Response to Amendment/Arguments
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed 1/12/26. Amended Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 12-15, 17-24 are pending.
Regarding the previous drawing objections, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Examiner agrees the labels to boxes in the drawings overcomes this previous objection. Examiner agrees the deletion of “detached cylinder arrangement” in Claim 3 overcomes this previous objection. Examiner respectfully disagrees that the claimed “synchronous piston cylinder” is shown; the current drawings do not contain this feature. The Claim 13 limitations (previously identified as Claim 8 limitations) of “a distance measuring system and/or a mechanical safety” are not present in the drawings. Claim 16 is cancelled so the previous objection is moot.
Regarding the previous specification objections, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Examiner agrees the specification amendments overcome the previous objections.
Regarding the previous claim objections, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Examiner agrees the claim amendments overcome the previous objections.
Regarding the previous 112(b) rejections, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Examiner agrees the previous claim 3 issues are remedied.
Regarding Claim 6, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The term “increased” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “increased” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Applicant’s citation does not include a standard for assessing the “increas[e]” of the claimed “increased functional safety” and the claim term remains indefinite.
Regarding Claim 13, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s comments clarify the term “distance measuring system” is not intended to be treated under 112(f) and this interpretation will be used going forward.
Additionally, examiner notes that Claim 16 has been cancelled so this previous rejection is moot.
Regarding the previously applied prior art applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Claim 1 being amended to include previous Claim 11 limitations results in Claim 1 being allowable over the cited prior art. New Claim 24 including previous Claim 22 limitations in conjunction with the other claim limitations results in Claim 24 being allowable over the cited prior art. Regarding Claim 23’s language, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive; for example, Kohno teaches a distance measuring system (ex. 23, Fig. 4) as does newly cited Stillhard, discussed below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Claim 3 limitation “synchronous cylinder”
Claim 13 limitations “wherein the electrohydrostatic system comprises a second safety device that includes a distance measuring system and/or a mechanical safety.”
Claim 23 limitation “a distance measuring system”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a fluid hydraulic supply device for providing a hydraulic fluid” in Claim 1 (interpreted as “The supply device 90 comprises a safety valve 91, a fluid source 92, a check valve 93, a
pressure accumulator 95 and a fluid reservoir 96.” - [0031])
“a motor control device designed to provide a rated current for an electrical drive of the fluid hydraulic motor pump unit” in Claim 1 (interpreted as “Furthermore, the electrohydrostatic system 1 has a motor control device 20 that can be designed as a frequency converter.” - [0031])
“a first safety device operatively arranged to: receive an electrical signal corresponding to a detected fluid hydraulic pressure from the pressure sensor; and provide an enabling signal for the motor control device to provide the rated current for the electrical drive of the fluid hydraulic motor pump unit.” In Claim 2 (interpreted as “The pressure sensor 60 provides a pressure value of a first safety device 30 determined at the fixed orifice plate 13, preferably a safety PLC, as a safety control 30.” - [0031])
“a fluid hydraulic supply device for providing a hydraulic fluid” in Claim 23 (interpreted as “The supply device 90 comprises a safety valve 91, a fluid source 92, a check valve 93, a pressure accumulator 95 and a fluid reservoir 96.” - [0031])
“a motor control device designed to provide a rated current for an electrical drive of the fluid hydraulic motor pump unit” in Claim 23 (interpreted as “Furthermore, the electrohydrostatic system 1 has a motor control device 20 that can be designed as a frequency converter.” - [0031])
“a first safety device operatively arranged to: receive an electrical signal corresponding to a detected fluid hydraulic pressure from the pressure sensor; and provide an enabling signal for the motor control device to provide the rated current for the electrical drive of the fluid hydraulic motor pump unit” in Claim 23 (interpreted as “The pressure sensor 60 provides a pressure value of a first safety device 30 determined at the fixed orifice plate 13, preferably a safety PLC, as a safety control 30.” - [0031])
Examiner notes on claim interpretation:
The claims frequently use “designed as”. As applicant has presented apparatus claims, the method stop of designing in apparatus claim would be indefinite (MPEP 2173.05(p) II). Any instance of “designed as” or variant thereof has been interpretated as “configured as” or variant thereof.
“a fluid hydraulic motor pump unit designed to provide a fluid hydraulic volume flow in order to move the hydraulic cylinder” in Claim 1 was considered for interpretation under 112(f) but was ultimately not interpreted under 112(f) as the language lacks the presence of “means” and a “hydraulic motor pump” is broad class of structures in the art; Claim 23 was likewise interpreted.
“a second safety device” in Claim 23 was considered for interpretation under 112(f) but ultimately was not interpreted under 112(f) as the language lacks the presence of “means” and lacks further functional language beyond the descriptor “safety”. “second” is considered a naming convention. Similar language in Claim 13 was considered but since there was additional structure present and no “means” present the claim language in Claim 13 was not interpreted under 112(f). Additionally in Claim 13, “mechanical safety” was interpreted broadly to a broad class of objects to one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, “distance measuring system” was considered for interpretation under 112(f) but ultimately was considered as referring to a broad class of objects to one of ordinary skill in the art (see also applicant’s remarks filed 1/12/26).
In Claim 22, note the contingent limitations are required in this apparatus claim (MPEP 2111.04 II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “increased” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “increased” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “wherein the pressure sensor is designed as a pressure sensor with increased functional safety” is indefinite as a result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant admitted prior art, hereinafter AAPA, in view of Kohno (US 11541444) and Stillhard et al. (US 20040033141).
Regarding Claim 23, AAPA teaches
An electrohydrostatic system comprising:
a hydraulic cylinder (10, Fig. 2) having a first cylinder chamber and a second cylinder chamber;
a fluid hydraulic supply device (90) for providing a hydraulic fluid;
a fluid hydraulic motor pump unit (15) designed to provide a fluid hydraulic volume flow in order to move the hydraulic cylinder;
a motor control device (20) designed to provide a rated current for an electrical drive of the fluid hydraulic motor pump unit;
at least one fluid hydraulic safety valve (16), which on a first valve side is connected to one of the cylinder chambers of the hydraulic cylinder and on a second valve side is connected to the fluid hydraulic motor pump unit;
a bypass connection having a fixed orifice plate (13) for bridging the at least one fluid hydraulic safety valve, wherein the bypass connection is connected to the first valve side and to the second valve side of the at least one fluid hydraulic safety valve (Fig. 2);
wherein the fixed orifice plate is configured to have a resistance that is determined based on pressure generated in the hydraulic cylinder by a suspended load of the hydraulic cylinder (Fig. 2, ex. [0006-0007]).
AAPA does not teach
a pressure sensor, which is connected to the second cylinder chamber of the hydraulic cylinder and is designed to detect a fluid hydraulic pressure on one of the cylinder chambers and, corresponding to the detected fluid hydraulic pressure, to provide an enabling signal for the motor control device to provide the rated current for the electrical drive of the fluid hydraulic motor pump unit;
a first safety device operatively arranged to:
receive an electrical signal corresponding to a detected fluid hydraulic pressure from the pressure sensor; and
provide an enabling signal for the motor control device to provide the rated current for the electrical drive of the fluid hydraulic motor pump unit; and
a second safety device that includes a distance measuring system.
Kohno teaches
For an electrohydrostatic system,
a pressure sensor (21, ex. Fig. 4), which is connected to a second cylinder chamber (3c) of a hydraulic cylinder (3) and is designed to detect a fluid hydraulic pressure on one of the cylinder chambers and, corresponding to the detected fluid hydraulic pressure, to provide an enabling signal for the motor control device (with 380 for 5) to provide the rated current for the electrical drive of the fluid hydraulic motor pump unit (ex. Fig. 5);
a first safety device (ex. 310-1 or 310-2, ex. Fig. 5 or Fig. 18) operatively arranged to:
receive an electrical signal corresponding to a detected fluid hydraulic pressure from the pressure sensor; and
provide an enabling signal for the motor control device to provide the rated current for the electrical drive of the fluid hydraulic motor pump unit.
Stillhard teaches
For a electrohydrostatic system,
a second safety device (with 119, Fig. 8, [0027, 0019]) that includes a distance measuring system.
Since both AAPA and Kohno references are directed to electrohydrostatic systems, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrohydrostatic system of AAPA to add a pressure sensor and a as taught by Kohno in order to provide feedback over the operation of the system. Since both AAPA and Stillhard references are directed to electrohydrostatic systems, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrohydrostatic system of AAPA to add a distance measuring system as taught by Stillhard in order to provide feedback over the operation of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 8, 10, 12-15, 17-22, 24 are allowed.
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL QUANDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/MICHAEL QUANDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745