DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/23/2026, have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objects are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US20170367982 to Nandwana. Nandwana teaches a biocompatible oily ferrofluid comprising iron oxide magnetic nanoparticles (paragraphs 2, 4-10, and 67) and+ an oil phase (paragraphs 58 and 95) comprising a triglyceride (at least one fatty acid ester) (paragraph 74), wherein the magnetic nanoparticles are surface functionalized by molecules of one or more phospholipids (paragraph 75). Surfactants are not taught (free of surfactant). As a chemical cannot be separated from its property, and as the same phospholipid molecules are used as in the present invention, the phospholipid molecules presented in Nandwana would ensure the presently claimed coverages (there is no limitation in the present claims that the phospholipid molecules cover the surface of the iron-oxide based magnetic nanoparticles, only that they have the property of being able to ensure said coverage). Physiologic conditions with a temperature of 35-40° C is used (a colloidal dispersion in said oil phase from a temperature belonging to the range from 20 to 80 oC.” (paragraph 36). The phospholipid may be DPPC (a phospholipid that contains at least one fatty chain) (paragraph 5). The nanoparticles may be a spheroid (paragraph 25). The composition may comprise a steroid (a lipophilic active ingredient) (paragraph 32). The artisan in reading Nawanda would immediately envisage that the magnetic nanoparticles are dispersed in the oil phase as Nawanda expressly teaches the use of dispersing agents (paragraph 92) and the carrier is a dispersion media (paragraph 58).”
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that Nandwana does not teach dispersion of the magnetic nanoparticles in the oil phase, the examiners’ response is that the artisan in reading Nawanda would immediately envisage that the magnetic nanoparticles are dispersed in the oil phase as Nawanda expressly teaches the use of dispersing agents (paragraph 92) and the carrier is a dispersion media (paragraph 58).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20170367982 to Nandwana. The relevant portions of Nandwana are given above.
Nandwana fails to teach that the oil phase comprises at least 70% by mass of fatty acid esters relative to the total mass of the oil phase.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to optimize the amount of fatty acid esters in the oil phase to improve the composition for diagnosis and treatment of early-stage atherosclerotic plaques and reduction of plaques in arteries. In this way, the artisan would find at least 70% by mass through routine experimentation.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that it would be an undue burden to find at least 70% by mass, the examiner’s response is it would not be an undue burden to optimize the amount of fatty acid esters to improve the composition for diagnosis and treatment of early-stage atherosclerotic plaques and reduction of plaques in arteries, but the artisan would understand that in the pharmaceutical arts that it is routine to adjust amounts of the components of a pharmaceutical composition to optimize therapeutic efficacy of that the formulation. “Differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20170367982 to Nandwana in view of Kihara (Lysophospholipid receptors in drug discovery, Exp Cell Res. 2014 Dec 8;333(2):171–177). The relevant portions of Nandwana are given above.
Nandwana fails to teach using a phosopholipid containing the moiety -O(O)P(OH)O-.
Kihara teaches that lysophospholipids (which contain -O(O)P(OH)O ) are bioactive lipids that transduce signals through their specific cell-surface G protein-coupled receptors, LPA1–6, S1P1–5, LPI1, and LysoPS1–3, respectively. These LPs and their receptors have been implicated in both physiological and pathophysiological processes such as autoimmune diseases, neurodegenerative diseases, fibrosis, pain, cancer, inflammation, metabolic syndrome, bone formation, fertility, organismal development, and other effects on most organ systems. Advances in the LP receptor field have enabled the development of novel small molecules targeting LP receptors for several diseases (Abstract; Introduction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a lysophospholipid as the phospholipid of Nandwana. The motivation for this would be to diagnose disease, as desired by Nandwana (paragraph 56).
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that the references separately do not disclose the present invention, the examiner’s response is that the rejection is not based on references taken separately but on the combination of references and what that combination would convey to the ordinary artisan. The examiner maintains, as staed above, that although Nandwana fails to teach using a phosopholipid containing the moiety -O(O)P(OH)O-, in view of Kihara, it would have been obvious to use a lysophospholipid as the phospholipid of Nandwana. The motivation for this would be to diagnose disease, as desired by Nandwana.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
May 26, 2026