DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15DEC2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues prior art Clobes fails to disclose the vertical arrangement of tools, but rather discloses a horizontal arrangement. Without conceding Applicant's argument, Examiner notes prior art Clobes discloses the arrangement disclosed in presented in a non–limiting manner and has been interpreted as disclosing allowable possible variations on the illustrated arrangements, providing the intent of the disclosure is not altered to prevent the original intent. Examiner further notes, as stated below, the arrangement of ancillary tolling would be entirely dependent upon the arrangement of the primary components, and thus would vary with the overall arrangement and layout of equipment. Therefore no single position or arrangement of components would be excluded, provided the overall intent of the process equipment and method of production were maintained.
Applicant makes a similar argument regarding the amended first and second transfer arms, which argument is similarly refuted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clobes, et alia (DE102018206343), hereinafter Clobes, in view of Serizawa, et alia (US 2021
/0008609), hereinafter Serizawa and Teague (US 2015/0147111, hereinafter Teague.
Examiner notes the references to Clobes refer to the English language translation provided herein.
Examiner further notes the disclosure of Shi repeatedly recites "in one embodiment", (e.g., Para [0025] through Para [0085], Para [0087] through Para [0088], Para [0092] through Para [0095]) which has been interpreted to mean that only one embodiment exists, in the disclosure.
Regarding Claim 1, Clobes discloses an assembly comprising a hot stamping tool (150) including at least one hot forming die (151) and at least one annealing die (153) (Para [0030], all; as illustrated in at least Fig 1), Clobes teaches the hot forming die and the annealing die are located in a hot stamping tool (Para [0030], all; as illustrated in at last Fig 1) .
Clobes is not explicit to the details of the dies, however Clobes discloses the dies are disclosed in a non-limiting manner, leaving open the possibility of different arrangements of elements within the assembly.
Serizawa teaches an assembly (as illustrated in Fig 1) comprising:
at least one hot forming die (200) ( Para [0011], Ln 1-3) and at least one annealing die (300) (Para [0013], Ln 1-3, Para [0014], Ln 1 );
the at least one hot forming die including an upper forming die (202) and a lower forming die (204) (Para [0012], Ln 1-2) for shaping a blank into a shaped part (Para [0011], Ln 1-3);
the at least one annealing die including an upper annealing die (301) and a lower annealing die (302) for receiving the shaped part (Para [0014], Ln 1-6);
the at least one annealing die including at least one cooling element (305) (Para [0014], Ln 6-7) and at least one heating element (307) (Para [0015], Ln 1-3), the cooling element located adjacent to the heating element (as illustrated in Fig 1); and wherein the at least one heating element is configured to anneal a portion of the shaped blank and the at least one cooling element is configured to simultaneously cool a portion of the shaped blank adjacent to the at least one heating element to hinder heat transfer from the at least one heating element to the cooled portion (Para [0019], Ln 8-16).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as disclosed by Clobes, to include the details of the dies, as taught by Serizawa, in order to provide for production of the heated blank.
Clobes is silent to the at least one heating element of the at least one annealing die includes at least one induction coil.
Teague teaches a hot stamp tooling assembly (Para [0021], Ln 12-19). Teague further teaches at least one heating induction coil for annealing (Para [0024], Ln 8-11 ).
Teague further teaches the advantage of induction heating coils being low cost (Para [001 0], Ln 1-3).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as taught by combined Clobes/Serizawa, to include the at least one heating element of the at least one annealing die includes at least one induction coil, as taught by Teague, to provide low cost annealing capability.
Regarding Claim 2, combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Clobes is silent to induction heating coils in the upper and power annealing dies, however Clobes discloses heating coils in the upper and lower annealing dies (as illustrated in Fig 1). As stated above, Teague teaches the induction coils.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as taught by combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague, to include induction heating coils in the upper and power annealing dies, as taught by Teague, to provide low cost annealing capability.
Regarding Claim 3, combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Serizawa further discloses the at least one cooling element includes upper die channels located in the upper annealing die (305) and a lower die channel located in the lower annealing die (as illustrated in at least Fig 1), wherein the upper die channels and the lower die channels are configured to transfer a coolant (Para [0014], Ln 6-7). Serizawa is silent to induction coils, however Serizawa discloses a heating element (307) for annealing the shaped part (Para [0015], Ln 103; as illustrated in Fig 1), adjacent to the die channels for coolant.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as taught by combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague, to include upper die channels located in the upper annealing die adjacent to the upper induction coil and a lower die channel located in the lower annealing die adjacent to the induction coil, wherein the upper die channels and the lower die channels are configured to transfer a coolant adjacent to the induction coils, in order to manage the distribution of heat throughout the shaped part during annealing.
Claims 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clobes, in view of Serizawa, Teague and Shi, et alia (US 2022/0176434), hereinafter Shi.
Examiner notes the disclosure of Shi repeatedly recites "in one embodiment", (e.g., Para [0025] through Para [0085], Para [0087] through Para [0088], Para [0092] through Para [0095]) which has been interpreted to mean that only one embodiment exists, in the disclosure.
Regarding Claim 4, combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Clobes discloses transfer of parts (Para [0030], Ln 1-2) however is not explicit to transfer details.
Shi teaches a hot stamp tooling assembly (100) (Para [0025], Ln 1-3). Shi further teaches a first transfer arm (503) located on a first side of the hot stamping tool for placing the blank into the at least one hot forming die. Shi further teaches a second transfer arm (504) located on a second side of the hot stamping tool opposite the first side for removing the shaped part from the hot forming die (Para [0036], Ln 1-7; both as illustrated in Fig 1). A skilled Artisan would recognize the advantage of using automated transfer mechanisms, such as those taught by Shi, to increase worker safety, removing the potential for heat related injuries form hot parts, and increased productivity from general automation of the process.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as taught by combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague, to include a first transfer arm and a second transfer arm, as taught by Shi, configured to place the blank into the at least one hot forming die and a second transfer arm configured to remove the at least one blank once it has been shaped into a shaped part and placing the shaped part into the at least one annealing die, in order to increase worker safety and productivity.
Regarding Claim 5, combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Clobes further discloses the at least one hot forming die includes a first hot forming die ( 151 ) and a second hot forming die ( 152)
(Para [0030] Ln 12), and wherein the at least one annealing die includes a first annealing die (153) and a second annealing die (154) (Para [0030] Ln 12).
Regarding Claim 6, combined Clobes/Teague/Shi teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Clobes is not explicit to transfer details.
Shi teaches the first transfer arm is configured to transfer the first blank into the hot forming die (Para [0058], Ln, 1-6). Shi is not explicit to blank holders, however a skilled Artisan would recognize that such tooling required would depend upon the part being produced and would be the result of routine engineering and experimentation.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi, to include a first blank holder and a second blank holder for placing a blank into the hot forming die.
Shi is further not explicit to a second hot forming die, however a skilled Artisan would recognize that extending the capabilities of the previously taught hot stamp tooling assembly would require only a repetition of elements as previously taught.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as taught by combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi, to include the first transfer arm includes a first blank holder and a second blank holder for simultaneously placing a first blank into the first hot forming die and a second blank into the second hot forming die, in order to extend the capabilities of the hot stamp tooling assembly to double the production output.
Regarding Claim 7, combined Clobes/Teague/Shi teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Clobes is not explicit to transfer details.
Shi teaches the second transfer arm, as stated above. Shi is not explicit to shaped part holders, however Shi teaches the second transfer arm is configured to remove the shaped part from the hot forming die (Para [0064], Ln 1-3). A skilled Artisan would recognize that such tooling required would depend upon the part being produced and would be the result of routine engineering and experimentation. Shi is further not explicit to transferring the shaped part from the hot forming die to the annealing die, however Shi teaches that post press annealing is known in the art (Para [0009], Ln 1-2), an used to produce soft zones in previously formed parts. Further, Examiner notes that a skilled Artisan would recognize that extending the capabilities of the previously taught hot stamp tooling assembly would require only a repetition of elements as previously taught.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as taught by combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi, to include the second transfer arm includes a first shaped part holder and a second shaped part holder for removing the first shaped part from the first hot forming die and the second shaped part from the second hot forming die and placing them in the first annealing die and the second annealing die, and wherein the second transfer arm includes a third holder and a fourth holder for removing third and fourth shaped parts from the first annealed die and the second annealed die simultaneously with the removal of the shaped part from the first hot forming die and the second hot forming die, in order to adequately retain the blank and shaped part during transfer, protecting them from damage and to anneal the shaped part in order to form sot t zones in the shaped part.
Regarding Claim 8, combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Clobes is not explicit to the first hot forming die and the second hot forming die are spaced apart by the first annealing die and wherein the first annealing die and the second annealing die are spaced by the second hot forming die, however a skilled Artisan would recognize production details such as timing and sequence of operations to be result affected variables dependent upon routine engineering and experimentation.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as taught by combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi, to include the first hot forming die and the second hot forming die are spaced apart by the first annealing die and wherein the first annealing die and the second annealing die are spaced by the second hot forming die, in order to optimize the production process.
Regarding Claim 9, combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Clobes is silent to a control system.
Shi teaches a control system (906) (Para [0035], Ln 1-5; as illustrated in Fig 9) comprising: a processor (908) (Para 0080], Ln 2-4; as illustrated in Fig 9); a memory
(Para [0089], Ln 1-2) that includes instructions (Para [0080], Ln 7-1 0; as illustrated in Fig 9) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
heat, with the at least one heating element, at least one portion of the shaped part above a recrystallization temperature to form at least one heated portion (Para
[0083], Ln 12-17). Examiner notes the temperature T2/AC3 has been interpreted as a recrystallization temperature.
Shi further teaches cooling, with the at least one cooling element, at least one portion of the shaped part adjacent to the at least one heated portion (Para [0084], Ln 6-11).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as taught by combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi, to include a processor, a memory that includes instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to heat, with the at least one heating element, at least one portion of the shaped part above a recrystallization temperature to form at least one heated portion and cool, with the at least one cooling element, at least one portion of the shaped part adjacent to the at least one heated portion, in order to optimize the hot stamp process.
Regarding Claim 10, combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Clobes is silent to the processor is further caused to cool, with the at least one cooling element, the at least one portion of the shaped part.
Shi teaches the processor is further configured to cause the at least one cooling element to cool, the at least one portion of the shaped part adjacent to the at least one heated portion to a temperature between 0°C and 150°C (Para [0087], Ln 13-17).
Examiner notes Shi further teaches heating only a portion of the part (Para [0087], Ln 6-7).
Regarding Claim 11, combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Clobes is silent to cooling channels in the forming dies.
Serizawa further teaches the at least one hot forming die (200) includes upper cooling channels (206) in the upper forming die (202) and lower cooling channels (206) in the lower forming die (204) (Para [0012], Ln 5-6).
Regarding Claim 12, combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Clobes is silent to the processor is further caused to cool, with the upper cooling channels and the lower cooling channels.
Shi discloses the processor is further caused to cool, the shaped part to slow heat transfer from the at least one heating element to surrounding portions of the shaped part (Para 0084], Ln, 6-11 ). Shi is not explicit to the method of cooling, however, cooling channels to cool the parts is known in the art, as evidenced by Serizawa, and combining a known method of cooling with a requirement for cooling would have been obvious to a skilled Artisan.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as taught by combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi, to include the processor is further caused to cool, the processor is further caused to cool, with the upper cooling channels and the lower cooling channels the shaped part to slow heat transfer from the at least one heating element to surrounding portions of the shaped part, combing a known method of cooling with a requirement for cooling.
Claims 13, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi, in view of Clobes.
Regarding Claim 13, Shi discloses a method of forming a part (Para [0086], Ln 1-2) comprising the steps of:
hot forming (Para [0086], Ln 1-2) a blank (108) in a hot forming die (Para [0029], Ln 8-9) until it is a shaped part (208) (Para [0061], Ln 2-6 & 13-14, Para [0087], Ln 11-13). Shi further discloses placing the shaped part in an annealing die and cooling and heating the shaped part in adjacent locations simultaneously (Para [0063], Ln 1-3) to form at least one annealed portion and at least one non-annealed portions with a transition zone therebetween (Para [0071], Ln 1-2), wherein the heating step in the annealing die includes heating the shaped part with at least one induction coil (Para 0047], Ln 1-3).
Shi is not explicit to the hot forming die and the annealing die are located in a hot stamping tool. Clobes teaches the hot forming die and the annealing die, vertically aligned, are located in a hot stamping tool (Para [0030], all; as illustrated in at last Fig 1) Clobes further teaches the dies are disclosed in a non-limiting manner, leaving open the possibility of different arrangements of elements within the assembly.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as disclosed by Shi, to include the hot forming die and the annealing die are located in a hot stamping tool, vertically aligned, as taught by Clobes, in order to provide for a com pact production tool.
Examiner notes that Shi is not explicit to forming at least one annealed portion and at least one non-annealed portions, however Shi discloses the resulting shaped part has, as a result of heating and cooling hard and soft zones, which a skilled Artisan would recognize as the result of the process of annealing one portion and allowing another portion to cool. Shi further discloses the advantage of such selective annealing being increased ductility in one portion and increased hardness in another portion (Para [0070], Ln 3, Para [0071], Ln 5-9).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a part, as taught by combined Shi/Clobes, to include forming at least one annealed portion and at least one non-annealed portion, wherein the heating step in the annealing die includes heating the shaped part with at least one induction coil, in order to vary the material properties according to the requirements of the finished part.
Shi further discloses deforming the annealed portion (Para [0061], Ln 2-5; as illustrated in Fig 10).
Examiner notes the limitation "simultaneously" is not recited with criticality and has been interpreted to mean this limitation is included as a means of expediting the forming process, and as such does not impact the form, external or internal, of the finished part.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi, in view of Clobes, Shi and Marks, et alia (US 2017/0008059), hereinafter Marks.
Regarding Claim 14, combined Shi/Clobes teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Shi is not explicit to the transition zone is less than 20mm, however Shi discloses the annealed and non-annealed portions are close to one another (as illustrated in at least Fig 7).
Marks teaches a method for hot stamping to produce a shaped part (Para [0028], Ln 1-11 ). Marks further teaches a transition zone between the annealed and
non-annealed portions is less than 20mm (as illustrated in at least Fig 3, the annealed portion [16] is immediately adjacent to the non-annealed portion [14]). Marks further teaches the advantage of this annealing process as reducing the possibility of material failure during forming (Para [0026], Ln 16-18).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a part, as taught by combined Shi/Clobes, to include a transition zone between the annealed and non-annealed portions is less than 20mm, as taught by Marks, in order to reduce the possibility of material failure during forming.
Regarding Claim 15, combined Shi/Clobes teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Shi further discloses partially cooling to a temperature between 0°C and 150°C (Para [0040], Ln 1-6; Examiner notes Shi explicitly recites room temperature, which has been interpreted to mean 70°F, in accordance with the definition of standard temperature, as would be recognized by a skilled Artisan) and partially heating to a temperature at or above a recrystallization temperature ( Para [004 7], Ln 10-13). Examiner notes that no material has been explicitly recited in the claims and therefore definition of "a recrystallization temperature" has been interpreted to mean the recrystallization temperature for steel alloys, which has been interpreted to be between 727°C and 1400°C, as disclosed by Shi (Para [0087], Ln 18-19).
Regarding Claim 16, combined Shi/Clobes teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Shi further discloses the shaped part is a B-pillar (Para [0095], Ln 5-6).
Claims 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi, in view of Clobes and Serizawa.
Regarding Claim 17, Shi discloses a method of forming a part (Para [0086], Ln 1-2) comprising the steps of:
providing a hot stamping tool (106) having an annealing die (118), (120) (Para [0047], Ln 4-5) and a hot forming die (128), (130) (Para 0061], Ln 2-5), wherein a first part (108) is placed in the annealing die and a first blank is placed in the hot forming die (Para [0025], Ln 7; as illustrated in Fig 1), shaping the first blank in the hot forming die during a first stroke to form a second shaped part (Para [0025], Ln 20-25; as illustrated in Fig 1).
Shi is silent to an annealing die and a hot forming die disposed within the hot stamping tool. Clobes teaches the hot forming die and the annealing die are located in a hot stamping tool (Para [0030], all; as illustrated in at last Fig 1). Clobes further teaches the dies are disclosed in a non-limiting manner, leaving open the possibility of different arrangements of elements within the assembly.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly, as disclosed by Shi, to include the hot forming die and the annealing die are located in a hot stamping tool, vertically aligned, as taught by Clobes, in order to provide for a compact production tool.
Shi is not explicit to the annealing die includes a first shaped part, however Shi discloses post forming annealing, in order to produce soft zones in f armed parts (Para [0009], Ln 1-2).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a part, as taught by combined Shi/Clobes, to include the annealing die includes a first shaped part, as disclosed by Shi, in order to produce soft zones in the shaped part.
Shi further discloses annealing the first shaped part during the first stroke to form an annealed part (Para [0063], Ln 3-6). Shi is not explicit to simultaneously cooling and annealing the first shaped part during the first stroke to form an annealed part.
Serizawa teaches simultaneously cooling and annealing the first shaped part in
the annealing die during the first stroke to form a first annealed part (Para [0014], Ln, 6-7 teaches cooling and Para [0015], Ln 1 -3 and 5-6 teaches simultaneous annealing, of separate portions of the shaped part, in the same die).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a part, as taught by combined Shi/Clobes/Serizawa, to include simultaneously cooling and annealing the first shaped part during the first stroke of the press, in order to optimize the forming process.
Shi further discloses the annealing step including heating the first shaped part with at least one induction coil ( Para 004 7], Ln 1-5). Shi further discloses moving the first annealed part away from the hot stamping tool (Para [0064], Ln 1-3; as illustrated in Fig 1).
Shi is not explicit to a second blank and shaped part, however extending the capabilities of the previously taught hot stamp tooling assembly would require only a repetition of elements as previously taught.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a part, as taught by combined Shi/Clobes/Serizawa, to include moving a second shaped part to the annealing die, and moving a second blank into the hot forming die after moving the second shaped part to the annealing die, in order to optimize the forming process.
Examiner notes the limitation "simultaneously" is not recited with criticality and has been interpreted to mean this limitation is included as a means of expediting the forming process, and as such does not impact the form, external or internal, of the finished part.
Regarding Claim 18, combined Shi/Clobes/Serizawa teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Shi further discloses first transfer arm is located on a first side of the hot stamping tool and a second transfer arm is located on a second side of the hot stamping tool opposite the first side (as illustrated in Fig 1), a second transfer arm (504) moves the first annealed part away from the hot stamping tool, and a first transfer arm (503) moves a blank into the hot forming die (as illustrated in Fig 1).
Shi is silent to a second transfer arm moves the annealed part away from the hot stamping tool and moves the second shaped part to the annealing die, and a first transfer arm moves the second blank into the hot forming die after the second transfer arm moves the second shaped part to the annealing die, however reordering and duplicating (as stated above) process steps in order to optimize the forming process would be recognized by a skilled Artisan as the result of routine engineering and experimentation.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a part, as taught by combined Shi/Clobes/Serizawa, to include a second transfer arm moves the annealed part away from the hot stamping tool and moves the second shaped part to the annealing die, and a first transfer arm moves the second blank into the hot forming die after the second transfer arm moves the second shaped part to the annealing die, in order to optimize the forming process.
Regarding Claim 19, combined Shi/Clobes/Serizawa teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Shi further discloses heating the blank before the shaping step (Para [00058], Ln 2-5; as illustrated in Fig 1).
Shi is not explicit to a first blank and a second blank, however duplicating process steps and components in order to optimize the forming process would be recognized by a skilled Artisan as the result of routine engineering and experimentation.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a part, as taught by combined Shi/Clobes/Serizawa, to include heating the first blank and the second blank before the shaping step, in order to optimize the forming process.
Regarding Claim 20, combined Shi/Serizawa teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Shi further discloses the annealed part is a B-pillar (Para [0095], Ln 5-6).
Serizawa teaches a shaped part is cooled and heated simultaneously and in adjacent locations in the annealing die to form the annealed part, the annealed part includes annealed portions and non-annealed portions (Para [0014], Ln 6-8 and Para [0015], Ln 5-6), as stated above.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of forming a part, as taught by combined Shi/Clobes/Serizawa, to include the first shaped part is partially cooled and partially heated simultaneous and in adjacent locations in the annealing die to form the annealed part, the annealed part includes annealed portions and non-annealed portions, in order to produce soft zones in the shaped part and optimize the forming process.
Regarding Claim 21, combined Clobes/Serizawa/Teague/Shi teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Clobes is silent to transfer details.
Shi teaches the at least one transfer arms travel vertically along each of the at least one hot forming die and each of the at least one annealing die (as illustrated in Fig.s 1, 10); Examiner notes the process steps, as illustrated in Fig 10 have been interpreted to mean the transfer arms travels along the dies in order to move the workpiece form point to point. Examiner further notes the transfer arms are illustrated as multi–axis robots which are capable of moving in a vertical manner.).
Regarding Claim 22, combined Shi/Clobes/Serizawa teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Shi further discloses the transfer arms travel vertically along the aligned hot forming die and the annealing die (as illustrated in Fig.s 1, 10; Examiner notes the process steps, as illustrated in Fig 10 have been interpreted to mean the transfer arms travels along the dies in order to move the workpiece form point to point. Examiner further notes the transfer arms are illustrated as multi–axis robots which are capable of moving in a vertical manner.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2013/01532094 to Verloop, et alia teaches a workpiece annealed and formed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRED C HAMMERS/
Examiner
Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724