DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18, 21, and 23 are pending. Claims 14, 18, and 21 have been amended.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: "a first portion" should be "the first portion". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3, "wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process on the first portion of aerosol generating material on two separate occasions", fails to further limit claim 1, "wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process on a first portion of the aerosol generating material on at least two separate occasions", from which claim 3 depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 13, "wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process on the first portion of aerosol generating material on two separate occasions", fails to further limit claim 11, "wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process on a first portion of the aerosol generating material on at least two separate occasions", from which claim 13 depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Courbat et al. (US 2020/0375255 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Courbat discloses an aerosol provision device (“aerosol-generating device 100”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0158) for use with an aerosol generating article (“aerosol-forming article 10”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0153) comprising aerosol generating material (“aerosol-forming segment 20”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0153), the aerosol provision device comprising:
one or more aerosol generating components (see “susceptor elements 180”, Figs. 2-4, ¶ 0158; although Fig. 4 only shows two aerosol generating components, Courbat discloses that there can be four aerosol generating components (“three or more susceptors”, ¶ 0018) arranged in a square pattern (“square pattern”, ¶ 0058) such as seen in the rendering in the Figure below, annotated by the examiner) arranged to aerosolize different portions of the aerosol generating material (“Thus, sequential heating of three or more zones in the aerosol-forming substrate may be achieved”, ¶ 0018); and
control circuitry (combination of “power supply 140” and “controller 150”, ¶ 0155) for supplying power to the one or more aerosol generating components (“inductor coil 130 . . . receive[s] power from the power supply 140”, ¶ 0155, and “a high-frequency alternating current is passed through the inductor coil 130 to generate an alternating magnetic field . . . . The fluctuating field generates eddy currents within the susceptor elements 180”, ¶ 0158), wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process on a first portion of the aerosol generating material on at least two separate occasions (as seen in the rendering in the Figure below, annotated by the examiner, the aerosol generating material located in the bottom half and heated by aerosol generating components 1 and 2 may be considered a “first portion”, and the aerosol generating material located in the top half and heated by aerosol generating components 3 and 4 may be considered a “second portion”; because the aerosol generating components are heated sequentially (“sequential heating”, ¶ 0018, e.g, 1, then 2, then 3, then 4), the first portion of the aerosol generating material is heated to perform an aerosolization process on at least two separate occasions (once when aerosol generating component 1 is heated and again when aerosol generating component 2 is heated)).
Figure, Annotated by Examiner
Regarding claim 2, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision device of claim 1 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process of one portion of the aerosol generating material at any one time (“sequential heating”, ¶ 0018, the aerosol generating components are heated sequentially and, as such, one portion of the aerosol generating material is aerosolized at any one time).
Regarding claim 3, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision device of claim 1 as stated above. Courbat discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process on the first portion of aerosol generating material on two separate occasions (once when aerosol generating component 1 is heated and again when aerosol generating component 2 is heated, see rendering in the Figure in the rejection of claim 1 above, annotated by the examiner).
Regarding claim 4, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision device of claim 1 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein the one or more aerosol generating components are heating elements (“heated susceptor elements 180 heat”, ¶ 0158).
Regarding claim 5, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision device of claim 4 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to cause heating of a first portion of the aerosol generating material at least on two separate occasions before causing heating of a second portion of the aerosol generating material (as seen in the rendering in the Figure in the rejection of claim 1 above, annotated by the examiner, the first portion will be heated twice (when aerosol generating components 1 and 2 are heated) before the second portion is heated (when aerosol generating component 3 is heated)).
Regarding claim 7, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision device of claim 4 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to receive a signal signifying a user's intent to generate aerosol, and in response to receiving the signal, cause heating of a portion of the aerosol generating material (“Such actuation may be manually operated or may occur automatically in response to a user drawing on the aerosol-generating article 10, for example by using a puff sensor”, ¶ 0158).
Regarding claim 10, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision device of claim 4 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein each heating element has an areal extent no greater than 130 mm2 (“If a susceptor element has a constant cross-section, for example a circular cross-section, it has a preferable width or diameter of between 1 millimetres and 5 millimetres”, ¶ 0075, which corresponds to an areal extent of 1 to 20 mm2). Since the range 1 to 20 mm2 falls within the claimed range of no greater than 130 mm2, the range is anticipated (MPEP § 2131.03).
Regarding claim 11, Courbat discloses an aerosol provision system (“aerosol-generating device 100”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0158) for generating aerosol (“aerosol”, ¶ 0158) from an aerosol generating material (“aerosol-forming segment 20”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0153), the system comprises:
an aerosol generating article (“aerosol-forming article 10”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0153) comprising a plurality of portions of aerosol generating material (e.g., top half and bottom half);
one or more aerosol generating components (see “susceptor elements 180”, Figs. 2-4, ¶ 0158; although Fig. 4 only shows two aerosol generating components, Courbat discloses that there can be four aerosol generating components (“three or more susceptors”, ¶ 0018) arranged in a square pattern (“square pattern”, ¶ 0058) such as seen in the rendering in the Figure below, annotated by the examiner) arranged to aerosolize different portions of the aerosol generating material (“Thus, sequential heating of three or more zones in the aerosol-forming substrate may be achieved”, ¶ 0018); and
control circuitry (combination of “power supply 140” and “controller 150”, ¶ 0155) for supplying power to the one or more aerosol generating components (“inductor coil 130 . . . receive[s] power from the power supply 140”, ¶ 0155, and “a high-frequency alternating current is passed through the inductor coil 130 to generate an alternating magnetic field . . . . The fluctuating field generates eddy currents within the susceptor elements 180”, ¶ 0158), wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process on a first portion of the aerosol generating material on at least two separate occasions (as seen in the rendering in the Figure below, annotated by the examiner, the aerosol generating material located in the bottom half and heated by aerosol generating components 1 and 2 may be considered a “first portion”, and the aerosol generating material located in the top half and heated by aerosol generating components 3 and 4 may be considered a “second portion”; because the aerosol generating components are heated sequentially (“sequential heating”, ¶ 0018, e.g, 1, then 2, then 3, then 4), the first portion of the aerosol generating material is heated to perform an aerosolization process on at least two separate occasions (once when aerosol generating component 1 is heated and again when aerosol generating component 2 is heated)).
Figure, Annotated by Examiner
Regarding claim 12, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision system of claim 11 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process of one portion of the aerosol generating material at any one time (“sequential heating”, ¶ 0018, the aerosol generating components are heated sequentially and, as such, one portion of the aerosol generating material is aerosolized at any one time).
Regarding claim 13, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision system of claim 11 as stated above. Courbat discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process on the first portion of aerosol generating material on two separate occasions (once when aerosol generating component 1 is heated and again when aerosol generating component 2 is heated, see rendering in the Figure in the rejection of claim 11 above, annotated by the examiner).
Regarding claim 14, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision system of claim 11 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein the one or more aerosol generating components are heating elements (“heated susceptor elements 180 heat”, ¶ 0158) having an areal extent no greater than 130 mm2 (“If a susceptor element has a constant cross-section, for example a circular cross-section, it has a preferable width or diameter of between 1 millimetres and 5 millimetres”, ¶ 0075, which corresponds to an areal extent of 1 to 20 mm2). Since the range 1 to 20 mm2 falls within the claimed range of no greater than 130 mm2, the range is anticipated (MPEP § 2131.03).
Regarding claim 15, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision system of claim 14 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to cause heating of a first portion of the aerosol generating material at least on two separate occasions before causing heating of a second portion of the aerosol generating material (as seen in the rendering in the Figure in the rejection of claim 11 above, annotated by the examiner, the first portion will be heated twice (when aerosol generating components 1 and 2 are heated) before the second portion is heated (when aerosol generating component 3 is heated)).
Regarding claim 17, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision system of claim 15 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to receive a signal signifying a user's intent to generate aerosol, and in response to receiving the signal, cause heating of a portion of the aerosol generating material (“Such actuation may be manually operated or may occur automatically in response to a user drawing on the aerosol-generating article 10, for example by using a puff sensor”, ¶ 0158).
Alternatively regarding claim 1, Courbat discloses an aerosol provision device (“aerosol-generating device 100”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0158) for use with an aerosol generating article (“aerosol-forming article 10”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0153) comprising aerosol generating material (“aerosol-forming segment 20”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0153), the aerosol provision device comprising:
one or more aerosol generating components (see “susceptor elements 180”, Figs. 2-4, ¶ 0158; although Fig. 4 only shows two aerosol generating components, Courbat discloses that there can be four aerosol generating components (“three or more susceptors”, ¶ 0018) arranged in a square pattern (“square pattern”, ¶ 0058) such as seen in the rendering in the Figure below, annotated by the examiner) arranged to aerosolize different portions of the aerosol generating material (“Thus, sequential heating of three or more zones in the aerosol-forming substrate may be achieved”, ¶ 0018); and
control circuitry (combination of “power supply 140” and “controller 150”, ¶ 0155) for supplying power to the one or more aerosol generating components (“inductor coil 130 . . . receive[s] power from the power supply 140”, ¶ 0155, and “a high-frequency alternating current is passed through the inductor coil 130 to generate an alternating magnetic field . . . . The fluctuating field generates eddy currents within the susceptor elements 180”, ¶ 0158), wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process on a first portion of the aerosol generating material on at least two separate occasions (as seen in the rendering in the Figure below, annotated by the examiner, the aerosol generating material located in the left half and heated by aerosol generating components 1 and 4 may be considered a “first portion”, and the aerosol generating material located in the right half and heated by aerosol generating components 2 and 3 may be considered a “second portion”; because the aerosol generating components are heated sequentially (“sequential heating”, ¶ 0018, e.g, 1, then 2, then 3, then 4), the first portion of the aerosol generating material is heated to perform an aerosolization process on at least two separate occasions (once when aerosol generating component 1 is heated and again when aerosol generating component 4 is heated)).
Figure, Annotated by Examiner
Alternatively regarding claim 4, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision device of claim 1 as stated in the alternative rejection of claim 1 above. Courbat further discloses wherein the one or more aerosol generating components are heating elements (“heated susceptor elements 180 heat”, ¶ 0158).
Regarding claim 6, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision device of claim 4 as stated in the alternative rejection of claim 4 above. Courbat further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to cause sequential heating of each portion of aerosol generating material on one occasion, before causing heating of the first portion of aerosol generating material on a second occasion (the first portion will be heated when aerosol generating component 1 is heated and then the second portion will be heated when aerosol generating component 2 is heated before the first portion is heated on a second occasion when aerosol generating component 4 is heated, see rendering in the Figure in the alternative rejection of claim 1 above, annotated by the examiner).
Alternatively regarding claim 11, Courbat discloses an aerosol provision system (“aerosol-generating device 100”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0158) for generating aerosol (“aerosol”, ¶ 0158) from an aerosol generating material (“aerosol-forming segment 20”, ¶ 0153), the system comprises:
an aerosol generating article (“aerosol-forming article 10”, Fig. 1, ¶ 0153) comprising a plurality of portions of aerosol generating material (e.g., left half and right half);
one or more aerosol generating components (see “susceptor elements 180”, Figs. 2-4, ¶ 0158; although Fig. 4 only shows two aerosol generating components, Courbat discloses that there can be four aerosol generating components (“three or more susceptors”, ¶ 0018) arranged in a square pattern (“square pattern”, ¶ 0058) such as seen in the rendering in the Figure below, annotated by the examiner) arranged to aerosolize different portions of the aerosol generating material (“Thus, sequential heating of three or more zones in the aerosol-forming substrate may be achieved”, ¶ 0018); and
control circuitry (combination of “power supply 140” and “controller 150”, ¶ 0155) for supplying power to the one or more aerosol generating components (“inductor coil 130 . . . receive[s] power from the power supply 140”, ¶ 0155, and “a high-frequency alternating current is passed through the inductor coil 130 to generate an alternating magnetic field . . . . The fluctuating field generates eddy currents within the susceptor elements 180”, ¶ 0158), wherein the control circuitry is configured to perform an aerosolization process on a first portion of the aerosol generating material on at least two separate occasions (as seen in the rendering in the Figure below, annotated by the examiner, the aerosol generating material located in the left half and heated by aerosol generating components 1 and 4 may be considered a “first portion”, and the aerosol generating material located in the right half and heated by aerosol generating components 2 and 3 may be considered a “second portion”; because the aerosol generating components are heated sequentially (“sequential heating”, ¶ 0018, e.g, 1, then 2, then 3, then 4), the first portion of the aerosol generating material is heated to perform an aerosolization process on at least two separate occasions (once when aerosol generating component 1 is heated and again when aerosol generating component 4 is heated)).
Figure, Annotated by Examiner
Alternatively regarding claim 14, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision system of claim 11 as stated in the alternative rejection of claim 11 above. Courbat further discloses wherein the one or more aerosol generating components are heating elements (“heated susceptor elements 180 heat”, ¶ 0158).
Regarding claim 16, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision system of claim 14 as stated in the alternative rejection of claim 14 above. Courbat further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to cause sequential heating of each portion of aerosol generating material on one occasion, before causing heating of the first portion of aerosol generating material on a second occasion (the first portion will be heated when aerosol generating component 1 is heated and then the second portion will be heated when aerosol generating component 2 is heated before the first portion is heated on a second occasion when aerosol generating component 4 is heated, see rendering in the Figure in the alternative rejection of claim 11 above, annotated by the examiner).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rojo-Calderon et al. (US 11,910,510 B2).
Regarding claim 23, Rojo-Calderon discloses an aerosol generating article (“aerosol-generating pellet”, Col. 5, Line 47) comprising a plurality of portions of aerosol generating material (“An aerosol-generating pellet may comprise a compacted plurality of identical particles or a compacted plurality of different types of aerosol-generating particles”, Col. 5, Lines 47-49), wherein each of the plurality of portions of aerosol generating material has a thickness of between 0.5 mm (“preferably not smaller than 0.5 mm”, Col. 6, Line 21) and 2 mm (“a maximum size . . . preferably 2 mm”, Col. 6, Lines 17-18). Since the range 0.5 mm to 2 mm falls within the claimed range of 0.05 mm to 2 mm, the range is anticipated (MPEP § 2131.03).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courbat et al. (US 2020/0375255 A1) as applied to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 8, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision device of claim 4 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to heat the one or more heating elements to a temperature of greater than 250°C (“Preferred elongate susceptor elements may be heated to a temperature in excess of 250 degrees Celsius.”, ¶ 0063). Since the range greater than 250°C overlaps the claimed range of no greater than 350°C, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courbat et al. (US 2020/0375255 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Butin et al. (US 2021/0145071 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision device of claim 4 as stated above. Courbat does not disclose the specific time it takes the control circuitry to heat the one or more heating elements to an operational temperature at which aerosol is generated to determine if it falls within the claimed range.
Butin, in the same field of endeavor, discloses forming a heating element such that the time it takes the heating element to reach an operational temperature at which aerosol is generated is no longer than 10 consecutive seconds (“the inductive heating device of the present invention may heat the susceptor to a temperature in the range of 300-400 degrees Celsius in a time period of around five seconds, or even less than five seconds in some embodiments”, ¶ 0111). One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that there was a benefit to minimizing the time it takes to heat the heating element to the operational temperature in that it reduces the amount of time the user needs to wait for the aerosol to be formed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the control circuitry of Courbat to heat the one or more heating elements to an operational temperature at which aerosol is generated to be around five seconds or less as taught by Butin (which is no longer than 10 consecutive seconds) in order to achieve this benefit.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courbat et al. (US 2020/0375255 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Butin et al. (US 2021/0145071 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision system of claim 14 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to heat the one or more heating elements to a temperature of greater than 250°C (“Preferred elongate susceptor elements may be heated to a temperature in excess of 250 degrees Celsius.”, ¶ 0063). Since the range greater than 250°C overlaps the claimed range of no greater than 350°C, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Courbat does not disclose the specific time it takes the control circuitry to heat the one or more heating elements to an operational temperature at which aerosol is generated to determine if it falls within the claimed range.
Butin, in the same field of endeavor, discloses forming a heating element such that the time it takes the heating element to reach an operational temperature at which aerosol is generated is no longer than 10 consecutive seconds (“the inductive heating device of the present invention may heat the susceptor to a temperature in the range of 300-400 degrees Celsius in a time period of around five seconds, or even less than five seconds in some embodiments”, ¶ 0111). One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that there was a benefit to minimizing the time it takes to heat the heating element to the operational temperature in that it reduces the amount of time the user needs to wait for the aerosol to be formed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the control circuitry of Courbat to heat the one or more heating elements to an operational temperature at which aerosol is generated to be around five seconds or less as taught by Butin (which is no longer than 10 consecutive seconds) in order to achieve this benefit.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courbat et al. (US 2020/0375255 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Rojo-Calderon (US 2018/0352858 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Courbat discloses the aerosol provision system of claim 11 as stated above. Courbat further discloses wherein the aerosol generating material is an amorphous solid (“The aerosol-forming substrate may comprise homogenised plant-based material. The aerosol-forming substrate may comprise homogenised tobacco material. Homogenised tobacco material may be formed by agglomerating particulate tobacco”, ¶ 0114). Courbat discloses that the aerosol generating material comprises a sheet (“crimped sheet”, ¶ 0114) but does not disclose that the aerosol generating material has a thickness within the claimed range.
Rojo-Calderon, in the same field of endeavor, discloses forming an aerosol generating material comprising a sheet (“sheet of aerosol forming substrate”, ¶ 0046) having a thickness in a range of about 0.1 mm to 2 mm (“A sheet of aerosol-forming substrate, for example comprising tobacco material and an aerosol former may have a thickness between 0.1 millimeter and 2 millimeter”, ¶ 0046). One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that there was a benefit to minimizing the thickness of the sheet in that it allows for a more precise control over the total diameter of the aerosol generating material which is formed form the sheet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the sheet taught by Courbat to have a thickness in a range of about 0.1 mm to 2 mm as taught by Rojo-Calederon in order to obtain this benefit.
Conclusion
/C.G.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747