DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 2/19/26. Applicant’s argument have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 3-5 and 8-10 are withdrawn.
This Action is Non-FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/19/26 has been considered by the examiner.
Claims Analysis
Claim 1 recites “for a redox flow battery”, which is an intended use limitation that has not been given patentable weight. Claim 2 recites “for a redox flow battery”, which is an intended use limitation that has not been given patentable weight.
Claims 6 and 7 recite “a redox flow battery using the electrode”, which is considered an intended use limitation. The preamble of the claims is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to the claimed electrode structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukada et al., US 2015/0049415 A1 in view of Igai et al., JP 2006-004997A, as evidenced by the AI generated “Copilot Search” for “activated carbon crystal structure”.
Tsukada teaches an activated carbon for an electrode of a power storage device having uniform consecutive macropores, and a pore size distribution centered within a range of 1.5 to 25 mm, a specific surface area within a range of 1,500 to 2,300 m2/g, a micropore volume within a range of 0.4 to 1.0 mL/g, and an average micropore width within a range of 0.7 to 1.2 nm (abstract). Figure 9 shows an activated carbon electrode having a disk/plate shape. The uniform consecutive macropores have an average pore size within a range of 3 to 35 mm to form a three-dimensional network [0023]. See also [0051]. Examples 1-4 each teach the disk-shaped activated carbon electrode has a thickness of about 0.8 mm.
Tsukada does not explicitly teach the activated carbon material comprises a graphite crystallite wherein an interplanar distance of (002) planes of the graphite crystallite is in a range of from 0.33 nm to 0.40 nm and a crystallite size in the c-axis direction in a range of from 0.9 nm to 8.5 nm, as recited by the pending claims. Tsukada is silent regarding the crystallite properties of the disclosed activated carbon material.
However, Igai teaches activated carbon for an electrode of a power storage device. The activated carbon contains microcrystal carbon having laminar crystalline structure like graphite. In this case, the interlayer distance d002 of the microcrystal carbon is 0.340-0.380 nm and the size Lc002 of the crystallite in the c-axis direction is bigger than 0.7 nm while a specific surface area obtained by nitrogen gas adsorption is large than 30 m2/g (abstract). See [0039] regarding the specific surface area of the activated carbon material. Igai teaches d002 is 0.340-0.380 nm, preferably 0.350-0.370nm. The size Lc 002 along the c-axis crystallite is more than 0.7 nm, more preferably is greater than or equal to 1.0 nm and 4 nm or less. These preferred ranges are common to both electrodes for carbon and pretreatment of activated carbon was obtained [0032]. See also [0038]-[0041].
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed because Igai teaches activated carbon material for an electrode of a power storage device is known to have the disclosed crystalline properties. One of skill would have known the activated carbon material for a power storage device of Tsukada would have had the known crystalline properties as disclosed by Igai. Both Igai and Tsukada teach activated carbon electrode material for power storage devices. Furthermore, the “Copilot Search” teaches activated carbon is largely amorphous but it contains graphite-like microcrystals (crystallites) formed during carbonization and activation processes. The crystallites have an interlayer distance of approximately 3.6 angstroms (0.36 nm), which is slightly larger than in perfect graphite.
Claims 6 and 7 recite “a redox flow battery using the electrode”, which is considered an intended use limitation. The preamble of the claims is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to the claimed electrode structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 6 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The 35 USC 112 rejections of record have been withdrawn as the claims have been amended. The 35 USC 103 rejection in view of Miyabaysahi has been withdrawn as the claims have been amended to overcome the rejection.
Conclusion
/TRACY M DOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725