Detailed Action
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group 1 (Claims 1-5, 8, and 15, drawn to a compound of formula I) and the elected species
in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7 and 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Groups II-III or unelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-5, 8, and 15 are being examined on the merits herein. Again, election was made with traverse.
Applicant argues that the required restriction/election is improper because there is not a compound that is exactly encompassed within the scope of instant formula I. Applicant further argues that “in absence of directional guidance…a person skilled in the art faced with such a wide range of options would not have been motivated to arrive” at a compound encompassed within Claim 1. Applicant goes on to argue that the instant invention is an antitumor compound and that search of all the species would not be a serious search burden.
However, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive as Chin teaches that an alternative embodiment to the -CH=CH2 vinyl moiety in the cited compound
is -CH=CH-C6H5 on Page 104. This alternative embodiment is one of a narrow list of six specific structures (Page 104, Lines 22-24). The modification is suggested explicitly and such a short list is not accurately characterized by applicant’s description of “wide range of options”. Further, Chin describes an anticancer use of the compound via mitigating oxidative stress in a cancer patient (Page 54, Lines 16-22). Regarding search burden, this is not a consideration for applications submitted under 35 USC 371; rather, unity of invention is used to determine whether restriction is appropriate in such cases (MPEP 1893.03(d)). Despite applicant’s traversal, the claims are found to lack unity of invention due to the foregoing reasons. Thus, the requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made final.
The elected species
would require further substitution of the acrylamide with -CN, which would not be obvious in view of Chin or in addition to the modification described above. Therefore, the elected species and those compounds of Claim 5 are free of the art. The scope of the search was expanded to compounds of formula I wherein R1 and R-3 are both H.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin (WO2015027206, cited in 5/24/2025 IDS).
Chin teaches the following compound
as an inhibitor of oxidative stress (Page 58; Page 54, Lines 16-22). The Chin compound differs from the following compound
, encompassed within formula 1, in that the Chin compound lacks a phenyl substituent on the acrylamide moiety. The definitions of examined formula I apply to the above compound in that R1, R2, and R3 are H. Chin teaches the acrylamide, NHC(O)Re wherein Re is alkenyl, containing the vinyl -CH=CH2 can instead be a 3-phenyl acrylamide (Page 53, Lines 7-9; Page 104, Lines 18-24). Chin teaches CH=CH-C6H-5 in a list of seven total acceptable alkenyl embodiments. Chin teaches compositions comprising the compound in compositions with various adjuvants (Page 10, Lines 13-25).
One of skill in the art seeking to form an oxidative stress inhibitor, in light of Chin teaching 3-phenyl acrylamide as an alternative embodiment to the vinyl of the Chin compound above, would find it obvious to make the substitution and form the following compound of instant Claim 5:
. The same artisan would expect the successful formation of the oxidative stress inhibitor because Chin explicitly teaches the substitution of the vinyl and suggests that such examples of alternative embodiments are nonlimiting. Chin implies a great degree of variability in the acrylamide moiety is tolerated when forming such an inhibitor.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected.
Claims 5 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627