DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group (I) with the addition of compound
in the reply filed on 02/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims are linked by a single general invention concept and share a special technical feature. However, this argument is not persuasive. As set forth in the restriction requirement mailed on 04/30/2025, the claimed inventions are directed to distinct groups that do not share the same or corresponding special technical feature that defined a contribution over the prior art. According, the claims are not linked by a single inventive concept.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-17, 20-21, and 24-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
This application is a National Stage Application under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of PCT International Application No. PCT/1B2020/061065, filed on November 24, 2020, which claims priority to Indian Provisional Patent Application Nos. IN 201921047986, filed November 24, 2019 and IN 202021029084, filed July 8, 2020.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-31 are pending. Claims 1-17, 20-21, and 24-31 are withdrawn. Claims 18-19 and 22-23 are examined in accordance to the elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/08/2022, 07/02/2024, and 08/12/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-19 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites: R13 are selected from group comprising H; optionally substituted alkyl, aryl. Heteroaryl, heterocycloalkyl, cycloalkyl …” The phrase “selected from group comprising” renders the scope unclear because “comprising” is open-ended, it does not define a closed set of alternatives, and thus, fails to particularly point out the metes and bounds.
Claim 18 further recites “one or more R21 radicals… wherein one or more substitution… selected from…” This is indefinite because it is unclear which moiety is being substituted, no substitution positions are defined, no upper bounds are provided, and the layered substitution language creates uncertain scope.
Claim 19 depends from claim 18 and recites “a compound of formula VIII according to claim 18.” Claim 19 does not independently cure the indefiniteness of claim 18 and instead incorporate the same ambiguous limitations, including improper Markush structure and unclear substitution scope. Thus, claim 19 is indefinite for the same reasons as claim 18.
Claim 22 recites “T is selected from group comprising optinally substituted aryl, heteoaryl, heterocycloalkyl, cycloalkyl, amino….” Wherein one or more substitution is selected from alkyl, alkoxy….” Use of “group comprising” renders the scope open-ended and indefinite. Second, ambiguous substitution language as it is unclear what is substituted, no position or limits defined, and grammatically unclear. Third, the phosphate structures are embedded within the Markush group without clear designation as substituents or alternative members.
Claim 23 depends from claim 22 and incorporate the indefiniteness limitations. As such, claim 23 is indefinite for the same reasons as claim 22.
Claims 18-19 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 18 encompasses:
R13/R14 = H, alkyl, aryl, heteroaryl, heterocycloalkyl, cycloalkyl
Optional formation of heterocycles, and
Extensive substitution via R21.
The specification (Examples 1-16 and claim 23) consistently discloses:
Amine-containing heterocyclic
Piperidine
Piperazine
Bipiperidine
And phosphorylated derivatives thereof.
The specification does not provide representative number of species or guidance for:
Aryl substituents lacking amine functionality
Broad genus heteroaryl classes
Non-heterocyclic cycloalkyl substituents
Full breath of substitution patterns recited.
The specification does not reasonably convey possession of the full scope of R13/R14 in claim 18.
Claims 19, 22, and 23 depend from claim 18 and incorporate the same broad genus.
Thus, claims 19, 22, and 23 fail the written description requirement for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiao et al. (US2016/0060288 A1) in view of Long et al. (J. Med. Chem. 2010, 53, 1830-1842) and Sasmal et al. (Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry Letters, Volume 22, Issue 9, 1 May 2012, Pages 3157-316).
Pursuant the restriction requirement, the elected compound
is directed to a compound of the formula VIII
comprising;
A fulvestrant steroid core,
A phenolic carbamate linkage, and
A piperidine-piperazine-containing substituent.
Jao teaches fulvestrant derivatives having the same steroidal scaffold
(see Abstract; paragraphs [0020]-0025]). Moreover, Jiao discloses substitution at the phenolic hydroxyl position via ester or carbonate linkage (see paragraph 0034-0040; Examples). Jiao further teaches these compounds are useful as anticancer agents (estrogen receptor activity) (see paragraphs [0003] and [0006]-0010]).
Thus, Jiao teaches the core structure and modification site corresponding to R13/R14 of claim 14.
Jiao does not teach the claimed elected compound.
However, Long teaches compounds comprising carbamate linkages bearing piperidine and piperazine substituents (see Abstract; Scheme1; Table 1) that such piperidine/piperazine carbamates are biologically active and useful scaffolds (see p. 1831-1833) identification of these motifs as “privileged chemical scaffold” (see p. 1830 (Abstract).
Long teaches the specific functional group and substituent motif corresponding to the elected species.
Sasmal teaches compounds comprising piperazine substituents (Table 1) and piperidine substituents (Table 2) that these substituents are systematically varied and interchanged to optimize activity (see Tables 1-2; p. 3178-3179).
Sasmal demonstrates that piperidine and piperazine substituents are recognized as functionally interchangeable in medicinal chemistry.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the fulvestrant derivatives of Jiao to include a carbame-lined piperidine/piperazine substituent as taught by Long motivated by the known utility of carbamate linkages for modifying pharmacokinetic properties, and the recognition of piperidine/piperazine groups are privileged scaffolds as taught by Long (p. 1830). Sasmal further provides motivation by teaching that piperidine and piperazine substituents are routinely interchanged to optimize biological activity (Tables 1-2). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Jio provides the same core scaffold and modification site, Long provides the specific substituent and linkage, and Sasmal confirms such substitutions are predictable and routine.
The claimed elected compound species represent a predictable use of known carbamate-linked piperidine/piperazine substituents on a known fulvestrant scaffold, and therefore would have been obvious.
Such substitutions would have been expected to improve solubility and pharmacokinetic properties, as is well known in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-19 and 22-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 83-100 of U.S. Patent No. 18/717,086. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 83 is directed to a compound comprising fulvestrant-based steroidal scaffold bearing a carbamate linkage to a piperidine/piperazine substituent. The instant claims are directed to closely related compounds encompassing the elected compound species having the same scaffold and substituent framework.
The compounds of the instant claims differ from the compound of the copending application in the steroidal scaffold of the instant claims comprising a hydroxyl (-OH) group at the corresponding position, whereas the copending claims recite a carbonyl (=O) group at that position. Such a difference represents a well-known and routine chemical modification involving oxidation or reduction of a carbonyl group to an alcohol, or vice versa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such redox transformations are conventional and would have reasonably expected that the resulting compounds would retain similar structural and functional properties. Accordingly, the claimed compounds differ from the compound of the copending claims only by an obvious variation and are therefore not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
Claims 18-19 and 22-23 are not allowed.
/JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628