DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 16-21, 23, 24, 27, 29, 33-39, 48, and 63 are pending.
Claims 1 and 63 have been amended by Applicant.
Claims 1, 16-21, 23, 24, 27, 29, 33-39, 48, and 63 are currently under consideration.
No additional species have been rejoined.
This Office Action contains New Rejections necessitated by further considerations.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites a protein comprising a fragment of DEC205 wherein the fragment comprises “a polypeptide that has a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO:1, SEQ ID NO:2, and SEQ ID NO:3.” Noting that recited SEQ ID NO:1 comprises a 183 amino acid sequence, SEQ ID NO:1 also comprises polypeptide sequences that are fragments of SEQ ID NO:1. Polypeptides comprising such fragments, including those polypeptides comprising fragments consisting of amino acids 2-183 of SEQ ID NO:1, are interpreted to be polypeptides having “a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO:1, SEQ ID NO:2, and SEQ ID NO:3” for the maintained rejections. However, it is noted the following amendment to claim 1 would obviate the maintained rejections: “…comprises SEQ ID NO:1, SEQ ID NO:2, or SEQ ID NO:3.”. However, such a proposed amendment would not obviate the majority of new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103(a).
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 19, 21, 23, 27, and 33-37 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benson et al (WO 2017/025889 A1; 2/16/17; 7/20/22 IDS).
Benson et al teaches SEQ ID NO:29 (recombinant human DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc), which is a protein comprising a human DEC-205 extracellular domain fused to a monomeric human IgG1 Fc fragment (page 32 and Example 4 on page 43, in particular). SEQ ID NO:29 is a 435 amino sequence comprising a 182 amino acid portion 100% identical to a 183 amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:1 that is linked by about 23 amino acids to a 210 amino acid portion C-terminal to the 182 amino acid portion wherein the C-terminal 210 amino acid portion is 88.3% identical to the FcgRIIb sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:5. SEQ ID NO:29 of Benson et al comprises a fragment of DEC205 that has a sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 (see Claim Interpretation above). Benson et al teaches oligonucleotides as ligands of the DEC-205 extracellular domain (lines 22-23 on page 14, in particular). Benson et al does not explicitly describe the oligonucleotides as “mitochondrial DNA” or “genomic DNA”. However, as evidenced by the instant specification, the DEC-205 extracellular domain portion of SEQ ID NO:29 of Benson et al comprising a 182 amino acid sequence that is 100% identical to 182 of the 183 amino acids instant SEQ ID NO:1 would bind mitochondrial and/or genomic DNA because the instant specification discloses DEC-205 fragments 99% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 bind mitochondrial and/or genomic DNA (see [0076] and [0091], in particular). Further, as evidenced by instant Figure 10, DEC-205 extracellular domain of the construct of Benson et al comprises Ricin B-type domain, fibronectin type II domain, and multiple C-type lectin domains. The DEC-205 extracellular domain portion of SEQ ID NO:29 comprises a polypeptide having 182 consecutive amino acids of instant SEQ ID NO:4. Benson et al further teaches the recombinant human DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc was generated by expressing a polynucleotide vector encoding the recombinant human DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc in HEK host cells (Example 4 on page 43, in particular). Benson et al further teaches use of an ELISA to measure binding of anti-DEC-205 antibodies to SEQ ID NO:29, a recombinant human DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc (“DEC-205-Fc”), and to use SEQ ID NO:29 as a ligand for anti-DEC-205 antibodies (lines 10-14 on page 12 and lines 18-19 on page 14, in particular). Benson et al teaches targeting ligands, such as antibodies, for DEC-205 provide therapeutic benefit by delivering protein antigens to DEC-205 expressing cells (lines 16-20 on page 2 and page 5, in particular). Benson et al further teaches using a Biacore® system to determine binding of an antibody (lines 19-23 on page 12, in particular). In particular regards to instant claim 23, SEQ ID NO:29 of Benson et al comprises a sequence identical to a broadly-recited Fc “fragment” of a mouse IgG1 receptor gamma (FcgRIIb) Fc domain (a full mouse IgG1 receptor gamma (FcgRIIb) Fc domain is set-forth by instant SEQ ID NO:6).
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 10/21/26, Applicant argues Benson does not teach a protein comprising a fragment of DEC205 that has a sequence selected from SEQ ID NO:1, SEQ ID NO:2, and SEQ ID NO:3.
The amendments to the claims and the arguments found in the Reply of 10/21/26 have been carefully considered, but are not deemed persuasive. In regards to the argument that Benson does not teach a protein comprising a fragment of DEC205 that has a sequence selected from SEQ ID NO:1, SEQ ID NO:2, and SEQ ID NO:3, the examiner disagrees. Benson et al teaches SEQ ID NO:29 (recombinant human DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc), which is a protein comprising a human DEC-205 extracellular domain fused to a monomeric human IgG1 Fc fragment (page 32 and Example 4 on page 43, in particular). SEQ ID NO:29 is a 435 amino sequence comprising a 182 amino acid portion 100% identical to a 183 amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:1. SEQ ID NO:29 of Benson et al comprises a fragment of DEC205 that has a sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 (see Claim Interpretation above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 19, 21, 23, 27, and 33-39 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson et al (WO 2017/025889 A1; 2/16/17; 7/20/22 IDS) as applied to claims 1, 19, 21, 23, 27, and 33-37 above, and further in view of Lindskog et al (Biopharmaceutical Processing, 2018, 111-130).
Teachings of Benson et al are discussed above.
Benson et al does not specifically teach expressing a recited protein in in CHO or BHK host cells, as opposed to HEK host cells. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Lindskog et al.
Lindskog et al teaches HEK, BHK, and CHO as three types of host cells used to make recombinant proteins (Table 6.1, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a combined method of generating the recombinant human DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc by of Benson et al by expressing a polynucleotide vector encoding the recombinant human DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc in CHO or BHK host cells, as opposed to HEK host cells of Benson et al, because Lindskog et al teaches HEK, BHK, and CHO as three types of host cells used to make recombinant proteins. This is an example of a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 10/21/26, Applicant repeats arguments addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 19, 21, 23, 27, 33-37, and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson et al (WO 2017/025889 A1; 2/16/17; 7/20/22 IDS) as applied to claims 1, 19, 21, 23, 27, and 33-37 above, and further in view of Urh et al (Methods in Enzymology, 2009, 463: 417-438).
Teachings of Benson et al are discussed above.
Benson et al does not specifically teach a device comprising an inlet, an outlet, a chamber comprising a solid substrate, wherein a protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc by of Benson et al is immobilized on the solid substrate. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Urh et al.
Urh et al an affinity chromatography device to identify reagents that bind a given protein within a chamber/column comprising a solid substrate that permits flow (which one of skill in the art would recognize is through an inlet and outlet), wherein the given protein is immobilized on the solid substrate and binds to reagents that bind to the given protein (see “ligand attachment” and “purification method” sections at pages 430-435, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a combined method comprising using an affinity chromatography device of Urh et al wherein the DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc by of Benson et al is immobilized on a solid support and binds to targeting ligands suspected of binding to DEC-205 because Benson et al teaches targeting ligands, such as antibodies, for DEC-205 provide therapeutic benefit by delivering protein antigens to DEC-205 expressing cells, and the affinity chromatography device of Urh et al is capable of identifying targeting ligands of a given protein (such as DEC-205). Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 10/21/26, Applicant repeats arguments addressed above.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 16-19, 23, 27, and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benson et al (WO 2017/025889 A1; 2/16/17; 7/20/22 IDS).
As stated above, Benson et al teaches instant claims 1, 19, 21, 23, 27, and 33-37.
Regarding instant claims 16-19, Benson et al teaches SEQ ID NO:30 as wild-type DEC205 (page 30). SEQ ID NO:30 comprises SEQ ID NO:29 discussed above. SEQ ID NO:30 further comprises a polypeptide having greater than 276 consecutive amino acids of instant SEQ ID NO:4 and an FcgRIIb fragment (having as little as a single amino acid of FcgRIIb) or “domain” or “region” thereof having as little as two amino acids of such a domain/region. Further, any portion of SEQ ID NO:30 can be described as a “linker” (as recited by instant claim 27).
Comparison of instant SEQ ID NO:4 and SEQ ID NO:30:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 19, 23, 27, and 33-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rehli et al (WO 2006/056480 A1; 6/1/2006).
Rehli et al teaches a polypeptide (including a polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO:2) capable of binding methylated DNA (Figure 1 and first full paragraph on page 26, in particular, in particular). Rehli et al further teaches a method for detecting methylated DNA comprising (a) contacting a sample comprising methylated DNA with the polypeptide and (b) detecting binding of said polypeptide to the methylated DNA (page 41, in particular). Rehli et al further teaches said method wherein the sample is a bodily fluid sample, such as blood, sera, or plasma (second full paragraph on page 46, in particular). Rehli et al further teaches said method wherein the binding is quantitated (Example 5, in particular). Rehli et al further teaches said method wherein the method detects methylated genomic DNA in a sample comprising methylated genomic DNA from a subject (page 44-45, in particular). SEQ ID NO:2 of Rehli et al comprises a fragment of DEC205…and a human Fc fragment/domain of FcRIIb…and a linker…wherein the fragment of DEC205 comprises a polypeptide that has a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO:1, 2, and 3 (see Claim Interpretation above). Rehli et al further teaches a nucleic acid encoding the polypeptide and a host cell producing the polypeptide (Abstract, in particular), including wherein the host cell is Bacillus subtilis (pages 34-35 and first full paragraph on page 35, in particular).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 19, 23, 27, 33-39, and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rehli et al (WO 2006/056480 A1; 6/1/2006) as applied to claims 1, 19, 23, 27, and 33-39 above, and further in view of Ehrich et al (US 2017/0314071 A1; 11/2/17).
Teachings of Rehli et al are discussed above.
Rehli et al does not specifically demonstrate quantitating methylated DNA in a blood sample from a subject. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Ehrich et al.
Ehrich et al cites Rehli et al as teachings an agent, comprising an MBD binding domain and an Fc domain that binds to methylated nucleotides ([0076], in particular). Ehrich et al further teaches fetal nucleic acid is found circulating in blood ([0004], in particular). Ehrich et al further teaches using such an agent to separate fetal nucleic acid from methylated maternal nucleic acid based on the agent binding the methylated maternal nucleic acid ([0021], in particular). Ehrich et al further teaches body fluid samples, such as blood, as samples containing nucleic acid ([0083], in particular). Ehrich et al further teaches a method of quantitating the amounts of maternal nucleic acid and fetal nucleic acid in a sample comprising (a) separating fetal nucleic acid from maternal nucleic acid in a sample, (b) quantitating the amount of maternal nucleic acid, and (c) subtracting the amount of maternal nucleic acid from the total amount of nucleic acid in the sample to determine the amount of fetal nucleic acid ([0027], in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the method of quantitating the amounts of maternal nucleic acid and fetal nucleic acid in a sample of Ehrich et al wherein the sample is blood and the fetal nucleic acid is separated from the maternal nucleic acid using an agent comprising an MBD binding domain of Rehli et al that binds to methylated nucleotides and an Fc domain because Ehrich et al teaches fetal nucleic acid is found circulating in blood, Ehrich et al cites Rehli et al as teachings an agent (comprising an MBD binding domain and an Fc domain) that binds to methylated nucleotides, and Ehrich et al teaches using such an agent to separate fetal nucleic acid from methylated maternal nucleic acid based on the agent binding the methylated maternal nucleic acid. This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 19, 23, 24, 27, 33-39, and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rehli et al (WO 2006/056480 A1; 6/1/2006) in view of Ehrich et al (US 2017/0314071 A1; 11/2/17)as applied to claims 1, 19, 23, 27, 33-39, and 63 above, and further in view of Berry et al (US 2020/0299353 A1; 9/24/20)
Teachings of Rehli et al and Ehrich et al are discussed above.
Rehli et al and Ehrich et al do not specifically teach the agent comprising an MBD binding domain of Rehli et al that binds to methylated nucleotides and an Fc domain wherein the Fc domain comprises at least 209 consecutive amino acids of instant SEQ ID NO:6. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Berry et al.
Berry et al teaches an Fc domain consisting of SEQ ID NO:8, which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:6 ([0145], in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the combined method of Rehli et al and Ehrich et al wherein the Fc domain of the agent is SEQ ID NO:8 of Berry because Berry et al teaches an Fc domain consisting of SEQ ID NO:8. This is an example of a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19, 21, 23, 27, and 33-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Benson et al (WO 2017/025889 A1; 2/16/17; 7/20/22 IDS) in view of Wu et al (Cell Host & Microbe, 2018, 24: 569-578), Wingfiled (Current Protocols in Protein Science, 2017, 88: 6.14.1-6.14.3), and Vassileva-Atanassova et al (Journal of Biotechnology, 1999, 69: 63-67).
Benson et al teaches SEQ ID NO:29 (recombinant truncated human DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc), which is a protein comprising a human DEC-205 extracellular domain fused to a monomeric human IgG1 Fc fragment (page 32 and Example 4 on page 43, in particular). SEQ ID NO:29 is a 435 amino sequence comprising a 182 amino acid portion 100% identical to a 183 amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:1 that is linked by about 23 amino acids to a 210 amino acid portion C-terminal to the 182 amino acid portion wherein the C-terminal 210 amino acid portion is 88.3% identical to the FcgRIIb sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:5). In addition to the recombinant truncated DEC-205 comprising SEQ ID NO:29, Benson et al teaches full length DEC-205 as SEQ ID NO:30 (page 33, in particular). A comparison of SEQ ID NO:29 and 30 shows SEQ ID NO:29 comprises the amino acid sequence “METDTLLLWVLLWPGSTG” N-terminal to the truncated human DEC-205. Notably, Benson et al teaches the first amino acid of full-length DEC-205 is methionine (see SEQ ID NO:30). Benson et al teaches oligonucleotides as ligands of the DEC-205 extracellular domain (lines 22-23 on page 14, in particular). Benson et al does not explicitly describe the oligonucleotides as “mitochondrial DNA” or “genomic DNA”. However, as evidenced by the instant specification, the DEC-205 extracellular domain portion of SEQ ID NO:29 of Benson et al comprising a 182 amino acid sequence that is 100% identical to 182 of the 183 amino acids instant SEQ ID NO:1 would bind mitochondrial and/or genomic DNA because the instant specification discloses DEC-205 fragments 99% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 bind mitochondrial and/or genomic DNA (see [0076] and [0091], in particular). Further, as evidenced by instant Figure 10, DEC-205 extracellular domain of the construct of Benson et al comprises Ricin B-type domain, fibronectin type II domain, and multiple C-type lectin domains. The DEC-205 extracellular domain portion of SEQ ID NO:29 comprises a polypeptide having 182 consecutive amino acids of instant SEQ ID NO:4. Benson et al further teaches the recombinant human DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc was generated by expressing a polynucleotide vector encoding the recombinant human DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc in HEK host cells (Example 4 on page 43, in particular). Benson et al further teaches use of an ELISA to measure binding of anti-DEC-205 antibodies to SEQ ID NO:29, a recombinant human DEC-205 protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc (“DEC-205-Fc”), and to use SEQ ID NO:29 as a ligand for anti-DEC-205 antibodies (lines 10-14 on page 12 and lines 18-19 on page 14, in particular). Benson et al teaches targeting ligands, such as antibodies, for DEC-205 provide therapeutic benefit by delivering protein antigens to DEC-205 expressing cells (lines 16-20 on page 2 and page 5, in particular). Benson et al further teaches using a Biacore® system to determine binding of an antibody (lines 19-23 on page 12, in particular). In particular regards to instant claim 23, SEQ ID NO:29 of Benson et al comprises a sequence identical to a broadly-recited Fc “fragment” of a mouse IgG1 receptor gamma (FcgRIIb) Fc domain (a full mouse IgG1 receptor gamma (FcgRIIb) Fc domain is set-forth by instant SEQ ID NO:6).
Benson et al does not specifically teach a polypeptide comprising instant SEQ ID NO:1. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Wu et, Wingfiled, .
Wu et teaches the amino acid sequence “METDTLLLWVLLWPGSTG” N-terminal to the recombinant truncated human DEC-205 SEQ ID NO:29 construct of Benson et al is N-terminal secretion signal that is attached to some recombinant proteins (page e2, in particular).
Wingfiled teaches (and it well-known in the prior art) that protein synthesis (including recombination protein synthesis) is indicated by methionine in eukaryotes and formylmethionine (comprises methionine) in prokaryotes, which include bacteria (Abstract, in particular) and the N-terminal methionine can be subsequently co-translationally removed (page 6.14.1, in particular).
Vassileva-Atanassova et al teaches N-terminal methionine is added to recombinant proteins (right column on page 63, in particular), which is removed to reduce immunogenic risk (left column on page 64, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to make (using any eukaryotic or prokaryotic host cells) and use the DEC-205 SEQ ID NO:29 recombinant protein construct of Benson et al wherein the N-terminal “METDTLLLWVLLWPGSTG” secretion signal is replaced with an N-terminal methionine in order to prevent the METDTLLLWVLLWPGSTG sequence from functioning as a non-DEC-205 epitope when using the construct in methods of Benson et al as a ligand for anti-DEC-205 antibodies because an N-terminal methionine is capable of initiating translation of a recombinant proteins (abstract of Wingfiled), methionine is naturally present at the N-terminus of DEC-205 (SEQ ID NO:30 of Benson et al), Vassileva-Atanassova et al teaches N-terminal methionine is added to recombinant proteins and is subsequently removed to reduce immunogenic risk (pages 63-64), and the METDTLLLWVLLWPGSTG would otherwise provide a large epitope for non-specific binding in the methods of Benson et al using DEC-205 SEQ ID NO:29 construct of Benson et al as a ligand for anti-DEC-205 antibodies. This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 19, 21, 23, 27, and 33-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson et al (WO 2017/025889 A1; 2/16/17; 7/20/22 IDS) in view of Wu et al (Cell Host & Microbe, 2018, 24: 569-578), Wingfiled (Current Protocols in Protein Science, 2017, 88: 6.14.1-6.14.3), and Vassileva-Atanassova et al (Journal of Biotechnology, 1999, 69: 63-67) as applied to claims 1, 19, 21, 23, 27, and 33-38 above, and further in view of Lindskog et al (Biopharmaceutical Processing, 2018, 111-130).
Teachings of Benson et al, Wingfiled, and Vassileva-Atanassova et al are discussed above.
Benson et al, Wingfiled, and Vassileva-Atanassova et al do not specifically teach expressing the recited protein in in CHO or BHK host cells, as opposed to HEK host cells. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Lindskog et al.
Lindskog et al teaches HEK, BHK, and CHO as three types of host cells used to make recombinant proteins (Table 6.1, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a combined method of generating the recombinant construct of Benson et al, Wingfiled, and Vassileva-Atanassova et al by expressing a polynucleotide vector encoding the recombinant construct in CHO or BHK host cells, as opposed to HEK host cells of Benson et al, because Lindskog et al teaches HEK, BHK, and CHO as three types of host cells used to make recombinant proteins. This is an example of a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 19, 21, 23, 27, 33-38, and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson et al (WO 2017/025889 A1; 2/16/17; 7/20/22 IDS) in view of Wu et al (Cell Host & Microbe, 2018, 24: 569-578), Wingfiled (Current Protocols in Protein Science, 2017, 88: 6.14.1-6.14.3), and Vassileva-Atanassova et al (Journal of Biotechnology, 1999, 69: 63-67) as applied to claims 1, 19, 21, 23, 27, and 33-38 above, and further in view of Urh et al (Methods in Enzymology, 2009, 463: 417-438).
Teachings of Benson et al, Wingfiled, and Vassileva-Atanassova et al are discussed above.
Benson et al, Wingfiled, and Vassileva-Atanassova et al do not specifically teach a device comprising an inlet, an outlet, a chamber comprising a solid substrate, wherein a protein containing monomeric human IgG Fc of Benson et al, Wingfiled, and Vassileva-Atanassova et al is immobilized on the solid substrate. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Urh et al.
Urh et al an affinity chromatography device to identify reagents that bind a given protein within a chamber/column comprising a solid substrate that permits flow (which one of skill in the art would recognize is through an inlet and outlet), wherein the given protein is immobilized on the solid substrate and binds to reagents that bind to the given protein (see “ligand attachment” and “purification method” sections at pages 430-435, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform a combined method comprising using an affinity chromatography device of Urh et al wherein the recombinant protein of Benson et al, Wingfiled, and Vassileva-Atanassova et al is immobilized on a solid support and binds to targeting ligands suspected of binding to DEC-205 because Benson et al teaches targeting ligands, such as antibodies, for DEC-205 provide therapeutic benefit by delivering protein antigens to DEC-205 expressing cells, and the affinity chromatography device of Urh et al is capable of identifying targeting ligands of a given protein (such as DEC-205). Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 16-19, 23, 27, and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception(s) (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, and/or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Claims 1, 16-19, 23, 27, and 33-37 are directed to natural phenomenon because the claims recite natural phenomenon that includes a natural protein, a nucleic acid encoding said protein, and cells producing said protein (“Step 2A prong one”) and the judicial exception(s) is/are not integrated into a practical application (“Step 2A prong two”). The “natural phenomenon” is: a protein, a nucleic acid encoding said protein, and cells producing said protein wherein the protein, encoding nucleic acids, and cells are not markedly different from naturally-occurring DEC-205 (same as SEQ ID NO:30 of WO 2017/025889 A1; 2/16/17; 7/20/22 IDS) – see new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)), naturally occurring nucleic acids encoding DEC-205, and naturally occurring cells expressing said nucleic acids. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception(s). A claim that focuses on judicial exception(s) can be shown to recite something “significantly more” than the judicial exception(s) by reciting a meaningful limitation beyond the judicial exceptions. However, in the instant case, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims encompass naturally-occurring DEC-205 (same as SEQ ID NO:30 of WO 2017/025889 A1; 2/16/17; 7/20/22 IDS) – see new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)), naturally occurring nucleic acids encoding DEC-205, and naturally occurring cells expressing said nucleic acids (“Step 2B”).
Claim Objections
Claims 20 and 29 are objected to for being dependent upon rejected claims.
Conclusion
/SEAN E AEDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642