DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks and Amendments
Applicants’ response and amendments filed January 28, 2026 have been entered. All rejections and objections not explicitly maintained herein are withdrawn. The rejections below constitute the full set of rejections being applied to the instant claims.
With regard to the rejection of claims 1-7 (now 1-4 and 7) under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kallepalli et al., Applicants traverse the rejection on the grounds that the claim amendments are sufficient to overcome the finding of anticipation. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Although acetic anhydride was deleted from the scope of claim 6 (effectively overcoming the rejection with respect to dependent claim 6), claim 1 (and dependent claims 2-4 and 7) were amended only to require the presence of at least one of Chemical Formulae 2 – 4 in the reaction mixture. Although Chemical Formula 1 was removed from the scope of the claims, acetic anhydride still reads on Chemical Formula 3 where one of R5 and R6 is methyl and the other is (C=O)-methyl. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained herein.
With regard to the rejection of claims 1-7 (now claims 1-5 and 7) for nonstatutory double patenting, Applicants argue that the rejections are no longer valid in view of the claim amendments. However, this argument is not persuasive for substantially the same reasons as described with respect to the anticipation rejection above (since the rejection over the claims of 18/017,732 is in view of the Kallepalli reference). Further, the rejection over the claims of 18/017,716 stands on its own as it was not in view of any additional reference and, as noted in the original rejection, conflicting claim 5 recites trifluoromethanesulfonic anhydride, trifluoroacetic anhydride, acetic anhydride, methanesulfonic anhydride, methyl acetate, ethyl acetate and dimethylacetamide as the organic compound which can be hydrolyzed by heavy water. All of these substances are still included in amended claim 1, and most are still recited in amended claim 6. Accordingly, the rejections are maintained herein.
Status of Claims
Currently, claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-19 are pending in the instant application. Claims 8-11 and 13-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 read on the elected invention/species and are therefore under consideration herein.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kallepalli et al.
Regarding claim 1, the prior art teaches a deuterated reaction of an aromatic compound (3-chloro-N,N-dimethylaniline) in a solution with heavy water (D2O), an organic compound which can be hydrolyzed by heavy water (acetic anhydride, referred to as Ac2O in the prior art, as recited by instant dependent claim 6) and an organic solvent (1,2-dimethoxyethane, referred to as DME in the prior art, as recited in instant dependent claim 4). Finally, regarding instant dependent claim 7, the prior art teaches performing the deuterated reaction by heating the solution to 150°C. See p. 8348, left column, “3-Chloro-N,N-dimethylaniline-5-d” section. Thus, since the prior art teaches all required features of the instantly claimed invention, the claims are anticipated.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sandip Kumar Das et. al. (“Ir-Catalyzed Intramolecular Transannulation/C(sp2)-H Amination of 1,2,3,4-Tetrazoles by Electrocyclization”, Supporting Information, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 140, 27, 2018).
At Page S17, DAS teaches the following reaction:
This reaction reads on the limitations recited at instant Claim 1 and all dependent claims, as p-toluidine (
) reads on the limitation of an aromatic compound comprising one or more aromatic rings. Trifluoroacetic anhydride reads on the limitation of an organic compound which can be hydrolyzed by heavy water, Das teaches the reaction was performed in heavy water, and further diethyl ether is added to the mixture, which reads on the required organic solvent.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of US Patent Application 18/017,716. Note that the rejection is provisional in nature since the conflicting claims have not, in fact, been patented.
An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of the conflicting claims recites performing a deuterated reaction of an aromatic compound including one or more hydrocarbon aromatic rings using a solution comprising heavy water, an organic compound which can be hydrolyzed by the heavy water, the aromatic compound, and an organic solvent. Accordingly, the conflicting claims are identical to the process recited in the instant claims, but recite a narrower subset of compounds by requiring the aromatic rings to be hydrocarbon rather than unlimited as in the instant claims. Thus, the conflicting claims anticipate the instantly claimed method. Conflicting claim 3 limits the solvent to
while conflicting claim 5 limits the organic compound which can be hydrolyzed by the heavy water to trifluoromethanesulfonic anhydride, trifluoroacetic anhydride, acetic anhydride, methanesulfonic anhydride, methyl acetate, ethyl acetate and dimethylacetamide. Conflicting claims 6-7 recite the claimed process where the deuterated reaction is performed by heating the solution as required by instant claim 7. Since the conflicting claims encompass all the required features of the instant claims, with dependent claims reciting examples which anticipate the instantly claimed invention, a double patenting rejection is appropriate.
Claims 1-4 and 7 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent Application 18/017,732, in view of Kallepalli et al. Note that the rejection is provisional in nature since the conflicting claims have not, in fact, been patented.
An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of the conflicting claims recites performing a deuterated reaction of an aromatic compound using a solution comprising heavy water, an organic compound which can be hydrolyzed by the heavy water, and the aromatic compound. Accordingly, the conflicting claims are identical to the process recited in the instant claims, except that they are silent as to the presence of an organic solvent. Thus, the conflicting claims overlap with the instantly claimed method. Conflicting claim 5 limits the organic compound which can be hydrolyzed by the heavy water to trifluoromethanesulfonic anhydride, trifluoroacetic anhydride, acetic anhydride, and methanesulfonic anhydride. Conflicting claim 8 recites the claimed process where the deuterated reaction is performed by heating the solution as required by instant claim 7. With respect to the requirement of an organic solvent in the instantly claimed process, which is encompassed by the conflicting claims but the claims are silent regarding this feature, conducting the process of the conflicting claims in the presence of such a solvent would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art since. Performing deuteration reactions on an aromatic compound with heavy water, acetic anhydride, and 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME) is taught by Kallepalli et al. and would not have been considered inventive. In the Kallepalli process, the deuteration in a solution with organic solvent provides for a 93% yield and was therefore known at the time of filing to result in successful deuteration of aromatic compounds with high yield. Since the conflicting claims encompass all the required features of the instant claims, with the prior art teaching the feature to which the conflicting claims are silent, a double patenting rejection is appropriate.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA L OTTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699