 15-18): “In fields of rice, wheat, or the like, causing the harvester 1 to travel parallel to the rows (furrows) where seedlings are planted can improve the efficiency of the harvesting work.” Determination uses position (distance calculation) and orientation (angle calculation): Verbatim from Tomita (col. 9, lines 15-18): “The route element selecting unit selects the next travel route element from the travel route element set on the basis of the vehicle position and the state information.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomita et al. (US 11726485 B2) in view of Kawano et al. (JP 7280153 B2), hereinafter referred to as Tomita and Kawano respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Tomita discloses An autonomous traveling control system capable of creating a headland traveling auxiliary route for allowing a work vehicle to autonomous travel in a headland region formed between a work region for allowing the work vehicle to perform work while autonomously traveling (“An autonomous work vehicle travel system that manages autonomous travel of a work vehicle that travels while working in a work site” See at least [Col.3 line 1-20]),
and a peripheral edge formed from a plurality of edges in a field surrounded by the peripheral edge (“In FIG. 7 , the shape of the area CA to be worked is a deformed quadrangle. As such, there are four sides serving as references for generating the mesh route element set. Here, if the area CA to be worked is a rectangle or a square, there are two sides serving as references for generating the mesh route element set.” [Col.19 Ln 58-64])
wherein the system executes the work vehicle to perform autonomous travel in a headland region (“Then, the autonomous travel controlling unit 511 controls the autonomous travel so as to avoid contact between the ridge and the vehicle when turning in the outer peripheral area SA. Specifically, the autonomous travel is stopped and the harvester 1 is stopped, the type of turning travel is changed (changed from normal U-turn travel to switchback turn travel or α-turn travel), a travel route that does not pass through that area is set, or the like.” [Col.27 ln 35-47])
Tomita does not explicitly teach wherein a selective edge for creating the headland traveling auxiliary route is selected from among a plurality of the edges on the basis of a distance between each of the edges and a vehicle position of the work vehicle and an angle formed by each of the edges and a vehicle orientation of the work vehicle.
However, Kawano does teach wherein a selective edge for creating the headland traveling auxiliary route is selected from among a plurality of the edges on the basis of a distance between each of the edges and a vehicle position of the work vehicle (“distance sensor configured to detect a distance from the traveling machine body to a ridge on an end side of a field, and a control unit configured to calculate a work route including an inner peripheral route for work traveling on an inner peripheral side of a field surface and an outer peripheral route for traveling on an outer peripheral side so as to surround the inner peripheral route on the basis of field data indicating an outer shape of the field acquired in advance or the field data acquired by traveling on an outer periphery of the field on which work traveling is performed, and configured to be capable of executing automatic steering control for controlling the steering unit to automatically travel along the work route.” See at least[0006]),
and an angle formed by each of the edges (“In the step S9, the control unit 50 confirms whether or not the work traveling is performed in a state where the deviation (angle θ) between the traveling direction of the traveling machine body 3 and the direction of the work route (target line) is within a predetermined tolerance (θ tole) based on the position information of the traveling machine body 3, the information of the steering angle sensor 51, and the like, and proceeds to the step S10 when it is detected that the traveling direction of the traveling machine body 3 is within the predetermined tolerance and the work traveling is performed along the direction on the work route.” [0072])
and a vehicle orientation of the work vehicle (“In the step S8, the control unit 50 confirms whether or not the traveling machine body 3 is performing work traveling in a state where a deviation in the lateral direction between the traveling machine body 3 and the work route (target line) is within a predetermined tolerance (Dtole) based on the position information of the traveling machine body 3 acquired by the GNSS unit 11, and when it is detected that the traveling machine body 3 can perform work traveling on the work route within the predetermined tolerance, the process proceeds to the step S9. “ See at least [0071]). Both Tomita and Kawano teach methods for autonomous work vehicle operation. However, Kawano explicitly teaches wherein a selective edge for creating the headland traveling auxiliary route is selected from among a plurality of the edges on the basis of a distance between each of the edges and a vehicle position of the work vehicle and an angle formed by each of the edges and a vehicle orientation of the work vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous work vehicle operation method of Tomita to also include wherein a selective edge for creating the headland traveling auxiliary route is selected from among a plurality of the edges on the basis of a distance between each of the edges and a vehicle position of the work vehicle and an angle formed by each of the edges and a vehicle orientation of the work vehicle, as taught by Kawano, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves autonomous work vehicle operation (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Kawano, 0010 and 0011]).
Regarding claim 2, Tomita discloses The autonomous traveling control system according to claim 1, comprising: a field information storage unit that stores field information related to the work region and the headland region set inside the field surrounded by the peripheral edge formed from a plurality of the edges ([Fig.6: 101] “The stored data expressing the travel route element set is stored in a storage medium so as to be capable of readout. This stored data includes route identifiers (e.g., route numbers) identifying the travel route elements “ See at least [Col.7 line20-25]);
a positioning unit that acquires a traveling position of the work vehicle as the vehicle position (“The harvester 1 includes a satellite positioning module 80 that outputs positioning data on the basis of a GPS signal from an artificial satellite GS used in GPS (global positioning systems).“ See at least [Col.11 line 57-60]);
an orientation detection unit that acquires a traveling direction of the work vehicle as the vehicle orientation (“The autonomous travel controlling unit 511 calculates directional skew and positional skew between the travel route set by the route setting unit 64 and the vehicle position, generates autonomous steering commands, and outputs the commands to the steering device via the output processing unit 7. The work control unit 52 supplies control signals to the work device group 72 in order to control the operations of operation devices provided in the harvesting section 15, the threshing device 13, the discharge device 18, and so on that constitute the harvester 1. The notification unit 54 generates notification signals (display data, audio data, and so on) for notifying the driver, the monitoring party, or the like of necessary information through the notifying device 73, which is a display or the like.“ See at least [Col.21 line 39-52]);
a determination distance calculation unit that calculates, as a determination distance, a distance between each of the edges and the vehicle position of the work vehicle (“As illustrated in FIG. 7, the mesh route element calculating unit 601 calculates a first straight line set (corresponding to a “first line set” according to the present invention), arranged on the area CA to be worked, from a position distanced from the first side S1 of the area CA to be worked by a distance equivalent to half the work width of the harvester 1, with the lines being parallel to the first side S1 and arranged at intervals equivalent to the work width of the harvester 1. Likewise, the following are also calculated: a second straight line set (corresponding to a “second line set” according to the present invention), arranged on the area CA to be worked, from a position distanced from the second side S2 by a distance equivalent to half the work width of the harvester 1, with the lines being parallel to the second side S2 and arranged at intervals equivalent to the work width of the harvester 1; a third straight line set (corresponding to a “third line set” according to the present invention), arranged on the area CA to be worked, from a position distanced from the third side S3 by a distance equivalent to half the work width of the harvester 1, with the lines being parallel to the third side S3 and arranged at intervals equivalent to the work width of the harvester 1; and a fourth straight line set (corresponding to a “fourth line set” according to the present invention), arranged on the area CA to be worked, from a position distanced from the fourth side S4 by a distance equivalent to half the work width of the harvester 1, with the lines being parallel to the fourth side S4 and arranged at intervals equivalent to the work width of the harvester 1. In this manner, the first side S1 to the fourth side S4 serve as reference lines for generating the straight line sets serving as the travel route element set. If the positional coordinates of two points on a straight line are known, that straight line can be identified; thus each straight line serving as a travel route element is turned into data indicating a straight line defined by the positional coordinates of the two points on that straight line, and is stored in memory in a predetermined data format. This data format includes a route number serving as a route identifier for identifying that travel route element, as well as a route type, the side of the outer quadrangle serving as a reference, whether the element is untraveled/already traveled, and so on as attribute values of the travel route element.“ See at least [Col.18 line 38-67]);
a determination angle calculation unit that calculates, as a determination angle, an angle formed by each of the edges and the vehicle orientation (“A basic principle by which the U-turn route calculating unit 603 generates a U-turn travel route will be described using FIG. 13. FIG. 13 illustrates a U-turn travel route in which the harvester 1 moves from a travel route element corresponding to the start of the turn, indicated by LS0, to a travel route element indicating the destination of the turn, indicated by LS1. In normal travel, if LS0 is a travel route element in the area CA to be worked, LS1 is typically a travel route element in the outer peripheral area SA (an intermediate straight route), whereas if LS1 is a travel route element in the area CA to be worked, LS0 is typically a travel route element in the outer peripheral area SA (an intermediate straight route). A linear equation (or two points on the straight lines) for the travel route elements LS0 and LS1 are recorded in memory, and the point of intersection between the two (indicated by PX in FIG. 13) and an angle of intersection (indicated by θ in FIG. 13) are calculated from that linear equation. Next, an inscribed circle contacting both the travel route element LS0 and the travel route element LS1, and having a radius equivalent to the minimum turn radius of the harvester 1 (indicated by r in FIG. 13), is calculated. An arc (part of the inscribed circle) connecting the points of contact between the travel route elements LS0 and LS1 with the inscribed circle (indicated by PS0 and PS1 in FIG. 13) corresponds to the turning route. Accordingly, a distance Y to a point of contact between the intersection point PX of the travel route elements LS0 and LS1, and the inscribed circle, is given by: Y=r/(tan(θ/2)) “ See at least [Col.24 line 51-67]);
a headland traveling auxiliary route creation unit that creates a plurality of the headland traveling auxiliary routes arranged side by side at every predetermined width in parallel to the selective edge selected from among a plurality of the edges (“travel route generating device, which generates a travel route for a work vehicle that travels while working in a work site, includes a route managing unit that calculates a travel route element set, the travel route element set being an aggregate of multiple travel route elements constituting a travel route covering an area to be worked in the work site, and stores the travel route element set so as to be capable of readout.“ See at least [Col.5 line 54-60]);
an auxiliary route creation edge determination unit that automatically determines the selective edge for which the headland traveling auxiliary routes are created, by evaluating each of the determination distances calculated by the determination distance calculation unit, and each of the determination angles calculated by the determination angle calculation unit (“(A11) If, when traveling through traditional travel, the number of unworked sites, i.e., the number of unworked (untraveled) travel route elements in the travel route element set of the area CA to be worked, has become less than or equal to a predetermined number, the traditional travel is automatically switched to autonomous travel. Additionally, if the harvester 1 is working through spiral travel from the outside toward the inside of an area CA to be worked that is covered by a mesh line set, the travel is switched from spiral travel to linear back-and-forth travel when the surface area of the remaining unworked sites has become small and the number of unworked travel route elements has become less than or equal to a predetermined value. In this case, as described above, a travel route element having the “intermediate straight route” attribute is moved parallel from the outer peripheral area SA to the vicinity of the unworked site in the area CA to be worked, in order to avoid wasteful travel.“ See at least [Col.29 line 64-67 and Col.30 line1-14]);
and a traveling control unit that causes the work vehicle to autonomously travel along the headland traveling auxiliary routes (“Furthermore, the control unit 5 is provided with a travel control unit 51, a work control unit 52, the vehicle position calculating unit 53, and a notification unit 54. The vehicle position calculating unit 53 calculates the vehicle position on the basis of positioning data output from the satellite positioning module 80. Because the harvester 1 is configured to be capable of traveling through both autonomous travel (autonomous steering) and manual travel (manual steering), the travel control unit 51 that controls the vehicle travel device group 71 includes an autonomous travel controlling unit 511 and a manual travel controlling unit 512. The manual travel controlling unit 512 controls the vehicle travel device group 71 on the basis of operations made by the driver. The autonomous travel controlling unit 511 calculates directional skew and positional skew between the travel route set by the route setting unit 64 and the vehicle position, generates autonomous steering commands, and outputs the commands to the steering device via the output processing unit 7. The work control unit 52 supplies control signals to the work device group 72 in order to control the operations of operation devices provided in the harvesting section 15, the threshing device 13, the discharge device 18, and so on that constitute the harvester 1. The notification unit 54 generates notification signals (display data, audio data, and so on) for notifying the driver, the monitoring party, or the like of necessary information through the notifying device 73, which is a display or the like. “ See at least [Col.21 line 26-52]).
Regarding claim 3, Tomita discloses The autonomous traveling control system according to claim 2, comprising an autonomous traveling cancel unit that cancels the autonomous traveling of the work vehicle by the traveling control unit, wherein in a case where the autonomous traveling of the work vehicle is canceled, the auxiliary route creation edge determination unit newly determines the selective edge on the basis of the determination distance by the vehicle position of the work vehicle and the determination angle by the vehicle orientation after the cancel of the autonomous traveling (“The master harvester 1m continues work travel in the area CA to be worked even while the slave harvester 1s is unloading the harvested crops after deviating from the work travel in the area CA to be worked. However, it was originally assumed that the master harvester 1m would select the travel route element L13 at the point of intersection between the travel route element L42 and the travel route element L13 while traveling along the travel route element L42. However, the travel of the slave harvester is along the travel route element L12 has been canceled due to the departure of the slave harvester is, and thus the travel route element L12 is an unharvested area (untraveled). Accordingly, the route element selecting unit 63 of the master harvester 1m selects the travel route element L12 instead of the travel route element L13. In other words, the master harvester 1m travels to the point of intersection between the travel route element L42 and the travel route element L12, turns left, and travels along the travel route element L12.“ See at least [Col.32 line 19-37]).
Regarding claim 4, Tomita discloses The autonomous traveling control system according to claim 1, comprising a display unit that displays the headland traveling auxiliary route and the vehicle position of the work vehicle (“The state of the communication terminal 4 can, through an artificial switching operation, be switched to an animated display state indicating autonomous travel routes or traditional travel routes, a state of displaying the above-described parameters/fine adjustments, and so on. This animated display animates the travel trajectory of the harvester 1 traveling along the autonomous travel routes or traditional travel routes, which are travel routes in the autonomous travel or traditional travel in which all of the travel routes have been determined in advance, and displays the animation in the display panel unit of the touch panel 41. Using this animated display, the driver can intuitively confirm the travel routes to be traveled on before the trouble starts.“ See at least [Col.16 line 60-67]).
Regarding claim 5, Tomita discloses The autonomous traveling control system according to claim 2, comprising an auxiliary route creation edge lock unit that fixes the selective edge, wherein in a case where the auxiliary route creation edge lock unit fixes the selective edge, even when at least any of the determination distance by the vehicle position and the determination angle by the vehicle orientation is changed, the auxiliary route creation edge determination unit does not newly determine the selective edge (“(A2) The autonomous travel controlling unit 511 monitors a relationship (distance) between an outer line position of the field and the vehicle position based on the positioning data. Then, the autonomous travel controlling unit 511 controls the autonomous travel so as to avoid contact between the ridge and the vehicle when turning in the outer peripheral area SA. Specifically, the autonomous travel is stopped and the harvester 1 is stopped, the type of turning travel is changed (changed from normal U-turn travel to switchback turn travel or α-turn travel), a travel route that does not pass through that area is set, or the like. A configuration in which a warning such as “caution, narrow turning area” is provided may also be employed.“ See at least [Col.27 line 35-47]).
Conclusion
/AA/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668