Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2025 and 08/24/2022 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I drawn to a method of expanding a population of tumor infiltrating lymphocytes by culturing a disaggregated tumor sample with a T cell receptor (TCR) agonist, a CD28 agonist, and a T cell-stimulating cytokine in the reply filed on 11/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
1-2, 4, 11-14, 16-18, 20, 22, 24, 27-28, 31, 33, 34 and 105 are pending and under exam. Claims 35 and 53 are withdrawn from as being directed to nonelected inventions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, 11-14, 16-18, 20, 22, 24, 27-28, 31, 33-34 and 105 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: Claim 1 requires culture of a disaggregated tumor sample and contacting tumor infiltrating lymphocytes (TILs) with a TCR agonist, a CD28 agonist and a T-cell stimulating cytokine. It is not clear as to when and where TILs are added or appear, if TILs are present in the disaggregated tumor or if TILs are enriched from the disaggregated tumor cells and cultured separately. As such the claim does not clearly identify the source of the TILs or when and how they are contacted with the recited agonists, leading to ambiguous scope of the claim. Accordingly, the claim is indefinite.
Claims 2, 4, 11-14, 16-18, 20, 22, 24, 27-28, 31, 33-34 and 105 are rejected for their dependency on the rejected claim.
Claims 1-2, 11-14, 16, 22, 24, 27-28, 31, 33, and 34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1: A method of expanding a population of tumor infiltrating lymphocytes (TILs) in a disaggregated tumor sample, the method comprising culturing the disaggregated tumor sample in a medium, wherein the TILs are contacted with a T cell receptor (TCR) agonist, a CD28 agonist, and a T cell-stimulating cytokine.
The breadth of the claim encompasses any TCR agonist, and any T-cell stimulating cytokine. The specification at [0115] indicates that “T cell receptor agonist” or “TCR agonist” refers to an agonist of the T cell receptor complex. Suitable TCR agonists include, without limitation, CD3 agonists (e.g., anti-CD3 antibodies).” As such TCR agonists are not expressly limited to CD3 agonists. However, Example 1 of the specification only taught the use of CD3 as the TCR and IL-2 as the cytokine. While CD3 agonists are the predominantly used TCR agonists, the specification provides no guidance regarding what other TCRs are anticipated to provide the intended effect. The specification provides no support to all known TCRs that provide activation of TILs. Example 1 of the specification specifically used humanized recombinant agonists against human CD3 and CD28. As such there is no support for the claimed embodiment from the specification.
Similarly, the specification provides no support that any known cytokine can be used in the activation of TILs. [0134] of the specification states that “As used herein, the phrase “T cell-stimulating cytokine” refers to a cytokine that stimulates and/or activates T cell lymphocytes.” However, Example 1 of the specification is directed only to the use of IL2 as the T-cell stimulating cytokine. The specification provides no support to all known T-cell stimulating cytokine that provide activation of TILs. Example 1 of the specification specifically used IL2. As such there is no support for the claimed embodiment from the specification.
Regarding claims 31 and 34: The claims require a TCR agonist comprises a soluble monospecific complex comprising two anti-CD3 antibodies linked together or two anti-CD2 antibodies linked together. [0772] of the specification exemplifies a soluble monospecific complex specific to CD2. CD28 or CD3. Further specification at [0221] provides exemplary concentrations of CD2 or CD3 antibodies linked together. Although the specification provides example concentrations at which antibodies may be added, the specification does not identify, describe, or exemplify any specific antibody used as a TCR agonist or CD28 agonist, nor does it disclose any structural, binding, or functional characteristics of such antibodies.
The disclosure of antibody concentrations alone, without identification or description of any representative antibody species, does not demonstrate that the inventors were in possession of the claimed antibodies or soluble monospecific complexes at the time of filing. The specification thus amounts to a statement of intended use rather than a description of the invention itself.
Given the known functional variability among antibodies that bind the same target, and the unpredictability of T-cell activation, the generic disclosure provided is insufficient to support the full scope of the claimed subject matter. Accordingly, the specification fails to satisfy the written description requirement of §112(a).
Claims 2, 11-14, 16, 22, 24, 27-28, 31, 33, and 34 are rejected for their dependency on the rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 24 and 105 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nijhuis et al (Cancer Immunol Immunother. 1990; hereinafter "Nijhuis;" See PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 105: Niihuis disclosed that TILs can be expanded from tumor cell suspension by “[i]n the initiation phase of TIL culture immobilized antiCD3 antibodies together with anti-CD28 mAb and lowdose interleukin-2 induced a rapid expansion of T cells from various human tumour tissues.” (See Nijhuis abstract). For example Nijhuis disclosed that “The combination of immobilized antiCD3 mAb with CLB-CD28/1 and low-dose IL-2, however, induced an efficient outgrowth of TIL, with expansion rates in four patients tested ranging from 4.3 to 10.4 on day 7.” (See Nijhuis, p. 247, col. 1, last para). IL-2 reads on the cytokine. It is noted that p. 4, col. 1 st para of Ye disclosed that CD3 and CD28 antibodies were agonistic antibodies. Further the CD3 agonistic antibody reads on the TCR agonist. It is further noted that tumor cell suspensions read on the claimed disaggregated tumor cells. As such all elements of the claims are taught by Nijhuis and are thus anticipated.
Regarding claim 2: Nijhuis disclosed that “TIL were cultured on the CLB-T3/3-coated wells for 3 days in a final volume of 1 rel. Where indicated 1 µg/ml CLB-CD28/1, 25 IU/ml rIL-2 or a combination of both was added. After 3 days cells were harvested, counted, seeded at 2.5x105 lymphocytes/well and new culture medium with or without anti-CD28 mAb and IL-2 was added.” (See Nijhuis p. 246, 1st col last para to 2nd col. 1st para). As such Nijhuis disclosed 3-day interval of cytokine addition.
Regarding claim 24: Nijhuis does not require feeder cells for achieving TIL expansion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nijhuis et al (Cancer Immunol Immunother. 1990; hereinafter "Nijhuis;" See PTO-892) in view of Ye et al (J Transl Med. 2011 Aug 9; hereinafter "Ye;" See IDS filed 11/08/2025).
Regarding claim 11: The teachings of Nijhuis are set forth above. Nijhuis did not teach tumor sample comprising digested tumor fragments. However, Ye taught that “TILs can be vigorously expanded directly from enzyme-digested tumor specimens ex vivo with KT64/BBL aAPCs, and display favorable phenotypic and functional attributes for the application of adoptive immunotherapy of cancer.” (See Ye p. 9, col. 2, para 1).” As such, it was known at the time of the invention that enzymatic digestion of tumor for isolation of TILs was a known and common technique. In view of the teachings of Nijhuis regarding CD3/CD28 and IL-2 mediated TIL expansion and Ye regarding arriving at a disaggregated tumor sample using digested tumor fragments, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to practice the claimed invention using disaggregated tumor sample arrived at by digested tumor fragments.
Regarding claims 12-14, 16 and 20: Ye used aAPCs as feeder cells for TIL expansion. For example, Ye disclosed that “engineered K562 cell-based aAPCs as an “off-the-shelf” platform for ex vivo TIL expansion. K562 aAPCs that express CD137L offer the potential to expand antigen-experienced TILs and represent a potential new cell-based platform for the standardization of ex vivo TIL expansion.” (See Ye, p.2, col. 1 last para). Ye taught that “To generate cell-based aAPCs, the parental K562 cell line was engineered to stably co-express the high-affinity Fc receptor CD64 and the costimulatory ligand CD137L (4-1BBL) by lentiviral gene transduction.” (See Ye; p. 3-4, col. 2 of p.3 to col. 1 of p. 4). Ye further taught that “KT64/BBL aAPCs were cultured in the absence of serum to pre-clear CD64 of serum derived immunoglobulins, irradiated and then loaded with anti-CD3 and anti-CD28 agonist monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) for TIL expansion.” (See Ye, p.4, col. 1, para 1). As such Ye used genetically engineered aAPC to expand production of TILs.
As such it was well known in art at the time of filing that feeder cells, such as irradiated aAPC, are routinely incorporated into TIL culture protocols, particularly in rapid expansion methods (REP), to provide accessory co-stimulatory signals and support robust TIL proliferation. Ye explicitly teaches the inclusion of feeder cells, such as irradiated aAPC, in TIL culture media to enhance TIL expansion.
The combination of Nijhuis and Ye would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Nijhuis provides the fundamental method of TIL expansion with CD3/CD28 stimulation and cytokine, while Ye provides the routine and well-understood teaching of incorporating feeder cells to improve proliferation. A skilled artisan would have recognized that adding feeder cells to the medium of Nijhuis’ method is a predictable and routine modification, providing enhanced expansion and support of TILs without any unexpected results.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nijhuis et al (Cancer Immunol Immunother. 1990; hereinafter "Nijhuis;" See PTO-892) in view of Ye et al (J Transl Med. 2011 Aug 9; hereinafter "Ye;" See IDS filed 11/08/2025) as applied to claims 11-14, 16 and 20 above and further in view of Suhoski et al (Mol Ther. 2007 May; hereinafter "Suhoski;" See PTO-892).
Regarding claims 17 and 18: The teachings of Nijhuis and Ye are set forth above. It is noted that Nijhuis or Ye did not taught that the feeder cells expressing a CD3 agonist or OKT3 as required by the subject claims. However, Suhoski taught an aAPC system by engineering K562 cells with lentiviruses to direct the stable expression and secretion of a variety of co-stimulatory molecules and cytokine and expression of various combinations of genes on the aAPC enables precise determination of human T-cell activation such that aAPCs can be tailored for the optimal propagation of T-cell subsets. (See Suhoski Abstract). Specifically, Suhoski taught that “for potential therapeutic applications, it would be useful to have off-the-shelf a APC that could simply be added as feeder cells to T cell cultures.” (Suhoski p. 3, para 2). Suhoski taught that the efficiency of pre-loaded aAPCs was similar to that of freshly prepared OKT3-loaded CD64–86 aAPCs (See Suhoski Figure 2c). Given the benefit of TCR stimulation and co-stimulation in view of the cited art, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use an aAPC presenting OKT3 (or genetically engineered to do so) as the feeder cell for TIL expansion, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nijhuis et al (Cancer Immunol Immunother. 1990; hereinafter "Nijhuis;" See PTO-892) in view of Ye et al (J Transl Med. 2011 Aug 9; hereinafter "Ye;" See IDS filed 11/05/2025) as applied to claims 11-14, 16 and 20 above and further in view of Santegoets et al (J Transl Med. 2013 Feb 12; hereinafter "Santegoets;" See PTO-892).
Regarding claim 22: The teachings of Nijhuis and Ye are set forth above. It is noted that Nijhuis or Ye did not teach that the feeder cells express cytokine. Santegoets compared the effects of IL-2, -15 and −21 cytokines on the expansion and activation of TIL from single-cell suspensions of non-small cell lung cancer, ovarian cancer and melanoma. In their study, Santegoets taught that “K562-based artificial APC (aAPC) platform for the direct and rapid expansion of tumor infiltrating lymphocytes isolated from primary cancer specimens. These aAPC were engineered to express the Fc-γ receptor CD32 (for anti-CD3 antibody binding), the co-stimulatory molecule 4-1BBL, and to secrete either IL-2, IL-15 or IL-21 cytokine” (See Santegoets Abstract). Santegoets further indicated that “[o]ur data rationalize the clinical application of IL-21-secreting aAPC as a standardized cell-based platform in the expansion of “young” effector TIL for ACT.”
Given the benefit of TCR stimulation and co-stimulation in view of the cited art, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use an aAPC secreting cytokines as the feeder cell for TIL expansion, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nijhuis et al (Cancer Immunol Immunother. 1990; hereinafter "Nijhuis;" See PTO-892). in view of Scheffold et al (US20140087462A1; published Mar 27, 2014; hereinafter "Scheffold;" See PTO-892).
Regarding claims 27-28: The teachings of Nijhuis are set forth above. Nijhuis did not teach use of nanomatrix comprising a colloidal suspension of matrices of polymer chains, wherein each nanomatrix is 1 to 500 nm in length in its largest dimension linked to CD3/CD28 agonists as required by the claim.
Scheffold taught “[a]n in vitro method for polyclonal stimulation of T cells, the method comprising contacting a population of T cells with a nanomatrix, the nanomatrix comprising
a) a flexible matrix, wherein said matrix is of polymeric material; and
b) attached to said polymeric flexible matrix one or more polyclonal stimulatory agents which provide activation signals to the T cells; thereby activating and inducing the T cells to proliferate;
wherein the nanomatrix is 1 to 500 nm in size.” (See Scheffold claim 1). [00245] of Scheffold indicates that the nanometric is colloidal. It is also pointed out that Figure 1 of Scheffold showed expansion of sorted human naive CD4 and CD8 T cells stimulated with CD3/CD28 conjugated nanomatrices at the indicated concentrations (effective CD3 concentration) in the presence of IL-2 for 7 days. (Scheffold [0026]). The teachings of Schaeffold would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute traditional stimulation formats of Nijhuis with the colloidal nanomatrix approach of Schaeffold as nanomatrix approach was known to achieve expansion of T-cells. Thus it would have been obvious to present the CD3 agonist and CD28 agonist of Nijhuis on a colloidal nanomatrix as taught by Scheffold with a reasonable expectation of success in expanding the population of T-cells in culture Therefore the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. It is also noted that the polymeric chain of Scheffold is indicated to be dextran in [0037] of Scheffold. As such one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use same polymer chains for CD28 and TCR agonist as required by claim 28.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nijhuis et al (Cancer Immunol Immunother. 1990; hereinafter "Nijhuis;" See PTO-892). in view of Lier et al (Immunology. 1989 Sep; hereinafter "Lier;" See PTO-892).
The teachings of Nijhuis are set forth above. Nijhuis did not teach use of monospecific complex comprising two anti-CD3 antibodies linked together as required by the claim. Lier taught that “anti-CD3 mAb CLB-T3/3 induces strong T-cell stimulation that is proportional to the density of the immobilized antibody. T cells, optimally stimulated with plastic-immobilized CLB-T3/3, showed a five-fold higher proliferation compared to cells that were stimulated with soluble anti-CD3 in the presence of accessory cells.” (See Lier Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of the teachings of Nijhuis and Lier to modify the CD3 agonist of Nijhuis to monospecific complex comprising two anti-CD3 antibodies linked together to achieve enhanced activation.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nijhuis et al (Cancer Immunol Immunother. 1990; hereinafter "Nijhuis;" See PTO-892). in view of Skanland et al (J. Biochem 2014; hereinafter "Skanland;" See PTO-892).
The teachings of Nijhuis are set forth above. Nijhuis did not teach use of CD2 agonistic antibody as required by the claim. Skanland demonstrated that “CD2 co-stimulation induces phosphorylation of the TCR-proximal signaling complex, whereas CD28 activates distal signaling molecules, including the transcription factors NF-κB (nuclear factor κB), ATF (activating transcription factor)-2, STAT3/5 (signal transducer and activator of transcription 3/5), p53 and c-Jun.” (See Skanland Abstract). Skanlan further taught that “The signaling patterns induced by CD2 and CD28 co-stimulation lead to distinct functional immune responses in T-cell proliferation and cytokine production. In conclusion, CD2 and CD28 co-stimulation induces distinct signalling responses and functional outcomes in T-cells.” (See Skanland Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of the teachings of Nijhuis and Skanland to modify the use CD2 to the agonists taught by Nijhuis to achieve enhanced activation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 31 and 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 8, 10, 11, and 24 of copending Application No. 17/802,080 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons stated below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The following claims are anticipated by the corresponding claims in the reference application.
17/779,458; instant application
Reference application
1
1, 24
31
8
31
10
27
11
Conclusion
Claim 34 appears free of art but lacks written description.
/JAGAMYA NMN VIJAYARAGHAVAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/EVELYN Y PYLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633