DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 109, 11018, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United Kingdom Patent GB 2267552 to Jackson.
Regarding Claims 1, 16, and 20, Jackson teaches a valve assembly for allowing filling
and draining of a container with a liquid, comprising: a filling catchment (Jackson Fig. 10 #126)
containing at least one opening for receiving liquid (Jackson Fig. 10 #126 open top) and at least
one drainage orifice (Jackson Fig. 10 #127), the filling catchment being located within the
container (Jackson Fig. 10 #120); a draining outlet adapted to convey liquid out of the container
(Jackson Fig. 10 bottom outlet #121), the draining outlet being located in a bottom surface of the
container; a plugging member (Jackson Fig. 10 #124) attached to the filling catchment, wherein
the filling catchment and plugging member are configured to move together between a first
position where the plugging member allows liquid to flow into the draining outlet and a second
position where the plugging member is brought into contact with the draining outlet thereby
preventing liquid from flowing through the draining outlet; and a biasing member (Jackson Fig.
10 #130) which acts to retain the filling catchment and the plugging member in the first position
unless a force is applied to the filling catchment equal to or greater than a force exerted by a
weight of liquid within the filling catchment or a force exerted by liquid entering the filling
catchment from a height.
Regarding Claim 2, Jackson teaches the plugging member is positioned at least partially
over the draining outlet (Jackson Fig. 10 #124).
Regarding Claim 3, Jackson teaches the movement from the first to the second position
takes place in a substantially vertical direction (Jackson Fig. 10 #130 moves it up and down).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Jackson teaches the movement from the first to the second
position takes place in an arc-like direction; wherein at least one of the filling catchment and the
plugging member are connected to a pivotable arm (Jackson Fig. 1 #4 is the pivot arm that is
hinged above aperture #12 creating the arch movement).
Regarding Claim 6, Jackson teaches the at least one drainage orifice (Jackson Fig. 10 #127) allows the flow of liquid out of the container when the plugging member is in the second position (Jackson Fig. 10 #124 could be in the plugged position and depending on the quantity/rate of the liquid coming out of #127 it could allow liquid to leave the container out of the top opening of container #120 even when the plug #124 is closed, particularly if apertures #128 are clogged or aren’t large enough to accommodate all the water coming out of #127; Jackson satisfies the broad nature of the amended claim limitation).
Regarding Claim 7, Jackson is capable of the claimed function where the flow of liquid
out of the container through the drainage orifice is slower than the flow of liquid out of the
container through the drainage outlet when the plugging member is in the first position.
(Applicant doesn't claim a size differential between the two openings, nor does applicant claim a
structural feature of the apertures that would cause the flow to have a certain speed, the
presence of plug in the flow path out of the orifice would slow the flow whereas the open
passage of the outlet would be faster flow, the structure of Jackson satisfies the limitation of the
broad claim; Jackson Fig. 10 #127 and #121).
Regarding Claim 8, Jackson teaches wherein the plugging member includes a channel
connected to the drainage orifice for conveying liquid out of the container (Jackson Fig. 10 #122
connected via assembled product to #124).
Regarding Claim 9, Jackson teaches wherein the plugging member comprises a plug
sized to fit the draining outlet (Jackson Fig. 10 #124 and #121).
Regarding Claim 11, Jackson teaches the plug is at least partially frusto-conical in shape
(Jackson Fig. 10 #124).
Regarding Claim 12, Jackson teaches wherein the plugging member (Jackson Fig. 10
#124) further comprises a rod (Jackson Fig. 10 rod #125) that is at least partially disposed
within a tube that does not move when the plugging member moves from the first to the second
position or vice versa (Jackson Fig. 10 collar #129 and spring #130 move the plug; shaded
unnumbered tube around #124 positioned between #130 and #124 does not move).
Regarding Claim 13, Jackson teaches the tube (Jackson Fig. 10 unnumbered shaded
tube positioned between #130 and #124 has apertures in it) is connected to a drainage
enclosure which at least partially encapsulates the plugging member and at least a first end of
the drainage outlet (Jackson Fig. 10 #121), and wherein the drainage enclosure allows fluid flow
from an interior of the container to the drainage outlet.
Regarding Claim 14, Jackson teaches the biasing member comprises a spring (Jackson
Fig. 10 #130).
Regarding Claim 15, Jackson teaches wherein the filling catchment is at least partially
frusto-conical or conical in shape (Jackson Fig. 10 #126).
Regarding Claim 17, Jackson teaches wherein the assembly further comprises an
overflow outlet (Jackson Fig. 10 #128) which defines a maximum height of the liquid in the
container.
Regarding Claim 18, Jackson teaches the overflow outlet (Jackson Fig. 10 #128) is
adapted to be adjustable such that the maximum height that the container can be filled to can
be changed by a user (the structure of Jackson is capable of the claimed function, it is capable
of being adjusted since applicant does not provide the specific structure that permits the
adjustment additional holes in Jackson could be made or plugged to adjust the height, the
structure of Jackson is capable of the function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United
Kingdom Patent GB 2267552 to Jackson.
Regarding Claim 10, Jackson is silent on explicitly teaching the plug is at least
partially hemi-spherical in shape. However, the examiner takes official notice that it is old and
notoriously well-known to provide at least partially hemi-spherical plug shapes. It would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Jackson before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success for an
efficient use of space and ergonomic/aesthetic design choice. The modification is merely the
simple substitution of one known shape for another to obtain predictable results. The
modification is merely changing an aesthetic/ornamental design [In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 231,
72 USPQ 431, 433 (CCPA 1947)] and does not present a patentable distinction over the prior
art of record.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United
Kingdom Patent GB 2267552 to Jackson in view U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0237814 to Moran.
Regarding Claim 19, Jackson is silent on teaching wherein the filling catchment includes
a mesh or grate at least partially over the at least one drainage outlet. However, Moran teaches
the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that it is known to place a mesh or grate
at least partially over a drainage outlet (Moran Fig. 5b #225 and #221). It would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Jackson with the teachings
of Moran before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio with a reasonable expectation of
success to prevent leaves or debris from entering. The modification is merely the application of
a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 21 and 23-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United Kingdom Patent GB 2267552 to Jackson as applied to claim 1 above and in view Korean Patent KR 200327261.
Regarding Claims 21 and 23, Jackson teaches the features found in claims 1, but is
silent on a plurality of containers and a holding tank containing a liquid; a conduit for allowing
the flow of the liquid from the holding tank to the at least one opening of the valve assembly of
at least one of the containers; wherein no physical connection exists between the conduit and
the at least one opening to which it allows the flow of liquid to. However, the examiner takes
official notice that a plurality of containers is merely an obvious engineering design choice
derived through routine tests and experimentation to optimize operation of a large-scale
production that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (Applicant merely
claims multiple containers, but doesn't require them to be stacked, the broad nature of the claim
lends to being positioned horizontally along a length). The modification is merely the duplication
of a known element for a multiple affect and does not produce a patentable distinction of the
prior art of record [In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 671, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960)]. The
modification is merely "obvious to try" choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable
solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
In addition, Korean Patent 200327261 teaches the general knowledge of one of ordinary
skill in the art that it is known to provide a holding tank (KR Fig. 5 #22) containing a liquid; a
conduit (KR Fig. 5 #29) for allowing the flow of the liquid from the holding tank to the at least
one opening of the valve assembly of at least one of the containers; wherein no physical
connection exists between the conduit and the at least one opening to which it allows the flow of
liquid to (KR #29 feeds into #21 and is passed through an aperture but does not have a
connection to #21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the
teachings of Jackson with the teachings of KR 200327261 before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an auxiliary tank as
taught by KR 200327261. The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a
known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claims 24, 26, 27, 31, 33, 34 and 35, Jackson as modified by KR 200327261
teaches the known apparatus and method of a vertical tower of containers that receive pumped
fluid to the top of the tower and the fluid travels downward through each of the stacked
containers, in other words KR teaches each the plurality of containers are vertically arranged to
allow at least one of: conveying liquid from the drainage outlet of the associated valve assembly
towards the opening of the valve assembly of another container; and/or receiving liquid into the
opening of the associated valve assembly from the drainage outlet of the valve assembly of
another container (KR Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to
arrange a plurality of Jackson Fig. 10 in a fluidly connected vertical orientation as taught by KR,
that is taking the device of Jackson Fig. 10 and orienting a plurality in a vertical configuration
and fluidly circulating the water.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the
teachings of Jackson with the teachings of KR 200327261 before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success for large scale production and
efficient recycling of circulated water and nutrients. The modification is merely the application of
a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 25, Jackson as modified teaches at least one of the containers
includes an overflow outlet (KR Fig. 5 #27) which is configured so that liquid that passes
through the overflow outlet is conveyed towards the opening of the valve assembly of another
container.
Regarding Claim 28, Jackson as modified teaches the holding tank is located below the
plurality of containers (KR Fig. 5 #22).
Regarding Claim 29, Jackson as modified teaches a pump (KR Fig. 5 #31) for conveying
liquid from the holding tank to the conduit.
Regarding Claim 30, Jackson as modified teaches the containers are trays (Jackson Fig.
10 #120) for growing plants and the liquid is water or nutrient enriched water.
Regarding Claim 32, Jackson as modified teaches a container includes an overflow
outlet adapted to be adjustable so that the maximum level the container can be filled to can be
changed, and the method further includes adjusting the overflow outlet to define a
predetermined level that the container can be filled to (KR Fig. 5 #27 has been adjusted to a
predetermined level). In addition, Jackson teaches the overflow outlet (Jackson Fig. 10 #128) is
adapted to be adjustable such that the maximum height that the container can be filled to can
be changed by a user (the structure of Jackson is capable of the claimed function, it is capable
of being adjusted since applicant does not provide the specific structure that permits the
adjustment additional holes in Jackson could be made or plugged to adjust the height, the
structure of Jackson is capable of the function)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Jackson element #126 is not “located within the container” as claimed. However, the examiner maintains that Jackson clearly teaches that the filling catchment Jackson Fig. 10 #126 is “within” the perimeter of the container #120. Jackson Fig. 10 shows that element #126 has angled sidewalls that extend into and past the top rim of the container #120. The bottom wall of #126 is below the top rim of #120 in Fig. 10, thus it is “within” the container. The outer rim of the filling catchment is on top of the container, but the claim does not require that the entire filling catchment be within the container. Having even a portion within the container satisfies the broad nature of the limitation. The examiner maintains that Jackson satisfies the limitations of the claim that the filling catchment is within the container. Applicant’s arguments are more detailed than the actual claim language.
Applicant argues that Jackson does not teach the claimed moving relationship between the plugging member and the filling catchment. However, the examiner maintains that Jackson Fig. 10 #126 filling catchment and plug #124 are configured to move together because they are a unit via member #125. Fig. 10 shows a first position where the plug member allow liquid to flow into the drainage outlet #121. Not shown in the Fig. is the second position that when #125 moves down it moves the plug #124 into a second position that blocks the drainage outlet. The second part of the claim is claimed in the alternative “or” so the claim only require one or the other, but not both. It is the examiner’s position that Jackson teaches a force exerted by liquid entering the filling catchment from a height. The examiner is relying on the operation and embodiment taught in Jackson Fig. 10 to teach all the features of the independent claim 1, applicant’s arguments regarding Fig. 3 are not relevant to the grounds of rejection applied above.
Regarding Claim 6 Jackson teaches the at least one drainage orifice (Jackson Fig. 10 #127) allows the flow of liquid out of the container when the plugging member is in the second position (Jackson Fig. 10 #124 could be in the plugged position and depending on the quantity/rate of the liquid coming out of #127 it could allow liquid to leave the container out of the top opening of container #120 even when the plug #124 is closed, particularly if apertures #128 are clogged or aren’t large enough to accommodate all the water coming out of #127; Jackson satisfies the broad nature of the amended claim limitation). The examiner modified the rejection because of applicant’s filed claim amendments.
Regarding Claim 19, Moran was merely cited as a secondary reference to teach the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that it is known to place a mesh or grate at least partially over a drainage outlet (Moran Fig. 5b #225 and #221). It was not cited to teach the claim structure satisfied by Jackson in independent claim 1.
Regarding KR 200327261 it was cited as a secondary reference to teach the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that it is known to provide a holding tank (KR Fig. 5 #22) containing a liquid; a conduit (KR Fig. 5 #29) for allowing the flow of the liquid from the holding tank to the at least one opening of the valve assembly of at least one of the containers; wherein no physical connection exists between the conduit and the at least one opening to which it allows the flow of liquid to (KR #29 feeds into #21 and is passed through an aperture but does not have a connection to #21). Applicant’s argument are regarding claim language that was satisfied by the teachings of the primary reference to Jackson as it was applied to claim 1 above and the examiner is not looking to the teachings of KR 200327261 to teach the limitations of claim 1, but merely that it would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Jackson with the recirculation and vertical tower arrangements of containers taught by KR 200327261.
The examiner maintains that applicant hasn’t patentably distinguished over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA M VALENTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643
06 October 2026