DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is amended. Claims 6-15 are withdrawn. Claims 1-5 are examined herein.
Status of Previous Rejections
The rejections of Claims 1 and 3-5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (2015/0348685) have been withdrawn in view of the applicants’ amendment.
The rejection of Claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (2015/0348685), and further in view of JP’026 (JP 2007-266026A, IDS dated 05/25/2022) has been withdrawn in view of the applicants’ amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “magnet consisting of R2T14B main phase crystal grains and a grain boundary” in line 1-2. Claim 1 also recites “R2T14B main phase crystal grains in contact with secondary phases” in line 11-12. It’s unclear whether “grain boundary phases” and “secondary Phases” are the same phases. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomizawa (US2005/0268989).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Tomizawa teaches an R-T-B based permanent magnet consisting of R2T14B main phase crystal grains and a grain boundary (Abstract; [0029] to [0031]). Tomizawa discloses an example containing 31.0 mass % of Nd, 1.0 mass % of Co, 0.04 mass % of Ga, 0.2 mass % of Al, 0.1 mass % of Cu, 0.95 mass % of B and Fe as the balance ([0074], Fig. 7), which meets the recited B amount in claim 1, and the R amount in claim 5.
Tomizawa discloses that the R2T14B main phase accounts for 90% or more volume of the sintered magnet ([0053]), which overlaps the recited area proportion of the main phase as recited in claim 1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, the recited area proportion of the main phase is a prima facie case of obviousness over Tomizawa.
Tomizawa is silent on the coverage ratio of main phase by a grain boundary phase. However, this limitation is determined by the alloy composition of the sintered magnet and a method of making the magnet. Tomizawa discloses that the magnet is made by sintering at 1040 ºC for 2 hours, followed by aging at 500 ºC for 1 hour ([0075]; [0076]), which meets the sintering and aging processing conditions disclosed in instant Specification (See [0072] to [0084]). In view of the fact that Tomizawa teaches a magnet composition that meets the recited composition in claim 1 and a process of making the magnet under conditions that meet the processing conditions disclosed in instant Specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the sintered magnet disclosed by Tomizawa to meet the coverage ratio recited in claim 1. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claim 2, Tomizawa discloses that the magnet contains 0.04-0.06 mass% C (i.e. 400-600 ppm), which overlaps the recited amount of carbon in claim 2. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, the recited carbon amount in claim 2 is a prima facie case of obviousness over Tomizawa.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomizawa (US2005/0268989), and further in view of JP’026 (JP 2007-266026A, IDS dated 05/25/2022).
Regarding claim 3, Tomizawa discloses that the magnet contains 0.38-0.41 mass% oxygen ([0078]), which is greater than the recited oxygen amount. JP’026 teaches a method of making a sintered RTB magnet and discloses impurities such as O, C and N should be as low as possible in order to make a magnet having good magnetic properties (Page 3 to 6). JP’026 further discloses that fine pulverization and compaction are performed in low oxygen atmosphere to reduce the oxygen amount to 1000 ppm or less (Abstract; Page 5, 3rd paragraph). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to lower the oxygen amount to 1000 ppm or less by performing fine pulverization and compaction in low oxygen atmosphere as taught by JP’026 in the process of Tomizawa in order to make a magnet having good magnetic properties as disclosed by JP’026. JP’026 discloses examples containing 440-580 ppm of oxygen (Table 2), which meet the recited amount of oxygen in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Tomizawa discloses that the magnet has Br of 1.365 (Fig. 7, when B content is 0.95 wt. %), which is less than the recited Br in claim 4. JP’026 teaches a method of making a sintered RTB magnet and discloses impurities such as O, C and N should be as low as possible in order to make a magnet having good magnetic properties (Page 3 to 6). JP’026 further discloses by performing fine pulverization and compaction in low oxygen atmosphere and performing a lubricant removal step prior to the sintering step, a magnet containing low O, C and N amounts and having high magnetic properties can be manufactured (Abstract; Page 3 to Page 6). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to lower the oxygen amount to 1000 ppm or less by performing fine pulverization and compaction in low oxygen atmosphere and to lower carbon content by performing a lubricant removal step as taught by JP’026 in the process of Tomizawa in order to make a magnet having good magnetic properties as disclosed by JP’026. JP’026 discloses that all the examples have a Br of 14.80 kG or greater (Table 2), which meets the recited Br in claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 05/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new rejection ground.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733