DETAILED ACTION
A complete action on the merits of pending claims 1-10 appears herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant argues “Wood does not describe system including a cannula and an electrode, wherein the cannula is configured to introduce a biopsy needle into bodily tissue or the combination of the cannula and electrode is configured to operate with an electrosurgical generator to ablate tissue around a tract through the tissue formed by prior introduction of the biopsy needle through the cannula and around the cannula distal end.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and contends that, as further discussed in the rejection to claim 1 below, Wood teaches a system (Fig. 1) including a cannula (Fig. 1, Char. 18: cannula) and an electrode, (Par. [0019]: Fig. 1: the exposed portion of needle (16)//Fig. 1 and 4A-C, the exposed portion of distal end (32) of cannula (18)) wherein the cannula is configured to introduce a biopsy needle into bodily tissue (Par. [0019]) or the combination of the cannula and electrode is configured to operate with an electrosurgical generator (Par. [0030]: energy generator) to ablate tissue around a tract through the tissue formed by prior introduction of the biopsy needle through the cannula and around the cannula distal end. (Fig. 4A-C; and Par. [0048])
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,588,687. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,588,687 anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “the cannula shaft that includes” should read --the cannula shaft includes--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wood (US 2003/0093007 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wood teaches a system (Fig. 1) including a cannula (Fig. 1, Char. 18: cannula) and an electrode, (Par. [0019]: Fig. 1: the exposed portion of needle (16)//Fig. 1 and 4A-C, the exposed portion of distal end (32) of cannula (18)) wherein the cannula is configured to introduce a biopsy needle into bodily tissue, (Par. [0019]) the cannula is configured to introduce the electrode into the bodily tissue, (Par. [0019]//Fig. 4A-C) the cannula shaft includes an electrically conductive shaft portion, (Par. [0030]: Cannula (18) can be made from surgical steel) the electrode shaft includes an electrically conductive shaft portion, (Fig. 1, Char. 24: distal end//Fig. 1 and 4A-C, Char. 32: distal end) the combination of the cannula and electrode is configured to operate with an electrosurgical generator (Par. [0030]: energy generator) to ablate tissue around a tract through the tissue formed by prior introduction of the biopsy needle through the cannula and around the cannula distal end. (Fig. 4A-C; and Par. [0048])
Regarding claim 2, Wood further teaches the cannula shaft includes an electrically insulated portion at its proximal end, (Fig. 1, and Par. [0021]) the cannula shaft that includes the electrically conductive portion at its distal end around which tissue is ablated. (Fig. 1 and Par. [0030] and [0035]: At least the exposed distal end of cannula (18) is connected to an Rf generator and delivers energy to tissue)
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Wood further teaches the biopsy needle includes the electrode; (Fig. 1, and Par. [0022] and [0046]) and wherein the electrode and the biopsy needle protrude into the tissue beyond the cannula by the same length when each of the electrode and the biopsy needle are introduced by the cannula. (Fig. 1 and 4A: The exposed portion of needle (16) is a part of needle (16))
Regarding claim 5, Wood further teaches the electrode is monopolar and cannula conductive shaft portion is energized by the electrode when the electrode is introduced into the tissue via the cannula. (Par. [0019] and Par. [0046])
Regarding claim 6, Wood further teaches the electrode is bipolar and cannula conductive shaft portion is energized by one of the electrodes contacts when the electrode when the electrode introduced into the tissue via the cannula. (Par. [0019] and Par. [0046])
Regarding claim 7, Wood further teaches the electrode is bipolar electrode. (Par. [0019] and Par. [0046])
Regarding claim 8, Wood further teaches the distal contact of the electrode has smaller surface area than does the proximal contact of the electrode. (Fig. 3A: sharpened point (28a) is smaller than the exposed shaft portion of needle (16))
Regarding claim 10, Wood further teaches a stylet, (Par. [0025]: Stylet (16) in Fig. 1 can be removed and replaced with blunt tipped stylet) wherein the cannula includes the electrode, (Par. [0019]) the cannula is configured to introduce the stylet into bodily tissue, (Fig. 4A, Par. [0019] and Par. [0046]) and tissue is ablated around the stylet (Par. [0025]: The blunt tipped stylet is capable of conducting RF energy treating tissue in contact with/adjacent to said blunt tipped stylet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (US 2003/0093007 A1), as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 9, Wood, as applied to claim 2 above, teaches the electrode is a bipolar electrode, (Par. [0019] and Par. [0046]) wherein the distal contact of the electrode has smaller surface area than does the proximal contact of the electrode, (Fig. 3A: sharpened point (28a) is smaller than the exposed shaft portion of needle (16))
Wood further teaches the cannula shaft conductive portion can be configured in a plurality of sizes depending on the user’s preference, including reducing the surface area of the exposed portion of canula (18). (Par. [0036])
Wood, as applied to claim 2 above, is silent regarding the cannula shaft conductive portion having smaller surface area than the distal contact of the electrode.
However, absent a statement of criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to configure the exposed portion of cannula (18) to have a smaller surface area than sharpened point (28a), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/N.S.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3794