DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 12th Jun 2026.
Claims 1 and 10 were amended; no claims were cancelled; no new claims were added; therefore, claims 1-10 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12th Jun 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “wherein a length… in the first direction” and “wherein the curvature…..in the first direction”) are not recited in the rejected claims. [[Here, Applicant argues that none of the applied art teaches or suggest this combination of features]] However, these claim limitations were not present in the original independent claims and were presented by amendment on 12th Jun 2026. Therefore, the issue of whether Yamamoto, Lee, Nakajima and Blasco Claret addresses these limitations are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed in the present Office Action. See below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 20200018827 A1, hereinafter “Yamamoto”), modified in view of Lee et al. (US 5377287 A, hereinafter “Lee”), in view of Nakajima et al. (JP 2017207695 A, hereinafter “Nakajima”), in view of Zhang et al. (US 20160373676 A1, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a distance measuring camera apparatus comprising:
a light emitter (Yamamoto; Fig. 1, [0092], laser illumination device 10); and
a light receiver including an image sensor (Yamamoto; Fig. 1, [0095], a CMOS image sensor is used as the light receiving element 102),
wherein the light emitter comprises:
a light source including a light emitting device (Yamamoto; Fig. 3, [0099], a laser diode (LD) that emits a laser beam is used as the light source component 11); and
a diffusion member disposed on the light source and including a plurality of micro lenses (Yamamoto; Fig. 3, [0100], microelement lens 12 (includes a plurality of microlens 12a, Fig. 4) is provided between the light source and the meniscus lens 13 to disperses the laser beam in a wide angle),
wherein the diffusion member includes a first surface that receives light from the light source (Yamamoto; Fig. 3, Fig. 4, the front surface of microlens 12a is the first surface that receives light form the light source),
wherein a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source (Yamamoto; Fig. 3 clearly see the microlens 12 and light source component 11 are position in parallel which and all the microlens 12a has the same size. This implies the distance between microlens 12a and light source component 11 has the same distance).
wherein the separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source is a vertical distance between the light source and the first surface of the diffusion member (Yamamoto; Fig. 3 clearly see the microlens 12 and light source component 11 are position in parallel which and all the microlens 12a has the same size. This implies the distance between microlens 12a and light source component 11 has the same distance).
Yamamoto does not teach,
the diffusion member having a first region and a second region,
wherein the first region is disposed to surround the second region,
wherein the second region is disposed such that a center thereof overlaps with the light emitter in an optical axis direction,
wherein a diameter of the micro lens located in the second region is smaller than a diameter of the micro lens located in the first region.
wherein a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source is identical in both the first region and the second region,
wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and
wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction,
wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and
wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction.
Lee teaches,
the diffusion member having a first region and a second region (Lee; Fig. 2, column 6, paragraph 3, line 3, the microlenses 107 includes two region (center lens and outer lens with different diameters)),
wherein the first region is disposed to surround the second region (Lee; Fig. 2, column 6, paragraph 3, the microlenses 107 includes two region (center lens and outer lens with different diameters) where the center region is surrounded by the outer region),
the second region is disposed such that a center thereof overlaps with the light emitter in an optical axis direction (Lee; Fig. 2, column 6, paragraph 3, shows the microlenses 107 can be arranged in concentric rings; this implies that the center of the microlenses 107 is overlaps with the light emitter in an optical axis direction), and
a diameter of the micro lens located in the second region is smaller than a diameter of the micro lens located in the first region (Lee; Fig. 2, column 6, paragraph 3, line 3, the microlenses 107 are arranged with the outer rings consisting of larger lenses to offset the power taper. The outer microlens 107 are made progressively larger to capture more light energy to equalize the power distribution and to exhibit an intensity equivalent to that of the centrally located microlens 107. This implies that the microlens 107 are arrange in first region and second region where the first region is surrounding the second region with larger diameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the outer microlens 107 are made progressively larger to capture more light energy to equalize the power distribution and to exhibit an intensity equivalent to that of the centrally located microlens 107 (Lee; Fig. 2, column 6, paragraph 3).
However, Yamamoto modified in view of Lee still not teach,
wherein a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source is identical in both the first region and the second region,
wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and
wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction,
wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and
wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction.
Nakajima disclosed the microlenses array with first microlenses 223a/423a and the second microlens 223b/423b are made to be the same plane (Nakajima; Fig. 2(b), Fig. 6(b), [0017], [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to combine the Yamamoto’s setup with Nakajima’s micro lens array 221/421 such that a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source is identical in both the first region and the second region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to have the light receiving surface of the light receiving element array to be uniform, such that the main planes of the first microlenses 223a/423a and second microlenses 223b/423b are made to be the same plane (Nakajima; Fig. 2(b), Fig. 6(b), [0017], [0048]). Because the first microlenses and second microlenses are made to be the same plane, in combination with the Yamamoto’s setup, predictably to get the result of “wherein a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source is identical in both the first region and the second region”.
Nevertheless, Yamamoto modified in view of Lee, in view of Nakajima still not teach,
wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and
wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction,
wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and
wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction.
Zhang disclosed in Figs. 3, 4A and 4B, paragraph [0037], SPAD pixel 310. Although show in Figs. 3 and 4A, the SPAD pixels are square in shape, it may have other shapes than square. For example, each SPAD pixel 310 may be a non-square rectangle (equivalent to a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction); Fig. 10, [0057], SPAD pixels 510 and microlens 1016. Since the SPAD pixels can be a non-square rectangle and Fig. 10 shows the microlens is covered the whole SPAD pixel. It would be obvious to one of skill in the art to realize that the microlens has different curvature in the 1st/2nd direction and the ratio of the curvature of the microlens in the 1st direction to the curvature of the microlens in the 2nd direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the 1st direction to the length of the image sensor in the 2nd direction is inherently in the SPAD pixel 510 and microlens 1016 taught by Zhang’s invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima, include wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction, wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction taught by Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to match the ratio of curvature of micro-lens in first/second direction with the ratio of length of the image sensor in first/second direction predictably to provide a full coverage of the light to the related image sensors.
Regarding claim 9, Yamamoto as modified above taches the distance measuring camera apparatus as recited in claim 1,
Yamamoto does not teach, wherein a diameter of the micro lens located in the second region is 150 µm or less.
Nakajima teaches, wherein a diameter of the micro lens located in the second region is 150 µm or less (Nakajima; [0036], microlens array 221 has a first microlens 223a (20µm) with a diameter w1 and a second microlens 223b (40µm) with a diameter w2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane; wherein a diameter of the micro lens located in the second region is 150 µm or less taught by Nakajima, include wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction, wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction taught by Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the microlens were designed to cover different area of the light receiving element and the light receiving element groups 225 are configured so as not to overlap each other (Nakajima; [0020], [0021]).
Regarding claim 10, Yamamoto teaches a distance measuring camera apparatus comprising:
a light emitter (Yamamoto; Fig. 1, [0092], laser illumination device 10); and
a light receiver including an image sensor (Yamamoto; Fig. 1, [0095], a CMOS image sensor is used as the light receiving element 102),
wherein the light emitter comprises:
a light source including a light emitting device (Yamamoto; Fig. 3, [0099], a laser diode (LD) that emits a laser beam is used as the light source component 11); and
a diffusion member disposed on the light source and including a plurality of micro lenses (Yamamoto; Fig. 3, [0100], microelement lens 12 (includes a plurality of microlens 12a, Fig. 4) is provided between the light source and the meniscus lens 13 to disperses the laser beam in a wide angle),
wherein the diffusion member includes a first surface that receives light from the light source (Yamamoto; Fig. 3, Fig. 4, the front surface of microlens 12a is the first surface that receives light form the light source),
wherein a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source (Yamamoto; Fig. 3 clearly see the microlens 12 and light source component 11 are position in parallel which and all the microlens 12a has the same size. This implies the distance between microlens 12a and light source component 11 has the same distance).
wherein the separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source is a vertical distance between the light source and the first surface of the diffusion member (Yamamoto; Fig. 3 clearly see the microlens 12 and light source component 11 are position in parallel which and all the microlens 12a has the same size. This implies the distance between microlens 12a and light source component 11 has the same distance).
Yamamoto does not teach,
the diffusion member having a first region and a second region,
wherein the first region is disposed to surround the second region,
wherein the second region is disposed such that a center thereof overlaps with the light emitter in an optical axis direction,
wherein a diameter of the micro lens located in the first region is 150 pm or less.
wherein a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source is identical in both the first region and the second region
wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and
wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction,
wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and
wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction.
Lee teaches,
the diffusion member having a first region and a second region (Lee; Fig. 2, column 6, paragraph 3, line 3, the microlenses 107 includes two region (center lens and outer lens with different diameters)),
wherein the first region is disposed to surround the second region (Lee; Fig. 2, Fig. 2, column 6, paragraph 3, the microlenses 107 includes two region (center lens and outer lens with different diameters) where the center region is surrounded by the outer region),
the second region is disposed such that a center thereof overlaps with the light emitter in an optical axis direction (Lee; Fig. 2, column 6, paragraph 3, shows the microlenses 107 can be arranged in concentric rings), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region surrounds the second region taught by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the outer microlens 107 are made progressively larger to capture more light energy to equalize the power distribution and to exhibit an intensity equivalent to that of the centrally located microlens 107 (Lee; Fig. 2, column 6, paragraph 3).
However, Yamamoto modified in view of Lee still not teach,
a diameter of the micro lens located in the first region is 150 pm or less.
wherein a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source is identical in both the first region and the second region
wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and
wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction,
wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and
wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction.
Nakajima teaches,
a diameter of the micro lens located in the first region is 150 pm or less (Nakajima; [0036], microlens array 221 has a first microlens 223a (20µm) with a diameter w1 and a second microlens 223b (40µm) with a diameter w2).
Nakajima further disclosed the microlenses array with first microlenses 223a/423a and the second microlens 223b/423b are made to be the same plane (Nakajima; Fig. 2(b), Fig. 6(b), [0017], [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to combine the Yamamoto’s setup with Nakajima’s micro lens array 221/421 such that a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source is identical in both the first region and the second region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include wherein a diameter of the micro lens located in the first region is 150 µm or less and microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for wherein a diameter of the micro lens located in the first region is 150 µm or less is the microlens were designed to cover different area of the light receiving element and the light receiving element groups 225 are configured so as not to overlap each other (Nakajima; [0020], [0021]). Furthermore, the reasoning for microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane is to have the light receiving surface of the light receiving element array to be uniform, such that the main planes of the first microlenses 223a/423a and second microlenses 223b/423b are made to be the same plane (Nakajima; Fig. 2(b), Fig. 6(b), [0017], [0048]). Because the first microlenses and second microlenses are made to be the same plane, in combination with the Yamamoto’s setup, predictably to get the result of “wherein a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source is identical in both the first region and the second region”.
Nevertheless, Yamamoto modified in view of Lee, in view of Nakajima still not teach,
wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and
wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction,
wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and
wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction.
Zhang disclosed in Figs. 3, 4A and 4B, paragraph [0037], SPAD pixel 310. Although show in Figs. 3 and 4A, the SPAD pixels are square in shape, it may have other shapes than square. For example, each SPAD pixel 310 may be a non-square rectangle (equivalent to a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction); Fig. 10, [0057], SPAD pixels 510 and microlens 1016. Since the SPAD pixels can be a non-square rectangle and Fig. 10 shows the microlens is covered the whole SPAD pixel. It would be obvious to one of skill in the art to realize that the microlens has different curvature in the 1st/2nd direction and the ratio of the curvature of the microlens in the 1st direction to the curvature of the microlens in the 2nd direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the 1st direction to the length of the image sensor in the 2nd direction is inherently in the SPAD pixel 510 and microlens 1016 taught by Zhang’s invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima, include wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction, wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction taught by Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to match the ratio of curvature of micro-lens in first/second direction with the ratio of length of the image sensor in first/second direction predictably to provide a full coverage of the light to the related image sensors.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto, modified in view of Lee, in view of Nakajima, in view of Zhang, in view of Cui et al. (US 20140361270 A1, hereinafter “Cui”).
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto as modified above taches the distance measuring camera apparatus as recited in claim 1,
Yamamoto does not tech,
wherein the second region includes a plurality of sub-regions, and
wherein the plurality of sub-regions includes:
a first sub-region adjacent to the first region and including a micro lens having a size of a first diameter, and
a second sub-region surrounded by the first sub-region and including a micro lens having a size of a second diameter smaller than the first diameter.
Cui teaches,
wherein the second region includes a plurality of sub-regions (Cui; Fig. 9 (A), (B), [0073], microlens include two differently sized microlenses. The center selected area (red circle includes two small lens and 6 surrounding larger lens shown below) is equivalent to the 2nd region), and
wherein the plurality of sub-regions includes:
a first sub-region adjacent to the first region and including a micro lens having a size of a first diameter (Cui; Fig. 9 (A), a 1st sub-region is the area with 6 larger lens (inside red circle) which is adjacent to the first region (outside area of the 2nd region) and having a size of a first diameter), and
a second sub-region surrounded by the first sub-region and including a micro lens having a size of a second diameter smaller than the first diameter (Cui; Fig. 9 (A), a 2nd sub-region (two smaller lens inside red circle) surrounded by the 1st sub-region (6 larger lenses inside red circle)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima, include wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction, wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction taught by Zhang, include second region includes 2 sub-region with different diameter of lens taught by Cui with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that using microlenses with more than 2 different sizes can further improve the fill factor of microlens, and thus improve light extraction (Cui; [0064], [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto as modified above taches the distance measuring camera apparatus as recited in claim 2,
Yamamoto does not teach,
wherein the first diameter is equal to a diameter of the micro lens disposed in the first region.
Cui teaches,
wherein the first diameter is equal to a diameter of the micro lens disposed in the first region (Cui; Fig. 9 (A), (B), [0073], microlens include two differently sized microlenses. A 1st sub-region (red circle equivalent to 2nd region) includes 6 larger lens which is adjacent to the first region (outside area of the 2nd region) and having a size of a first diameter is the same as the diameter of the microlens disposed in the first region (see blue marked lens)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima, include wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction, wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction taught by Zhang, include wherein the first diameter is equal to a diameter of the micro lens disposed in the first region taught by Cui with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that using microlenses with more than 2 different sizes can further improve the fill factor of microlens, and thus improve light extraction (Cui; [0064], [0073]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto, modified in view of Lee, in view of Nakajima, in view of Zhang, in view of Cui, in view of Moronaga (JP 2009157115 A, hereinafter “Moronaga”).
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto as modified above taches the distance measuring camera apparatus as recited in claim 2,
Yamamoto does not teach,
wherein the plurality of sub-regions further includes
a third sub-region including a center of the diffusion member, surrounded by the second sub-region, and including a micro lens having a third diameter smaller than the second diameter.
Moronaga teaches,
wherein the plurality of sub-regions further includes:
a third sub-region including a center of the diffusion member, surrounded by the second sub-region, and including a micro lens having a third diameter smaller than the second diameter (Moronaga; Fig. 7, [0041], microlens 43 is arranged such that one lens portions 43 is formed in a circular shape in a planar view with the light source 23 as the center, and the other multiple lens portion 43 are arranged radially in a direction away from the one lens portion 43. Fig. 7 also disclosed the microlens have different width diameter (three different diameter of the lens) and the diameter of inner portion is smaller than the diameter of the outer portion and surrounded by the outer portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima, include wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction, wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction taught by Zhang, include second region includes 2 sub-region with different diameter of lens taught by Cui, include 3 sub-region in the center of the diffusion member has smaller diameter than the second diameter taught by Moronaga with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the lens at the position overlapping with the central light source is formed to be the smallest and the dimension is formed to be larger as the distance from the light source increases as the illuminance or luminance decreases along the exit surface of the light-transmitting substrate. As the result, the light collection efficiency of the optical elements increases as the illuminance or brightness at the exit surface of the light-transmitting substrate decreases. Thereby further reducing the brightness unevenness of the light emitted from these multiple optical elements (Moronaga; [0011], [0012], [0041]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto, modified in view of Lee, in view of Nakajima, in view of Zhang, in view of Cui, in view of Okamoto (JP 2007043087 A, hereinafter “Okamoto”).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamoto as modified above taches the distance measuring camera apparatus as recited in claim 2,
Yamamoto does not teach,
wherein an area of the second region is discretely increased as a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source increases.
Okamoto teaches,
wherein an area of the second region is increased as a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source increases (Okamoto; [0050], [0051], disclosed the relationship between the divergence angle, the distance between the lens and the light source and the lens diameter (d1 ≥ 2 x f1 x tanᵠ); Here d1 is the lens diameter which was defined based on the divergence angle ᵠ, and the area based on the lens diameter is the area where incident energy of light is distributed. Hence, this is equivalent to the area of the second region; As seen in the equation above, when the distance between the lens and light source is increased (f1 increased), the area of second region increases (d1 increases)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima, include wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction, wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction taught by Zhang, include second region includes 2 sub-region with different diameter of lens taught by Cui, include wherein an area of the second region is increased as a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source increases taught by Okamoto with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that based on the geometry of the optics, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to design the area of the second region increases when the separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source increases in order to detect the incident energy of light which is distributed.
Besides, recited in claim 1 and claim 2, a diffusion member having a first region and a second region where both region have micro lens with a predetermined diameters (Yamamoto; Fig. 3, [0100]; Lee; Fig. 2, column 6, paragraph 3; Cui; Fig. 9 (A), (B), [0073]). As disclosed above, when the separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source increases, the area of the second region increase (Okamoto; [0050], [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognized that the area of the second region would be increased discretely due to the predetermined diameters of the micro lens.
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto as modified above taches the distance measuring camera apparatus as recited in claim 2,
Yamamoto does not teach,
wherein a minimum area of the second region is set using following equation:
where E denotes a horizontal length or a vertical length of the second region, D denotes a separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source, 0 denotes a divergence angle of the light source, and t denotes a maximum separation distance between centers of light emitting devices disposed in a same row or column among a plurality of light emitting devices included in the light source.
Okamoto teaches the relationship between the divergence angle, the distance between the lens and the light source and the lens diameter (Okamoto; [0050], [0051], disclosed the relationship between the divergence angle, the distance between the lens and the light source and the lens diameter (d1 ≥ 2 x f1 x tanᵠ); Here d1 is the lens diameter, f1 is the distance between the lens and the light source, ᵠ is the divergence angle of the light beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima, include wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction, wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction taught by Zhang, include second region includes 2 sub-region with different diameter of lens taught by Cui, include wherein a minimum area of the second region is set based on the divergence angle, the distance between the lens and the light source and the lens diameter taught by Okamoto with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to fully detect the incident energy of light, the diameter of the lens has to cover the area based on the divergence angle of the light source and the distance in between the lens and the light source (Okamoto; [0050], [0051]). Besides, due to the effect of the array of light source, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the totally divergence of the laser array is just simply adding the width of the array (t, maximum separation distance between the diffusion member and the light source, as disclosed in the claim 6 of current application) to increase the area of the second region.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto, modified in view of Lee, in view of Nakajima, in view of Zhang, in view of Cui, in view of Okamoto, in view of Scifres (US 6152588 A, hereinafter “Scifres”), in view of Hertsens, "Measuring diode laser characteristics: diode lasers approach ubiquity, but they still can be frustrating to work with", Feb. 1989, Lasers & Optronics (Vol. 8, Issue 2), Reed Business Information, Inc. (US) (hereinafter “Hertsens”).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto as modified above taches the distance measuring camera apparatus as recited in claim 6,
Yamamoto does not teach,
wherein the light source receives a current between a first current level and a second current level, and
wherein the divergence angle of the light source is set based on an output of light outputted by the light source when the current of the second current level is inputted.
Scifres teaches,
wherein the light source receives a current between a first current level and a second current level (Scifres; Fig. 4, column 9, paragraph 2, laser light sources 39 have individually separated emitters or emitter regions 40, each emitting a light beam 41. Each emitter region 40 includes a contact 42 that can be addressed individually with a different level of current 42A as well as possible all be driven by the same current level, to the respective emitter regions 40; This implies that there are different current level can be inputted to the lasers array), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima, include wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction, wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction taught by Zhang, include second region includes 2 sub-region with different diameter of lens taught by Cui, include wherein a minimum area of the second region is set based on the divergence angle, the distance between the lens and the light source and the lens diameter taught by Okamoto, include wherein the light source receives a current between a first current level and a second current level taught by Scifres with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to control light intensity levels at an optical load to which one or more of the beams are coupled via at least one optical fibers (Scifres; Fig. 4, column 9, paragraph 2).
However, Yamamoto modified in view of Lee, Cui, Okamoto and Scifres still not teach,
wherein the divergence angle of the light source is set based on an output of light outputted by the light source when the current of the second current level is inputted.
Hertsens further teaches,
wherein the divergence angle of the light source is set based on an output of light outputted by the light source when the current of the second current level is inputted (Hertsens; page 2, paragraph 15, the divergence angles of this cone are measured by the full angular width at half maximum light power in the axes perpendicular to and parallel to the laser’s active region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima, include wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction, wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction taught by Zhang, include second region includes 2 sub-region with different diameter of lens taught by Cui, include wherein a minimum area of the second region is set based on the divergence angle, the distance between the lens and the light source and the lens diameter taught by Okamoto, include wherein the light source receives a current between a first current level and a second current level taught by Scifres include the divergence angle of the light source which is measured at the maximum power of the laser taught by Hertsens with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to define the divergence angle of the light source which is measured at the maximum power of the laser (Hertsens; page 2, paragraph 15).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto, modified in view of Lee, in view of Nakajima, in view of Zhang, in view of Cui, in view of Okamoto, in view of Madey et al. (US 20070014392 A1, hereinafter “Madey”).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto as modified above taches the distance measuring camera apparatus as recited in claim 6,
Yamamoto does not teach, wherein the divergence angle of the light source is an angle at which a light intensity of 1/e2 times a maximum light intensity of the light source is outputted.
Madey teaches, wherein the divergence angle of the light source is an angle at which a light intensity of 1/e2 times a maximum light intensity of the light source is outputted (Madey; [0178], teaches the divergence angle is defined by the 1/e^2 of intensity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measuring camera apparatus taught by Yamamoto to include diffusion member having a first region and a second region where the first region has larger diameter of the lens and surrounds the second region taught by Lee, include microlenses array with first microlenses and the second microlens are made to be the same plane taught by Nakajima, include wherein each of the plurality of micro lenses has a predetermined curvature with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first direction, and wherein a length of the image sensor in the second direction is greater than a length of the image sensor in the first direction, wherein the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is greater than the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction, and wherein a ratio of the curvature of the micro lens in the first direction to the curvature of the micro lens in the second direction is proportional to a ratio of a length of the image sensor in the first direction to the length of the image sensor in the second direction taught by Zhang, include second region includes 2 sub-region with different diameter of lens taught by Cui, include wherein a minimum area of the second region is set based on the divergence angle, the distance between the lens and the light source and the lens diameter taught by Okamoto, include wherein the divergence angle of the light source is an angle at which a light intensity of 1/e2 times a maximum light intensity of the light source is outputted taught by Madey with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to define the divergence angle based on the distribution of light intensity (Madey; [0178]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645