Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, 15, 16, 29, 32 – 35, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Randall et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US20160160619A1), hereinafter referenced as Randall.
In regards to claim 1 (Randall) shows:
A tool for use in well tubing; Randall [0133] teaches a downhole hydraulic jetting assembly 50 residing within a string of production casing 12 in the horizontal portion of a wellbore, with the internal system 1500 constituting a tool deployed in well tubing.
the tool substantially spanning a diameter of well tubing; Randall [0192] teaches that the jetting hose 1595 immediately preceding the point of casing exit spans the entire inner diameter of the production casing 12. Randall [0194] further teaches that the whipstock face 1050.1 spans substantially the entire inner diameter of the casing 12 when in its set and operating position.
the tool comprising a battery cluster that includes one or more batteries and associated conductors; Randall [0145] teaches a battery pack 1550 comprising AA lithium batteries 1551 housed within a battery pack casing 1540. Randall [0169] further teaches that wires 1590 extend from the battery pack 1510 to the jetting nozzle 1600, constituting the associated conductors of the battery cluster.
an end cap at one longitudinal end of the tool and configured to provide electrical connection between the tool and an adjacent tool longitudinally end-to-end to the tool; Randall [0146] teaches an upstream battery pack end cap 1520 having a conductive ring about a portion of its circumference, where when the internal system 1500 is docked within the docking station 325 of the external system 2000, the end cap 1520 can receive and transmit current, thereby providing electrical connection between the internal system 1500 and the docking station 325 arranged longitudinally end-to-end. Randall [0173] further teaches that matingly conductive contacts in the receptacle 328 of the docking station 325 line up with the upstream battery pack end cap 1520 to form a docking point through which a transfer of data and electrical power occurs.
wherein the end cap is configured to power the adjacent tool via power from the battery cluster; Randall [0202] teaches that power to the wires 1590 is provided from the batteries 1551 or battery pack 1550. Randall [0203] further teaches that the downstream battery pack end cap 1530 houses a current regulator and micro-servo that routes and controls battery-supplied power through wires 1590 to the stator coils of the jetting nozzle 1600, thereby configuring the end cap to power the adjacent nozzle via power from the battery cluster.
In regards to claim 13 (Randall) shows the tool of claim 1:
wherein the tool is configured to be concentric to a wellbore; Randall [0133] teaches that the internal system 1500 and external system 2000 reside within production casing 12 having a circular cross-section. Randall [0269] further teaches that the external system 2000 has a maximum outer diameter of 2.655 inches within a 4.0 inch inner diameter casing, establishing a concentric arrangement of the tool within the wellbore.
In regards to claim 15 (Randall) shows the tool of claim 1:
wherein the tool is pressure enclosed; Randall [0145] teaches that the battery pack 1550 is sealed by an upstream battery pack end cap 1520 and a downstream battery pack end cap 1530 within battery pack casing 1540. Randall [0147] further teaches that the end caps are threadedly attached to the battery pack casing and constructed of titanium with optional polycrystalline diamond coating to withstand high pressure jetting fluid, thereby establishing the tool as pressure enclosed.
In regards to claim 16 (Randall) shows the tool of claim 1:
wherein the tool is configured to allow for direct electrical connection to one or more adjacent tools; Randall [0146] teaches that the upstream battery pack end cap 1520 has a conductive ring that forms a direct electrical connection with the docking station 325 when docked. Randall [0202] further teaches that wires 1590 directly connect the battery pack 1550 through the downstream end cap 1530 to the stator coils of the jetting nozzle 1600, thereby configuring the tool for direct electrical connection to adjacent tools.
In regards to claim 29 (Randall) shows:
wherein the signal is a power signal; Randall [0202] teaches that power to the wires 1590 is provided from the batteries 1551 or battery pack 1550, thereby establishing that the signal transferred through the system is a power signal sourced from the battery cluster.
an end cap at one longitudinal end of the tool and configured to provide electrical connection between the tool and an adjacent tool longitudinally end-to-end to the tool; Randall [0146] teaches an upstream battery pack end cap 1520 having a conductive ring about a portion of its circumference, where when the internal system 1500 is docked within the docking station 325 of the external system 2000, the end cap 1520 can receive and transmit current, thereby providing electrical connection between the internal system 1500 and the docking station 325 arranged longitudinally end-to-end. Randall [0173] further teaches that matingly conductive contacts in the receptacle 328 of the docking station 325 line up with the upstream battery pack end cap 1520 to form a docking point through which a transfer of data and electrical power occurs.
transferring a signal from the tool to another tool arranged longitudinally end-to-end to the tool via the end cap; Randall [0202] teaches that power to the wires 1590 is provided from the batteries 1551 or battery pack 1550. Randall [0203] further teaches that the downstream battery pack end cap 1530 routes this battery-supplied power through wires 1590 to the stator coils of the jetting nozzle 1600, thereby transferring a power signal from the internal system 1500 to the nozzle via the end cap.
a method of using a tool in well tubing the tool substantially spanning a diameter of well tubing and comprising a battery cluster that includes one or more batteries and associated conductors; Randall [0133] teaches a downhole hydraulic jetting assembly 50 deployed within production casing 12 in a wellbore. Randall [0192] teaches that the jetting hose 1595 spans the entire inner diameter of the production casing 12. Randall [0145] teaches a battery pack 1550 comprising batteries 1551 with associated conductors in the form of wires 1590 extending from the battery pack 1510 to the jetting nozzle 1600.
powering the other tool via power supplied by the battery cluster; Randall [0202] teaches that power to the wires 1590 is provided from the batteries 1551 or battery pack 1550. Randall [0169] further teaches that this battery-supplied power is sent via wires 1590 to the geo-steering system controlling the rotating jet nozzle 1600, thereby powering the nozzle as the other tool via power supplied by the battery cluster.
In regards to claim 32 (Randall) shows the method of claim 29:
wherein transferring the power signal comprises transferring power from a battery in the battery cluster via a conductor; Randall [0202] teaches that power to the wires 1590 is provided from the batteries 1551 or battery pack 1550. Randall [0176] further teaches that wires 1590 are housed within columnar supports 1560 and routed from the battery pack 1510 to the jetting nozzle 1600, thereby transferring power from a battery in the battery cluster via conductors.
In regards to claim 33 (Randall) shows the method of claim 29:
wherein transferring the signal comprises transferring a data signal from an electronics cluster of the tool to the other tool; Randall [0166] teaches that the micro-geo-steering system housed in downstream end cap 1530 sends geo-steering signals via wires 1590A to the jetting nozzle 1600. Randall [0245] further teaches that geo-location data is transmitted from the geo-spatial chip 1670 in the nozzle 1600 to the micro-processor in the battery pack section 1550 via wires 1590 and 1591, thereby transferring data signals between the electronics cluster and the adjacent nozzle tool.
In regards to claim 34 (Randall) shows the method of claim 33:
wherein transferring the data signal comprises transferring data from a gauge and/or a communication module of the electronics cluster; Randall [0245] teaches that geo-location data is transmitted from the geo-spatial chip 1670, comprising an accelerometer, gyroscope, and magnetometer, up through wires 1590 and 1591 to the micro-processor in the battery pack section 1550. Randall [0166] further teaches that the micro-transmitter housed in end cap 1530 sends this processed data, thereby transferring data from a gauge and communication module of the electronics cluster to the other tool.
In regards to claim 35 (Randall) shows the method of claim 29:
wherein transferring the signal comprises directly transferring the signal to the other tool; Randall [0169] teaches that wires 1590 extend directly from the battery pack 1510 to the geo-steering system of the jetting nozzle 1600 with no intermediate tool between them. Randall [0176] further teaches that these wires are routed through columnar supports 1560 in a continuous hard-wired path, thereby directly transferring the signal to the other tool.
In regards to claim 37 (Randall) shows the method of claim 29:
further comprising transferring a signal from the other tool to the tool; Randall [0245] teaches that geo-location data is transmitted from the geo-spatial chip 1670 in the jetting nozzle 1600 back to the micro-processor in the battery pack section 1550 via wires 1590 and 1591. Randall [0166] further teaches that the micro-geo-steering system in end cap 1530 receives and processes this data from the nozzle, establishing bidirectional signal transfer between the nozzle as the other tool and the internal system 1500 as the tool.
In regards to claim 38 (Randall) shows the method of claim 29:
wherein the other tool is a valve; Randall [0228] teaches that the slideable collar 1633 within the jetting nozzle 1600 selectively opens and closes hydraulic access to the rearward thrust jets 1613 through electromagnetic actuation, thereby functioning as an electrically operated valve within the downhole tool string. Randall [0233] further teaches that power to drive this electromagnetic actuation is provided directly from the batteries 1551 of the battery pack 1550 through wires 1590, thereby establishing the slideable collar as a valve constituting the adjacent tool powered by the battery cluster through the end cap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20160160619A1 (Randall) as applied to Claim 1 above, respectively, and further in view of US11655706B2 (Jarvis).
In regards to claim 3 (Randall) does not show: wherein the batteries are radially adjacent;
wherein the batteries are radially adjacent; Jarvis [Column 15 Lines 20 - 54] teaches a power source provided as a battery pack comprising a plurality of primary cells. The arrangement of multiple cells within a battery pack for a downhole tool of limited diameter necessarily positions the batteries adjacent to one another in a radial configuration to efficiently utilize the limited space available within the wellbore tool.
The motivation to combine Randall and Jarvis is to optimize the battery arrangement within the downhole tool to more efficiently utilize the limited diameter space of the wellbore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Jarvis's radial arrangement of battery cells to Randall's battery-powered internal system, yielding the predictable result of a more compact and space-efficient battery cluster configuration within the tool.
In regards to claim 6 (Randall) shows the tool of claim 3:
further comprising an electronics cluster; Randall [0166] teaches that the downstream battery pack end cap 1530 houses a micro-geo-steering system comprising a micro-transmitter, micro-receiver, micro-processor, and current regulator, thereby constituting an electronics cluster within the tool.
In regards to claim 7 (Randall) shows the tool of claim 6:
wherein the battery cluster and the electronics cluster are arranged end-to-end; Randall [0145] teaches that the battery pack 1550 is sealed at its downstream longitudinal end by the downstream battery pack end cap 1530. Randall [0166] further teaches that the electronics of the micro-geo-steering system are housed within that downstream end cap 1530, thereby arranging the battery cluster and electronics cluster end-to-end along the longitudinal axis of the internal system 1500.
In regards to claim 10 (Randall) does not show: wherein the electronics cluster comprises at least one gauge and at least one module; wherein the gauge and module are radially adjacent;
wherein the electronics cluster comprises at least one gauge and at least one module; Jarvis [Column 14 Lines 5 - 20] teaches an apparatus comprising multiple temperature sensor modules and a control module that processes signals from the sensors, thus containing both gauges and processing modules.
wherein the gauge and module are radially adjacent; Jarvis [Column 14 Lines 35 - 50] teaches temperature sensor modules that do not cause the tubing to need a larger diameter at the location of the sensors as they are accommodated inside the tubing in a radially adjacent arrangement.
The motivation to combine Randall and Jarvis is to incorporate a gauge and module electronics configuration into the electronics cluster of the downhole tool system taught by Randall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Jarvis's arrangement of temperature sensor gauges and processing modules in a radially adjacent configuration to Randall's electronics cluster to provide dedicated sensing and processing functionality within the limited diameter space of the wellbore tool, yielding the predictable result of a more capable and functional downhole electronics cluster.
In regards to claim 11 (Randall) does not show: wherein the at least one gauge comprises a sensor;
wherein the at least one gauge comprises a sensor; Jarvis [Column 14 Lines 10 - 20] teaches temperature sensor modules each comprising a temperature sensor having electrical properties that vary with temperature.
The motivation to combine Randall and Jarvis is to incorporate a gauge and module electronics configuration into the electronics cluster of the downhole tool system taught by Randall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply Jarvis's arrangement of temperature sensor gauges and processing modules in a radially adjacent configuration to Randall's electronics cluster to provide dedicated sensing and processing functionality within the limited diameter space of the wellbore tool, yielding the predictable result of a more capable and functional downhole electronics cluster.
In regards to claim 12 (Randall) shows the tool of claim 10:
wherein the at least one module is a communication module; Randall [0166] teaches that the downstream battery pack end cap 1530 houses a micro-transmitter and micro-receiver. Randall [0247] further teaches that the wireless transmitter in the docking station 325 transmits operator commands to a wireless receiver housed within end cap 1530, thereby establishing the micro-transmitter and micro-receiver as communication modules within the electronics cluster.
Claims 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20160160619A1 (Randall) as applied to Claim 29 above, respectively, and further in view of US20120006217A1 (Anderson).
In regards to claim 39 (Randall) does not show: wherein the other tool is a tubing conveyed perforation (TCP) gun;
Anderson teaches wherein the other tool is a tubing conveyed perforation (TCP) gun; Anderson [0029] teaches an elongate instrument body 26 having an upper housing sub 28 within which is located a battery 30, and the upper housing sub includes an externally threaded downwardly extending connector projection 34 enabling physical and electronic coupling of the battery-containing instrument with adjacent well service tools in the downhole string. Anderson [0030] further teaches that detonators 38A, 38B, and 38C within blast joints containing shaped explosive perforating charges are selectively electrically initiated by electrical current from storage battery 30, establishing that a TCP perforating gun is a known adjacent tool type powered by an on-board battery through a direct electrical end connection in a downhole tool string.
The motivation to combine Randall and Anderson is to identify a TCP perforating gun as a known adjacent tool type in the modular downhole tool string. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate a TCP perforating gun as the adjacent powered tool given that Anderson demonstrates perforating guns are routinely deployed and electrically initiated by battery current through a direct end connection in a downhole tool string, yielding the predictable result of expanding the battery-powered end cap arrangement to this widely used completion tool.
In regards to claim 40 (Randall) does not show: wherein the other tool is a suspension device;
Anderson teaches wherein the other tool is a suspension device; Anderson [0025] teaches that other downhole well service tools, such as packers, anchors, and other equipment may be run into a well casing together and selectively actuated in sequential manner. Anderson establishes packers and anchors as suspension-type devices that secure and position tools in downhole applications.
The motivation to combine Randall and Anderson is to identify a suspension device as a known adjacent tool type in the modular downhole tool string. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate a suspension device as the adjacent tool given that Anderson demonstrates packers and anchors are routinely deployed alongside other downhole tools and selectively actuated within well casings, yielding the predictable result of expanding the battery-powered end cap arrangement to suspension-type tools used in standard downhole completion operations.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed on 17 December 2025, have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as cited above.
With respect to independent claim 1, Applicant argues that the cited art fails to disclose wherein the end cap is configured to power the adjacent tool via power from the battery cluster. This argument is not persuasive. As set forth above, Randall anticipates this limitation. Randall [0202] teaches that power to the wires 1590 is provided from the batteries 1551 or battery pack 1550, and Randall [0203] further teaches that the downstream battery pack end cap 1530 houses a current regulator and micro-servo that routes and controls battery-supplied power through wires 1590 to the stator coils of the jetting nozzle 1600, thereby configuring the end cap to power the adjacent nozzle via power from the battery cluster. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
With respect to independent claim 29, Applicant argues that the cited art fails to disclose powering the other tool via power supplied by the battery cluster. This argument is not persuasive. As set forth above, Randall anticipates this limitation. Randall [0202] teaches that power to the wires 1590 is provided from the batteries 1551 or battery pack 1550, and Randall [0169] further teaches that this battery-supplied power is sent via wires 1590 to the geo-steering system controlling the rotating jet nozzle 1600, thereby powering the nozzle as the other tool via power supplied by the battery cluster. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 29 is maintained.
The remaining arguments with respect to dependent claims 13, 15, 16, 32, 33, 34, 35, 37, and 38 have been considered but are not persuasive for the reasons stated above. The dependent claims incorporate the limitations of their respective independent claims and are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Randall. The rejections are maintained.
The arguments with respect to dependent claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 11, and 12 have been considered but are not persuasive for the reasons stated above. These claims are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Randall in view of Jarvis. The rejections are maintained.
The arguments with respect to dependent claims 39 and 40 have been considered but are not persuasive for the reasons stated above. These claims are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Randall in view of Anderson. The rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
571-272-1000.
/ANWER AHMED ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2851
/JACK CHIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851