Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16, 18-21, 23-25 and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Status
The 35 U.S.C 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been overcome.
Claims 16, 18-21, 23-25 and 28 are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 18, 23-25 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel (US 2018/0177594 A1) in view of Machold (US 2017/0216031 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Patel teaches an annuloplasty device (1100, docking device, fig. 19), said annuloplasty device comprising:
a first support ring (1130, upper region, fig. 19) and a second support ring (1120, lower region, fig. 19) having a coiled configuration in which the first and second support rings are arranged as a coil around a central axis (fig. 19), wherein the first and second support rings are configured to be arranged on opposite sides of native heart valve leaflets of a heart valve (figs. 6-8) and the first and second support rings have respective free ends (31, proximal tip, 712, tip, fig. 22A); and
a line (1163, line/suture, fig. 22A) and a proximal tip of a first end of one of the free ends (31, proximal tip, fig. 22A).
Patel fails to teach the distal tip of the line is received in a lumen that extends along the axial direction of the first end. However, Machold teaches a heart valve implant with a line (12) attached to a tubular member (800, ¶ [0233] point to single tube embodiment) that includes the line is attached at a proximal connection at a proximal tip of a first end of one of the free ends (fig. 34B);
wherein the proximal connection comprises a lumen sized to receive a distal tip of the line (fig. 34B, lumen of the connector 800) wherein the lumen extends along an axial direction of the first end (fig. 34B, the lumen is axially aligned with the first end of the first support ring of Patel);
wherein the distal tip of the line is received in the lumen (fig. 34) and anchored by a retention force (¶ [0233-0234]); and
wherein the retention force is proportional to a length of the distal tip of the line extending inside the lumen (the force would be proportional to the amount of line crimped as there would only be a retention force on the crimped portion of the lumen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the implant of Patel to include the distal tip of the line is received in a lumen that extends along the axial direction of the first end as taught by Machold in order to hold the line in place (¶ [0233], Machold).
Regarding claim 18, Patel as modified by Machold discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 16, and additionally teaches, the first end is configured to be compressed to clamp the distal tip of the line inside the lumen (fig. 34B, ¶ [0233], Machold).
Regarding claim 23, Patel as modified by Machold discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 16, and additionally teaches, the lumen is coaxially aligned with the first end along the axial direction (fig. 34B, Machold).
Regarding claim 24, Patel as modified by Machold discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 16, and additionally teaches the lumen comprises a drilled opening in the proximal tip (fig. 22, opening, Patel).
Regarding claim 25, Patel as modified by Machold discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 16, and additionally teaches, the lumen extends along a radial direction being perpendicular to the axial direction (fig. 34A, Machold).
Regarding claim 28, Patel as modified by Machold discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 16, and additionally teaches, the proximal connection is arranged at least partly at a surface of the proximal tip (see annotated fig. 19, below, Patel), the surface having a normal direction, the surface being angled such that a vector component of the normal direction is parallel with an axial direction of the first end (see annotated fig. 19, below, Patel).
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Machold as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Meier (US 2012/0121349 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Patel in view of Machold fails to teach the distal tip of the line comprises an expanded diameter portion. However, Meier discloses a tether locking device to be used with heart tissue that includes the distal tip of the line comprises an expanded diameter portion (2804, bulbous head, fig. 28A-B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the line of Patel and Machold to include the distal tip of the line comprises an expanded diameter portion as taught by Meier in order to allow the plug to be translated in one direction within a hollow portion of a locking member, while not allowing the plug to be translated in another direction within the hollow portion of the locking member (¶ [0204], Meier).
Regarding claim 20, Patel as modified by Machold and Meier discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 19, and additionally teaches the expanded diameter portion is sized to be locked against a narrow section of the lumen (¶ [0205], Meier).
Regarding claim 21, Patel as modified by Machold and Meier discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 19, and additionally teaches the expanded diameter portion comprises an at least partly spherical portion (2804, bulbous head, fig. 28A-B, Meier).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774