DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims1, 35, and 71 have been amended; Claims 2, 3,10-12, 22, 28, 33, 34, 36, 37, 40, 45-47, 51, 57, 62, 69, and 70 have been canceled;. Claims 1, 4-9, 13-21, 23-27, 29-32, 35, 38, 39, 41-44,48-50, 52-56,58-61, 63-68, and 71 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 10-11 in substance that" Claims 1 and 35 have been amended to incorporate the subject matter of claims 3 and 37, respectively, by specifying and rephrasing that "the set of features comprises a set of parameters that are defined for and specific to the extended device type UE." This amendment clarifies and emphasizes that the recited "set of features" pertains specifically to parameters that are uniquely defined for the extended device type UE (e.g., RedCap UE), rather than merely values or settings of general UE parameters that might be adjusted or configured for use with RedCap UEs. The Examiner's rejection of previous claim 3 (and similarly claim 37) relied on Koskinen paragraph [0272], which describes setting values for parameters such as "locationAndBandwidth" and "carrierBandwidth" in "uplinkConfigCommon" and "downlinkConfigCommon" to meet REDCAP NR device limitations. However, this disclosure in Koskinen merely teaches adjusting or setting values of existing, general parameters to accommodate RedCap limitations-it does not teach or suggest parameters that are specifically defined for RedCap UEs as distinct from those for legacy or general UEs."
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Koskinen teaches, a control resource set (CORESET) #0 bandwidth part (BWP) are used by the REDCAP NR devices. Random access channel (RACH) procedure is used to perform initial access, system information messages, paging, and/or DL transmissions. A CORESET #0 BWP may be used to schedule and transmit some or all of the system information configured by master information block (MIB).The network identify whether the NR device is a REDCAP NR device before sending the Msg4 of the RACH procedure [0246-0248]. Further, in [0275] to prevent the barring/blocking/ambiguity of a REDCAP NR device based on the initial UL BWP and the initial DL BWP provided in SIB1 that set narrow by the network so that it may be supported by a REDCAP NR device which is translated to Reduced capability (RedCap) devices as in the instant application specification [0003]. Because of this provision of CORESET #0 BWP, examiner is construing that set of parameters are defined for and specific to the extended device type UE. however, independent claim merely recites … set of features comprises a set of parameters that are defined for and specific to the extended device type UE…
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 11 in substance that "The Examiner asserts that Jung teaches UE capability inquiry in an RRC CONNECTED state, Ohara teaches information of device types (RedCap using Msgl, MsgA, and Msg3), and Koskinen teaches AMF. However, even when combined, these references do not teach or suggest a base station actively querying a UE already in a connected state specifically to determine if it can indicate its device type via all three of Msgl, MsgA, and Msg3. In claim 1, the device type indication via all three of Msgl, MsgA, and Msg3 is a UE capability that can be query by a base station without (e.g., before) actual message transmission (e.g., Msgl, MsgA, and Msg3) that conveys the device type indication. The claimed method allows the base station to precisely understand the UE's flexible signaling capabilities. By knowing whether a UE can indicate its "extended device type" (e.g., RedCap) via Msgl, MsgA, or Msg3, the base station can more efficiently allocate resources according to this feature for subsequent handovers or network re-access.
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Jung, Ohara and Koskinen teaches UE capability inquiry in an RRC CONNECTED state. Koskinen teaches in [0279] The indication of the preferred BWP may be provided by the NR device based on a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource selection. Certain PRACH resources may be reserved for indicating that the preferred BWP is the CORESET#0 BWP provided in the MIB and/or other PRACH resources. Further, Jung and Ohara teaches, UECapabilityEnquiry signal for requesting a UE in an RRC_CONNECTED state to transmit UE capability information that notifies the base station apparatus that the user terminal is a Reduced Capability UE. Therefore, combining Jung, Ohara and Koskinen, teaches, the preferred BWP may be provided by the NR device based on a RACH preamble selection. Certain RACH preambles may be reserved for indicating that the preferred BWP UE is the CORESET#0 BWP provided in the MIB and/or other PRACH resources may be reserved for indicating that the preferred BWP is the initial BWP provided in the SIB1.
[0281] The indication of the preferred BWP may be provided by the NR device in a MsgA or a Msg3 of a RACH procedure. However, independent claim merely recites... a UE capability, and the UE capability includes a set of features supported by the extended device type UE, wherein the set of features comprises a set of parameters that are defined for and specific to the extended device type UE…
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 13 in substance that "Furthermore, the UE type information provided in Ohara merely indicates a basic classification (e.g., whether the UE is a Reduced Capability UE), lacking the detailed set of features and parameters defined for and specific to the extended device type UE as recited in claim 1, such as device type indication using Msgl in 4-step random access, MsgA in 2-step random access, and Msg3 in 4-step random access. Thus, Ohara's notification does not equate to the comprehensive UE capability in the claimed invention, which is associated with a tailored set of supported features.
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Ohara teaches a basic classification (e.g., whether the UE is a Reduced Capability UE), the user terminal notifies the base station apparatus of information of a UE type by a preamble index which examiner is construing that as a parameter which Ohara teaches preamble index is a resource for preamble transmission. Further, Ohara teaches, multiple preamble indexes in a single RACH occasion (RO) may be divided into multiple groups, and each group may be associated with information of a UE type which is interpreted as a set of parameters that are defined for and specific for notifying that a user terminal is Reduced Capability UE. the example shows in [0105]
In this case, for example, the base station apparatus 10 may notify the user terminal 20 of a group of preamble indexes for notifying that a user terminal is Reduced Capability UE. The claim does not give a tailored set of supported features that comprise a set of parameters. However, independent claims merely recites ... the set of features comprises a set of parameters that are defined for and specific to the extended device type UE...,
Regarding all other arguments presented by applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4, 5, 8, 9 19, 23, 27, 30-32, 35, 37-39, 43, 44, 54, 58, 61, 66-68, and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Jung hereafter) (US 20210315026 A1) in view of (Ohara hereafter) (US 20230104916 A1) and in further view of Koskinen et al. (Koskinen hereafter) (US 20230140310 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Jung teaches, A radio access method executable in a base station, comprising:
sending, to an extended device type user equipment (UE) (transmit a UECapabilityEnquiry signal for requesting a UE) in an RRC CONNECTED state (RRC_CONNECTED state), an inquiry (UECapabilityEnquiry signal) for device type related information (message indicating whether multiple BWPs, LTE-NR DC, NR-LTE DC, or NR-NR DC, SUL is supported) (Jung; [0111] A network (e.g., an NR base station or an evolved universal terrestrial radio access network (EUTRAN) base station) may transmit a UECapabilityEnquiry signal for requesting a UE in an RRC_CONNECTED state to transmit UE capability information. When the UECapabilityInformation signal is generated, the UE may generate the UECapabilityInformation signal including a message indicating whether multiple BWPs are supported, whether various DC structures such as LTE-NR DC, NR-LTE DC, or NR-NR DC are supported, whether a supplementary uplink (SUL) is supported, and that the UE is capable of finding an IDC problem when multiple BWPs, DC, and SULs are used);
Jung fails to explicitly teach, receiving the device type related information from the extended device type UE, wherein the device type related information is in response to the inquiry and comprises a UE capability, and the UE capability is associated with a set of features supported by the extended device type UE, wherein the set of features comprises a feature of device type indication using Msg1 in 4-step random access, device type indication using MsgA in 2-step random access, and device type indication using Msg3 in 4-step random access.
wherein the set of features comprises a set of parameters defined for the extended device type UE
providing the device type related information to a 5G core network node of access and mobility management function (AMF); and
providing a resource configuration to the extended device type UE according to at least one feature of the set of features supported by the extended device type UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohara teaches, receiving the device type related information from the extended device type UE (Ohara; [0096] the user terminal 20 notifies the base station apparatus 10 of information of its own UE type), wherein the device type related information is in response to the inquiry (Fig. 7) and comprises a UE capability (information indicating whether or not a UE is a Reduced Capability UE), and the UE capability is associated with a set of features supported by the extended device type UE, wherein the set of features comprises a feature of device type indication (UE is Reduced Capability UE) using Msg1 in 4-step random access (Fig. 7, by Msg1 (when four-step RACH is executed)) , device type indication using MsgA in 2-step random access (Fig. 7, MsgA (when two-step RACH is executed)), and device type indication using Msg3 in 4-step random access(Ohara; [0138-139], [0101] In S102, the user terminal 20 notifies the base station apparatus 10 of information of a UE type (e.g., information representing whether or not the UE is Reduced Capability UE) by Msg1 (when four-step RACH is executed) or MsgA (when two-step RACH is executed). [0162] the user terminal 20 notifies the base station apparatus 10 of information of a UE type (e.g., information indicating whether or not a UE is a Reduced Capability UE) by Msg3 (at the time of executing four-step RACH) or MsgA PUSCH (at the time of executing two-step RACH). Hereinafter, “Msg3 (when executing four-step RACH) or MsgA PUSCH (when executing two-step RACH)” is referred to as “Msg3/MsgA PUSCH”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ohara in order to perform transmission with frequency resources such that the UE can perform reception within reduced UE bandwidth, (Ohara; [0090]).
Jung-Ohara fails to explicitly teach, wherein the set of features comprises a set of parameters defined for the extended device type UE
providing the device type related information to a 5G core network node of access and mobility management function (AMF); and
providing a resource configuration to the extended device type UE according to at least one feature of the set of features supported by the extended device type UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Koskinen teaches, wherein the set of features comprises a set of parameters defined for the extended device type UE (Koskinen; [0272] The parameters locationAndBandwidth fields and carrierBandwidth fields in uplinkConfigCommon Common and downlinkConfigCommon would need to be set so that the REDCAP NR device limitations are met).
providing the device type related information to a 5G core network node of access and mobility management function (AMF) (Koskinen; [0215] The 5GCN may comprise an access management function (AMF) [0248] … The network may identify whether the NR device is a REDCAP NR device before sending the Msg4 of the RACH procedure so that any scheduling commands over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) sent by the network after this time point may be sent on the initial DL BWP.); and
providing a resource configuration (SCS carrier configuration) to the extended device type UE according to the set of features (initial UL BWP and an initial DL BWP) supported by the extended device type UE (Koskinen; [0249] More specifically, in SIB1 a NR device is provided with a SCS carrier configuration comprising an initial UL BWP and an initial DL BWP that the NR device needs to support to be able to access a cell.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara to include the above recited limitations as taught by Koskinen in order to connect these sensors and actuators to 5G networks and core (Koskinen; [0225]).
Regarding claim 35 Jung teaches, A radio access method executable in a user equipment (UE) being an extended device type UE, comprising:
receiving, by the extended device type UE (transmit a UECapabilityEnquiry signal for requesting a UE) in an RRC CONNECTED state (RRC_CONNECTED state), an inquiry (UECapabilityEnquiry signal) for device type related information from a base station (message indicating whether multiple BWPs, LTE-NR DC, NR-LTE DC, or NR-NR DC, SUL is supported) (Jung; [0111] A network (e.g., an NR base station or an evolved universal terrestrial radio access network (EUTRAN) base station) may transmit a UECapabilityEnquiry signal for requesting a UE in an RRC_CONNECTED state to transmit UE capability information. When the UE Capability
Information signal is generated, the UE may generate the UECapabilityInformation signal including a message indicating whether multiple BWPs are supported, whether various DC structures such as LTE-NR DC, NR-LTE DC, or NR-NR DC are supported, whether a supplementary uplink (SUL) is supported, and that the UE is capable of finding an IDC problem when multiple BWPs, DC, and SULs are used);
Jung fails to explicitly teach, providing device type related information of the extended device type UE to the base station in response to the inquiry, wherein the device type related information comprises a UE capability is associated with a set of features supported by the extended device type UE and the set of features comprises a feature of device type indication using Msg l in 4-step random access, device type indication using MsgA in 2-step random access, and device type indication using Msg3 in 4-step random access.
the set of features comprises a set of parameters defined for the extended device type UE
receiving a resource configuration for the extended device type UE from the base station, wherein the resource configuration is based on at least one feature of the set of features supported by the extended device type UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohara teaches, providing device type related information of the extended device type UE to the base station in response to the inquiry (Fig. 7) (Ohara; [0096] the user terminal 20 notifies the base station apparatus 10 of information of its own UE type), wherein the device type related information comprises a UE capability (information indicating whether or not a UE is a Reduced Capability UE), and the UE capability is associated with a set of features supported by the extended device type UE, wherein the set of features comprises a feature of device type indication (UE is Reduced Capability UE) using Msg1 in 4-step random access (Fig. 7, by Msg1 (when four-step RACH is executed)) , device type indication using MsgA in 2-step random access (Fig. 7, MsgA (when two-step RACH is executed)), and device type indication using Msg3 in 4-step random access(Ohara; [0138-139], [0101] In S102, the user terminal 20 notifies the base station apparatus 10 of information of a UE type (e.g., information representing whether or not the UE is Reduced Capability UE) by Msg1 (when four-step RACH is executed) or MsgA (when two-step RACH is executed). [0162] the user terminal 20 notifies the base station apparatus 10 of information of a UE type (e.g., information indicating whether or not a UE is a Reduced Capability UE) by Msg3 (at the time of executing four-step RACH) or MsgA PUSCH (at the time of executing two-step RACH). Hereinafter, “Msg3 (when executing four-step RACH) or MsgA PUSCH (when executing two-step RACH)” is referred to as “Msg3/MsgA PUSCH”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ohara in order to perform transmission with frequency resources such that the UE can perform reception within reduced UE bandwidth, (Ohara; [0090]).
Jung-Ohara fails to explicitly teach, the set of features comprises a set of parameters defined for the extended device type UE.
receiving a resource configuration for the extended device type UE from the base station, wherein the resource configuration is based on at least one feature of the set of features supported by the extended device type UE-and performing random access with the base station according to the resource configuration for the extended device type UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Koskinen teaches, the set of features comprises a set of parameters defined for the extended device type UE (Koskinen; [0272] The parameters locationAndBandwidth fields and carrierBandwidth fields in uplinkConfigCommon Common and downlinkConfigCommon would need to be set so that the REDCAP NR device limitations are met).
receiving a resource configuration for the extended device type UE from the base station (Koskinen; [0248] … The network may identify whether the NR device is a REDCAP NR device before sending the Msg4 of the RACH procedure so that any scheduling commands over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) sent by the network after this time point may be sent on the initial DL BWP), wherein the resource configuration (SCS carrier configuration) is based on at least one feature of the set of features (initial UL BWP and an initial DL BWP) supported by the extended device type UE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara to include the above recited limitations as taught by Koskinen in order to connect these sensors and actuators to 5G networks and core (Koskinen; [0225]).
Regarding claim 71 Jung teaches, A user equipment (UE), comprising:
a transceiver (Jung; Fig. 2C, 2c-20); and
a processor configured to execute a radio access method that comprises steps of (Jung; Fig. 2C, 2c-10):
receiving, by the extended device type UE (transmit a UECapabilityEnquiry signal for requesting a UE) in an RRC CONNECTED state (RRC_CONNECTED state), an inquiry (UECapabilityEnquiry signal) for device type related information from a base station (message indicating whether multiple BWPs, LTE-NR DC, NR-LTE DC, or NR-NR DC, SUL is supported) (Jung; [0111] A network (e.g., an NR base station or an evolved universal terrestrial radio access network (EUTRAN) base station) may transmit a UECapabilityEnquiry signal for requesting a UE in an RRC_CONNECTED state to transmit UE capability information. When the UE Capability
Information signal is generated, the UE may generate the UECapabilityInformation signal including a message indicating whether multiple BWPs are supported, whether various DC structures such as LTE-NR DC, NR-LTE DC, or NR-NR DC are supported, whether a supplementary uplink (SUL) is supported, and that the UE is capable of finding an IDC problem when multiple BWPs, DC, and SULs are used);
Jung fails to explicitly teach, transmitting the device type related information of the extended device type UE to the base station, wherein the device type related information is in response to the inquiry and comprises a UE capability, the UE capability is associated with a set of features supported by the extended device type UE, and the set of features comprises a feature of device type indication using Msgl in 4-step random access, device type indication using MsgA in 2-step random access, and device type indication using Msg3 in 4-step random access .
the set of features comprises a set of parameters defined for the extended device type UE
receiving a resource configuration for the extended device type UE from the base station, wherein the resource configuration is based on at least one feature of the set of features supported by the extended device type UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohara teaches, transmitting the device type related information is from the extended device type UE to the base station (Ohara; [0096] the user terminal 20 notifies the base station apparatus 10 of information of its own UE type), wherein the device type related information is in in response to the inquiry (Fig. 7) and comprises a UE capability (information indicating whether or not a UE is a Reduced Capability UE), and the UE capability is associated with a set of features supported by the extended device type UE, and the set of features comprises a feature of device type indication (UE is Reduced Capability UE) using Msg1 in 4-step random access (Fig. 7, by Msg1 (when four-step RACH is executed)) , device type indication using MsgA in 2-step random access (Fig. 7, MsgA (when two-step RACH is executed)), and device type indication using Msg3 in 4-step random access(Ohara; [0138-139], [0101] In S102, the user terminal 20 notifies the base station apparatus 10 of information of a UE type (e.g., information representing whether or not the UE is Reduced Capability UE) by Msg1 (when four-step RACH is executed) or MsgA (when two-step RACH is executed). [0162] the user terminal 20 notifies the base station apparatus 10 of information of a UE type (e.g., information indicating whether or not a UE is a Reduced Capability UE) by Msg3 (at the time of executing four-step RACH) or MsgA PUSCH (at the time of executing two-step RACH). Hereinafter, “Msg3 (when executing four-step RACH) or MsgA PUSCH (when executing two-step RACH)” is referred to as “Msg3/MsgA PUSCH”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ohara in order to perform transmission with frequency resources such that the UE can perform reception within reduced UE bandwidth, (Ohara; [0090]).
Jung-Ohara fails to explicitly teach, the set of features comprises a set of parameters defined for the extended device type UE
receiving a resource configuration for the extended device type UE from the base station, wherein the resource configuration is based on at least one feature of the set of features supported by the extended device type UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Koskinen teaches, the set of features comprises a set of parameters defined for the extended device type UE (Koskinen; [0272] The parameters locationAndBandwidth fields and carrierBandwidth fields in uplinkConfigCommon Common and downlinkConfigCommon would need to be set so that the REDCAP NR device limitations are met).
receiving a resource configuration for the extended device type UE from the base station (Koskinen; [0248] … The network may identify whether the NR device is a REDCAP NR device before sending the Msg4 of the RACH procedure so that any scheduling commands over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) sent by the network after this time point may be sent on the initial DL BWP), wherein the resource configuration (SCS carrier configuration) is based on at least one feature of the set of features (initial UL BWP and an initial DL BWP) supported by the extended device type UE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara to include the above recited limitations as taught by Koskinen in order to connect these sensors and actuators to 5G networks and core (Koskinen; [0225]).
Regarding claims 4 and 38 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the claim 1 and 35,
Jung-Ohara fails to explicitly teach, wherein the set of features comprises a feature of a separate initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and a separate initial uplink (UL) BWP configured for the extended device type UE during a random access.
Koskinen further teaches, wherein the set of features comprises a feature of a separate initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and a separate initial uplink (UL) BWP configured for the extended device type UE during a random access (Koskinen; [0249] More specifically, in SIB1 a NR device is provided with a SCS carrier configuration comprising an initial UL BWP and an initial DL BWP that the NR device needs to support to be able to access a cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara to include the above recited limitations as taught by Koskinen in order to connect these sensors and actuators to 5G networks and core (Koskinen; [0225]).
Regarding claims 5 and 39 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the claim 1 and 35,
Jung-Ohara fails to explicitly teach, wherein the device type related information is provided for storage in the 5G core network node of AMF.
Koskinen further teaches, wherein the device type related information is provided for storage in the 5G core network node of AMF ([0275] To prevent the barring/blocking/ambiguity of a REDCAP NR device based on the initial UL BWP and the initial DL BWP provided in SIB1, the initial UL BWP and the initial DL BWP provided in SIB1 may be set narrow by the network so that it may be supported by both a normal capability NR device and a REDCAP NR device) (See Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara to include the above recited limitations as taught by Koskinen in order to connect these sensors and actuators to 5G networks and core (Koskinen; [0225]).
Regarding claims 8 and 43 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the claim 1 and 35,
Jung-Ohara fails to explicitly teach, wherein the resource configuration comprises resource indications of a separate initial DL BWP and a separate initial UL BWP specific to the extended device type UE
Koskinen further teaches, wherein the resource configuration comprises resource indications of a separate initial DL BWP and a separate initial UL BWP specific to the extended device type UE (Koskinen; [0249] specifically, in SIB1 a NR device is provided with a SCS carrier configuration comprising an initial UL BWP and an initial DL BWP that the NR device needs to support to be able to access a cell. [0284] The indication of the preferred BWP may be provided by the NR device based a physical layer configuration of PUSCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara to include the above recited limitations as taught by Koskinen in order to connect these sensors and actuators to 5G networks and core (Koskinen; [0225]).
Regarding claims 9 and 44 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the claim 1 and 35,
Jung further teaches, wherein the device type related information is received by the base station during an RRC connection procedure (Jung; [0120] Referring to FIG. 2B, UE capability to a network by providing UECapabilityInformation to the network, and the network being aware of the UE capability may configure IDC information provision in the UE through an RRC signal)
Regarding claims 19 and 54 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the claim 1 and 35,
Jung-Ohara fails to explicitly teach, wherein in providing the resource configuration, the base station provides DL/UL BWP indication for the extended device type UE in SIB for DL/UL operation during a random access and the DL/UL BWP indication indicates a resource location of an initial DL/UL BWP for the extended device type UE.
Koskinen further teaches, wherein in providing the resource configuration, the base station provides DL/UL BWP indication for the extended device type UE in SIB for DL/UL operation during a random access and the DL/UL BWP indication indicates a resource location of an initial DL/UL BWP for the extended device type UE (Koskinen; [0297] The NR device may provide an indication of the preferred BWP based on the RACH preamble selected. One or more RACH preambles may be associated with the CORESET#0 BWP whereas one or more RACH preambles may be associated with the initial BWP.. whereas one or more other RACH preambles may be associated with the initial BWP1, one or more other RACH preambles may be associated with the initial BWP2 and one or more other RACH preambles may be associated with the initial BWP3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara to include the above recited limitations as taught by Koskinen in order to connect these sensors and actuators to 5G networks and core (Koskinen; [0225]).
Regarding claims 23 and 58 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the claim 8 and 43,
Jung-Ohara fails to explicitly teach, wherein the separate initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and separate initial uplink (UL) BWP are dedicated to the extended device type UE, distinct from legacy UE configurations
Koskinen further teaches, wherein the separate initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and separate initial uplink (UL) BWP are dedicated to the extended device type UE, distinct from legacy UE configurations (Koskinen; [0292] In step 1, a NR device (UE) may receive a MIB message from the network (gNB). The MIB message may provide a CORESET#0 BWP. The CORESET#0 BWP may comprise an UL CORESET#0 BWP and/or a DL CORESET#0 BWP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara to include the above recited limitations as taught by Koskinen in order to connect these sensors and actuators to 5G networks and core (Koskinen; [0225]).
Regarding claims 27 and 61 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the claim 8 and 43,
Jung-Ohara fails to explicitly teach, wherein subcarrier spacing (SCS) specific to the extended device type UE for both the separate initial DL BWP and the separate initial UL BWP are configured for the extended device type UE.
Koskinen further teaches, wherein subcarrier spacing (SCS) specific to the extended device type UE for both the separate initial DL BWP and the separate initial UL BWP are configured for the extended device type UE (Koskinen; [0270] A NR device may be provided in SIB1 with a SCS carrier configuration comprising an initial UL BWP and an initial DL BWP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara to include the above recited limitations as taught by Koskinen in order to connect these sensors and actuators to 5G networks and core (Koskinen; [0225]).
Regarding claim 30 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the method of claim 1
Jung further teaches, A base station comprising: a processor configured to call and run a computer program stored in a memory, to cause a device in which the processor is installed to execute the method of claim 1 (Jung; [0250] Referring to FIG. 2D, a base station may include a transceiver 2d-10, a memory 2d-20, and a processor 2d-30. the base station may include more or fewer elements than those illustrated in FIG. 2D).
Regarding claim 31 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the method of claim 1
Jung further teaches, A chip, comprising: a processor configured to call and run a computer program stored in a memory, to cause a device in which the chip is installed to execute the method of claim 1 (Jung; Fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 32 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the method of claim 1
Jung further teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (Jung; [0253] The memory 2d-20 may store a program and data required to operate the base station. Also, the memory 2d-20 may store control information or data included in a signal obtained by the base station. The memory 2d-20 may include a storage medium such as a ROM, a RAM, a hard disk, a CD-ROM, or a DVD, or a combination thereof.).
Regarding claim 66 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the method of claim 35
Jung further teaches, A user equipment (UE) comprising: a processor configured to call and run a computer program stored in a memory, to cause a device in which the processor is installed to execute the method of claim 35 (Jung; Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 67 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the method of claim 35
Jung further teaches, A chip, comprising: a processor, configured to call and run a computer program stored in a memory, to cause a device in which the chip is installed to execute the method of claim 35 (Jung; Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 68 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the method of claim 35
Jung further teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 35 (Jung; Fig. 2C)
Claims 6 and 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen as applied to claim 5 and 35 above, and further in view of Kawasaki et al. (Kawasaki hereafter) (US 20220015158 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 41 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the claims 5 and 35,
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, wherein the base station is operable to retrieve the device type related information stored in the AMF based on a UE identity associated with the extended device type UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kawasaki teaches, wherein the base station is operable to retrieve the device type related information stored in the AMF based on a UE identity associated with the extended device type UE (Kawasaki; [0050] the gNB can use the network connection portion_B520 to receive and transmit user data and/or control information from/to the AMF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kawasaki in order to provide connectivity to a Local Area Data Network (LADN) (Kawasaki; [0007]).
Claims 7 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen-Kawasaki as applied to claims 6 and 41 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Kim hereafter) (US 20210307101A1)
Regarding claims 7 and 42 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen-Kawasaki teaches, the claim 6 and 41,
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen-Kawasaki fails to explicitly teach, wherein the UE identity associated with the extended device type UE is received by the base station during a network registration procedure
However, in the same field of endeavor Kim teaches, wherein the UE identity associated with the extended device type UE is received by the base station during a network registration procedure (Kim; [0115] During the initial registration procedure, an ID of the UE may be obtained from the UE. The AMF may forward (or transfer) a PEI (IMEISV) to a UDM, SMF, and PCF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen-Kawasaki to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kim in order to allow mobility tracking and data reception to be performed (Kim; [0114]).
Claims 13, 17, 48, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen as applied to claims 1 and 35 above, and further in view of Liu (Liu hereafter) (US 20230164669 A1).
Regarding claims 13 and 48 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, The claims 1 and 35,
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, wherein the set of features comprises a feature of maximum bandwidth supported by the extended device type user equipment
However, in the same field of endeavor Liu teaches, wherein the set of features comprises a feature of maximum bandwidth supported by the extended device type user equipment (Liu; [0035-0038] a maximum bandwidth supported by the first type of UEs is smaller than a maximum
bandwidth supported by the second type of UEs. [0038] For example, the maximum bandwidth supported by the second type of UEs may be 100 Mhz, and the maximum
bandwidth supported by the first type of UEs is less than 100 Mhz)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Liu in order to configure and to control the first type of UEs and the second type of UEs to access a network. (Liu; [0040]).
Regarding claims 17 and 52 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, The claims 1 and 35,
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, wherein the base station further configures an access control or cell restriction in system information block (SIB) for the extended device type UE, and the access control or cell restriction is applied based on an access priority associated with the extended device type UE
However, in the same field of endeavor Liu teaches, wherein the base station further configures an access control or cell restriction in system information block (SIB) for the extended device type UE, and the access control or cell restriction is applied based on an access priority associated with the extended device type UE (Liu; [0188] Separate resource related to the random access is configured for the Redcap UE. Only the information required to be configured specially is carried by the SIB1. In this case, the configuration values of the random access resources configured for the two types of UEs are respectively carried in the SIB1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Liu in order to configure and to control the first type of UEs and the second type of UEs to access a network. (Liu; [0040]).
Claims 14 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen as applied to claims 1 and 35 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (Lee hereafter) (US 20230006798 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 49 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, The claims 1 and 35,
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, wherein in providing the resource configuration, the base station takes into account processing time for the extended device type UE to perform UL transmission, wherein the processing time comprises a preparation time for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee teaches, wherein in providing the resource configuration, the base station takes into account processing time for the extended device type UE to perform UL transmission, wherein the processing time comprises a preparation time for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (Lee; [0225] Tables below show processing times according to UE processing capability. Particularly, Table 11 shows a PDSCH processing time for PDSCH processing capability #1 of the UE, Table 12 shows a PDSCH processing time for PDSCH processing capability #2 of the UE)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order to perform UCI multiplex for UL channels #1 to #3 (Lee; [0227]).
Claims 15 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen as applied to claims 1 and 35 above, and further in view of Taherzadeh et al. (Taherzadeh hereafter) (US 20220132533 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 50 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, The claims 1 and 35,
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, wherein in providing the resource configuration, the base station take into account a number of repetitions of PUSCH transmission for the extended device type UE
However, in the same field of endeavor Taherzadeh teaches, wherein in providing the resource configuration, the base station take into account a number of repetitions of PUSCH transmission for the extended device type UE (Taherzadeh; [0083] Techniques are disclosed for providing PUSCH transmissions with repetitions. A WTRU may receive a symbol configuration wherein symbols indicated as uplink (UL) may be used for URLLC PUSCH transmission with repetitions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Taherzadeh in order to configure and to avoid collisions (Taherzadeh; [0083]).
Claims 18 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen as applied to claims 1 and 35 above, and further in view of He et al. (He hereafter) (US 20220377532 A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 53 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, The claims 1 and 35,
Ohara teaches, wherein in providing the resource configuration, the base station configures a random access restriction in SIB for the extended device type UE to perform random access during an RRC IDLE or RRCCONNECTED state (Ohara; [0190] information representing a correspondence relationship between a sequence generation method of a preamble and a UE type, information representing a correspondence relationship between a preamble format and a UE type, RACH configuration for each UE type, and the like.[0191] The information necessary for access described above may be information necessary for receiving Msg2-4, receiving MsgB, or subsequent RRC connection, based on the new UE type), and
the random access restriction comprises one or more of:
preamble sequence restriction for the extended device type UE (Ohara; [132-133] a UE type by a sequence generation method of a preamble, or a preamble format. sequence generation method of a preamble is which root sequence index to use for generating a sequence. Fig. 7. root sequence indexes for each UE type are notified from the base station apparatus 10 to the user terminal 20. The root sequence indexes for each UE type may be specified in the specification without such notification. The user terminal 20 generates a preamble with the root sequence index corresponding to its UE type and transmits the preamble to the base station apparatus 10).
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, physical random access channel (PRACH) resource restriction for the extended device type UE;
However, in the same field of endeavor He teaches physical random access channel (PRACH) resource restriction for the extended device type UE; (He; [0065] A gNB 102 may control access to the network by various UEs. To allow the communication network to define and restrict the types of devices that may access the network, gNB 102 may transmit an indication of whether the type of devices that includes the NR-light UE is allowed access to the communication network in operation 601.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by He in order to control access to the network. (He; [0065]).
Claims 20 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen as applied to claims 19 and 54 above, and further in view of Ang et al. (Ang hereafter) (US 20200053811 A1).
Regarding claims 20 and 55 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, The claims 19 and 54,
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, wherein the resource location of an initial DL BWP for the extended device type UE includes a non-cell-defining SSB for the extended device type UE
However, in the same field of endeavor Ang teaches, wherein the resource location of an initial DL BWP for the extended device type UE includes a non-cell-defining SSB for the extended device type UE (Ang; [0153] Different UEs may be configured for different BWPs, and thus load-balancing of the lower bandwidth UEs across frequency may be achieved. In such cases, multi-SSB handling again may be used by both the high bandwidth UEs and the lower bandwidth UEs, and non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) can be deployed to distribute lower bandwidth UEs across frequency).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ang in order to provide for load-balancing of the lower bandwidth (Ang; [0151]).
Claims 21 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen as applied to claims 8 and 43 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (Jeon hereafter) (US 20200314917 A1).
Regarding claims 21 and 56 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the claim 8 and 43,
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, wherein a bandwidth of the separate initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) is within 20MHz; and
a bandwidth of the separate initial uplink (UL) BWP is within 20MHz
However, in the same field of endeavor Ang teaches, wherein a bandwidth of the separate initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) is within 20MHz (Jeon; [0510] An initial active DL/UL BWP may be approximately 20 MHz for a first unlicensed band); and
a bandwidth of the separate initial uplink (UL) BWP is within 20MHz (Jeon; An initial active
DL/UL BWP may be approximately 20 MHz for a second unlicensed band).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Jeon in order to perform an LBT procedure subband by subband (Jeon; [0510]).
Claims 24 26, 59, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen as applied to claims 8 and 43 above, and further in view of Liu (Liu2 hereafter) (US 20220183071 A1).
Regarding claims 24, and 59, Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, The claim 8 and 43,
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, wherein for the separate initial UL BWP, an additional configuration comprising a set of preamble sequences and PRACH resources used by the extended device type UE during a random access procedure is provided.
However, in the same field of endeavor Liu2 teaches, wherein for the separate initial UL BWP, an additional configuration comprising a set of preamble sequences and PRACH resources used by the extended device type UE during a random access procedure is provided (Liu2; [0038] One Msg2 can contain identities (i.e., index values) of multiple preamble sequences sent by different terminals, and respond to random access requests from multiple terminals at the same time. The terminal determines whether it has received the random access response by detecting whether the Msg2 carries the identity of the preamble sequence sent by the terminal.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Liu2 in order to respond to random access requests (Liu2; [0038]).
Regarding claims 26 and 60 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen-Liu2 teaches, the claim 24 and 59,
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen-Liu2 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the PRACH resources configured for the extended device type UE are dedicated to the extended device type UE
Koskinen further teaches, wherein the PRACH resources configured for the extended device type UE are dedicated to the extended device type UE (Koskinen; [0279] Certain PRACH resources may be reserved for indicating that the preferred BWP is the CORESET#0 BWP provided in the MIB and/or other PRACH resources may be reserved for indicating that the preferred BWP is the initial BWP provided in the SIB1. [0280] The indication of the preferred BWP may be provided by the NR device based on a RACH preamble selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Liu2 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Koskinen in order to connect these sensors and actuators to 5G networks and core (Koskinen; [0225]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen-Liu2 as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Martin et al. (Martin hereafter) (US 20190239211 A1).
Regarding claim 25 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen-Liu2 teaches the radio access method of claim 24,
Jung-Ohara-Liu2 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the base station implicitly receives a device type related information of the extended device type UE based on:
an initial UL BWP selected by the extended device type UE
Koskinen further teaches wherein the base station implicitly receives a device type related information of the extended device type UE based on:
an initial UL BWP selected by the extended device type UE (Koskinen; [0272] The restricted capabilities of a REDCAP NR device may require the network to adjust the initial UL BWP);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Liu2 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Koskinen in order to connect these sensors and actuators to 5G networks and core (Koskinen; [0225]).
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen-Liu2 fails to explicitly teach, wherein the base station implicitly receives a device type related information of the extended device type UE based on:
a preamble sequence selected by the extended device type UE
or
a PRACH resource selected by the extended device type UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor Martin teaches, a preamble sequence selected by the extended device type UE (Martin; [0078] ... the network reserves a subset of sequences or random access preambles which the reduced capability UEs use when transmitting a random access message.); and
a PRACH resource selected by the extended device type UE.
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen-Liu2 to include the above recited limitations as taught by Martin in order to avoid having to schedule the random access response messages in the restricted subset of resources (Martin; [0078]).
Claims 29 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen as applied to claims 8 and 43 above, and further in view of Awadin et al. (Awadin hereafter) (US 20230188261 A1) (US Provisional Patent Application No. 63/024,883, filed May 14, 2020).
Regarding claims 29 and 63 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, the claims 8 and 43,
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, wherein a number of repetitions for transmitting Msg3 in the separate initial UL BWP is configured for the extended device type UE
However, in the same field of endeavor Awadin teaches, wherein a number of repetitions for transmitting Msg3 in the separate initial UL BWP is configured for the extended device type UE (Awadin; [0425] Solutions for Msg3 in 4-step RACH and 2-step RACH (when applicable) are described herein. To enhance the coverage of Msg3, the reduced capability NR device may repeat Msg3. The details of Msg3 repetition may be provided in RAR-PDSCH and/or its scheduling PDCCH depending on the available number of bits in RAR-PDSCH)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Awadin in order to enhance the coverage (Awadin; [0425]).
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Miao et al. (Miao hereafter) (US 20220386263 A1).
Regarding claim 64 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, The radio access method of claim 35
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, wherein the extended device type UE receives a Msg4 message during a random access with one or more of the following operations:
starting a random access contention resolution timer specific to the extended device type UE; and
However, in the same field of endeavor Miao teaches, monitoring and decoding physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) using an RNTI specific to the extended device type UE (Miao; [0069] Msg4: after sending Msg3, the terminal starts a ra-ContentionResolutionTimer at a first symbol after sending Msg3, monitors the PDCCH during running of the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer, receives a contention resolution message, and judges whether the random access is successful or not according to whether contention is resolved or not. As for the initial access terminal, after contention resolution is successful, the temporary C-RNTI is automatically converted into a unique terminal identity C-RNTI of the terminal in the cell.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Miao in order to monitors the PDCCH (Miao; [0069]).
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung-Ohara-Koskinen as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Lunttilla et al. (Lunttilla hereafter) (US 20190036653 A1)
Regarding claim 65 Jung-Ohara-Koskinen teaches, The radio access method of claim 35
Jung-Ohara-Koskinen fails to explicitly teach, wherein in receiving the resource configuration, the configured resource is scheduled according to an HARQ-ACK timing configuration that takes into account processing time for the extended device type UE to perform HARQ- ACK transmission for an Msg4 message, wherein the processing time comprises physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) processing time specific to the extended device type UE
However, in the same field of endeavor Lunttilla teaches, wherein in receiving the resource configuration, the configured resource is scheduled according to an HARQ-ACK timing configuration that takes into account processing time for the extended device type UE to perform HARQ- ACK transmission for an Msg4 message, wherein the processing time comprises physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) processing time specific to the extended device type UE (Lunttilla; [0101] UE and base station (eNB) have same “understanding” of the PUCCH resource that is allocated to UE for transmission of HARQ-ACK for PDSCH (physical downlink shared control channel. When performing random access, UE needs PUCCH resource allocation for the first time when it sends HARQ-ACK for random access Msg4. (A contention resolution message Msg4 is transmitted by the eNodeB in downlink PDSCH (physical downlink shared channel) based on the PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) containing a C-RNTI (cell-radio network temporary identifier) which is used for further communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jung-Ohara-Koskinen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lunttilla in order to send PUCCH resource allocation for the first time (Lunttilla; [0101]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416