DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered. As the amendments now shift the focus from the pores to the area in between the pores that creates said pore structures the rejection will now shift to mirror the amendments, the rejection is still believed to be proper and has been restated below to include changes due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9, and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US 20190196068, of record) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a fishnet achromatic metalens, in at least (Figs. 1c, 2a, and 10; and para. [0059], [0066]); configured to operate in light wavelengths having a range of approximately 640 nm to 1200 nm ([0022], and [0059]), the metalens comprised of a repeated unit cell (cross sections adjacent to pores 112) each unit cell (cross sections adjacent to pores 112) comprising a cylindrical portion (raised area in cross sections between pores) having extensions (raised areas connecting each cross section that help create pores 112) to connect to other unit cells (cross sections adjacent to pores 112).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a metalens, in at least (Fig. 2a, 4b, 10; and para. [0059], [0066]); the metalens having a phase-shift intercept based upon a focal length and radial position of the metalens, and the frequency of the light, wherein the phase-shift has an error of less than 30 degrees.
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a metalens, in at least (Fig. 2a, 4b, 10; and para. [0059], [0066]); wherein the metalens has an efficiency of at least 65%.
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a metalens, in at least (Fig. 2a, 4b, 10; and para. [0059], [0066]); wherein the metalens has a fractional bandwidth of at least 61%.
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches a method of manufacturing a fishnet achromatic metalens, in at least (Figs. 1c, 2a, and 10; and para. [0059], [0066]); comprising: cleaning a substrate ([0057]); depositing a resist on the substrate ([0058]); patterning the resist with a pattern that is an inverse of a pattern for the metalens ([0058]); the metalens comprised of a repeated unit cell (cross sections adjacent to pores 112) each unit cell (cross sections adjacent to pores 112) comprising a cylindrical portion having extensions (raised area between each 112) to connect to other unit cell (cross sections adjacent to pores 112); depositing a structural material in the pattern for the metalens ([0058]); removing residual structural material ([0058]); and removing residual resist to leave the metalens on the substrate ([0058]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches a metalens, in at least (Fig. 2a, 10; and para. [0058-0059], [0066]); wherein depositing a resist comprises depositing an electron beam lithography ([0058]) resist.
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches a metalens, in at least (Fig. 2a, 10; and para. [0058-0059], [0066]); wherein patterning the resist comprises applying electron beam lithography ([0058]) to the resist and developing the pattern with a solution.
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches a metalens, in at least (Fig. 2a, 10; and para. [0058-0059], [0066]); wherein depositing the structural material comprises depositing titanium oxide ([0015]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches a metalens, in at least (Fig. 2a, 10; and para. [0015], [0058-0059], [0066]); wherein depositing the structural material comprises using atomic layer deposition ([0062]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, wherein D1 further teaches a metalens, in at least (Fig. 2a, 10; and para. [0058-0059], [0066]); wherein removing the residual structural material comprises performing reactive-ion etching ([0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 20190196068, of record), herein after referred to as D1, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Wu (US 20110069377, of record) herein after referred to as D2.
With regard to claim 3, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, however D1 does not expressly disclose, wherein the unit cell has geometric parameters of length, width, height, and radius, and the index of the metalens is based on the geometric parameters.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a metalens, in at least (fig. 1a; and [0039]); wherein the unit cell (cross sections adjacent to pores 112) has geometric parameters of length, width, height, and radius, and the index of the metalens is based on the geometric parameters ([0041], [0043], [0046], [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, the invention of D1 with the unit cell has geometric parameters of length, width, height, and radius, and the index of the metalens is based on the geometric parameters of D2, for the purpose of If a single unit cell configuration is repeated over the entire metamaterial, the result would be a uniform metamaterial with the refractive index calculated for that configuration. By varying the size parameter as a function of spatial position, the refractive index gradient can be obtained.
With regard to claim 4, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, however D1 does not expressly disclose, wherein the radius is 135 nanometers, the width is 270 nanometers, and the length and the period are both equal to 370 nanometers.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a metalens, in at least (fig. 1a; and [0039], [0041], [0043], [0046], [0073]); wherein the radius is 135 nanometers, the width is 270 nanometers, and the length and the period are both equal to 370 nanometers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, the invention of D1 with the radius is 135 nanometers, the width is 270 nanometers, and the length and the period are both equal to 370 nanometers of D2, for the purpose of If a single unit cell configuration is repeated over the entire metamaterial, the result would be a uniform metamaterial with the refractive index calculated for that configuration. By varying the size parameter as a function of spatial position, the refractive index gradient can be obtained.
With regard to claim 6, D1 in view of D2 teach all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, however D1 does not expressly disclose, wherein the width is less than or equal to two times the radius.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a metalens, in at least (fig. 1a; and [0039], [0041], [0043], [0046], [0073]); wherein the width is less than or equal to two times the radius.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, the invention of D1 with the width is less than or equal to two times the radius of D2, for the purpose of If a single unit cell configuration is repeated over the entire metamaterial, the result would be a uniform metamaterial with the refractive index calculated for that configuration. By varying the size parameter as a function of spatial position, the refractive index gradient can be obtained.
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, however D1 does not expressly disclose, wherein cleaning the substrate comprises cleaning a glass substrate.
In a related endeavor, D2 teaches a metalens, in at least (fig. 1a; and [0039], [0041], [0043], [0046], [0073]); wherein cleaning the substrate comprises cleaning a glass substrate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, the invention of D1 with cleaning the substrate comprises cleaning a glass substrate of D2, for the purpose of If a single unit cell configuration is repeated over the entire metamaterial, the result would be a uniform metamaterial with the refractive index calculated for that configuration. By varying the size parameter as a function of spatial position, the refractive index gradient can be obtained.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 20190196068, of record) herein after referred to as D1, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Moser (WO 2009/116956, of record) herein after referred to as D3.
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 9, however D1 does not expressly disclose, wherein cleaning the substrate comprises an 02-plasma treatment.
In a related endeavor, D3 teaches a metalens, in at least (pg. 25, Ln. 11-17); wherein cleaning the substrate comprises an treatment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, the invention of D1 with cleaning the substrate comprises an 02-plasma treatment of D2, for the purpose of expanding uses of metamaterials.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872