DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees due to the following:
With respect to (Independent Claims 1 and 14 are Patentable/bullet A); Applicant argues in bullet A, pages 1-2 of Remarks filed on 04/01/2026, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because in accordance with broadest reasonable interpretation the [arc gap 18] of Meador is a well-known state of the art switch. The arc gap 18 in the surge arrester 19 is a voltage-dependent switch. It operates as an open circuit (switch off) during normal voltage levels and instantly transitions to a closed circuit (switch on) via an electric arc when the voltage exceeds a specific threshold, directing surge energy to the ground. In other words, the Applicant conclusion "particularly not a "switch" that is "operable between a closed state and an open state. " The "arc gap 18" of Meador is by definition always open, and not operable between an open state or a closed state." is incorrect.
With respect to (New Independent Claim 21 is Independently Allowable/bullet B); Applicant argues in bullet B, pages 2-3 of Remarks filed on 04/01/2026, the Examiner respectfully disagrees due to the same reason stated above in bullet A. {See discussion of bullet A}
Therefore, as for the reasons mentioned above, the rejection still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 14-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(l) as being anticipated by Meador (US Patent No. 2703852).
Regarding claim 1, Meador discloses a transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown below, Col. 2 lines 20+) comprising: a transformer (2) having a winding (12s, 13s); a surge arrester arrangement (17s) configured to be connected to the winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2), and wherein the surge arrester arrangement (17s) comprises a surge arrester (19s) arranged to be connected in parallel with at least a section of the winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2) and a switch (18s), and wherein the switch (18s) is operable between a closed state (ON) and an open state (OFF), such that in the closed state (ON), the surge arrester (19s) is electrically connected in parallel with at least the section of the winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2), and in the open state (OFF), the surge arrester (19s) is electrically disconnected from at least the section of the winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2), wherein the surge arrester arrangement (17s) further comprises: at least one further surge arrester (19s) arranged to be connected in parallel with at least one further section of the winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2); at least one further switch (18s); and wherein the at least one further switch (18s), is operable between a closed state (ON) and an open state (OFF), such that in the closed state (ON) the at least one further surge arrester (19s) is electrically connected in parallel with the at least one further section of the winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2), and in the open state (OFF), the at least one further surge arrester (19s) is electrically disconnected from the at least one further section of the winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2).
Regarding claim 2, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+); wherein the surge arrester arrangement (17s) comprises an intermediate connection (30s) that is arranged between two surge arresters (17s) and configured to connect to the winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2) such that the two surge arresters (17s) are connected across respective sections of the winding (12s, 13s).
Regarding claim 3, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+); wherein the entire surge arrester arrangement (17s) is configured to be electrically connected to the transformer (2) when the switch (18s), or each switch (18s), of the surge arrester arrangement (17s) is in the closed state (ON) and the entire surge arrester arrangement (17s) is configured to be electrically disconnected from the transformer (2) when the switch (18s), or each switch (18s), of the surge arrester arrangement (17s) is in the open state (OFF).
Regarding claim 4, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+); further comprising a transformer tank (i.e., tank 10; see for example fig. 1 as shown below, Col. 2 lines 20+) containing insulation fluid (11), wherein the transformer (2) and the surge arrester arrangement (17) is configured to be at least partly immersed in the insulation fluid (11) in the transformer tank (10).
Regarding claim 5, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+); wherein the insulation fluid (i.e., 11; see for example fig. 1 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+) is an insulation liquid (i.e., 11 is an insulation fluid such as oil).
Regarding claim 8, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+); wherein the transformer (2) is a single-phase transformer (i.e., single-phase transformer with two legs 12 and 13).
Regarding claim 9, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+); wherein the transformer (2) comprises phase leg windings (12s/13s) of a plurality of phase legs (i.e., leg 12 and leg 13).
Regarding claim 14, Meador discloses a method for electrically connecting or disconnecting a transformer (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+) to or from a surge arrester arrangement (17s); further includes connecting or disconnecting the at least one further surge arrester (19s) to or from the at least one further sections of a winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2) by means of the at least one further switch (18s). As for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 15, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 2. {See rejection of claim 2}
Regarding claim 16, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement method (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+); wherein the surge arrester arrangement (17s) comprises at least one further intermediate connection (30s), the method (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+) further comprising connecting the at least one further intermediate connection (30s) to a further surge arrester (19s) across a further section of the winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2).
Regarding claim 17, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 4. {See rejection of claim 4}
Regarding claim 20, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+); wherein the surge arrester arrangement (17s) further comprises at least one further intermediate connection (30s), wherein each further intermediate connection (30s) connects a further surge arrester (19s) across a further section of the winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2).
Regarding claim 21, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+); a surge arrester arrangement (17s) for a transformer (2), the surge arrester arrangement (17s) comprising: a first surge arrester (19s) having a first end (i.e., such as first end 29; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) and a second end (i.e., such as second end 22; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) arranged in parallel with a first section (12s, 13s) of a winding (12s, 13s) of the transformer (2) between a first end (i.e., such as first end 28; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the first section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s) and a second end (i.e., such as second end 26; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the first section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s); a first switch (18s) connected (i.e., such as switch 18 is connected varistor 19 via plate 22/electrode 20; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) to the first surge arrester (19s), the first switch (18s) being selectively and individually operable (i.e., such as selectively and individually operable as ON/OFF state of switch 18; for instance, during nominal/normal voltage, the switch 18 is in OFF/OPEN/GAP state [there is a gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18], and in case of any overvoltage event the switch 18 is in ON/CLOSE/NO-GAP state [there is no gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18 and they are fully in contact] in order to discharge the excessive voltage to the ground; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) between a closed state (i.e., such as closed state as switch 18 is ON/CLOSED/NO-GAP; for instance, in case of any overvoltage event the switch 18 is in ON/CLOSE/NO-GAP state [there is no gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18 and they are fully in contact] in order to discharge the excessive voltage to the ground; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) and an open state (i.e., such as open state as switch 18 is OFF/OPENED/GAP; for instance, during nominal/normal voltage, the switch 18 is in OFF/OPEN/GAP state [there is a gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18]; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+), such that in the closed state (i.e., such as closed state as switch 18 is ON/CLOSED/NO-GAP; for instance, in case of any overvoltage event the switch 18 is in ON/CLOSE/NO-GAP state [there is no gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18 and they are fully in contact] in order to discharge the excessive voltage to the ground; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+), the first end (i.e., such as first end 29; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the first surge arrester (19s) is electrically connected (i.e., such as 29 is electrically connected to 28 via 27; for instance, series therewith are hermetically sealed within a chamber or enclosure comprising a glass ring 25 with an end wall plate 26 of metal conducting material, sealed thereto by fusion. A metal collar'27 is also sealed by fusion to the opposite end of the glass ring 25 and another end wall plate 28 of metal conducting material is welded to metal collar 27. Element 29 represents a metal plate and resilient spring of conductive material by means of which the electrode-resistor assembly are maintained by pressure in, good electrical contact with end or terminal plates 26 and 28. The free space within the element or unit 17 is filled with a dry or inert gas, such as nitrogen, at a pressure most suitable for the voltage class for which the arrester unit is designed. The sealed unit maintains the gas density and hence the gap breakdown voltage practically constant, independent of variations of temperature and pressure; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) to the first end (i.e., such as first end 28; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the first section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s) and the second end (i.e., such as second end 22; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the first surge arrester (19s) is electrically connected (i.e., such as 22 is electrically connected to 26 via 27; for instance, series therewith are hermetically sealed within a chamber or enclosure comprising a glass ring 25 with an end wall plate 26 of metal conducting material, sealed thereto by fusion. A metal collar'27 is also sealed by fusion to the opposite end of the glass ring 25 and another end wall plate 28 of metal conducting material is welded to metal collar 27. Element 29 represents a metal plate and resilient spring of conductive material by means of which the electrode-resistor assembly are maintained by pressure in, good electrical contact with end or terminal plates 26 and 28. The free space within the element or unit 17 is filled with a dry or inert gas, such as nitrogen, at a pressure most suitable for the voltage class for which the arrester unit is designed. The sealed unit maintains the gas density and hence the gap breakdown voltage practically constant, independent of variations of temperature and pressure; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) to the second end (i.e., such as second end 26; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the first section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s), and in the open state (i.e., such as open state as switch 18 is OFF/OPENED/GAP; for instance, during nominal/normal voltage, the switch 18 is in OFF/OPEN/GAP state [there is a gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18]; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+), the first surge arrester (19s) is electrically disconnected (i.e., such as the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18 are not in contact; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) from the first section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s); a second surge arrester (19s) arranged in parallel with a second section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s) between a first end (i.e., such as second end 26; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the second section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s) and a second end (i.e., such as first end 28; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the second section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s); and a second switch (18s) connected to the second surge arrester (19s), the second switch (18s) being selectively and individually operable (i.e., such as selectively and individually operable as ON/OFF state of switch 18; for instance, during nominal/normal voltage, the switch 18 is in OFF/OPEN/GAP state [there is a gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18], and in case of any overvoltage event the switch 18 is in ON/CLOSE/NO-GAP state [there is no gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18 and they are fully in contact] in order to discharge the excessive voltage to the ground; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) between a closed state (i.e., such as closed state as switch 18 is ON/CLOSED/NO-GAP; for instance, in case of any overvoltage event the switch 18 is in ON/CLOSE/NO-GAP state [there is no gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18 and they are fully in contact] in order to discharge the excessive voltage to the ground; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) and an open state (i.e., such as open state as switch 18 is OFF/OPENED/GAP; for instance, during nominal/normal voltage, the switch 18 is in OFF/OPEN/GAP state [there is a gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18]; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+), such that in the closed state (i.e., such as closed state as switch 18 is ON/CLOSED/NO-GAP; for instance, in case of any overvoltage event the switch 18 is in ON/CLOSE/NO-GAP state [there is no gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18 and they are fully in contact] in order to discharge the excessive voltage to the ground; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+), the first end (i.e., such as first end 29; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the second surge arrester (19s) is electrically connected (i.e., such as 29 is electrically connected to 28 via 27; for instance, series therewith are hermetically sealed within a chamber or enclosure comprising a glass ring 25 with an end wall plate 26 of metal conducting material, sealed thereto by fusion. A metal collar'27 is also sealed by fusion to the opposite end of the glass ring 25 and another end wall plate 28 of metal conducting material is welded to metal collar 27. Element 29 represents a metal plate and resilient spring of conductive material by means of which the electrode-resistor assembly are maintained by pressure in, good electrical contact with end or terminal plates 26 and 28. The free space within the element or unit 17 is filled with a dry or inert gas, such as nitrogen, at a pressure most suitable for the voltage class for which the arrester unit is designed. The sealed unit maintains the gas density and hence the gap breakdown voltage practically constant, independent of variations of temperature and pressure; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) to the first end (i.e., such as second end 26; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the second section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s) and the second end (i.e., such as first end 28; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the second surge arrester (19s) is electrically connected (i.e., such as 22 is electrically connected to 26 via 27; for instance, series therewith are hermetically sealed within a chamber or enclosure comprising a glass ring 25 with an end wall plate 26 of metal conducting material, sealed thereto by fusion. A metal collar'27 is also sealed by fusion to the opposite end of the glass ring 25 and another end wall plate 28 of metal conducting material is welded to metal collar 27. Element 29 represents a metal plate and resilient spring of conductive material by means of which the electrode-resistor assembly are maintained by pressure in, good electrical contact with end or terminal plates 26 and 28. The free space within the element or unit 17 is filled with a dry or inert gas, such as nitrogen, at a pressure most suitable for the voltage class for which the arrester unit is designed. The sealed unit maintains the gas density and hence the gap breakdown voltage practically constant, independent of variations of temperature and pressure; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) to the second end (i.e., such as first end 28; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the second section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s), and in the open state (i.e., such as open state as switch 18 is OFF/OPENED/GAP; for instance, during nominal/normal voltage, the switch 18 is in OFF/OPEN/GAP state [there is a gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18]; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+), the second surge arrester (19s) is electrically disconnected (i.e., such as the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18 are not in contact; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) from the second section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s).
Regarding claim 22, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+); the surge arrester arrangement (17s), further comprising an intermediate (30s) connection electrically connecting the second end (i.e., such as second end 26; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the first section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s), the first end (i.e., such as first end 28; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the second section (12s, 13s) of the winding (12s, 13s), the second end (i.e., such as second end 22; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the first surge arrester (19s) when the first switch (18s) is in the closed state (i.e., such as closed state as switch 18 is ON/CLOSED/NO-GAP; for instance, in case of any overvoltage event the switch 18 is in ON/CLOSE/NO-GAP state [there is no gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18 and they are fully in contact] in order to discharge the excessive voltage to the ground; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+), and the first end (i.e., such as first end 29; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+) of the second surge arrester (19s) when the second switch (18s) is in the closed state (i.e., such as closed state as switch 18 is ON/CLOSED/NO-GAP; for instance, in case of any overvoltage event the switch 18 is in ON/CLOSE/NO-GAP state [there is no gap between the electrodes 20 and 21 of the switch 18 and they are fully in contact] in order to discharge the excessive voltage to the ground; see for example fig. 3, Col. 2 lines 72+).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meador (US Patent No. 2703852) in view of Larson et al (US Patent No. 4862307).
Regarding claim 6, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+).
Meador does not explicitly disclose wherein the switch, or each switch, is a rotary switch or a tap changer.
Larson discloses dual voltage transformer (i.e., see figure 1, Col. 2 lines 67+); wherein the switch (36), or each switch (36), is a rotary switch (36) or a tap changer (36).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the rotary-switch/tap-changer in Meador, as taught by Larson, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards adjusting the transformer voltage as the load demands without damaging the transformer.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meador (US Patent No. 2703852) in view of Schoendube (US Patent No. 4604673).
Regarding claim 7, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+).
Meador does not explicitly disclose wherein the surge arrester is a zinc oxide (ZnO) varistor.
Schoendube discloses a distribution transformer (i.e., see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 57+); wherein the surge arrester (8) is a zinc oxide (ZnO) varistor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally used the ZnO-varistor in Meador, as taught by Schoendube, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards improving the surge protection.
Claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meador (US Patent No. 2703852) in view of Lindell et al (US Patent No. 9882373).
Regarding claim 10, Meador discloses the transformer arrangement (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, Col. 2 lines 20+).
Meador does not explicitly disclose wherein the phase leg windings are connected in delta configuration.
Lindell discloses a system for transient over voltage protection of a three-phase transformer (i.e., see for example fig. 6, Col. 7 lines 4+); wherein the phase leg windings (102, 104, 106) are connected in delta configuration (i.e., 100 in fig. 6, Col. 7 lines 4+).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the transformer delta-scheme in Meador, as taught by Lindell, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards reliability, fault tolerance, efficiency with high currents, and harmonic suppression.
Regarding claim 11, Meador in view of Lindell and the teachings of Meador as modified by Lindell have been discussed above.
Lindell furthermore discloses the three-phase transformer layouts (i.e., see for example fig. 6, Col. 7 lines 4+); wherein the phase leg windings (102, 104, 106) are connected in wye configuration (i.e., 100; see for example fig. 10, Col. 9 lines 45+).
Regarding claim 13, Meador in view of Lindell and the teachings of Meador as modified by Lindell have been discussed above.
Lindell furthermore discloses the three-phase transformer layouts (i.e., see for example fig. 6, Col. 7 lines 4+); wherein the transformer arrangement (i.e., see for example fig. 6, Col. 7 lines 4+) further comprises an auxiliary surge arrester arrangement configuration (i.e., 114, 115, 116, and 118; see for example fig. 10, Col. 9 lines 45+) electrically connected between the transformer (100) and ground (GND).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meador (US Patent No. 2703852) in view of Lindell et al (US Patent No. 9882373) and further in view of Llanos et al (US Patent No. 6624997).
Regarding claim 12, Meador in view of Lindell and the teachings of Meador as modified by Lindell have been discussed above.
Neither Meador nor Lindell explicitly discloses wherein the phase leg windings are connected in zigzag (z) configuration.
Llanos discloses a transformer (i.e., 35; see for example fig. 10, Col. 6 lines 26+); wherein the phase leg windings (68s) are connected in zigzag (z) configuration (i.e., 66s and 67s; each coil 68 extends from both ends to coil 66 and coil 67 in order to form the Zig-Zag scheme; see for example fig. 10, Col. 6 lines 26+).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the transformer zig-zag scheme in Meador, as taught by Llanos, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards establishing a stable ground reference for safety and fault clearing.
Claims 18-19 are cancelled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838