DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed 03/30/2026, the following objections and rejections have been withdrawn from the previous office action:
Objection to claim 23
35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections of claims 22-23
35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 15-21
Furthermore, the examiner recognizes the deletion of the further limitations to the step of admixing the darkener in claim 1 (starting on line 7) to be in error, and is interpreting these limitations to still be present in claim 1, given the evidence this deletion was not intentional (such as: no remarks on such a deletion and the only other change pertaining to the claim 9 status identifier, which was mentioned, in the recently filed remarks of 3/30/2026; and the previously submitted but not entered claims from 3/16/2026 showing the deletion and addition of the limitations to move them higher in the claim).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 uses incorrect markup for the moved limitations further defining the step of admixing the darkener, which should instead use an underlined markup rather than a .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20180320388A1, hereafter Lombaert, and further in view of Published Application US20190047201A1, hereafter Neuman.
Regarding claim 1, Lombaert discloses a method for producing a substrate sheet ([0056] base panel produced by co-extrusion) for a decorative floor or wall covering ([0001] floor or wall panel), comprising:
providing a first thermoplastic composition ([0028] PVC powder compound in substrate of base panel) comprising recycled PVC granules ([0030] recycled PVC filler), the first thermoplastic composition having an initial shade (this is implicit, all materials have a shade);
admixing ([0036] additives include colorants) a darkener ([0083] 1.26 wt% black color in substrate of base panel) to the first thermoplastic composition so as to confer to the first thermoplastic composition a specific shade, the specific shade being a predetermined specific target shade ([0083] a black colorant is present in a certain amount (1.26 wt%), which will confer to the substrate a certain predetermined shade by virtue of the predetermined amount of black color), wherein the step of admixing the darkener comprises:
a) adding darkener to the first thermoplastic composition so as to confer to the first thermoplastic composition a shade darker than the initial shade (it is implicit that adding a darkener such as black color ([0083]) would darken the shade of the composition).
providing a second thermoplastic composition ([0047] PVC resilient layer of base panel);
coextruding the first thermoplastic composition having the predetermined specific shade resulting from the admixing step with the second composition so as to form first and second adjacent coextruded layers ([0056] base panel is co-extruded);
wherein the first coextruded layer is a support layer ([0024] substrate) having the specific shade, the first coextruded layer comprising the first thermoplastic composition ([0028] PVC powder compound in substrate of base panel); and
wherein the second coextruded layer is a digitally printable layer ([0049] top surface of resilient layer is printable), the second coextruded layer comprising the second thermoplastic composition ([0047] PVC resilient layer of base panel).
Lombaert is silent on wherein the step of admixing the darkener comprises: b) comparing the darker shade with the specific shade; and based on the comparison, if necessary, repeating steps a) and b) until obtaining the first thermoplastic composition having the specific shade.
In the analogous art of colored sheet extrusion molding, Neuman discloses a step of admixing a pigment ([0039] pigment loaded to hopper 24 of feeder 16); comparing the color to a desired color ([0039] color photometer 76 measures color and computing device 52 compares measured color to desired color); and, based on the comparison, using a feedback control loop to adjust the pigment feeding until the measured color matches the desired color ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the method of Lombaert to include a color measuring negative feedback loop as disclosed by Neuman in order to reach the desired shade of first thermoplastic composition by a measurement-informed controlled addition of black color into the composition.
Regarding claim 3, Lombaert discloses wherein the step of admixing the darkener comprises adding darkener to the first thermoplastic composition so as to confer to the first thermoplastic composition a shade darker than the initial shade (it is implicit that adding a darkener such as black color ([0083]) would darken the shade of the composition).
Lombaert is silent on wherein the step of admixing the darkener to the first thermoplastic composition is implemented as a negative feedback loop.
Neuman discloses the use of a negative feedback control loop to adjust the pigment feeding until the measured color matches the desired color ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the method of Lombaert to include a color measuring negative feedback loop as disclosed by Neuman in order to reach the desired shade of first thermoplastic composition by a measurement-informed controlled addition of black color into the composition.
Regarding claim 4, Lombaert discloses wherein the first thermoplastic composition comprises from 10% to 50% by weight of recycled PVC granules ([0030], substrate filler may include recycled PVC; [0032], filler may be present from 10 wt% to 50 wt% based on total weight of substrate).
Regarding claim 5, Lombaert discloses wherein the first thermoplastic composition comprises from 40% to 70% by weight of one or more fillers ([0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Lombaert discloses wherein the first thermoplastic composition comprises 1.26 wt% darkener ([0083] 1.26 wt% black color).
Lombaert is silent on the darkener being present in the first thermoplastic composition in an amount from 0.01% to 0.1% by weight. Since the shade of the first thermoplastic composition is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the amount of darkener present in the composition, with the shade darkening with increasing amounts of darkener, the amount of darkener would have been considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount of darkener cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of darkener in the substrate material of Lombaert to obtain the desired shade of the substrate material, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II).
Regarding claim 7, Lombaert discloses wherein the second coextruded layer has a thickness between 0.1 mm and 5 mm ([0047] resilient layer thickness is between 0.3 mm to 1.2mm). "If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim." (MPEP 2131.03 (I)).
Regarding claim 8, Lombaert discloses wherein the first coextruded layer has a thickness between 2 mm and 15 mm ([0042] substrate has thickness of 5 mm to 15 mm). "If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim." (MPEP 2131.03 (I)).
Regarding claim 9, Lombaert discloses a method for producing a decorative floor or wall covering ([0001] floor or wall panel), comprising:
providing a first thermoplastic composition ([0028] PVC powder compound in substrate of base panel) comprising recycled PVC granules ([0030] recycled PVC filler), the first thermoplastic composition having an initial shade (this is implicit, all materials have a shade);
admixing ([0036] additives include colorants) a darkener ([0083] 1.26 wt% black color in substrate of base panel) to the first thermoplastic composition so as to change the initial shade of the first thermoplastic composition into a specific target shade ([0083] a black colorant is present in a certain amount (1.26 wt%), which will confer to the substrate a certain predetermined shade by virtue of the predetermined amount of black color);
providing a second thermoplastic composition ([0047] PVC resilient layer of base panel);
coextruding the first thermoplastic composition having the specific target shade with the second composition so as to form first and second adjacent coextruded layers ([0056] base panel is co-extruded);
wherein the first coextruded layer is a support layer ([0024] substrate) having the specific target shade, the first coextruded layer comprising the first thermoplastic composition ([0028] PVC powder compound in substrate of base panel); and
wherein the second coextruded layer is a digitally printable layer ([0049] top surface of resilient layer is printable), the second coextruded layer comprising the second thermoplastic composition ([0047] PVC resilient layer of base panel), the digitally printable layer having a shade which is brighter than the shade of the first thermoplastic composition ([0083] substrate comprises mostly white or clear components and also black color, [0084] resilient layer comprises entirely white or transparent components);
and digitally printing a décor on the digitally printable layer ([0059] digitally printing on surface of resilient layer);
wherein the step of admixing the darkener comprises:
a) adding darkener to the first thermoplastic composition so as to confer to the first thermoplastic composition a shade darker than the initial shade (it is implicit that adding a darkener such as black color ([0083]) would darken the shade of the composition).
Lombaert is silent on wherein the step of admixing the darkener comprises: b) comparing the darker shade with the specific shade; and based on the comparison, repeating steps a) and b) until the shade of the first thermoplastic composition matches the specific target shade within a matching tolerance ΔE of at most 5, where ΔE =
√
((L*s – L*d)2 + (a*s - a*d)2 + (b*s - b*d)2) with the specific target shade "s" (L*s, a*s, b*s) in CIELAB color space and the darker shade “d” (L*d, a*d, b*d) in CIELAB color space.
In the analogous art of colored sheet extrusion molding, Neuman discloses a step of admixing a pigment ([0039] pigment loaded to hopper 24 of feeder 16); comparing the color to a desired color ([0039] color photometer 76 measures color and computing device 52 compares measured color to desired color); and, based on the comparison, using a feedback control loop to adjust the pigment feeding until the measured color matches the desired color ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the method of Lombaert to include a color measuring negative feedback loop as disclosed by Neuman in order to reach the desired shade of first thermoplastic composition by a measurement-informed controlled addition of black color into the composition.
Furthermore, one skilled in the art would have recognized the matching tolerance ΔE approaching 0 to be an obvious goal, since it would mean no difference between the current shade and the target shade. As the darker shade of the first thermoplastic composition is/are variable(s) that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amount of admixed darkener, with the darker shade of the first thermoplastic composition darkening as the amount of admixed darkener is increased, the darker shade of the first thermoplastic composition would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount of admixed darkener cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of admixed darkener in the invention of modified Lombaert to obtain the desired darker shade of the first thermoplastic composition, which ideally would have been identical to the predetermined specific target shade (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
The examiner notes that since the limitation “within a matching tolerance ΔE of at most 5, where ΔE =
√
((L*s – L*d)2 + (a*s - a*d)2 + (b*s - b*d)2) with the specific target shade "s" (L*s, a*s, b*s) in CIELAB color space and the darker shade “d” (L*d, a*d, b*d) in CIELAB color space” describes a standard root sum square expression for differences between actual and target color values representing the matching tolerance ΔE, this limitation is therefore rendered obvious by the above reasoning regarding the routine optimization of the result-effective variable, the amount of admixed darkener.
Regarding claim 10, Lombaert discloses applying a wear layer on the digitally printed décor ([0061] wear layer over décor).
Regarding claim 11, Lombaert discloses applying a polyurethane-based top layer ([0062] wear layer is made from polyurethane).
Regarding claim 12, Lombaert discloses wherein the décor has a thickness (this is implicit, since it is a printed pattern on a substrate).
Lombaert is silent on the thickness of the décor being between 0.05 mm and 1 mm. Since the thickness of the décor is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the digital printing process, with the 3D texture of the décor becoming more prominent with increasing thickness of the printed pattern, the thickness of the décor would have been considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed thickness of the décor cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thickness of the digitally printed layer of Lombaert to obtain the desired prominence of the 3D texture aspect of the digitally printed pattern, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II).
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20180320388A1, hereafter Lombaert, in view of Published Application US20190047201A1, hereafter Neuman, and further in view of Published Application US20190366281A1, hereafter Rust.
Regarding claim 15, Lombaert discloses a method for producing a decorative floor or wall covering ([0001] floor or wall panel), comprising:
providing a first thermoplastic composition ([0028] PVC powder compound in substrate of base panel) comprising recycled PVC granules ([0030] recycled PVC filler), the first thermoplastic composition having an initial shade (this is implicit, all materials have a shade);
admixing ([0036] additives include colorants) darkener ([0083] 1.26 wt% black color in substrate of base panel) to the first thermoplastic composition so as to confer to the first thermoplastic composition a specific shade, the specific shade being a predetermined specific target shade ([0083] a black colorant is present in a certain amount (1.26 wt%), which will confer to the substrate a certain predetermined shade by virtue of the predetermined amount of black color), wherein the step of admixing the darkener comprises:
b) adding darkener to the first thermoplastic composition so as to confer to the first thermoplastic composition a shade darker than the initial shade (it is implicit that adding a darkener such as black color ([0083]) would darken the shade of the composition);
providing a second thermoplastic composition ([0047] PVC resilient layer of base panel);
coextruding the first thermoplastic composition having the specific target shade with the second composition so as to form first and second adjacent coextruded layers ([0056] base panel is co-extruded);
wherein the first coextruded layer is a support layer ([0024] substrate) comprising the first thermoplastic composition having the specific target shade ([0028] PVC powder compound in substrate of base panel); and
wherein the second coextruded layer is a digitally printable layer ([0049] top surface of resilient layer is printable) having a lightness L* defined in the CIELAB color space greater than 80 ([0047] the resilient layer is made out of PVC (which is white) or [0084] entirely white or transparent components, and [0048] the surface is free of inks, dyes, and/or pigments, and thus the visual aspect of the layer is determined by the material. Since the lightness scale in the CIELAB color space ranges from 0 (black) to 100 (white), the use of PVC without other colorants in the resilient layer of Lombaert is considered to meet this limitation), the second coextruded layer comprising the second thermoplastic composition ([0047] PVC resilient layer of base panel); and digitally printing a décor on the digitally printable layer ([0059] digitally printing on surface of resilient layer).
Lombaert is silent on the step of admixing darkener comprising: (a) withdrawing a sample of the first thermoplastic composition and (c) comparing the darker shade with the specific shade, and based on the comparison, repeating steps a) to c) until obtaining the sample having the specific shade thereby determining an amount of darkener to add to the first thermoplastic composition for obtaining the specific target shade, adding and mixing said amount of darkener to the first thermoplastic composition.
Neuman discloses a step of admixing a pigment ([0039] pigment loaded to hopper 24 of feeder 16); comparing the color to a desired color ([0039] color photometer 76 measures color and computing device 52 compares measured color to desired color); and, based on the comparison, using a feedback control loop to adjust the pigment feeding until the measured color matches the desired color ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the method of Lombaert to include a color measuring negative feedback loop as disclosed by Neuman in order to reach the desired shade of first thermoplastic composition by a measurement-informed controlled addition of black color into the composition.
Modified Neuman is silent on withdrawing a sample of the first thermoplastic composition and performing the addition of darkener and shade comparison on the sample to thereby determine the amount of darkener to add to the first thermoplastic composition for obtaining the specific target shade.
In the analogous art of colored material extrusion, Rust discloses withdrawing a sample of the first thermoplastic composition and performing the color comparison on the sample to thereby determine the amount of colorant to add to the first thermoplastic composition for obtaining the specific target shade ([0129] measurement is possible at the extruder by removing samples from the extruder; color measurement of samples emerging from the extruder reduces the risk of defects in end products, because a color correction can still be effected in the extruder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Lombaert to withdraw samples from the first thermoplastic composition and perform the negative feedback loop on the samples as suggested by Rust, in order to reduce the risk of defects in end products because color correction can still be effected in the extruder, as suggested by Rust, and further in order to avoid material waste incurred by performing the negative feedback loop on the extruded product while it is in production rather than on an isolated sample.
Regarding claim 16, modified Lombaert discloses wherein the step of admixing the darkener comprises: monitoring whether the darkened first thermoplastic composition has a shade matching the specific target shade, and continuing the admixing of darkener as necessary until matching the specific target shade (Neuman [0039] negative feedback loop).
Regarding claim 17, Lombaert discloses wherein the first thermoplastic composition comprises from 10% to 50% by weight of recycled PVC granules ([0030], substrate filler may include recycled PVC; [0032], filler may be present from 10 wt% to 50 wt% based on total weight of substrate). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 18, Lombaert discloses wherein the first thermoplastic composition comprises from 40% to 70% by weight of one or more fillers ([0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Lombaert is silent on the darkener being present in the first thermoplastic composition in an amount from 0.01% to 0.1% by weight. Since the shade of the first thermoplastic composition is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the amount of darkener present in the composition, with the shade darkening with increasing amounts of darkener, the amount of darkener would have been considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount of darkener cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of darkener in the substrate material of Lombaert to obtain the desired shade of the substrate material, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II).
Regarding claim 20, Lombaert discloses wherein the second coextruded layer has a thickness between 0.1 mm and 5 mm ([0047] resilient layer thickness is between 0.3 mm to 1.2mm) and wherein the first coextruded layer has a thickness between 2 mm and 15 mm ([0042] substrate has thickness of 5 mm to 15 mm).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20180320388A1, hereafter Lombaert in view of Published Application US20190047201A1, hereafter Neuman, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Published Application US20090305009A1, hereafter Meersseman.
Regarding claim 13, Lombaert is silent on the décor layer being translucent.
In the analogous art of printed décor, Meersseman discloses that providing transparent or translucent synthetic material layers in floor panels is known. Further, Meersseman discloses that the print layer may be tinted by a color layer situated beneath the print ([0013], color layer beneath print exerting influence on color of print), which would necessarily require some level of translucence of the print to allow for tinting.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the method of Lombaert to use a translucent décor layer as suggested by Meersseman in order to allow for tinting of the print itself by the darkened substrate.
Further, since the translucence of the décor is a property of the material used in the digital printing process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to select a digital printing material for the décor layer that has the desired level of translucence based on its suitability for its intended purpose (MPEP 2144.07). Finally, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20180320388A1, hereafter Lombaert, in view of Published Application US20190047201A1, hereafter Neuman, in view of Published Application US20190366281A1, hereafter Rust, as stated above for claim 19, further in view of Foreign Publication EP2947166A1, hereafter Shibata, as evidenced by Novaković (Novaković, Dragoljub & Stančić, Mladen & Karlovits, Igor & Kasikovic, Nemanja & Vukmirović, Valentina & Milošević, Rastko. (2013). Influence of surface roughness on print quality on digitally printed self adhesive foils. Journal of Print and Media Technology Research. 2. 67-76).
Regarding claim 21, Lombaert discloses that the top surface of the resilient layer is not embossed or subjected to any surface roughening techniques. In other words, the surface is relatively smooth, which corresponds to a low surface roughness.
Lombaert is further silent on the digitally printable layer having a specific surface roughness Ra of less than 0.5 µm.
In the analogous art of decorative surfaces, Shibata discloses a surface roughness Ra of less than 0.5 µm ([0011], surface roughness of 0.008 µm or less).
In the analogous art of digital printing on PVC, Novaković discloses that higher surface roughness of the substrate corresponds with an increase in mottling (page 71 section 4.1) and a decrease in sharpness of the digital print image (page 73 section 4.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the surface roughness of the digitally printable layer to be less than 0.008 µm as disclosed by Shibata in order to reduce the decrease in print quality that corresponds with higher surface roughness, as suggested by Novaković.
Further, since the image quality of the printed décor (such as image sharpness and mottling) is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the surface roughness of the printing substrate, with the image sharpness decreasing and mottling increasing with the increased surface roughness, the surface roughness of the digitally printable layer would have been considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed surface roughness of the digitally printable layer cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the surface roughness of the resilient layer of Lombaert to obtain the desired print quality of the digitally printed decor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 on pages 11-12 of applicant’s remarks that the claimed feedback loop is carried out exclusively upstream from the coextrusion step, on the first thermoplastic composition, and therefore the proposed combination of Lombaert and Neuman is insufficient, the examiner disagrees, and notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitations in question in claim 1 separate the admixing step into two steps: adding darkener, and comparing the shade – as stated in the rejection, Neuman discloses both of these, and further, in a continuous feedback loop, measuring the color of the extrudate. The examiner further notes the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Neuman was relied upon only for the concept of the negative feedback loop, and not for the specific point in the process where the color measurement occurs.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 on page 12 of applicant’s remarks that further modifying the teachings of Lombaert and Neumann would make no technical sense because Neumann is only interested in the color of the final product, not the color of the initial compositions for extruding, the examiner disagrees, and notes that the color of the initial composition for extruding and the final extruded product are both of interest, to both one of ordinary skill in the art and to Neuman, since the initial composition for extruding is what is modified by the known colorants to achieve the final desired color of the extruded product in all 3 of Neuman, Lombaert, and the presently claimed invention.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 9 on pages 12-13 of applicant’s remarks that the limitation of the matching tolerance is not disclosed by Neuman, the examiner notes, as stated in the rejection, that the claimed matching tolerance ΔE of 5 or less would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization by one skilled in the art in order to achieve as close as possible to the desired shade of the first thermoplastic composition.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claim 15 on page 13 of applicant’s remarks, the examiner notes this argument is rendered moot in view of the new 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 15.
Conclusion
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754